Perfume Reviews

Reviews by speedracer

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 1151

Riflesso Blue Vibe by Trussardi

While I enjoy the original Riflesso more than this flanker, it's nice to wear and does share some similarities.

The opening is where it is most like Riflesso with it's YSL La Nuit-esque, soft, sexy-sweet florals. Quickly into the drydown and it really reminds me of L'Eau d'Issey Pour Homme. A very green, fresh note that I presume is the yuzu that is then sweetened by the Riflesso DNA. This sweetened effect also makes the green yuzu feel less harsh than you would find in the Miyake.

Performance is fine, with moderate projection and 6-7 hours longevity.
06th December, 2019

Guess Suede by Guess

Sweet, synthetic suede with a generic-woody opening. Almost unisex. Smells like something you'd get from a novelty licensed fragrance gift set, one of those where it's more about the name on the bottle than the scent. Linear from beginning to end for me.

Performance wasn't a complete letdown, but the projection is definitely lacking. It hangs around as a skin scent for 6-7 hours.
20th November, 2019

Kenzoair Intense by Kenzo

I really like the original Kenzoair for its soft, dry freshness and very unique anise smell. The Intense version gives you more of everything, including a bit more cumin in the opening to make it slightly dirtier and then a slightly sweeter, woody finish that was surprising. Like the original, it's still not as heavy or sharp as Encre Noir or even the Sport flanker and seems like a good mix between that and Lolita Lempicka au Masculine.

Air Intense is also a better performer in projection than the original. I get about roughly the same in longevity, 8-9 hours.
19th November, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Andy Warhol Montauk by Bond No. 9

Very airy, fresh and with the white florals, can become cloying if over-applied. Feels very unisex to me. The floral-citrus opening reminds me of KC Reaction. However, the citrus leaves and gives way to a more metallic-white floral, similar to Chrome Legend and SMW, without the ink. This metallic white-floral is the note that can easily become cloying if over-applied. In small doses, it's very nice but in a generic way. And that's my only real gripe with Montauk is that it smells a little cheap.

Performance is not an issue, so there's nothing cheap about that. I get good projection and 10 hours longevity.
14th November, 2019

Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

Usually not a "barbershop" guy but I really like the fresh, unique scent of Rive Gauche pour Homme. Also, the performance is really good as well.

It definitely hints towards a shaving cream scent but the starring and quite biting anise with herbal geranium, rosemary, and warming cloves really makes Rive Gauche pour Homme stand out from many other scents I've tried. It's soapy, green herbal, fresh and masculine.

I get all-day longevity and projection that others can smell without having to get too close.
11th November, 2019

Red Tobacco by Mancera

While I do like the fruity sweetness that is there and detectable, Red Tobacco is dominated by a smokey, woody saffron that makes this harder to wear and enjoy. I would say if you enjoy oud saffrons with some sweetness, then this should be an excellent choice.

Very powerful projection and longevity. Minimal sprays needed.
10th November, 2019

Love, don't be shy by By Kilian

Feminine florals mixed with sweet, edible vanilla and a powdery, makeup smell throughout. I think it leans feminine but like many vanillas, if you feel good wearing it, then anyone can pull this off.

I'm not picking up much civet or anything stinky, save for a little musk. It seems pretty safe and agreeable throughout, although don't overspray.

Performance is quite good, as mentioned. I get all-day longevity and projection on just a few sprays.
08th November, 2019

Nuit d'Issey Pulse of the Night by Issey Miyake

The opening is a smooth, sexy, powdery tonka and vanilla. The drydown develops into a warm, mature amber and spicy incense. This is up there with Noir Ambre as the best of Issey for nighttime and cooler weather wear. Very classy.

Performance is very good with projection that is easily smelled and longevity at 10+ hours.
29th October, 2019

Métallique by Tom Ford

The opening is soapy, flowery, powdery and clearly feminine. The drydown is much more smooth with just a soft, clean vanilla that's more unisex. As far as my preference, I’d find this appealing on women of many ages and attitudes. Feels very versatile per occasion or season.

Performance is good with noticeable projection for 7-8 hours with only a few sprays.
27th October, 2019

Black Leather by Clean

The opening has a subtle leather note but mostly what I get is a spicy herbal, cooled-mint, soapy smell courtesy of the synthetic violet leaf which seems to be the main note. The leather and violet leaves does give it a slight Fahrenheit feel but way more floral, light and unisex than the Dior.

