Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Tmoran

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 27
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Pineapple Vintage Noir by Parfums Vintage

FINAALLLLLYYYYY!!!!!!! For a couple years I have been wanting an alternative to aventus. They were all horrible. Pineapple vintage not only smells like aventus but the quality is there to match. I don't get all technical with the sillage longevity and what not anymore but I can say that I didn't find this fragrance to be wanting in any category. If you are just fed up with the original for its many flaws this is the only thing I would recommend.
27th November, 2016
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Boucheron pour Homme by Boucheron

Boucheron Pour homme. Does it smell mature? yes. Does it smell bad? Not even close. Let me just put this right out there that if you have ever tried vintage or mature scents and just couldnt do it yet could appreciate them for what they are this might be the one to tip the scales in your favor.

It reminds me of a lot of things but done in a way that is much more palatable for those who dislike dated scents for their animal like qualities. It was just so intriguing for me to get this one because of the ultimate surprise it offered.

I saw it on clearance at a local store and looked it up and I really liked the note breakdown. But opening the box I could get that slight faint whiff of what was awaiting and I was immediately disappointed. The reason being is that is was familiar but all scents in this realm have been unbearable for me until the very last bit of the drydown. To my surprise this one starts strong and settles into a scent that is masculine to its very core yet very very pleasing. I cant even really describe it.

When you first spray it you are reminded of a few different fragrances. Paco Rabanne paco, Paul Sebastian. You know those juices that always get tossed in the old man category. But done in a way that just embraces you instead of punching you in the face. Its got a great natural lemon and orange that are very fresh and well done. No hint of astringency or of cleaning products. And when it dies down you get this really great vetiver wrapped in orris that is just killer. To sum it all up I would call this the classic vintage type scent for the person who doesnt really care for them. If you really like PS or Paco you may find this one a bit too boring especially if you like the vintage formulations of both those fragrances. I however fell in love at first smell. And it has prompted me to remember not to discount something with out actually smelling it.
08th September, 2015
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Yuzu by Issey Miyake

I Have to say this stuff really surprised me. The original I know has a very big following. I tried to like it but something in it just reminded me of citronella candles and not in a good way. YUZU to me is the answer for those who want to like the original but just cant get past that opening WTF note.

Id say a good comparison is Thierry Mugler pure coffee in relation to the original A*Men. Many complain pure coffee is just amen without the tar. Same thing going on here. This is very close to the original Issey. In fact I would say you could easily be mistaken for wearing it. But all the bad has been toned down and all the good amped up.

Now the great news is the original elements that make Leau d'issey so polarizing is still present but just in a manner that is much more palatable without every sacrificing what made the original interesting. On me it still has amazing longevity. I smell it on me 6-8 hours after applying it but to me Issey sents have never been loud so if you are expecting a beast look elsewhere.

If you are looking for something that is guaranteed to be nothing like anything in your collection (unless you own the original) and just a refreshing change from your day to day scents this is the one to break the mold. Dont be worried about Albert Morales being the perfumer or that aquatic notes being listed. You would never know either unless told so. Some say Alberts masterpiece is ADG. I would argue this is a much more interesting and unique effort. This would be a great office scent. Something that say, "yeah, I care about smelling good" without announcing yourself with jazz hands.
15th June, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Méharées by L'Erbolario

Ok so I have a decant of musc ravageur. And I really love the drydown but for me its about an hour of hell to get there so I rarely commit. Now first let me say this. 99% of the time when someone says "the new XXX fragrance is IDENTICAL to Brand XXX I roll my eyes and go about my day. I heard this about many scents from clones of aventus, SDV among others. Nearly every single time it is painfully obvious that the scent is NOT as close as people claim (wish) it is and the quality usually leaves a lot to be desired. In this case everything you read about this being identical to Musc Ravageur is true. I will break it down very simple.

BUY IF: You love the drydown on musc ravageur and really dont like its opening and wish you could have the identical scent but have it start out being that musc magic right from the first spray.

