Perfume Reviews

Reviews by speedracer

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 318

Visit by Azzaro

A sweet, spicy fresh scent that has a prominent coconut note throughout.

Projection is okay while longevity is about 4-5 hours.
19th May, 2017

Aqua pour Homme Marine by Bulgari

Watery, salty sea air, freshness. Not sweet with an abundance of blue calone notes. More natural at the beginning and then becomes synthetic in the dry down.

Lasts about half the day and depending on the heat and how many sprays, can get cloying with the excellent projection.
19th May, 2017

Jimmy Choo Man Ice by Jimmy Choo

Smells good, like DHC as others have mentioned but also has an Aventus or Cedrat Boise vibe to me.

Decent performance, sprayed it this morning and 6 hours later still projecting a soft scent bubble.
15th May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Escentric 04 by Escentric Molecules

Light, woody, masculine and a bit dirty with a cannabis note in the opening that only sticks around for the first few hours. It's actually very enjoyable and the come-and-go effect of the scent while wearing is fun while also reassuring that you're not going to offend anyone by over-spraying.

Projection is very good when you first come across it. Longevity is very good as well, lasts all day.
14th May, 2017

Lemon Line by Mancera

One of the best lemon fragrances I've tried, right up there with Allure Homme Edition Blanche. However, the Chanel performs better and is creamier, whereas Lemon Line is more fresh, sharp and woody.

To me, it's addictive and really well done, smells like quality stuff.

Projection is good for the first few hours and then it becomes a skin scent, lasting 8 hours.

12th May, 2017

Molecule 04 by Escentric Molecules

Has a pleasant, fresh, sweet woody scent that seems to come and go.

Projection and longevity are great. You can still smell it on clothing days after wearing.
11th May, 2017

Ferrari Bright Neroli by Ferrari

A mix of TdH, 4711 and Allure Edition Blanche. Bright, sharp and citrusy. Very pleasing and sweeter than what I imagined it to be, but that's not saying this is a sweet scent.

Projection is okay. Just enough to smell it when you want to.
11th May, 2017

Pasha Edition Noire Sport by Cartier

Great refreshing opening that's followed up an hour later with a generic woody/fresh smell that's prevalent in all shower gels these days. I like that smell and it's pleasing to others, so I'm not complaining, just describing.

It's a simple crowd pleaser in the style of about half a dozen mainstream designer-best sellers.

Performance is not good. Only projects for about 1 hour, which is the best part of the scent, but after 4 hours, it's pretty much skin scent only.

09th May, 2017

Ambre 114 by Histoires de Parfums

Warm, sweet and smooth amber. Becomes a bit powdery during the drydown but it's mostly warm vanilla sweetness.

Projection is decent and is quite noticeable up close. The sweetness can make it cloying so be careful with how many sprays, but because it doesn't project in a huge way, that's just caution for the wearer.

Suitable for colder weather.

Good longevity, lasts all day.
08th May, 2017

Arpège pour Homme by Lanvin

A little too mature and macho-like cologne smell at the beginning, but the drydown isn't half bad. Once this settles down it becomes a soft, spiced-woody-vanilla that's quite interesting.

I can't think of anything similar but it's somewhere in there with the creamy, spicy, woody vanilla scents.

Projection is good in the opening but the drydown is only a skin scent. Lasts all day.
08th May, 2017

Clean Men by Clean

I don't know about clean but it is very safe and fresh. Citrusy, spicy and not much else.

Doesn't last but maybe 2 hours. Projection is moderate while it lasts.
08th May, 2017

Montana Black Edition by Montana

To me, smells like a less dirty version of Kouros with amped up leather notes. Soapy leather with spices.

Fantastic projection and also has a fresh crispness to it that makes it easily detectable even when not trying to smell it.
07th May, 2017

24 Platinum Oud Edition by ScentStory FZE

Similar in strength and smell to other rose heavy ouds like Montale Dark Auod and Thirty-three by Ex Idolo.

Very floral and dark/dirty. Again, excellent projection and longevity.
06th May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Only The Brave by Diesel

Bright, sweet and fresh but harshly synthetic. Makes me think of Millesime Imperial with the sparkling fruit notes and musky notes but this is no substitute for MI.

Has decent projection and should be nice for those around you, so maybe expect some compliments. The sweetness is formidable to the point of being cloying, so be careful with how many sprays you apply.
06th May, 2017

Bogart Story Red by Jacques Bogart

This reminds me of One Man Show Ruby, except not as oily, which is a good thing to me. It's also sweeter, also an upgrade for me. It's still a bit challenging for my nose, wouldn't call it a crowd-pleaser. So this might appeal to someone looking for something more unique.

The smell is a warm, almost chocolatey floral. I've smelled Blue Story as well, and from what I can tell, Red is better for the colder weather while Blue is intended for warmer temps.

