Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Kaizen1972

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 408

Dior Homme Parfum by Christian Dior

I must heartily agree with several of the prior positive reviews, i.e. "mattandhiscat" and "Buzzlepuff" really capture much of what I have to say about this marvelous scent. In addition...

Amazing flanker of the now legendary Dior Homme. This spinoff adds dark notes of leather and woods to build upon the unmistakable oriental scent goodness of the original.

Compared to the Intense version, Parfum stands out with an exotic, classy character which is heavy, strong, and not for everyone (think of the thick, sweet brown prayer oils that some may wear, which may give an idea of the depth and breadth of Dior Homme Parfum).

I liken this flanker in this way: If Dior Homme is the young 30 something fellow, Dior Homme Eau would be slightly older sibling, Dior Homme Intense would be the older more refined cousin, and Dior Homme Parfum the slightly grey-haired, wise uncle.

I’m content with putting this on aound the house or just for the rare formal night out on the town during chilly weather…maybe not for daily informal wear, unlike Dior Homme and Homme Eau, which work well for that.
10th May, 2017

Hugo Red by Hugo Boss

Nice flanker from Hugo Boss. Hugo Red may not be altogether revolutionary in its overall character, but I do like the mysterious, subtle nature of it.

Hugo Red definitely starts out with citrus that mellows out not too long into the interesting rhubarb heart note. Pineapple didn't really stick out, but the grapefruit is pretty evident from spray-on. Cedar is barely discernible, holding the foundation down to this warmer weather, informal occasion cologne.

I don't sense the dna of the original Hugo in this one; Hugo Red seems to stand out more on its own merits as a refreshing retake in its own direction.
07th May, 2017

Hugo Just Different by Hugo Boss

Classy, friendly, vibrant....just some of the words that come to mine when I wear Hugo Just Different.

The mint and basil are quite dominant in this scent; it does seem to change character from informal to more formal, with the spicy drydown. But it definitely has the dna of the original Hugo by Hugo Boss, though it takes a more refined and subtler turn.

This strikes me as a semi-formal, even formal, cologne for most seasons of the year. Hugo Just Different is, as some other reviewers have said, a safe scent to wear, but IMO it is one of the better of the Hugo flankers.
07th May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Boss Number One by Hugo Boss

Old-school men's powerhouse scent that is quite fresh and enjoyable.

I thought I'd pass out from the initial spray-on's intensity, but Boss Number One mellows out into a powdery sweet-spicy fougere meant for older wearers.

Not totally dated, Boss Number One is still a fragrance worth checking out.
04th May, 2017

Set Sail Martinique for Men by Tommy Bahama

Imagine taking Chrome by Azzaro and adding more sea salt and a richer finish. That's the impression I get of Set Sail Martinique for Men by Tommy Bahama.

Very pleasant for warm, balmy weather (like at a beach, a marina, et.al.), with a clean, refreshing effect. I'll have to try out Tommy Bahama's Set Sail St. Barts to compare with this really enjoyable fragrance.
04th May, 2017

Azzaro pour Homme Elixir by Azzaro

Really nice flanker of the original, though very little of the original Azzaro pour Homme dna is present in this one; Azzaro pour Homme Elixir is more of its own fragrance that stands on its own merits.

Smoky and powdery opening. Stays tangy "red" like Xeryus Rouge throughout the wear cycle.

Long-lasting, relaxing, moderate punch in terms of sillage. Overall, I would say it's not a totally unique fragrance, and I would prefer to wear Xeryus Rouge to behold the "red" effect. Yet, Azzaro pour Homme Elixir is one I would turn to without hesitation.
04th May, 2017

Reaction for Men by Kenneth Cole

Although it hasn't been out for many decades, Kenneth Cole Reaction strikes me as a classic in its own way.

The balance seems to have been struck well between the very green apple head note all the way to the base with the sandalwood and musk (excellent combination). Reaction ends up having a light woody character, accented tastefully by the patchouli and musk. Unlisted lily-of-the-valley note adds a delicate, rounded out floral touch overall.

Reaction for Men is all over the place, in discount clearinghouses as well as upper-end department stores, so it's not hard to get a sample to try out this still relevant, close to legendary scent from Kenneth Cole.