DONT BUY IF: You have a medical condition that doesnt allow you to think properly and use common sense and logic. JUST KIDDING. Seriously though If you like the opening of Musc Ravageur and feel you need that in the beginning and you just dont like substitutes no matter how good they are then still with musc.


IMHO Meharees is actually better than musc as a scent. Not only is it more pleasant in the opening but I think while the smell seems identical to musc it to me actually smells of a higher quality. Musc to me smells old and dirty. Sorta stale. Meharees is like a creed in the sense it has a freshness to the notes but never synthetic. There are very few low priced masterpieces in the world today and even less that truly beat the very thing they try to copy. I will be selling my musc ravageur. This is simply better in every way. And the performance is just as good on my skin.
03rd December, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Pegasus by Parfums de Marly

WOW!. Not so much the scent, but holy cow is this thing powerful. I love parfums de marly. They are really overpriced but I just love their scents so for me they are worth the POA. The performance on this fragrance is almost overpowering. I am usually the guy who can do 10 sprays and still not feel like I over applied but this stuff? 3 sprays only. Any more and your likely to have UN peacekeepers knocking on your door for violating the treaty over use of chemical warfare. Its that damn powerful.

The smell is a very pleasing rootbeer float on opening and dies down a bit into a boozy almond vanilla. Just be warned again I cant stress enough how much this stuff will fill a room. In most cases my father dislikes fragrances. But he can tolerate them. I had 4 sprays of this on and he kept 15 feet away at all times and actually said , "I cant get too close to you today, you are that strong sorry." I didnt take offense. I used to hate fragrances too.

The best season for pegasus to me is WINTER. Not even fall. The almond/vanilla notes in this really scream of baking almond crescents a few days before Christmas while sipping on a rootbeer. Its lovely but I can see how its not for everyone. And I really think the cold air is needed with this one to keep it in check. If you wear this in spring or summer people are going to drop like flies.


19th October, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Exceptional Because You Are for Men by Exceptional

Nothing exceptional about this one. It is mediocrity at its er ummm finest? It honestly seems like they took the three top selling fragrances and combined the prominent notes in an effort to appeal to everyone equally. The result is a mish mash of clash that simply doesnt deserve the attention this paragraph provides. Does it smell bad? I wouldnt go that far. But even if they were giving these bottles away, I would opt out. Its that worthless.
13th October, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Vince Camuto Original Cologne for Men by Vince Camuto

This I discovered at a recent trip to kohls. I honestly cant tell you why I bother with their fragrance counter. It is a dismal black hole where olfactory failures go to die. Still I spray new bottles in the hopes I may find a diamond in the many of rough. This brought me to discovering Vince Camuto for men.

The first thing that struck me was the bottle. I really really enjoy the look of it. I think it is classy and the overall quality of its presentation is top notch. But usually when I see this type of packaging I fear it is to cover a sub par product. This one actually surprised me. This is a fresh take on leather. At first spray you think, "damn, another bland aquatic" Then it slightly morphs and while it retains its clean sensibilities the musk and leather creeps up to make this scent much more interesting. It is by no means unique, earth shaking or challenging. In fact it is almost too safe.

But what I really appreciate is that this fragrance would do very well in a group setting. You will not offend anyone and I can surely see it getting its fair share of compliments. But in most cases this means the wearer is bored. The leather and musk in this redeems it just enough to where you wont be moping around too much wishing you had just sprayed A*men hell be damned.
01st October, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Tabac Rouge / Turkish Blend by Phaedon

I have tobacco vanille. And I now have phaedon tabac rouge. I really think they are fraternal twins. They both come from the same family and you can tell they are closely related yet they also have their own personality that lets you be able to tell them apart. If I could only have one? Honestly the phaedon. It is true its not as intense as TV but it is by no means a weak fragrance. And I like the phaedon at all stages of its life. Tobacco vanille I need to let breath for a minute before something odd in the top burns off. The average person may not be able to tell this apart from TV but side by side you can spot the nuances that set them apart. Neither is technically worse or better. They are just slightly different. But I think the quality of the phaedon is every bit as good as the Tom Ford. It really will come down to which you like better. Still you cant compare these two without pointing out the significant savings you get with the phaedon. To me it makes it a no brainer. But still try before you buy and you may still find TV is the one you like more. But in this case you have a very very viable alternative to tobacco vanille without sacrificing quality. Maybe a tiny bit of projection but honestly some feel TV is too much. This is easily in my top 5 favorite scents. And even though I still really love tobacco vanille I really prefer the phaedon.