Bogart performance is always excellent, no exception here. Lasts all day/night and projects the whole time.
05th May, 2017

Cologne by Etat Libre d'Orange

Very fresh and clean. A mix of orange/citrus house cleaner with a bit of leather and florals. The leather helps pull this one into masculine territory for me but still a completely unisex scent for sure.

Projection is okay, is easily noticeable in close quarters but doesn't get out much past that.
04th May, 2017

Arrogant by English Laundry

Smells like sweet, powdery, clean soap. Very pleasant but I'm going with neutral because it's just nice, not something I want to wear.

I've seen comparisons to JPG LeMale and Gendarme. I get the LeMale comparison, it is similar. Gendarme only compares in that it also has a clean soap smell, but that's it.

Projection is good, doesn't fill a room but can get noticed in passing. Longevity is excellent, lasts all day and into the night.

03rd May, 2017 (last edited: 04th May, 2017)

Gucci Guilty Absolute pour Homme by Gucci

This is different and unexpected from Gucci. Actually, this would be a departure for any mainstream designer. A heavy dose of leather mixed with band-aids is the best way I can describe it.

Projection is quite good and the sharpness in the notes really helps the scent stand out. Decent longevity, lasted all workday.
28th April, 2017

Tasmeem by Rasasi

Sweet and powdery with a cumin kick at the beginning that settles down quickly.

It reminds me of two scents, Midnight in Paris and Versace Blue Jeans. Both sweet and powdery but unlike MiP you don't get the tonka and its smoother than the Versace.

Very good performance, projects even with minimal sprays.
27th April, 2017

Bad by Diesel

Agree with some of the opinions already expressed on the forums. Has a strong resemblance to Invictus and Eros. Super sweet and slightly spicy with big projection. Smells fresh, generic and very familiar. Should get compliments.
24th April, 2017

Anyway by Juliette Has a Gun

Nice neroli up front and then becomes a feminine, perfumy ambroxan. Reminds me of hairspray.

Never has much projection, even with multiple sprays, but then fades fast from the original opening. The skin scent that is left lasts all day, so good longevity with the drydown.
24th April, 2017

Portrait of a Lady by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Rose dominated fragrance that can easily become cloying if more than 1-2 sprays applied.

Leans feminine but does have similarities with other Montale rose-heavy fragrances that men wear, so if you're inclined to like those, then you might like this.

Performance is excellent, just a few sprays fills a room and lasts all day.
24th April, 2017

1 Million Privé by Paco Rabanne

I like the original 1 million, but wearing it at times is challenging. Prive is a departure from the original but in a way that goes to being extremely enjoyable and wearable. I did not detect the bubblegum note, so I think they were going for more refined and mature with Prive. The cinnamon, tobacco and spices work so well together.

I wish there was a parfum or intense version because while the longevity is decent, it doesn't project much.
23rd April, 2017

4711 Echt Kölnisch Wasser by 4711

A neroli dominant fragrance with refreshing citrus that smells nice for 30 minutes and then it's gone. Fun to try but not something I could seriously consider due to longevity issues.
23rd April, 2017

La Nuit de L'Homme L'Intense by Yves Saint Laurent

Not as nice or crowd-pleasing as the original, but a nice fragrance nonetheless.

Much softer, less sweet and way more powdery the La Nuit. More florals, but less spice.

Excellent longevity but the projection is just okay.
22nd April, 2017 (last edited: 25th April, 2017)

Albatross by House of Matriarch

Salty, harbor smell mixed with something that smells like varnish or the smell from a freshly waxed basketball court. Maybe that's the smell you get from being on a wooden boat out in the ocean.

Projection is below average.

22nd April, 2017

Patchouli Patch by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Big patchouli opening that settles down into a musty cedar. Not the worst "old-man" smell I've tested but that's definitely the feel I get from Patchouli Patch.

Projection is average.
22nd April, 2017

Thirty-three by Ex Idolo

Dirty, brooding oud and a powerful, heavy rose. Reminds me of Montale Black Aoud, very similar.

Very powerful projection with minimal sprays.
21st April, 2017

Very Irrésistible for Men Fresh Attitude by Givenchy

I did not like the opening, to creamy and sweet, generic too. But then after a while, these woody/spicy notes showed up and made a nice contrast with the creamy sweetness. I really like this now, so be sure to stick around for the drydown for a full judgement.

Works well in warm weather and is pretty potent for a sweet/fresh type fragrance.
16th April, 2017

Sacred Wood by By Kilian

A sweet, smooth cedar/sandalwood mixture that is pleasant to smell all day.

Has a warmth to it so seems better suited for colder days. It's also big on projection and longevity, so too much heat might prove to bring out some cloying aspects. That said, I enjoyed it on an 80 degree day and it smelled great throughout.
15th April, 2017