Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Kaizen1972

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 1004

Delma by AJ Arabia

Yet another amazing formulation from Widian!

Delma starts out immediately with a very boozy peach, flowing with lovely vanilla- and almond-like heliotrope next to a much more subtle mandarin and bergamot. This intro alone would satisfy me, but Delma adds sweet florals that are so FRESH and would seem to work well with women.

There is a semi-demi-gourmand quality to this one, thanks most likely to that tasty marshmallow note. Saffron is present, not at the intensity of Widian's Liwa, but nonetheless pairs up again with the moderate patchouli. Nutmeg is sprinkled tastefully within, adding a subtle spice that accents the peach and heliotrope from the intro, as well as the patchouli-saffron pairup in the base. Guaiac wood adds a touch of its characteristic tar-like note to this mix. And I find a moderate parallel in the fragrance's quality to Armani's Cuir Majeste (also unisex), regarding the leather and fruity elements present in both that create interesting results.

Delma, too, has a story to tell. Says Luckyscent:
"The Dalma Island lies just off the coast of Abu Dhabi. It's known for its pearl trade and famous for its pearl divers and legends of buried treasure left behind by 'pearl pirates.' Widian uses the images and stories of Dalma Island as inspiration for one of its softest, sweetest compositions yet."

I agree that Delma is soft, in comparison to the pungent Liwa. But like its sister scent, Delma has an exotic, intersting story to tell with its beautiful floral-sweet-herbal quality. I love the red bottle with the etchings, and the scent itself is very addictive!

Big thumbs up for this friendly, potent but laid back scent from Widian!!
11th November, 2018

Liwa by AJ Arabia

Whoah!! A breath taking scent full of exoticism and character!

Liwa by Widian (formerly AJ Arabia) comes across as a thoughtfully made, bold and unique fragrance brimming with a dark fruity, floral, and woody composition that is attempting to tell a compelling story. Says Luckyscent:

"The Liwa oasis is a lush valley of date palm farms and Bedouin villages in the middle of a seemingly endless sea of sand. Its improbable beauty is the inspiration behind Widian's newest fragrance, a gorgeously modern oriental that perfectly blends stylish florals with exotic spice."

Very powdery, filled with sensations of myrrh and oud wrapped in thick cedar, pungent patchouli, green vetiver, lush incense, and amazing floral accents that don't relent! Saffron is intense, flowing in a river of the inimitable crocus stamens without apology!

The bottle alone hypnotizes me: The fiery red within a finely etched bottle, enticing you to come forth and inquire of what is within. The potion is addictive, and I find so much here that I love!

Testing is believing. Try a decant, and see what you think of this alluring, lush fragrance. :-)
11th November, 2018

Oud Noir Intense by Fragrance Du Bois

An amazing, shimmering experience from Fragrance du Bois!

Fragrance triangle for Oud Noir Intense:
Head - bergamot, cardamom
Heart - rose, jasmine
Base - sandalwood, saffron, patchouli, vanilla, musk, amber, agarwood.

The opening is nice and bright with a touch of lemony bergamot and big dose of mentholated cardamom. Patchouli starts to emerge within a minute at a level higher than the remaining heart and base notes, although I get whiffs of herbal saffron partnering up with the patchouli in a tight union. Sandalwood enters in slowly, very smooth and restrained than what I'd usually experience in other scents. Rose starts out very subtle, intertwined with the jasmine, but later seems to intensify and feels more present. Musk is dark and subdued as well initially, then it sticks its chest out more alongside the rose and jasmine, seeming to latch onto the slghtly powdery amber in yet another suprisingly well-choreographed partnership.

And what of the agarwood (oud)? I must say that I don't get a straight shot of oud in this precious potion; more so, it's a mellow presence that is relying heavily on the other notes to paint a picture of complexity of floral, spice, wood and herbal notes highlighting aspects of oud.

My take on ONI: It is a journey that shows you several qualities of oud - whether compositely or accentuating what oud is actually there. The oud strength is medium to medium low - personally, the intensity is in the richness of ingredients versus strength of projection, per se. Oud is slightly smoky and has a smidgen of that typical antiseptic touch.

The sillage for this one is shockingly low, relating to the sky high niche fragrance price this one demands. A lowkey, expensive, reflective scent that I wouldn't run to get a full bottle of. Overall, a thoughtful, dignified expression that defies my expectation (i.e. not an "intense" powerhouse fragrance) and has my respect.
11th November, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Bleu de Chanel Eau de Toilette by Chanel

A very comfortable "blue" scent from Chanel.

Bleu de Chanel EDT is great for daily wear, never becoming overpowering nor cloying. It adds a friendly, peaceful aura in the background as I go about my routine for the day.