EDITED TO ADD: I have been really wearing this a lot and I have found it actually performs better on me that Tobacco Vanille. This is easily my favorite tobacco scent of all time and I dont know if anything could knock it from that top spot.
02nd August, 2014 (last edited: 01st October, 2014)
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Dior Homme Eau for Men by Christian Dior

Honestly I have not a clue where the hate is coming from recently with this fragrance. I got an insane deal on a 3.4 and honestly I wish the bottle was bigger as I know this will become a staple in my rotation. IMHO it has everything I like about dior homme but with a little extra spice that makes the lipstick vibe a little more multidimensional and interesting. It doesnt have huge progression but its far from what I would call linear. Projection and sillage as well as longevity are excellent and I usually dont get good performance from most fragrances. What I really love about this stuff is that I get the impression that most people will not think I am wearing cologne but rather think you just naturally smell good. Sometimes you dont want something that screams " I just bathed in EDT!!!! SMELL ME NOW!!!". Bottom line is I have absolutely nothing bad to say about it. I think its a great flanker with its own personality while retaining enough original DNA to be worthy of the dior homme name. Is it as powerful as dior homme intense? No. But thats not a fair comparison and I doubt it was their goal. I say try it for yourself before you give even one negative youtube review a second view.
28th June, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Eau de Cartier by Cartier

I really really try not to do thumbs down reviews. I try to see the least bit of good in everything. This however is just an insulting scent. It is so bland, generic and poor performing it seriously deserves no higher remarks. Even at its bargain store price of $30 its a waste of time and money. It was slightly surprising to find a spicy undertone after the oh so forgettable citrus opening that has been done so many times its almost makes a completely inoffensive smell actually offensive with its audacity to shove the same old same old under your nose and ask for money to do so. Cartier has never been much of a memorable house. But this is weak even by their standards. Dont get me wrong. It doesnt smell bad. But neither does nautica blue. But that doesnt mean its anything special either.
27th June, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

A*Men Pure Energy / A*Men Pure Shot by Thierry Mugler

I cant give this a thumbs down nor can I give it a thumbs up. Its just meh. Its not a bad smell. Its just terribly linear and boring. My biggest complaint is there seems to be a trend with houses using juniper berry in fragrances marketed as sport scents. I dont find juniper berry in the least bit fresh nor sporty. The last fragrance I experienced with juniper berry like this was gucci pour homme sport and that literally makes me want to vomit. The real reason though Im not giving this a thumbs down is because while I am definitely not a fan of juniper berry its done well enough here that I can tolerate it. As it dries down (5 - 10 minutes. Its quick in bed, lol) it gets more pleasant. I wouldnt call it generic but it definitely not what you expect from Thierry mugler which is actually get the unexpected. I think their biggest mistake was marketing this as a "pure" flanker. They probably felt it would improve sales but fragrance fans arent stupid. The pure series is popular because the stuff is just flat out good. It had nothing to do with marketing. IMHO pure malt, pure havane and even TOF are masterpieces. This? More like a chicken scratch doodle on a napkin.
26th June, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

A*Men: Le Gôut du Parfum / The Taste of Fragrance [hot chili pepper paste] by

I think all thierry mugler A*men flankers and the original can be somewhat challenging when you first smell them. I wouldnt say any of them have an actual "Bad" smell but I think we as humans have it ingrained in our brains what we should and should not smell like. Thierry mugler usually doesnt play it safe and dares you to think for yourself and step out of what people expect. This I feel is why they are such a love and hate brand.

