Reviews by KiatBkk

    KiatBkk's avatar
    KiatBkk
    Thailand Thailand

    Showing 1 to 30 of 44.
    rating


    Unbound for Men by Halston

    Unbound is a good fragrance for its price. Even if they price it at the same level as Bvlgari I would still feel the same. The opening reminds me of AdG in an instant, but as it progresses, 360 Red comes to mind. There is a spicy accord in Unbound and 360 Red, but none in AdG, making Unbound a little bit more mature. To compare these 3 scents, Unbound is in the middle between the other two and have a good balance of being a fresh and spicy fragrance.

    360 Red is sweet, while AdG is all the way fresh and watery.

    For longevity, I find Unbound okay. It's a skin scent for me, and I get a whiff of it whenever I move.

    06th April, 2011

    rating


    Jaïpur pour Homme Fraîcheur by Boucheron

    I'm not sure if it's the same juice as the one that came out under the name "Jaipur Fraicheur Limited Edition" in 2009-2010. The bottle is white. The juice is divine like the original Jaipur but so transparent that I dare wearing it in the sauna! It's not that light. It's long lasting with above average sillage. For a weather here, I'll go with the Fraicheur version.

    10th March, 2010

    rating


    Nautica Blue by Nautica

    To my surprise, this one lasts a long time and is one of the best modern aquatic scents out there. The opening is fresh, sharp and you're transferred into the midst of the ocean, finding yourself drinking iced pineapple juice mixed with berry. The top note lasts longer than usual, and the middle smells great. It's cool, crisp, and very modern. The drydown is a bit sweet and musky, although not spectacular yet the top and the middle stages make this scent a good choice for summer wear.

    11th April, 2009

    rating


    1776 Russian Leather by Elsha

    Since I've yet to try the Knize Ten and Creed's Royal English Leather, I'd at the moment rate this one 5 stars. The opening is balsamic, smoky yet fresh. I can feel the citrus hidden amongst the smoky cloud, enlivening this fine leather scent to a high degree. The mysterious feel shows up during its middle stage, gathered by the spicy notes and leather, which appear warm, smoky and reminds me of anything high-end. The scent lingers for hours, its base is musky and leathery, and a bit dirty IMO. Wear it if you want to feel luxury surrounding you.

    07th February, 2009

    rating


    Lagerfeld Man by Lagerfeld

    Nice scent which reminds me of Armani Mania. Their middle and base notes are similar. And they are also similar in terms of longevity and sillage, which are just a bit below average. I like cedar a lot so here a thumb up.

    16th November, 2008

    rating


    Chanel Pour Monsieur by Chanel

    Although a bit let down by the longevity department, Chanel pour Monsieur is a true cologne for a gentleman. It reminds me of London in 1950s, with white men wearing suits and ties and a pair of sparkling brown leather shoes. The weather is warm, sunny, but the atmosphere is slightly dim. The photos on the wall are of black and white, and tobacco smoke overcrowding the coffee cafe. This is what Chanel pour Monsieur gives to my vision.

    16th August, 2008

    rating


    L'Air du Desert Marocain by Tauer

    This is a dusty, dry scent, just like the name implies. I get raw cedar, which makes this scent really dry and woody. What comes up in my mind as eyes closed is the desert, some camels, merchants selling herbs and spices, strong sunlight, and dust. It's really that good!

    15th July, 2008

    rating


    Mogul by Parfums Raffy

    The first blast to me was synthetic, and I caught the unpleasant smell of alcohol, which disappeared a few minutes later. During its middle life on my skin, I thought I was wearing a lighter version of B*Men, or, Mat; Very Male--the second closest scent to it. On its drydown was an even lighter version of B*Men, which I like as it suits the weather here. I also got a rubbery smell during its middle and base notes. I don't know what category this scent is in, but it's sweet, dark, and romantic, and somewhat clean. In my opinion, Mogul isn't a complex scent, nevertheless, it could be a bit hard for a newbie to wear due to its nature that doesn't capture the taste of mass market.

    Do i like it? Yes, I do. Would I buy a bottle? Maybe I would, and I would have said "yes" if it last longer than 4 hours.

    03rd July, 2008

    rating


    Dragon by Parfums Raffy

    The opening was too soft, and almost undetectable. As far as I remember, it was fresh and pleasant enough to start with in the dim morning. Not long at all, it accelerated into a more mature scent, and bore a resemblance to that of Mogul, yet far less thick in the sense of sweetness. I caught a hint of leather and light smoke clouding my presence within 30 minutes of wearing it. However, the disappointment is that it is too subtle, too short-lived. After 2.5 hours I could hardly detect it, even when I moved a lot and was about to sweat I still couldn't catch it rising from my skin. Dragon needs to be intensified and doing so would guarantee me buy a bottle.

    03rd July, 2008

    rating


    Fougères Marines by Montale

    God I swear I get a strong hint of Tommy Boy and Dunhill D in it. But Fougères Marines is superior in terms of quality and longevity.

    30th June, 2008

    rating


    Liquid Crystal Ultraviolet Man by Paco Rabanne

    This can't be a light version. It's so heady and strong that it lasts longer than 12 hours with just 3 sprays. I like the original juice, and still not sure about this one whether should I sell it or not. It also smells feminine on the drydown. Maybe will have to say goodbye soon.