I felt a really close parallel between this scent and Bulgari's Blu for men, though BdCedt comes across as a bit lighter and more basic (although it is a really classy formulation, not ordinary at all).

Overall, a lovely, aromatic gingery-patchouli-vetiver EdT that can be worn in various occasions and temperatures; as for the EdP, not as much (though it is also classy, but more rich and "packed" with notes).

07th November, 2018

Sleek Suede by Yves Saint Laurent

A sexy, sleek fragrance from YSL! Sleek Suede has an exotic, distant-lands vibe to it which drapes me in luscious cacao, incense, tobacco and several doses of wood and spice. I find it to remotely resemble a refined A*Men, gourmand and rich with character.

It feels more wearable in cooler temperatures, and can be worn in either casual or even formal occasions by either gender. Great outing from a great company! :-)


30th October, 2018

Magnificent Gold by Yves Saint Laurent

Unmistakably powdery vanilla and moderately sweet fragrance, with a nice oud and sandalwood mix that adds a creamy and starchy quality. YSL's Magnificent Gold also has a nice pepper and aromatic touch to it, rounding it out into a balanced, tempered oriental scent finished with musk.

Elegant, smooth, and well-crafted!
30th October, 2018

Vinyle by Yves Saint Laurent

A rich, balsamic-oriental formulation of some daring from YSL, a part of its Le Vestiaire des Parfums Collection de Nuit line.

Vinyle is resinous, sweet and spicy, driven by vanilla and with a healthy dose of the higly unusual, earthy immortelle flower. To me, it remotely resembles the smell of a fresh, new LP record right after the shrink wrap has been opened.

This fragrance feels more feminine a scent than masculine. But it is distinct and different than anything I've encountered in a while. And the bottle - though quite pricy - is sexy and inviting.

Best suggestion is to test this out and not blind buy.
30th October, 2018

Noble Leather by Yves Saint Laurent

Fruity, leathery scent that is also accented by patchouli and aromatic saffron. This is not a full-on leathershop experience, as Helmut Lang Cuir would be; rather, Noble Leather is an elaborated, multifaceted scent which takes a basic leather and adds to it in an imaginative way.

Very nice, wearable fragrance from YSL!
30th October, 2018

Rive Gauche pour Homme Light by Yves Saint Laurent

I agree with several reviewers that Rive Gauche pour Homme Light is not a watered down, weak retake of the near legendary original (one of the top fragrances I have ever worn).

No, RGpHL is a less "punchy" version, having the original's dna and being even more wearable for everyday casual occasions than Rive Gauche pour Homme original is. This light version uses new notes (like geranium) to give it a more accessible quality to wearers who may find the original to be still too strong.

Great formulation by YSL, worthy of test and being in the collection of Rive Gauche fans.

30th October, 2018

Granville by Christian Dior

Classy pine heavy scent from Dior's La Collection Couturier Parfumeur series.

Granville is an aromatic-spicy-woods scent that has pine tree, bergamot, and rosemary spice dominating overall. Pepper and sandalwood remind me "L" by Clive Christian.

Warm weather friendly, unisex for sure...Granville is a casual scent that smells very well-made and a treat for lovers of pine fragrances...like moi! :-)
23rd October, 2018

Fève Délicieuse by Christian Dior

Great "edible" gourmand outing by Christian Dior, a part of the "La Collection Privé" series.

Fève Délicieuse is LOADED with tonka bean, with its smooth almond-vanilla-hay flavor, and has yummy vanilla, cacao, caramel, sour cherry, and praline within as well. Mint and lavender add their signature herbal brightness, along with an interesting leather-powdery quality that round off this busy scent.

Awesome for cooler weather casual wear, it feels a smidgen more suited for ladies, but men may be able to wear this without shame.
23rd October, 2018

Escale à Parati by Christian Dior

Aromatic, spicy-citrus-green unisex fragrance with a touch of classic Eau de Cologne vibe mixed with bright cinnamon and fresh mint.

Escale à Parati has some nice elements that mimic Hermes' Orange Verte colognes, with a surprising rosewood hit that is quite pleasing. Very nice warm weather fragrance that, on me at least, lasted all day!
23rd October, 2018

Eau Noire Cologne by Christian Dior

Aromatic, spicy-sweet fragrance with a great green color, Eau Noire Cologne has some wonderful moments with licorice, lavender and coffee notes being the most pronounced.

There isn't any curry in this one per se, but I can see how some of the fragrance notes could create such a composite experience within Eau Noire. Curry proper is turmeric, chili powder, coriander, cumin, ginger and pepper; white thyme, sage, lavender, immortelle (fenugreek-like, not listed here), saffron (also not listed here), licorice, vanilla, cedarwood, leather and violet - in varying proportions - can easily result in a perceived curry-like finish that mimics the real ingredients listed above.