My experience with TOF (taste of fragrance) is rather odd. Usually I either like something or dislike it. Rarely does something grow on me. This however is that very fragrance. When I first sprayed this every instinct told me, "dude, you should not smell like this" But like many mugler fragrances and certain foods its an acquired taste that develops in time. I went from hating TOF to loving it in a single night. I was wearing and almost was compelled to scrub it off. But I left it on to give it a chance. The next day I was like, "man I dont think I will be wearing that again." I then grabbed my bottle of pure leather. Funny thing is a half hour later I found myself craving TOF. I am actually wearing it as I am writing this and I honestly am over the moon for the stuff. I have a new appreciation for it.

I would recommend anyone who bought a bottle to give it another try. And force yourself to leave it on for the day. Once it dries down that chilli note goes to the backround and a sweeter berry like accord comes to the front almost in the same spirit and pure havane or pure malt. Not the same smell but rather the same feel if you get my meaning. The drydown of TOF is really something to behold. And if you can hold on long enough to get there the reward for you patience is really satisfying. I think TOF is probably the single most underrated frag in the Thierry Mugler lineup. It deserves to be right along side pure malt and pure havane.
24th June, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

A*Men: Les Parfums de Cuir / Pure Leather by Thierry Mugler

I have really really come to appreciate Thierry Mugler fragrances. When I first smelled angel men I literally could not understand the concept and hated it. Then I tried pure havane and pure malt, fell in love then revisited the line and find myself buying every flanker they come out with. Pure leather being no different.

Many seem to discount pure leather/cuir as simply angel men with more mint and leather added. I couldnt disagree more. Sure the mint is stronger, and while you definitely get an amen feel from it I dont think they smell that close. I think what people dont want to admit is that they are upset this flanker isnt in the realm of pure malt and pure havane. IMHO pure malt, pure havane and TOF all have a sweet fruity accord. I think pure leather would have done and would do better with a different name to distance itself from the expectations of having pure in its name.

Pure leather to me is much more earthy and woody in the drydown when compared to Angel men. Angel men to me is very much a mocha type smell where this is much less focused in the sweets department. And while it is true that the leather in pure cuir is not what I expect when thinking of leather (jacket, wallet etc) it however pleasant and different. And if I really think about it the way they went with it seems to make more sense than if what I actually expected had been instead.

I would say if you really want to appreciate pure leather and all the Mugler line that isnt pure havane and pure malt then you have to stop using them as the measurement of which to judge all mulger releases. If you look at each release as its own thing and stop going into it with preconceived notions of what you think it should be then you should find that they are still making some of the most interesting and best designer fragrances currently being made.
23rd June, 2014
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Acqua di Giò pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

What the h#% happened to this fragrance? I used to love this stuff. Its always been synthetic. But I dont really care. I think people need to stop equating synthetic with bad. It simply isnt the case. A well done synthetic is preferable to a poorly done natural smell. Think about it. A fart is totally natural. About as natural as you can get. But I would still rather smell like ADG than that.

Perhaps that is being to kind to Acqua di Gio. At least what they are calling Acqua di Gio these days. I havent had this in my collection for a few years as i got caught up in other frags and sorta got bored with ADG. I wanted to revisit it and went to Ulta to try it out and decide what size to get. I really dont know when or what happened but ADG of 10 years ago is nothing what ADG is today. The smell comming from the tester was so generic and light I almost questioned its authenticity. I thought someone had to have walked in there with a fake and swapped it with a real tester.

Unfortunately it turns out ADG has been reformulated somewhere along it life. I have smelled numerous bottles and they all smell of the same generic lemon pledge type smell. Its a shame as the newer reformulation doesnt even have a passing resemblance to its predecessor. In all honesty the newer essenza version has more in common with true ADG than what they are trying to push on people today. Its insulting and just bad business. I really dont know what has been going on with armani lately. All I do know is they have become somewhat the laughing stock of the fragrance community and I think its well earned. Why would you take your best selling frag of all time and change it to the point that you cant even recognize it. I actually thought the popularity of this stuff died off as I stopped smelling it everywhere I went. Turns out I was wrong. I have been smelling it all along but I guess the sheep never noticed a recipe change. Thumbs down until they wake up and return this to its former sythetic bliss.
22nd June, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

A*Men Pure Coffee by Thierry Mugler

First I have to say that with Thierry Mugler you either get it or you dont. There is no right or wrong as to which position you take. If you dont like it that is fine. Just remember that no mattter how good you think YOUR fragrances and tastes in such are there will be those who think you are crazy just like you think Thierry mugler fragrance fans are. With that said, pure coffee. The myth the legend. This gets a solid neutral.