Performance is just okay with average projection and longevity in the 5-6 hour range.
26th October, 2019

Azzaro pour Homme Amber Fever by Azzaro

Warm, almost boozy vanilla and amber in the opening. Not getting much of the original Azzaro pour Homme in the opening. That comes later with the clary sage in the drydown and provides some nice freshness. Still feels more modern than old school but it’s still a nice nod.

This isn’t overly heavy or sweet. Quite wearable and versatile, although I’d say it’s probably best for cooler weather given the emphasis on the smooth and warm amber.

Performance is good with moderate projection and longevity into the 8 hour range.
25th October, 2019

Extreme Speed by Michael Kors

Clean, fresh, herbal, peppery and unisex, to me anyway. Also, I get a bit of dirty cumin in the opening that settles quickly. Reminds me of Lalique White in its character, not a clone, except with less citrus. The drydown, which comes hours later, is sweeter and woodier. It’s all very pleasant and seems best for daytime wear and mature wearers.

Performance is excellent on me with all day longevity and projection that is easily smelled by others throughout. Can become cloying if over sprayed.
24th October, 2019

Nuit d'Issey Austral Expedition by Issey Miyake

Starts off fresh and spicy. Drydown becomes more salty and metallic. Citrus is there throughout but never loud. I agree that this is closer to the original than Nuit, but it still stands on its own. It’s not as summery as the original nor as dark and sweet as Nuit. The thought I had while wearing was how great this was for work situations, both in the scent and performance.

Projection is good but never big or overwhelming. Longevity is very good, lasting 10+ hours on skin.
23rd October, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Clean Reserve : Amber Saffron by Clean

Warm, dry saffron with some sweetened fruit. I'm not getting much of the typical Clean, soapy DNA. I don't usually like saffron but this one is pretty light. This, like most saffron scents, leans fem to me.

Projection is light throughout the life of the scent. I get about 7-8 hours longevity total.
15th October, 2019 (last edited: 16th October, 2019)

Clean Reserve : Blonde Rose by Clean

A very clean, soapy floral but I need to clarify that the florals are very light and not fem at all. The overall scent is not rose-heavy, just unisex florals and clean soap. Smells better away from skin in the air than right on it.

Performance is good with decent projection that wafts into your nose throughout the first 4-5 hours. Lasted about 7-8 hours total on me.
15th October, 2019

Paul Smith Sunshine Edition for Men 2016 by Paul Smith

My bottle is for the 2014 version but I understand these are similar every year and the BN directory cannot keep up. Sparkling citrus opening that mixes with dryer sheet/room freshener. Becomes more unisex and generic further into the drydown. It’s one of those freshies that is pleasant if undersprayed but with overspray comes the cloying effect of chemical, synthetic overload.

Pretty good on the performance side with good projection during the first 4 hours and the you can still smell it on skin 8 hours later.
15th October, 2019

Churros by Demeter Fragrance Library

Sweet sugar and cinnamon, similar to what you get from a cinnamon roll scented candle or oil. There's a nuttiness to it that doesn't quite fit. Should be more of a fried dough smell to really get the fatty, greasy smell mixed with sugar and cinnamon.

Performance is good both in projection and all-day longevity.
11th October, 2019

Le Beau by Jean Paul Gaultier

Solid fragrance all around both in uniqueness from the coconut mixed with LeMale freshness and very good performance. Excellent compliment ratio, should be liked by most of the normal population. That excludes finicky basenoters, of course.

It does get a little basic into the deep drydown, sticking mostly to a LeMale scent, but that’s proven to be a winner of the years, so no worries there.

I got good performance on my skin with good, noticeable projection during the first 4 hours and then a little better than skin scent for 10+ hours.
09th October, 2019

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Wood & Wood by Issey Miyake

The opening reminds me of Eau Sauvage Parfum (2017) but lighter, fresher and way more modern. That goes away about an hour into the drydown and you're left with a very young, fresh and sweet scent that is typical in today's masculine fragrances. I don't get much if any, woody notes.

Not outstanding or unique but should be good enough for compliments. I will admit there are better options.