    18th June, 2008

    rating


    Fever pour Homme by Céline

    Wow, this is one of the best blind buys. It reminds me of Dunhill Edition, which is ranked in my top 5. Very incense-like, soft, full-bodied and modern. Will buy again for sure!

    27th May, 2008

    rating


    Aqua Quorum by Antonio Puig

    This is one of my exciting blind buys but it turned out a bit disappointing since it bears a strong resemblance to that of Wings by Giorgio Beverly Hills. Anyway, it's a good cologne, fresh and invigorating, but of course, has been done before. No originality so here I give it a neutral rating.

    22nd May, 2008

    rating


    Bogart pour Homme by Jacques Bogart

    What a nice scent! I love it from the first sniff, mainly into its middle and base notes, which are so fresh and invigorating, also full of confident, manly and modern. The berries and tobacco notes are more than pleasant, really good for BKK heat. Thumb up for this one.

    05th May, 2008

    rating


    Story by Paul Smith

    The opening is like Versace Eau Fraiche. I didn't know what the base notes are like since I wore it before bed. Will give it another try later. But since it's similar to Versace, which I own, I'll give it a thumb up as this is a good fresh scent, very watery.

    25th December, 2007

    rating


    Echo Summer Fizz by Davidoff

    Just like Echo, only that the citrus is more pronounced at the top notes, but then it turns to Echo. I wore it about thrice and decided to sell it.

    03rd December, 2007

    rating


    Cool Play by Lacoste

    This fragrance lasts so long for a fresh scent. On me, with 3 sprays it lasts more than 8 hours. However, I prefer its older brother Essential for its lemony side.

    07th November, 2007

    rating


    Body Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

    At the first blast it resembles Versace Dreamer but then it settles into a warm, sensual, masculine sweetness that I enjoy getting its whiff so much. 5 stars for this great scent, good for a date, a night out, but could be a bit cloying in a warm climate.

    08th August, 2007

    rating


    Unforgivable by Sean John

    Yes, a clone of Creed MI. But its top note has nothing to compare with Creed as it's synthetic and isn't as loud as the niche one. However, I like it enough that I have purchased 2 large bottles for a good price, about US$41 each.

    11th July, 2007

    rating


    Javari by Body Shop

    Top note stands out quicker and more obvious than Le Male. And as it's lighter I guess it's easier to wear. It lasts at least 7 hours on my skin and it does project very well. For its price compared to Le Male, get this one.

    11th July, 2007

    rating


    Silver Shadow Altitude by Davidoff

    Tried it a few days ago. It's a nice fresh scent, good for summer, but as the previous poster said, not original or unique. However, to me, it kinda sticks to the skin, and lasts for at least 8 hours. It really has nothing to do with the original, which I found a little similar to Givenchy Pi.

    26th June, 2007

    rating


    One O One for Men by Giorgio Valenti

    This is a pleasant fruity scent. Although it smells a bit synthetic, it's very nice and modern. You can wear it to work or on a date. Girls will dig it. I have 3 sample vials and looking to buy a 100-ml bottle but it seems so hard to find.

    26th June, 2007

    rating


    Chancellor by Tru Fragrance

    Wow, it's so green and fresh and it bears a resemblance to that of Eternity, but somewhat fresher and less sexy than CK's juice. If you love a casual fragrance that can be worn 24 hours and for any occasion, please give it a try. It's also low-priced.

    16th June, 2007

    rating


    Dunhill Edition by Dunhill

    My Top 5. It's very classy, sophisticated and sexy at the same time. I had been looking for it for 13 years. Thanks to basenotes for such a good job. Reading its notes helps a lot.

    08th June, 2007

    rating


    Of a Man by Body Shop

    It's very clean and fresh and I think it is the clone of AdG. Will sure get it when they offer discount as their products are more expensive here than in the U.S. and in the U.K. It's about US$40/100-ml bottle.

    24th February, 2007

    rating


    Aigner Black for Men by Etienne Aigner

    I really like this scent. When I wear it I think of Harley Davidson and a black jacket with black jeans. Extra masculine and long long lasting. The bottle is cool, with elegant cap. Give it a try!

    03rd November, 2006

    rating


    Reaction for Men by Kenneth Cole

    The top note is very fresh and excellent, but the base note is what I hate - too fruity and sickly sweet. No more than 2 sprays for me. However, it's tolerable.

    03rd November, 2006

    rating


    Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

    It renders me nostalgia. I love this scent but a bit difficult to wear.

    03rd November, 2006

    rating


    212 Men by Carolina Herrera

    Thumb up, what a sexy scent? Very sensual and outstanding. Will get another bottle once this one's finished. Love the bottle too, but would be good if there's a see-through part.

    12th May, 2006

    rating


    Transat by Yves Rocher

    Bought it along with Hoggar. It is a bit similar to Chrome, especially on the drydown. The top note is not the same at all but it's in the same category to Chrome. An office scent - light and comfortable.

    24th April, 2006

    Showing 1 to 30 of 44.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000