The scent itself is pleasant. It to me fits well in the thierry mugler lineup and I like it. I find the coffee in it to be fleeting and not the best coffee I have smelled in a fragrance. And with a name like pure coffee you expect it to be the key player. IMHO the original Amen has more of a coffee vibe than this.

My real issue with this stuff is that it simply is not worth what secondary market prices demand. If it was even $90 I would have no problem buying it and would be happy with my purchase. But $200+? Not even close. I dont care if you are a diehard mugler fan or not its simply not worth the price of admission. I was lucky and scored a good amount of samples at a very fair price and am absolutely relieved I had not spent the money on a full bottle. Dont get me wrong I will buy it if the right deal comes along. But at its current prices you are paying it simply due to its rarity and not its scent, longevity or projection. All of which IMHO are average. Maybe even a little below.

Many have expressed their discontent with Muglerusa only offering 50 bottles at a time and creating a false sense of demand by controlling the supply. The reason for them doing this is quite simple. The fragrance cant hold its own up against pure malt, pure havane or even taste of fragrance. If they were to offer it as regular production I think interest would quickly fade. Pure havane and pure malt sell because they are good. The ONLY thing pure coffee has going for it is unicorn status. Which is probably why it seems so disappointing to the point of being insulting when one finally does get their hands on some.

EDITED: Well not that this stuff has been re released with a much more acceptable price tag I have to say that with a couple wearings under my belt this is quickly becoming one of my favorites in the pure line. I know before i stated I didnt get a coffee scent but this note is usually hard for my to pick up but after wearing it I have actually been getting it. And the note of coffee comes and gos flipping with a chocolaty vibe. Very enjoyable and IMHO worthy of the $90 it commands.
21st June, 2014 (last edited: 28th September, 2014)
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

AB Spirit Silver by Lomani

For orginality this one gets an F. We all know what this stuff is supposed to be. It is honestly a reverse engineered Aventus. With that said does it hold up? Well having owned fresco, insurrection pure II and having tried other supposed aventus clones this is the ONLY one worthy of even making the claim to be influenced by aventus.

AB spirit silver is the closes aventus clone I have ever smelled. In fact at certain points in its development its nearly impossible to tell the difference between it and aventus. It scared me so much I actually sprayed one arm with aventus and one arm with AB and had a few family members tell me which they liked better. Mind you these people have smelled a lot of fragrances of mine and especially one of these people is very good at spotting the higher quality juice. This person was convinced I had sprayed the same scent on both arms and was trying to trick them.

I will say that while this is very close to aventus I still feel there is a quality gap between the two. I dont know if its just my brain convincing me of this due to my previous knowledge of the price gap and that one is massed produced and the other being niche but who knows. Let it be known it will not be replacing my aventus. But I will be reaching for the lomani for those times when I want to enjoy an aventus type feel without wanting to drop $5 worth of juice for no good reason. Honestly 99% of all people not in the know of fragrances will not be able to tell the difference. Its scary honestly. Oddly enough though I havent lost any love for aventus. And I almost dislike lomani for cloning it so close. But I WAS looking for an aventus clone so i got exactly what I asked for. But now I question my decision. Is it exact? no. Is it close enough for 99% of all situations? I think so. Its certainly more on point than fresco and insurrection combined. If that is what you want, look no where else as you have now found it.
21st June, 2014 (last edited: 27th June, 2014)
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

A*Men Pure Malt: Liqueur de Parfum by Thierry Mugler

So I bought this thinking it cant be identical to the original. And you know what it isnt. Its not identical but it might as well be. The difference is there but its so slight you may miss it if not paying attention. And 99.9% of all people who will smell it will think your simply wearing pure malt and thats only if they know fragrances. I would not even go as far as to say that its different than pure malt but rather it smells the same yet develops differently. The berry note last longer and is a little more pronounced. Once your in the dry down you may be hard pressed to tell a difference. Overall I still give it high marks because I love the original and this is nearly identical. But I find myself viewing this as a backup bottle of pure malt rather than its own fragrance seeing how similar it is.

