Perfume Reviews

Reviews by mhiregoudar

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 37

Sunshine Man by Amouage

Smells like Orange cream biscuits. I do not get any sunshine vibe from this. It is suitable for cold weather conditions. A must try for gourmand lovers.
I personally cannot imagine wearing this one. Feels juvenile.
But I like the way the house of Amouage is trying to hit all genres instead of just focusing on Incense.



Projection: 9/10
Longevity: 12+ hrs.


6/10
17th June, 2017

Vetiver by Guerlain

Based on latest version

The opening & mid of this fragrance strongly remind me off a mopped floor (with disinfectant) at a hospital. Perhaps the lemon/lime/ginger scented disinfectants were inspired by this fragrance. This association ruins it for me.

The dry down is basic green earthy vetiver.


Projection - 7/10
Longevity - 6-8 hours


5.5/10
20th May, 2017

Lonesome Rider by Tauer

Mysore sandalwood, frankincense, dry rose petals, vetiver & pepper are pulverized and the powdered mixture is sprinkled upon burning coal.
The aroma from the fumes attained as described above is the opening. Your cotton shirt & leather jacket catches the aroma of the fumes and that is the dry down of this fragrance.
This is the fragrance that captures middle eastern vibe perfectly.


Projection: 8.5/10
Longevity: 10 hours


9/10
01st May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Millésime Impérial by Creed

The beautiful melony/fruity opening lasts for about 5 minutes, from there on up-till 6 hours all I get is highly saturated salt water. It is like inhaling salt into your nose. I dislike this salty mid phase.
The dry down after the salty phase is quite reminiscent of GIT's dry down which I love. Instead I would spray on some GIT which I love from opening to dry down.


Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 10+ hours on my skin

6/10
30th April, 2017

Bois d'Argent by Christian Dior

This smells like nasal snuff powder made of powdered tobacco & eucalyptus. I don't get any honey, iris, patch.
People around me agreed that it smells like snuff powder.
Sometimes way down in the dry down i get chlorinated swimming pool water.


Longevity: 8 hours
Projection: 4/10



4/10
24th April, 2017

Myths Man by Amouage

For first couple of hours it smells like hot ash flowing in a sewage. Smells really bad.
Further in the dry down smells like a mixture between Tuscan leather & Interlude/Memoir Man.



Longevity: 12 hrs
Projection: 9/10



2/10
13th October, 2016

Reflection Man by Amouage

WOW, This is what i wanted Le Male to smell like.
Reflection Man smells amazing, Le male perfected.
It is so clean fresh with that flowery, slightly bubble gum type & sweet sandalwood/vanilla dry down.
I hate Le male but absolutely love this one. So far my favorite from Amouage.
This is quality stuff for sure.


Longevity: 8 hours
Projection: 7/10


10/10
11th October, 2016

Memoir Man by Amouage

Opens up like the smell of (Unscented-original) green tobacco leaves & transits into heart where the tobacco leaves smell like they have been dried in hot sun, and they heat up further (into the dry down) giving the smell smoke & ash of the tobacco with hints of incense & burning tyre through out.

When i was sniffing it up close, it gave me a feeling that i was chewing on harsh dry tobacco & swallowing the juice. I could feel the piercing sharpness back in my throat.

People smelling you may think that you are a heavy smokeless tobacco user.


Longevity: 8-10 hours
Projection: 7/10


6.5/10

02nd October, 2016 (last edited: 22nd May, 2017)

Jubilation XXV by Amouage

Magnetic cap version:

Opens up with a smell reminiscent of fruit jam, which feels very high quality & lasts for no more than 15 minutes & soon transitions to the mid which smells like pure Frankincense with a hint of juicy jam from the top & this phase lasts up to 02 hours.

Further into the dry down after 2-3 hours of application the smell is quite similar to that of a freshly opened pack of Cigarettes upon a incensey/woody base.

I was so underwhelmed by this fragrance. Not worth the money at all.


Longevity: 8 hours
Projection: 5/10


6/10



Plastic cap version:

The opening of this hits you in the face. Big punchy whisky/berry/oud/rose/frankincense/tobacco combo.
I was blown away and instantly bought it.
As the hours pass by it loses the whisky/berry accord slowly while the big punchy oud/frankincense/tobacco/cedar/rose take the stage.


