Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Hovamike

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 13

Sundrunk by Imaginary Authors

Citrus smelling fragrance. Blind buy... I like it but had I smelled it first, I wouldn't have bought it... Why not, you ask? It's the same old citrus smell.. oranges.. You can achieve the same smell from any blue colored designer fragrance... Yes this smells like most fragrances that come in blue bottles.

Saint Julep is special though... it's a blind buy worthy frag.
30th December, 2018

Saint Julep by Imaginary Authors

This fragrance will be your summer theme fragrance. Please believe the other reviewers that go into detail about the notes. This stuff is awesome. I will give a better review in the spring when I start wearing it again.

If you don't have a bottle, order it now before something silly happens... like it becoming discontinued.
30th December, 2018

Lanz by Slumberhouse

Of all the frags I've tried from this house, Lanz is out of place and doesn't fit their DNA. It's actually a pretty awful fragrance. I can't even describe it, it's so bad. I will update this review with some details. This is definitely a women's fragrance and I can't imagine any man wearing this.
13th August, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

New Sibet by Slumberhouse

I'm giving this one a neutral strictly because it's a clone of Iris Silver Mist by Serge Lutens. If you haven't smelled it I'll describe it like this.... it smells like carrots, lipstick, a women's makeup case or just plain 'old' Iris... this isn't a unisex fragrance. This is a women's fragrance. Why do these perfumers continue listing these fragrances as unisex? (possibly because they like to wear women's fragrances) It's mind boggling to me... I'm convinced that Slumberhouse's darker colored fragrances are truly male frags and the lighter colored frags are definitely for women.

No originality in this one, sorry. Iris Silver mist clone. It's expensive either way. I'd go with a cheaper Iris scent if you like Iris.

If you want a nice male frag from Slumberhouse try Jeke, Norne or Sova... Ore is probably the only true two way frag.
07th October, 2017

Kiste by Slumberhouse

It just clicked. I came home, sat in front of my computer and tried on this sample for the 3rd time maybe. At first I couldn't figure out what this frag smelled like but now I have it... this frag is very similar to Tom Ford's Tobacco Vanille. There is no other way for me to describe this one but to call it how I smell it. If you like TF's TV then you will like this. If you have TF's TV then you aren't missing anything in this Kiste by Slumberhouse. I hope this helps.
07th October, 2017

Iris Silver Mist by Serge Lutens

I'm still trying to figure this frag out. I get a powdery carrot smell in the opening that doesn't seem to change. It's safe to say that this frag is linear. My son told me it smells like leather but he's 8. I personally don't get the leather he gets but I can find it to have a suede appeal to it. This wouldn't be classified as unisex in my catalog but it's not overly feminine either.

I'm looking to get rid of it but I think I need to give it another try in a few days. I mean, it's not awful but you have to be easy on the trigger otherwise it could be cloying.

I will edit it if I have to the next time I try it.
14th November, 2015

Platinum Égoïste by Chanel

This is definitely a basic frag. Nothing complex about it. It's citrusy.

I wouldn't totally tell you to stay away because it's not a bad fragrance. It's just a basic one and it's very expensive.

People are comparing it to Bleu de... and Cool Water. I get why they would say that... It's citrusy but nowhere near as good as either of them.

Lastly, if you really want to know what this fragrance smells like or you want to buy something similar but not break the bank, go and smell or buy Curve for men. Almost identical scent IMO and a fraction of the cost. The sillage is much better for Platinum though. You'll need extra sprays of Curve to match the strength of Platinum.
25th October, 2015

Blue Sugar by Aquolina

If I can describe this fragrance by the way something tastes it would have to be sugar cane. I blind bought this frag and I am so happy I did. With that being said, I don't know how they managed to get something this sweet to be a masculine frag but they did.

Very pleasant scent. That vanilla and cedar combined begins to show itself after an hour. I will edit later after I see how long it lasts.

It has good longevity.
It projects well.

This is not an everyday frag but it's definitely worth adding to the collection.