04th May, 2017

Vintage Black by Kenneth Cole

Pleasantly surprised with Vintage by Kenneth Cole.

What started out as smelling like a pedestrian, fruity young man’s cologne on the initial spray-on developed into a more mature, wood and berry citrus fragrance.

Reminds me greatly of Atelier Cologne’s Cedre Atlas, except Vintage isn’t heavily loaded with orange plus cedar wood; it’s more of a berry-lime citrus mixed with a lighter cedar note. The result is a sweet-sour-powdery-aromatic scent that’s actually decent. Probably not a universal fragrance, so a blind-buy would not be recommended.
04th May, 2017

Quasar by J del Pozo

Moderate thumbs up for Quasar by Jesus del Pozo.

This one has a fairly sharp green quality: Fruity Pungence rounded out subtly with various spicy notes and lavender. Not as intense as other green scents like (the also discontinued) Versace Green Jeans,

Quasar seemed to have some restraint and leveled out to a medium strength on my skin. The aquatic and citrus notes definitely characterize the basic nature of this one, which seems to go well for warmer weather.
03rd May, 2017

Mankind by Kenneth Cole

This cologne had me scratching my head all along. I see a nod towards European scents like Faconnable, Fahrenheit 32, Chrome Pure, Givenchy’s Pi Neo, or Dolce & Gabanna’s The One, especially with the orange-gingery quality that seems to hit me.

“Mankind” is a multi-layered, multi-faceted scent that is different from most fragrances being displayed at stores today: Sweet, lavender, spicy and slightly soapy formulation that attempts to come from several angles at once…perhaps representing the many faces of humanity itself(?).

Ultimately, I didn’t connect with this one, but I give props to Kenneth Cole for producing a distinct experience worth checking out with “Mankind.”
02nd May, 2017

L'Homme Ultime by Yves Saint Laurent

I was delighted to behold this scent when it first came out recently; knowing it was a richer version of my already-liked YSL L’Homme, I took immediately to L’Homme Ultime and still appreciate it now.

A wonderful flanker of an already great fragrance (YSL L’Homme), Ultime is squarely in the realm of the “intense” flankers out nowadays that do justice to their forbears (e.g., the “Prive” version of Paco Rabanne’s 1 Million, the “Profumo” versions of Armani Code and Acqua di Gio, the “Intenso” version of Dolce & Gabbana’s pour Homme, the “Parfum” version of Nuit d’Issey, the “Intense” version of Azzaro pour Homme, etc. etc.).

Big thumbs up from me! ;^>
02nd May, 2017

Mediterraneum by Versace

Dated but nonetheless viable relic of a cologne that apparently had switched hands between companies (settling with Versace to the present day).

Mediterraneum does have a fairly pleasant aromatic fougere quality to it, better reflected in Opium by YSL, IMO; but by today’s standards, it seems fit for nostalgic wearers only. Requisite elements of orange citrus. florals, herbs, spices, woods, and musky-amber are present.

The sensation is fairly heavy from spray-on and forward. Doesn’t smell cheap, just antiquated.
02nd May, 2017

Red Jeans by Versace

A really pleasant women’s fragrance from Versace.

Being a collector of many of the men’s “Jeans” colognes from Versace, I just had to write a review about this particular one for ladies: A linear, clean, marvelous potion that satisfies with a fresh berries and iced tea quality. It is not a cloying powerhouse of flowers, spices, nor berries; instead, Red Jeans comes across as a touch of floral (violet, roses) and fruit (peach) kissed with honey.

IMO, Red Jeans can be worn by young and old (who are young at heart :>), given its clean, fresh nature that is never overbearing nor pretentious.

An understated legend of a scent that is still relevant today, despite its yesteryear hearkenings.
02nd May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Zegna Uomo by Ermenegildo Zegna

Fresh, woody aromatic cologne from Zegna.

Very similar to Essenza di Zegna and Kenneth Cole Signature: Crisp, even woods plus slight spice with a touch of Italian flair. The end stage is akin to Dolce & Gabbana’s Light Blue, having a watery-wood quality thereafter.

A good, basic scent from Zegna that seems fairly safe and mainstream.
02nd May, 2017

Lapidus pour Homme by Ted Lapidus

Loud, proud, and definitely old-school.