All my research shows that the only difference between pure malt and pure malt 2013 is the actual casks they use to age it. The original was supposedly put into solid oak whisky casks and the newer version was put in Toasted or "roasted" oak casks. This minor difference may be why there is only a minor difference in smell. One neat feature of this bottle is that even though the star is reflective if you view it in non direct light you can in fact see where the level is at with the juice. If you get a tester you will also note that they are actually using the older pure malt tester rubber sleeves and that the notes and writing are identical on both further hinting that they in fact are the same fragrance. If I had to say anything else about it it would be that to look at it as a batch variation rather than a new scent. If you are on the fence between this or the original just let price dictate it. I managed to get this actually cheaper than the original so I wasnt disappointed. If you were unlucky enough to get taken on ebay for $110- 150 then I could see the possible disappointment. The only other reason to buy is if you are dead set on having an example of every TM fragrance.
17th June, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Individuel by Montblanc

This IMHO is the best Mont Blanc has to offer. This is so close to original santal its scary. Though it would seem creed ripped off mont blanc as this was released a year before santal. As far as the comparison to Joop! ? Well yes and no. To get joop to smell anything like this you need to spray it and give it 5 or 6 hours (yes hours) to let some of the offensive burn your nose out accords to die off. Joop to me is a disaster when first sprayed and then gets magical after 8 hours. Good luck getting to that point. This and santal is for those wanting the drydown of joop but dont want to wait. And while it again resembles the dry down of joop it is much more pleasant and infinitely more deep and natural. Now would I buy this over original santal? Yes. Hands down. This stuff is just amazing stuff. Santal is good but I honestly like individuel better. And normally I would pick creed any day over anything. I love aventus, git and original vetiver. But Individual wins in this fight. If anyone says joop is a good alternative to either I would recommend anti psychotic meds and less paint sniffing. You really have to be a huffer to enjoy Joop.

Scent grade: A
Projection: B+
Sillage: B
Value: A+++
15th June, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

A*Men Pure Malt by Thierry Mugler

I absolutely love this fragrance. I originally was attracted to pure havane for its strong tobacco notes being a lover of un burned tobacco. I stayed away from pure malt due to the overwhelming responses saying this smelled like berries with whisky (or is is whiskey?) over them. Honestly, I think that is just a trend with youtube reviewers. One well known reviewer says something and the rest of them follow the leader and simply repeat what was said as I really dont get the reference. I guess you would have to be a very big spirits enthusiast to pick up on the notes of whisky under the strong and in most cases offensive smell of alcohol. I wont even pretend to know what my nose is picking up on. All I can say is that I love pure havane. But since purchasing pure malt I have a hard time reaching for anything else. I think my favorite thing is that while its not a linear scent it also retains its own dna enough to where it never feels like a different fragrance but rather an evolution. Too many good fragrances change way too much for me to enjoy. I either like the opening or the drydown rarely both. Pure malt is a rockstar. I really hope they keep it around permanently as its really one of the best flankers in the history of flankers.
13th June, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

A*Men Pure Havane by Thierry Mugler

To me Thierry Mugler fragrances are about as high quality as you are going to get in a designer product. I get the impression that they put just as much effort into their frags as they do their designs. It shows in the quality of the whole package. Pure Havane is so well done and so natural. People say there is no tobacco in havane but I disagree. When you first spray havane it has a similar feel to A*men. But with a cherry note. Then as it dries down the tobacco and vanilla come up from the background to create a very very pleasing and quality scent.