I might be off by saying this but it has the faintest similarity to Pure Malt. I truly do mean faint.
11th October, 2015 (last edited: 14th October, 2015)

L'Homme Parfum Intense by Yves Saint Laurent

I love this frag. If I could describe this frag by the taste of something I'd say it initially smells like the taste of those classic candies called Violets. That mixture of notes gives off the faintest hint of violet to me. If you know the candies I'm speaking of, I think you will agree. The dry down is just as soft and luxurious as the opening. I'm not sure why it's getting all the negative reviews but this is by far one frag that will have you smelling yourself all day. It's not a screamer. It doesn't project loudly. It's very smooth and subtle. I'd compare it to La Nuit as far as the projection of the frag goes but in no way am I saying it smells anything like it. This frag isn't cloying at all.
I'd recommend it.

Although I still do it, I find it funny now to go and watch Youtube reviews on frags. Everyone has a different nose. You could really find yourself with a bad frag if you do this. I watched one with a guy who pretty much let his girlfriend choose what she thought was the best fragrance for men. Every frag she chose was very similar. It's obvious this particular woman was a fan of only citrusy frags. I kid you not, this guy must have had about 10 frags that smelled the same. Just be mindful when taking the advice of regular Joe with a video recorder. Go to your local Macy's or NM, etc. and smell some stuff to see what it smells like on you.

I have a few blind buys under my belt and I'd like to save a few others from the disappointment of doing the same.
27th September, 2015

Escape for Men by Calvin Klein

I've owned this frag for a long time. I received a compliment once in an elevator by a very attractive babe so from that point I didn't use my own opinion of how the frag smelled. If she liked it I wore it.

This frag seems to be pretty close being unisex. CK is known for making those types of frags. My more mature nose still doesn't like it but from time to time I'll try it out to see if it gets any attention. I figured if I bought I really don't want to waste it. Out the gate it's grapefruit all the way. I really couldn't tell you about a dry down because I feel like that citrus smell sticks around a long time so it's got good longevity and I guess the sillage is above average as well.

I'm new to basenotes so be patient with me and my reviews. I'm learning to identify certain parts of frags. I'm thinking about trying this frag out again just to see if I like it. It's so strong though. I really don't think anyone cares about this frag anymore. I mean, I was 18 when I first wore it. I'm 39 now. I'll leave this one alone.
12th September, 2015

Le Mâle Summer by Jean Paul Gaultier

I am reading the reviews on this frag and I have to disagree with some who say it smells like a knock off. I own this and I love how they toned it down to make it wearable for the warm weather. Just to see how much they altered it, I tried my original JPG. The original is very strong compared to this version and would not work in hot temperatures.

It does smell toned down but I know it's not a knock off because I actually got mine from Macy's. JPG has accomplished what they set out to accomplish. They made JPG Le Male wearable in the summer. Thank you. If you like JPG LM, you'll like this. Mine came in a nicely designed limited edition bottle and tin can. Same manly shape with some nice summer artwork that resembles an island in the summer with the ocean in the background.
12th September, 2015

Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford

Vanilla and the smell of very rich pipe tobacco. Imagine walking into an exclusive English men's club in the early 20th century, complete with leather chairs, a fire and the carved oak walls and ceilings and what it might have smelled like. Imagine the smell of your grandfather's winter wool coat. This new Tom Ford fragrance defines a new type of fragrance sent that evokes these types of memories. It is a serious fragrance that balances the pleasure of vanilla with the provocative character of pipe tobacco.
I gave a review that wasn't as pleasant as this a month ago. I had to give this fragrance another try. I smell all I'm suppose to smell, tobacco and vanilla. I personally have the private blend. One spray lasts all day. Two sprays is the max. I wish all fragrances were as potent as this.
24th August, 2015 (last edited: 10th September, 2015)

Boucheron pour Homme by Boucheron

Very powdery granny smelling fragrance. I'd pass on this if I knew in advance it smelled this way. I purchased based on the reviews. I don't like it. I'm not going to give up on it just yet though. I'll try it again this winter. I will update review when I do.

Jaipur is a next level fragrance. If you have to try one from Boucheron, make it Jaipur. You won't regret it.
24th August, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below