A time portal back into the days when powerhouse men’s fougere colognes were quite common. Teeming with sweet spice and floral notes, screaming for your attention at the local discotheque!!

Too dated and loud for me.
02nd May, 2017

Tabaróme Millésime by Creed

A cologne once worn by Winston Churchill, Tabarome Millesime is a classy, dark tobacco-wood scent that is not for everyone. I like its dark, leathery quality out of pure fascination, along with the realization that I was testing out a legendary Creed Millesime fragrance.

Other than that, I don’t think I’d try to wear Tabarome out of the house except for sheer curiosity of whether others would notice, and how. A*Men Pure Havane is a more palatable alternative that is more down-to-earth and modern, IMO.
02nd May, 2017

Come La Luna by Bois 1920

(This is for women? The sample of Come La Luna that I got for free sure smells like what a man would wear.)

Loud cologne that mirrors scents like Giorgio Beverly Hills, Grabazzi, Quorum, and others from decades past. Starts out with a lot of promise, having a nice Italian vibe that promises to be interesting.

Alas, it ends up being another heavy men’s fougere powerhouse scent that, while having decent longevity, says nothing unique nor memorable. There are many such scents out there at deep discount prices that can do the job, if this sort of cologne is your thing.
02nd May, 2017

Roma Uomo by Laura Biagiotti

Yet another decent, though slightly dated, fragrance that reflects its time quite well (1994).

Roma Uomo feels complex and sweet, almost to a fault. There’s a lot of citrus, spice, and woodiness going on in this one. The cocktail is quite lively, and the result is a fragrance that can be worn by young or old who are energetic and special in personality.

Great for casual, informal events all year round, as well as romantic outings. Roma Uomo does feel classy and welcoming to wearer and smeller alike. Still relevant and wearable today overall, but warrants a test spray as it may feel too heavy for some.
30th April, 2017

Prada Amber pour Homme by Prada

Really nicely crafted fragrance from Prada.

Amber pour Homme has a classy, relaxing and warm feel to it, thanks to the wonderful notes of tonka, patchouli, orange blossom, saffron, suede, and cardamom. Neroli and vetiver liven things up in the base, and overall ApH just strikes me as smooth and so wearable on most occasions and weather conditions of the year.

30th April, 2017

Polo Blue Sport by Ralph Lauren

Meh. I expected a nice twist on the aromatic original, but instead encountered a scent that is reminiscent of Ralph Lauren’s Safari, with a sharper old-school finish to it.

How this one can be classified as a “sport” fragrance is imperceptible to me. Not a horrible cologne, but a bit too dated for my tastes.
30th April, 2017

Paco Rabanne Pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

Wow, this one packs quite a punch! Paco Rabanne pour Homme reminds me that, way before Invictus and 1 Million came on the scene, this company was still putting out potent colognes that polarized both wearers and smellers alike!

PRpH is a relic that reflects its decade well (namely, the 70’s): Loud, brash, daring, experimental, individual. The result is a musky-spicy-soapy potion combined with needed touches of moss, tonka, and amber to keep it somewhat tamed. Spices dance together like a crowded disco, creating a wall of sensation begging you to dance!

It’s clean and approachable even today…compared to a LOT of the men’s colognes that came out during that era from the many and sundry houses - Hai Karate, Halston, Oscar de la Renta, Givenchy, Yves St. Laurent, Giorgio Beverly Hills, Anucci, Capucci, Jacomo, etc. etc.
30th April, 2017

Opium pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

A clean, classic, balanced fragrance from YSL. There is a timeless quality to Opium that makes it suitable for the contemporary user, both for casual or even formal wear, preferably in cooler weather.

Opium has an old-school vibe to it with its citrus-oriental-spice formulation, reminding me of great scents like Carven pour Homme (original) and Mediterraneum.

Unless it’s overapplied, Opium is a safe, pleasant cologne to wear without coming across as overpowering nor cloying. Glad to own a bottle! ;^>
30th April, 2017

Hypnôse Homme by Lancôme

Just bought and tried out a bottle of Hypnôse Homme. I personally found it to be "hypnotic", in that I was sniffing my hand over and over all day long after applying a sample spritz!

