Perfume Reviews

Reviews by ClassicFan

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 140

Patchouli Nobile by Nobile 1942

After getting Javanese Patchouli (JP) this is nice to compare it to. The difference is the wood is more upfront, whereas JP is more wet and earthy. Where they are the same is how wearable they are and can be used in workplaces giving a sophisticated air to the wearer. After awhile the cedar planks blend into the patchouli. The amber and tonka give it a little bit of sweetness but not that much. This is a great Patchouli fragrance even though prefer JP.
03rd May, 2017

Cedrat Boise by Mancera

Strong citrus and the jasmine in the opening. It reminds me of Mr. Balmain but higher quality. The woods and blackcurrent give it a rainy day quality that's nice. It's the best of this type of citrus cedar style I've tried so far. I would probably prefer this to Bois de Cedrat simply for the sillage and longevity. I would also choose this over Mediterraneo Tuscan Cypress.
03rd May, 2017

1270 by Frapin

Gourmand Muesli of the highest order. Its sweet but just a nudge away from too sweet. I've seen a few fragrances that go into this territory and end up too sweet or overly cheap chemical smelling. Its definitely unisex and would be perfect for a date or a formal night out. This is one of the best gourmands up there with Eau Duelle for me. Cozy, fall/Christmasy, and sexy. The bluesky grape in particular really makes the scent more than above average. What a nice touch.
03rd May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Diaghilev by Roja Dove

A nice leathery chypre where everything is balanced right. The powder is offset with fruit giving it a Turkish Delight quality. It's like walking through the Napoleon wing at the Louvre. It reminds me of vintage Knize Ten. Definitely a masterpiece.
03rd May, 2017

Indonesian Oud by Ermenegildo Zegna

Wet and earthy like Javanese Patchouli, instead with Oud and Rose. The amber supports it in the background but everything is really balanced. Another excellent inoffensive scent that can be used in any formal settings or work.
29th April, 2017

Javanese Patchouli by Ermenegildo Zegna

This patchouli reminds me of clothing and wet earth or a wet wood deck. It seems formal and restrained enough for office use and no "hippy" stereotypes appear when wearing it. There is a little pepper and some sweetness of tonka to balance the woods. This is even more earthy than Diptyque Philosykos.
29th April, 2017

Florentine Iris by Ermenegildo Zegna

A short blast of citrus gives way to an array of subdued florals. The florals somehow don't give off an overly potpourri feminine scent instead leaving it unisex leaning masculine. It could be used in an office or formal wear. Well done!
29th April, 2017

Habit Rouge Eau de Parfum by Guerlain

This is my favorite version of Habit Rouge.
27th April, 2017

Bleu de Chanel Eau de Parfum by Chanel

Sweet and minty and a little bit aquatic. There's sandalwood to make it more creamy. The wood and frankincense on the basenotes helps to control the sweetness of the citrus, ginger and jasmine. It's enjoyable but I prefer to stay with Green Irish Tweed which does this sandalwood/outdoor scent better IMHO.
26th April, 2017

Platinum Égoïste by Chanel

A smooth version of Rive Gauche pour Homme. The Woods, Geranium, and Lavender give it that RG quality but without the anise. I prefer RG, but the moss and wood here give it more sophistication and it feels classic. The basenotes of Vetiver, Cedarwood, Labdanum, and Treemoss are the most interesting parts of the fragrance for me. The Petitgrain and rosemary are the least interesting. Still over all it's a good fragrance.
26th April, 2017

Lavande by L'Occitane

I have the roll on, and it's basically a nice lavender with not much else. You are supposed to roll it on 3 times a day and it's mainly used for relaxation.
22nd April, 2017

Cologne Intense Collection : Oud & Bergamot by Jo Malone

Strange perfume that's a little more like wearing a citrus cologne while barbecuing chicken. It's longevity is not great (like most citrus) but it's very unique. A good comparison with Zeste Pamplemousse. Still enjoyable.
21st April, 2017

Au Coeur du Desért by Tauer

A subdued flanker. It's got less of the campfire wood and unfortunately the citrus. LDDM is a difficult fragrance to wear, but this version is the answer to that. I prefer LDDM, especially just to smell, but I would probably wearing this instead. The amber is not overpowering, and neither is anything else. The biggest weakness is the loss of that beautiful citrus.
21st April, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Lonesome Rider by Tauer

Smoky, woody, leather reminiscent of Royal English Leather. After a while the rose and iris enter the picture and then the sandalwood and ambergris give it an out-of-doors quality. Very nice. It's a good option for those who don't want too much rose.
21st April, 2017

X for Men by Clive Christian

Starts off with balsamic cardamom with sourness, then starts fading pretty quickly. Not for me at this price.
21st April, 2017

Ormonde Man by Ormonde Jayne

I like cardamom but the longevity on this one is weak. It's a spicy juniper cardamom bolsted by sauna wood. It's different enough that some people will choose it for formal or office wear. The oudh softens the wood and the musk cleans it up.
21st April, 2017