Projection is adequate for 4-5 hours. Afterward, you can still smell the scent on skin 10+ hours later.
09th October, 2019

Oudmazing by Montale

Another heavy, rose-oud, fem leaning Montale that can clear a room quickly. There is some oud there but the fem rose (even though it’s not listed) just overwhelms, turning this into an old lady scent that is tough to get any nuance or fun out of.

Big projection on just a couple sprays during the first 3-4 hours. Settles down after that and then lasts maybe 7-8 hours.
07th October, 2019

Valentino Noir Absolu Musc Essence by Valentino

This is definitely a rose-dominant scent but it has a powdery, airy feel to it, so not as heavy as some rose-oud scents.

I'm surprised this is listed as unisex, feels ultra-femme to me. And not the cute, young kind either. Gets more and more powdery the further into the drydown you go.

Performance is good with above-average projection and longevity.
04th October, 2019

Vanille Absolu by Montale

Strong vanilla opening reminiscent of expensive candles and maybe a little "marshmallows still in the bag" smell. The drydown is more of the same with the same big projection. Very sweet, pretty pleasant but not sure where I would wear this as it's not sexy or even playful. More of a room or car scent. Seems best for cooler weather.

This lasts all day and projects with minimal sprays, use caution!
04th October, 2019

Clean Reserve : Rain by Clean

This is actually pretty nice with plenty of clean, soapy, woody notes to go around. The opening does have a "rain" like feel to it. I'm not sure how to describe it but it does have that damp, dark, “misty” feel to it.

Projection is just okay throughout, not terrible, but longevity is pretty decent. Lasted around 8-9 hours on me.
04th October, 2019

Clean Reserve : Velvet Flora by Clean

I usually don’t like oud-saffron scents but this one is light enough that I find it enjoyable. I know oud is not really in this but that’s what kind of scent it reminds me of. The florals are also nice, not too overwhelming. Perfectly unisex to me. Probably not the best for hot weather but otherwise feels very versatile.

Performance was average at best with timid projection and longevity in the 4-5 hour range.
03rd October, 2019

Clean Reserve : Warm Cotton by Clean

This starts off very soapy and with a touch of dryer sheets. The soap smell is the kind Clean scents all kinda smell like to me. Just a generic hand soap smell. The dryer sheet smell is nice but seems like there should be more of that if you’re going to call this Warm Cotton. As it dries down, you get less of the cotton smell but the soap smell is toned down too so it smells pleasant.

A very casual smell that has good projection during the first 1-2 hours and then settles to a skin scent that lasts 6-7 hours.
30th September, 2019

Clean Reserve : Terra Woods by Clean

Soapy pencil shavings opening followed by a sweet, light floral. Smells like very nice hand soap. Simple and clean, very unisex.

If you spray liberally, projection is light and longevity is in the 8-9 hour range.
28th September, 2019

Neroli Woods by Banana Republic

Very unisex, citrusy-floral, cologne style (4711, Neroli Portofino) scent. If you like those scents, but want something in-between, this could be a good match. Similar to both but is slightly different in how the scent smells and performs. I find the smell lacks a richness found in the Tom Ford but slightly better than 4711.

The performance is a mixed bag. Longevity is actually very good, lasting 8 hours. However, the projection is light, so spraying liberally is needed.
27th September, 2019

Chocolate Greedy by Montale

The chocolate is dusty and light in the opening. Ultimately, I see this as a very nice vanilla gourmand. Sweet, rich and warming. Would be excellent for layering. It’s not overly feminine either, perfectly unisex.

Performance is good, which is a nice surprise considering how some vanilla Montales are so beastly. This one projects nicely without filling the room and lasts all day with minimal sprays.
26th September, 2019

Bad Boy by Carolina Herrera

Just very average.

Smells decent but reminds me of other typical modern mall scents, specifically Invictus in the opening with a slightly spicy, airy freshness. Drydown is a little sweeter and smoother, less harsh, going the Stronger With You route. Because it goes both fresh and sweet, it seems pretty versatile. Leans younger.

Performance is just decent. Projection is average while longevity is 5-6 hours.
25th September, 2019

Kalan by Parfums de Marly

Sweet, warm, spicy and woody. Feels like a more serious, mature version of Baccarat Rouge 540. It also feels more cold weather appropriate.

Performance is very good with strong projection and 8-9 hours longevity.
24th September, 2019