I think this compared to angel men is actually pure perfection and that is what I would have named it. It has a perfect blend of notes and it is plenty potent without killing those around you. And IMHO it is actually pretty beastly as far as longevity and sillage are concerned. While this is not the same as tobacco vanille I believe it or not prefer this to Tom Ford. I think TM pure havane is less linear and skimps nothing in the terms of quality. I think if you have been looking for a good tobacco scent that actually has a good amount of it in there this is hard to beat. And again is one of the few brands in the designer market that will provide niche quality.
30th May, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Original Vetiver by Creed

This one often gets compared to Thierry Mugler cologne. I see how people will make the comparison but honestly while they share similarities I feel creed makes the better fragrance. Well to be clear it really depends on your age. If your over 30, go for the creed. It has a richer deeper and slightly darker tone. its fresh but has depth. There is a soapy quality but with a much greener tone as compared to TMC. TMC on the other hand to me is for the younger crowd who can appreciate what the creed fragrance is but doesnt feel it lends itself well to someone of their age. In other words its for those who like Original Vetiver but feel its too mature for them to wear in public. TMC thought to me is a much lighter, cleaner and is even more soapy. Dare I say that the creed just smells more complex and of higher quality. IMHO all creed fragrances share the same basic DNA. You know creed when you smell it. Just like a well tailored suit VS something off the Mens warehouse rack. If you have the nose to appreciate the finer things Original Vetiver is worth the extra money and can be had for a decent price if your patient.
16th May, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Aventus by Creed

I absolutely love this scent. It has so many things going on in it yet it is expertly crafted. It is a scent that just screams confidence. Its masculine yet sensual.

One thing I think needs to be cleared up is that of mont blanc legend smelling like aventus. I saw a review that stated to buy legend because is smells identical and costs a 1/4 of the price. Sorry to burst anyones bubble but aventus and legend are about as closely related as cool water and joop. To say otherwise only shows you either have a broken nose or you havent smelled at least one of the fragrances being discussed. Dont get me wrong. I own legend. I love legend. But aventus is so different on so many levels that I simply cant understand why anyone would draw a parallel between them. Sure if you look at the note pyramid of both fragrances they would appear to have some similarities. But that is where it ends. To draw a conclusion based solely on that is irresponsible and misleading.

Back on point. Aventus is a multifaceted fragrance. It has a dimensional quality to it that others (including legend) simply dont have. It keeps you interested by constantly evolving while never changing at its core. I would like longer longevity but sillage and projection are solid. Longevity I have found can be greatly increased by moisturizing my sandpaper skin.

As for the batch variations. It is a fact that there is differences between batches. And it is noticeable. Those who say they cant smell a difference simply dont have a nose to pickup on the differences. Sure some of those who say they cant smell it have been in the game a long time. But loving football your whole life doesnt mean your ready to play for the seahawks. One thing though is that even with all the batch variations there is a core impression that aventus has that never changes. IMHO the variations keep me interested in the fragrance and actually has me buying more aventus than I would any other fragrance. I have yet to smell a batch I didnt like.

06th May, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

1 Million by Paco Rabanne

Honestly I hate this one. i wanted to love it but I dont. Maybe it will grow on me. But right now my impressions has me wanting to make a public service announcement. I am here to save you $50+ on the purchase price of PR1M. Go to the dollar store and find a pack of fruit stripe gum. Insert the whole pack in your mouth and chew to build up a large amount of saliva. Now spit on yourself. You now smell like a million.
17th April, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Bleu de Chanel by Chanel

I absolutely love the mid and base of this fragrance. At first spray my example is very heavy on the grapefruit. The ONLY issue I take with Bleu de chanel is I feel it is very finicky from batch to batch in the top notes. When ever I am at a store that sells this I always spray a card and see how theres smells and it never fails it is always a little different from batch to batch in the top. After about an hour is where I think it really comes to life and to me just exudes confidence. I find projection and sillage to be very acceptable.