Hypnôse Homme echoes scents such as Fahrenheit Parfum, with a slightly spicy, warm tangy sting that captivates my mind. I can't explain it except to say that Hypnôse Homme grabs my attention and lets me know that it will stick close and never be in the way.

Hypnôse Homme has an inherently muted quality to it, like it says what it will and nothing more. It is predictable, linear, and lasts a long time without changing. It comes off as slightly more than a skin scent, but that all depends on the amount applied, then it can become cloying. Also, I would compare it to Touch by Burberry...if it had an "extreme" version, this might be what it could smell like.

I like Hypnôse Homme. It is pretty distinctive among the myriad of scents that I own now, and it is worthy of a sample for the cologne enthusiast.
28th April, 2017 (last edited: 29th April, 2017)

Miracle Homme L'Aquatonic by Lancôme

A moderate thumbs up.

Miracle L'Homme L'Aquatonic is an enigma: It changes quality a couple times over the wear cycle, yet it remains basically in the same fragrance category of a "green" cologne. It begins with an amazing sensation of a dew-covered, freshly cut lawn that makes way to a more typical tangy mossy vetiver outing.

Requires a couple refresher spritzes to stay alive.
28th April, 2017

Animale Animale for Men by Animale Parfums

Wonderful, rich gourmand scent from Animale Parfums.

Normally, I think twice about wearing scents from the 90's, as many are just like their 80's predecessors: Loud, redundant, and forgettable...

Not so Animale Animale. With the chocolate note - as many have noted - there is a definite resemblance to A*Men by Thierry Mugler. Specifically, this one does have the requisite sweetness, but not in an overbearing way. Longevity is decent, and I do get compliments wearing this one.

I commend Animale Parfums for creating such a timeless, legendary formulation as this one. It may not be for everyone of course, but for the lover of things oriental and gourmand, Animale Animale is a balanced and pleasing option to consider.
28th April, 2017

Soul by Curve for Men by Liz Claiborne

Very interesting flanker of Curve original. Soul starts out with a fairly strong whiff of fruity tanginess, reminiscent of the original. Hints of spice start to peek through within minutes of application, married with the lavender in the heart.

The result is a steady, slightly powdery and aromatic formulation that isn't groundbreaking, but quite pleasant nonetheless. Like the original Curve, there is a slight resemblance to Creed's Green Irish Tweed in Soul Curve, offset slightly by the interesting bamboo and other base notes.
27th April, 2017

Hugo Extreme by Hugo Boss

Wonderful retake of the excellent Hugo cologne.

Retains nearly the same quality as the original: Crisp, green, pungent. Pine fir is quite dominant, as is the presence of apple in the opening. To me, the Extreme version is more enveloping and deep, but not in an obnoxious, overpowering way. It sits on the skin very gently and convincingly, yet in a laid back way; the original feels louder in comparison, though not heavier as this one tends to do.

I would be hard pressed to personally list any profound differences between this flanker and the original Hugo. Extreme should be tested out side by side with the original before purchasing.
26th April, 2017

Ecko by Marc Ecko by Marc Ecko

Rather nice scent from Marc Ecko!

Ecko is light, clean and smells legit. Immediate impression I get is of a slightly toned-down Azzaro Chrome. Doesn't seem to last too long on me, but IMO it's a scent that's worth the mid-day reapplication.
24th April, 2017

Curve Kicks for Men by Liz Claiborne

Another Curve flanker that I was impressed with!

Curve Kicks, with its dizzying array of scent notes, is actually quite pleasant overall. It starts with a noticeably strong citrus kick, which dries down to a powdery, minty, pungent quality reminiscent of Hugo Boss Soul.

Longevity is pretty decent. I find this to be great for casual occasions, day or night, all year round.
21st April, 2017

Hugo by Hugo Boss

Very pleasant leather and pungent citrus scent from Hugo Boss!

“Hugo” feels friendly and safe, fit for informal occasions. It has a warm, masculine sensation that stays pleasant to the very end (it doesn’t last too long on me, though).

Great go-to scent for on-the-go casual occasions. Unbelievable number of fragrance notes in this one, but it doesn’t smell contrived nor synthetic…just smooth and predictable. Invictus Aqua really resembles this.

The intense version is even nicer, taking what's so nice about Hugo and turbocharging it!
20th April, 2017