I personally don't smell it to the degree that some do. What I experience overall is warm spiciness, with a tobacco-like touch, lovely herbal lavender with licorice swirling about along with vanilla wrapped in a tasteful bit of leather. Classy!

Great scent that must be smelled to be truly understood.
23rd October, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Cuir Cannage by Christian Dior

Agree wholeheartedly with other reviewers that this fine, fine leather-based fragrance is VERY close to the Knize Ten scent, with some minor differences.

Cuir Cannage lacks that petroleum accord that is evident in Knize Ten. It does have a nice floral touch from the rose, jasmine, orange blossom and iris notes. It ends up also with a curious powdery quality, a distinction from Knize Ten and other leather scents.

CC is smooth, thought-provoking leathery goodness that smells as pricy as a full bottle of it costs. That may be the split point for many who otherwise admire this beautiful unisex fragrance and may opt for Knize Ten, Chanel's Cuir de Russie, et. al.

And it has a classic, old-school vibe that doesn't mean it's outdated, but rather a very pleasant fragrance that hearkens back to a time of old fashioned hard work in the leatherwork craft. Definitely worth a test!
23rd October, 2018

Cologne Royale by Christian Dior

Wow! Classy discovery for me is Cologne Royale, which is a really terrific blend of citrus elements mixed with fine mint, neroli and luxurious sandalwood to create an exceptional take on the Eau de Cologne mystique.

This category of fragrance is a true favorite of mine, and I must say that Dior's (pricy!) Cologne Royale is a remarkable creation. Longevity is decent, and I just LOVE the quality ingredients used to make this scent. Huge Thumbs Up!
23rd October, 2018

Fujiyama Homme by Succès de Paris

Clean scent that is 90% L'Eau d'Issey Miyake for men.

Price for this one is usually a steal, and it's a bit muted compared to Issey's scent. Love the combination of exotic fragrance notes - e.g. "bamboo sap", "sweet clover", and "Red Pimento" are interesting - but in the end, it's not an original scent as all the notes just recreate Issey's all time classic.
22nd October, 2018

Cologne Blanche by Christian Dior

Very smooth, pleasant powdery almond-orange fragrance from Dior!

Rosemary and neroli are expertly incorporated to accent those two main notes, creating a sweet, sensual effect that fits well in most any casual occasion.

Both genders can wear this, though it seems better for ladies. Either way, Cologne Blanche represents high-quality and acceptable performance.

21st October, 2018

Bois d'Argent by Christian Dior

Woody, powdery-balsamic creation that defies instant classification and comparison to other scents.

Bois d'Argent is iris-heavy, followed by the resinous medicinal smokiness of myrrh, and thereafter a merry-go-round of amber semi-sweetness, cypress, patchouli, honey, vanilla...and on towards a finish typical of chypre fragrances.

Decent sillage and okay longevity, a nice wear for men.
21st October, 2018

Ambre Nuit by Christian Dior

A regal-feeling fragrance, so full of sophistication and class!

When I try Christian Dior's Ambre Nuit, my day changes as I ponder how such a niche quality scent would fit in my routine that day. I become very self-conscious on whether or not I'm "overdressed" with this magnificent potion, which clearly is a formal scent meant for high-brow occasions.

Ambre Nuit has a clean citrus opening and overall has a boozy, powderish amber-rose-peppery spice finish that is simply fantastic! Unquestionably unisex, and a marvelous creation from Christian Dior!
21st October, 2018

Le Vestiaire des Parfums : Trench by Yves Saint Laurent

Nice, well-rounded citrus-woody-floral from YSL!

Top = bergamot, tangerine, fig;
Heart = iris, neroli;
Base = ambrette (musk mallow), cedarwood, musk.

Trench, from YSL's Le Vestiare des Parfums, comes across as a unisex scent that is better worn by ladies. Powdery, citrus, clean in its form and finish, it touches on several key emotions in me that keep me hooked!

I can see myself really enjoying this scent trail from a woman, but not necessarily wear it myself as a man.

19th October, 2018

Exquisite Musk by Yves Saint Laurent

Really rich, multifaceted musk fragrance!

Fragrance notes:
Top = ginger;
Heart = rose, cinnamon, nutmeg;
Base = benzoin, ambergris, agarwood (oud), musk, labdanum, patchouli.