Jazz Prestige by Yves Saint Laurent

It has a freshness like Patou Pour Homme Prive without the lavender. The juicy/and sour Apple and geranium mix really well with the mint giving it a bright cold quality perfect for winter or spring. The sandalwood at the bottom is more just plain wood, and it gives it an overcast apple orchard quality. Surprisingly good.
21st April, 2017

Cuir Pleine Fleur / Fine Leather by Heeley

An out-of-doors leather fragrance with lots of hay and some violet. It's uni-sex and quite pleasant. If you have Green Irish Tweed but want more leather than Iris and Sandalwood it would be a good alternative. In fact this could be a good hay scent for those who like that quality.
21st April, 2017

Italian Cypress by Tom Ford

A citrus basil start with a sweet mint. Underneath nice woods appear. It has an elegant quality about it with nothing "too much". It seems cheerful and wearable. It's classic. It's like a sexy Polo Green and Derby. This is my favorite Tom Ford fragrance so far.
21st April, 2017

Italian Bergamot by Ermenegildo Zegna

High quality orange peel, and fresh herbs seamlessly blended together. The Rosemary isn't too harsh and in fact nothing is. It's a little like hiking in a lush valley. I would compare this to Creed Citrus Bigarrade but much more subtle in every way. Nothing is "too much", even the vetiver. If anything the vetiver and rosemary give it an earthy quality, like your in the out-of-doors on a sunny day.
16th April, 2017

Sicilian Mandarin by Ermenegildo Zegna

Realistic but subtle citrus peel with a mossy mint. It does have a little of the fresh clean laundry scent but MUCH, MUCH less synthetic. Basically a higher quality version of Monsieur Balmain, without the wood and less synthetic. It also is unisex. The overall impression is being fresh and clean walking along the coast but being 1/2 a mile away from it.
16th April, 2017

Dior Homme Cologne (2013) by Christian Dior

The bergamot top note is delicious but it's gone quickly leaving a clean laundry smell. It's not horrible but it's not worth the price. A better alternative would be Voyage D'Hermes at every avenue of the fragrance.
14th April, 2017 (last edited: 15th April, 2017)

Armani Eau pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

The tangerine, lemon, and basil is delicious at the beginning reminding me of Eau de Guerlain. It quickly moves into lavender, clove and oakmoss giving it that classic 80's smoky masculine scent which is hit or miss depending on the wearer. The sandalwood is buried in there but it's not very prominent. Overall a good scent but not for me.
14th April, 2017

Haitian Vetiver by Ermenegildo Zegna

Very similar to Guerlain vetiver with a little more carrot with the carrot seeds. The iris gives it a cleaner smell than the Guerlain but it seems as equal in enjoyment.
09th April, 2017

Peruvian Ambrette by Ermenegildo Zegna

It's a bit like Timbuktu or Sables but drier. The Iris really keeps the wood from being too rough around the edges. This one grows on you.
09th April, 2017

Royal Oud by Creed

Nice balanced scent that feels sophisticated and mature like Bois du Portugal. It stays mostly linear throughout. The cedar is more prominent in the scent than oud but you get some similar vibes to M7 but M7 has a more pronounced oud. The galbanum is not too harsh and with the angelica root help the citrus along. It's definitely not sweet which is a plus for me. The musk is nice and not smelling like laundry.
09th April, 2017

Sauvage by Christian Dior

Hard scent to judge. It is effected by the perception one puts to it. If one thinks of it as an "outdoorsy, in the sunlight" then it can look that way. There's a Green Irish Tweed quality and a Chevrefeuille/Fahrenheit quality in it. Though if one wants to look at this as a clean bathroom scent then that perception would be disappointing. For now with this tester I'll say it's the former more than the later. I like the Geranium and Ambroxan. Mixing a form of Ambergris with a flower will give that GIT outdoorsy scent people want. The vetiver and patchouli are a good tagteam, keeping the fragrance going. The sillage and projection are good enough but not spectacular. The lavender is a little iffy, but not disastrous, due to the pepper. The Ambroxan is different than Ambergris in that it gives you that hot sun ozone quality.
08th April, 2017 (last edited: 09th April, 2017)

La Nuit de L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

Nice inoffensive scent. The Cardamom makes it more enjoyable. It's not too sweet but definitely adds to that sexy vibe a lot of new fragrances are going for. The vetiver is not over-powering and the fragrance warms up over time. The lack of notes gives it a transparent quality where the top notes don't quite disappear. I can see why some guys say it's popular with the ladies because it's more on the sweet side. This is a mild recommendation.
08th April, 2017 (last edited: 09th April, 2017)

Guerlain Homme Intense by Guerlain

At first it's like anise and chocolate in the Dior Homme style but stronger. There are florals in it and it has less of that lipstick aura but it's still there. I can tell I'm not one for this Dior style because it's become a fad to smell like this which is closer to cocoa than rum. Fairly boring considering the amazing choices out there.
25th December, 2014

Bel Ami by Hermès

This is a little like Derby and Antaeus mixed together. It's like a leafy sandalwood with some amber and vetiver. Since I have Antaeus already and Derby is much better I'll pass on it. This is a happy medium for those who don't get into one or the other. It's also for those who want something like Yatagan but less weird.
25th December, 2014