Longevity: 12+ hours
Projection: 9/10


10/10
02nd October, 2016 (last edited: 22nd May, 2017)

Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford

Smells like a Ayurvedic toothpaste with clove as a major ingredient.

Smells very cheap. No for me.

It should be called CLOVE VANILLE
03rd September, 2016

Kalemat by Arabian Oud

The opening is like Honeyed Vanilla Ice cream with some berries served in a Agar wood cup.

After 45 minutes as you start finishing the ice cream the oud note from the cup starts intensifying with a hint of antiseptic solution in the background.
Not a fan of this phase lasting to about 5-6 hours.

In the final phase the musk intensifies with vanilla & a hint of oud.
Love the opening & the dry down after 5 hours.

I do not wear it much as I do not feel confident while wearing it. Cannot pin point Why...??

Its a good fragrance to sniff once in a while.


Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 10/10


7/10

27th August, 2016

Interlude Man by Amouage

I get exactly the same Turmeric vibe from this as the reviewer CAKE-LOVE gets.

The opening is kind of sweet & i like it for the 1st hour after spraying. But after the 1st hour all i get is Turmeric.

This is the only fragrance that has made me to scrub off.

Projection: 10/10
Longevity: 10/10



4/10
27th August, 2016

Envy for Men by Gucci

Gucci envy has one of the best opening combining the notes of ginger, incense & lavender backed with patchouli & Vanilla. If there is any fragrance that captures a perfect modern barbershop smell, it is this one for me.

Feels like this fragrance was made by keeping in mind Pour un homme de caron. I find the structure of envy quite similar to it as both are vanilla, lavender heavy scents.

It is quite thick from beginning till the end because of the heavy vanilla, patchouli base. But there is also a odd note in here that vaguely reminds me of mosquito repellent mat at times.


Projection: 8/10
Longevity: +10 hours

8.5/10

18th July, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Dior Homme Parfum by Christian Dior

Opens up with that signature Dior homme iris which i love but soon transitions into a very thick & cloying combination of Ponds powder, Lacto Calamine skin lotion & oud. This is the cheapest smelling Dior fragrance to me.

Would had been better if they had made a stronger version of the original Dior homme or Intense which I love.


Projection: 10/10
Longevity: 10/10


4/10
18th July, 2016

Green Irish Tweed by Creed

Feels like a cold, foggy morning in a place where some green leaves & a hint of flowers (marigold, lavender & tiny bit of jasmine) have been chopped off & cold water has been sprinkled upon them.
As the times goes by it loses the greenness while the salty musk starts coming upfront.

Smells very natural.

It does remind me of cool water, but cool water is GIT + chlorinated swimming pool water.



Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 10 hours


9/10
14th July, 2016 (last edited: 16th July, 2016)

Azzaro pour Homme by Azzaro

Opens up with like a extremely saturated fennel seeds solution with some herbs, woods, leather & powder in the background.
Drys down by losing the fennel seed solution feel gradually while maintaining the herbs, woods & leather

Azzaro PH smells more modern than Rive gauche & also lasts longer. I feel like Azzaro PH was released in 2003 & Rive gauche was released in 1970's.

Falls in the same league as Chanel egoiste which also has its own character & does not smell too dated like Kouros, Antaeus, Eau Sauvage etc.,

Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 7 hours

9/10
20th June, 2016

Armani Code / Black Code by Giorgio Armani

This fragrance reminds me of so many things at the same time,
i) a Mosquito liquid repellent
ii) Cheap car perfume
iii) Toilet freshener

There is definitely a cheap ingredient in here that reminds me of the above mentioned.

Projection: 4/10
Longevity: 3-4 hours max

3/10
20th June, 2016

Acqua di Giò Profumo by Giorgio Armani

Just another aquatic fragrance with some incense (trying to copy the trend set by BDC) in the market already flooded with aquatics.

Nothing new here.

Projection : 7/10
Longevity: 8+ hours

5/10
04th June, 2016

Aventus by Creed

Batch: 14M01

The picture i get with this fragrance is
Slices of ripe pineapple, apple with a bouquet of fully bloomed roses & jasmine lying on a table along with high quality shaving cream & some woods being burnt in a distance.

Smells really natural & high quality. No clone of this fragrance comes close to this in terms of quality, performance & refinement. Totally worth the money.