Full of spiciness, sweetness, and rose, Exquisite Musk creates a classic musk experience that is enticing and full of sensuality. Great balance of notes that isn't overbearing nor disappointingly subtle. Pricy, but worth it!
19th October, 2018

Live Jazz by Yves Saint Laurent

Love my Live Jazz! :-)

A classic in its own right, Live Jazz is a great, more well-rounded version of the other Jazz outings.

It smells somewhat dated compared to colognes today, but it still has a really nice aromatic spicy-citrus quality that can be enjoyed by the open-minded contemporary wearer.

Compared to the original Jazz and Jazz Prestige from many years ago, Live Jazz smells more "polished" and airy, without the wet, intense tangy punch that the others characteristically demonstrate.
18th October, 2018

Acqua Essenziale Colonia by Salvatore Ferragamo

Fresh, spicy and woody update to the original Acqua Essenziale, Ferragamo's Acqua Essenziale Colonia that is quite nice.

Watery-citrus start leads to aromatic spiciness with a smidgen of floral fruitiness from orange blossom. Warms up and sweetens with the vetiver-ambroxan-tonka base.

I won't say this is a fantastic scent, as it has some occasionally unpredictable turns taken over the wear cycle. Has a definite Italian appeal to it, with a clean almost soapy quality and greenness from the clary sage. In the end, I prefer this flanker to the original and the "Blu" version.
18th October, 2018

Acqua Essenziale Blu by Salvatore Ferragamo

Wet, okay "blue" follow-up to the original AE, the Blu version is an oriental fougere that is fresh and citrusy, but a bit weighed down overall. Lavender dominates in this one, and the final result is a spicy concoction with Cascalone aldehydic stabs that take it just up to a watery dimension.

IMO, this one is overhyped. The bottle design and color are great, but the liquid within is...okay. Wow, I wanted this one to knock me off my feet, but not really.

Comparisons to Giorgio Armani's Dylan Blue and Chanel's Bleu are appropriate, yet those seem more special.

18th October, 2018

Acqua Essenziale by Salvatore Ferragamo

Average marine scent from Ferragamo. Acqua Essenziale is a fresh-aquatic fragrance in the "blue" category for sure, but for some reason it's not anything that really stands out for me.

Reminds me a lot of Chanel's Bleu EdT, though that one is more pronounced in sillage and longevity. AE isn't at all exceptional nor essential in any cognizant way: It's more generic and ordinary.
18th October, 2018

Incanto pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

I really wanted to Thumbs Up like this one, but it gets a neutral from me only because its nothing memorable in the end...

Incanto pour Homme is an aromatic-woody-musky formulation that seems more hollow than I'd like. Low sillage and longevity of what has some freshness that just doesn't elevate and linger too well. I like the tarragon and bamboo notes in particular, but they're not too discernible in the end as other scents I'd encountered.

So-so and fairly safe, but not sensational. ;^l
18th October, 2018

F pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

A really nice fragrance, "F pour Homme" by Salvatore Ferragamo has that nice fruity-lavender-pepper combo that I've enjoyed in many other scents.

"F" has a lovely shimmering quality to it, along the lines of Allure Homme by Chanel and remotely so like Boss Bottled #6 by Hugo Boss. Pleasant, tasteful level of sweetness to me (opinions will differ here I'm sure).

I can see myself wearing this as a regular casual occasion scent. Nicely done! :-)
18th October, 2018

Attimo pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

Not too bad an offering from Ferragamo, Attimo pour Homme always struck me as a spicy-woody fragrance trying too hard to be relevant and powerful.

I'd wish more projection from Attimo, as well as a more solid vibe as a manly-man fragrance. It's a bit more opaque and ordinary than I'd have liked, which is unfortunate.

Fairly generic, safe daily wear scent; I can think of many others that would be more of a "lift" for me.
18th October, 2018

Subtil pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

Nice bottle, color of potion, and scent is a masculine aromatic-spicy-citrus that is pleasant to wear.

I would describe it as fresh, sensual, and excellent for warm weather wear. May not be a revolutionary creation, but Ferragamo's Subtil is full of potential esp. if you apply multiple layers, as it is not a monstrous projection cologne. Longevity is okay, but in the end - like many citrus-based scents - a refresh spritz would work mid-way throughout your routine or event.

Not an absolute must-buy, but a decent EdT to get at discounts wherever you can.
18th October, 2018

Uomo Signature by Salvatore Ferragamo

I like this one, though it isn't markedly different than Uomo its predecessor.

Leather is up front and in your face! It is bold like the original, yet smoother and a bit more reserved. Still a great party scent like the original, and it has the signature tart-spicy-sweet vibe that many men's fragrances have adopted nowadays.

Great scent to have esp. for collectors, but practically speaking it's not a major departure from the original.
18th October, 2018