UPDATE: So I have to update this review as I have sold my USA produced bleu and purchased a larger bottle made in france. I dont know if the USA plant has had production issues in the past but many examples I have smelled of bleu at places like jc penny and Ulta have been way off. They have a very dominant grapefruit/cedar wood and that is all they have. I find I much prefer the stuff that is made in france. To be fair I have smelled usa produced bleu that smelled proper but I have never encountered a funky genuine france example. Put it this way, the USA produced example I had I could not wear and hated it. The france bottle? Love it. And I put it up there with some of my higher end fragrances. I have a feeling that at least some of the people reporting a dislike for BDC may be encountering these Grapefruit/cedar heavy bottles.
13th April, 2014 (last edited: 23rd September, 2014)
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Hugo by Hugo Boss

I really like this one. To me there is nothing artificial about it. In a sense nearly every frag is going to be artificial. How often in life will you encounter any combination of smells from any one fragrance at once? Never. If someone cant complain its artificial then they will complain its linear. IMHO HUGO by Hugo Boss is a classic that should be revered and put up there with Fahrenheit, ADG, and cool water. Just because a fragrance is older doesnt mean it isnt any good. There is a reason this has been in production for nearly 20 years. I dont think this is for the younger generation though. There is a lot going on. This seems to contradict the hugo marketing but I would say this is a great staple for someone in their mid to late 30's who grew up when this scent was created. What I love the most is that I get something different every time I wear it. And to my nose it is plenty strong with great projection and it gets a lot of compliments.
13th April, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Aqua pour Homme Marine by Bulgari

let me first state that I wanted to love this one. And oddly enough I did. Let me explain. I have a fear this stuff has been reformulated and possibly several times. I first smelled this at a macys. I sprayed my wrist and a white tester panel card and carried that with me as I went about my business in the mall. I would periodically check the card and my wrist to see how the fragrance was developing. IMHO it was amazing. Nice and fresh with a decent citrus opening that died down into a very pleasing easy on the nose scent.

Then I bought a bottle and all went downhill. The opening was identical. That nice citrus blast was there but then something very synthetic and offensive crept up. The only other scented product I have smelled it in was the fresh cotton linen (?) scent from bath and body works. This note is so offensive and off putting that I literally have a bout of nausea everytime I smell it and I literally cannot get it off of me fast enough. Its a shame because it starts with such promise and just fades into a nightmare for the nose. Oddly enough I went to an Ulta and I tried their tester. This bottle was even worse than the bottle I bought. I dont know if the tester was old but it smelled nothing like the one I bought or tested. It had a rancid smell. I was expecting pacific ocean and got LA river. I would avoid this one for the inconsistencies alone.
19th February, 2014
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States

Starwalker by Montblanc

I absolutely love this one. Its clean fresh and has no odd offensive notes after the dry down. I really am a fan of fresh scents and aquatics despite the trend being to dislike them. As such I have many of them and sometimes (like in the case of Bvgari Aqva) they leave this very offensive note that to me is reminiscent of the cotton bath and body works wallflowers scented oil that seriously makes me ill. It is the very definition of offensive and synthetic combined. Starwalker exhibits none of these qualities and is a nice, clean and fresh fragrance that while not being the embodiment natural is (what fragrances in its niche really are?) far from the axe bodywash sensibilities of something like nautica blue.

One area I always tend to disagree with folks is that of sillage and projection. I see countless reviews of people saying this or that fragrance disappears after an hour or two. Starwalker is no exception. Many claim they feel it is terribly underpowered and disappears after 5 minutes. I completely disagree and I question these peoples methods. I honestly cant think of a single fragrance I have in my collection that I can smell after 1 hour on my skin or clothing. This has more to do with how our sense of smell works rather than any fault of the people formulating fragrances. Starwalker is plenty strong and I get more compliments on it than any other fragrance I wear and I have quite a few that many view as the "panty droppers". If you really want to know how long it lasts spray it on a shirt and come back to it hours later. You will have a better idea of how long it lasts as your sense of smell wont be dulled to it. I get an easy 6-8 hours with Starwalker. And IMHO it gets better as it wears on you.
16th February, 2014