It is true that it gives nose fatigue. Lasts easily 12+ hours on me & projection is excellent.


10/10
10th April, 2016

Voyage d'Hermès by Hermès

Lighter version (Female) of Terre d'Hermes.
The cardamom is too much & gets cloying as you were it more and more.


Projection: 5/10
Longevity: 5-6 hrs

5/10
23rd March, 2016

Acqua di Parma Colonia Assoluta by Acqua di Parma

Opening is citrus, peppery smells dated, cheap, powdery, repelling in the dry down IMO.
I consider this to be a cheap barbershop smell.
Not worth the high price tag.



Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 8+ hours


3/10

22nd March, 2016

Allure Homme Sport Eau Extrême by Chanel

At first couple of testings, it gave me a sour/rotten note mixed with some aquatic & sweetness in the background with great projection & longevity.

Could not resist & bought it a month later.
Was really impressed with this stuff.

I get a heavy dose of mint & lemony orange on the top with hints of woods & creaminess. If i stay indoors it transitions into a semi sweet fragrance with hints of freshness from the top which i do not like as much.

This shines really well outdoors in the heat more than 35 deg. Celsius, where its top notes rise up & give a very fresh minty, citrus vibe with a very mild sweetness behind.

Love this stuff

Projection: 9/10
Longevity: 12+ hrs

9/10
22nd March, 2016

Versace pour Homme by Versace

I hate aquatics from ADG to Bvlgari Aqua pour homme.

All these aquatics remind me of stagnant water in a tank with green algae growth underneath.

Versace pour homme smells like the above described with some rotten eggs thrown into that tank.
YUCK..


Projection: 6/10
Longevity: 6 hrs


2/10




17th February, 2016

Herod by Parfums de Marly

I think they have literally put some cough Syrup into this heavy bottle. In the opening all i can smell is this cough syrup. And I love it...

In comparison to spice-bomb this thing smells of very high quality, where as spice-bomb smells really cheap, alcoholic, synthetic IMO.



Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 12 hrs


8.5/10


13th February, 2016 (last edited: 02nd June, 2017)

Bentley for Men Intense by Bentley

Rum, leather with a prominent Sandalwood & incense fragrance.

Love the combination of sandalwood & incense in the dry down. This is by far one of the best & most natural sandalwood i have smelled in a fragrance.

Longevity: 10+hrs
Projection: Excellent


9/10

03rd February, 2016

A*Men / Angel Men by Thierry Mugler

This is one of the most complex fragrances i have ever come across.
It behaves differently in different conditions & keeps you guessing all the time.
The dry down after 2 hours is simply amazing, smells like a chocolate cake + cookies + rose & jasmin.

Sometimes smells like chocolate cookie dipped in with milk & made a paste of. (Real gourmand)

Projection: Excellent
Longevity: 16+ hrs

8/10
18th November, 2015

Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

This to me smells like a lemon/orange completely dried in hot sun + the smell of the earth when it rains for the first time.

Love this stuff.

Projection: 9/10
Longevity: 10+ hrs easily

9/10
16th November, 2015

Eau Sauvage Parfum by Christian Dior

The dated vibe that we get from Guerlain vetiver is accentuated here. Making it impossible for me to imagine myself wearing this. The bergamot hardly lasts a minute making way for a thick & cloying combination of myrrh, vetiver & "eucalyptus".

Got to admit that it is quality stuff. Perhaps the reason why so many people say it belongs to Dior Privee line. I don't belong to that Niche to appreciate this fragrance.

Got to try the 2017 version. May be I will like it!!??


Projection: 10/10
Longevity: 12+ hours


4/10



11th November, 2015 (last edited: 29th April, 2017)

Sauvage by Christian Dior

Opens up fresh citrus backed with some pepper, sweetness, soapy & a metallic vibe. There is not much development here, it loses a touch of citrus & becomes more soapy, peppery & woody.

Its a modern take on fragrances like Azzaro pour homme, GIT & others. It may well be regarded as a classic barbershop fragrance in the decades to follow.

Definitely a crowd pleaser.

Projection: 9/10
Longevity: 12 hours


9/10
11th November, 2015 (last edited: 18th July, 2016)

Prada Amber pour Homme by Prada

This smells like a bathroom to me.

I see neither creativity nor uniqueness in this fragrance.

Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 6/10
11th November, 2015