Perfume Reviews

Reviews by speedracer

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 356

Mandarino di Amalfi by Tom Ford

Sharp, spicy, lemony-orange opening followed by a salty, musky scent that should be very appropriate for summer.

Projection is average and longevity is in the 5-6 hour range before it becomes hard to detect.
11th July, 2017

Roadster Sport by Cartier

Very fresh and citrusy in the opening. There's no mint in the opening or drydown, which is a big part of the original Roadster, so they do come off quite differently. It's more spice and dry woods after the opening.

Projection is average but I can still smell the drydown after a full work day, so good marks for longevity.

Definitely a casual scent.
07th July, 2017

Not a Perfume by Juliette Has a Gun

A simple, warm, light and woody scent that sometimes becomes overwhelming and then can become hard to detect, but it continuously comes back to your nose in waves throughout the day.

When first sprayed, it seems to have massive projection and I was afraid of choking out a room. Later, it just comes and goes and doesn't feel heavy at all.

It lasted all day on me and I enjoyed wearing it. As far as it being unisex, I agree that it's suitable either way and apparently changes scent as per the wearer.

06th July, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Gant Adventure by Gant USA

Reminds me of Chrome minus the metallic note. Very clean and watery, very much lives up to the color of the juice, and wet, ocean blue.

Performance is really good, projects well and lasts all work day. Can be cloying if over sprayed.
06th July, 2017

Jaguar Vision by Jaguar

Smells more like an Aventus clone than Aventus. Reminds me of a sweeter version of Ab Spirit Silver.

Projects better than average and sticks around for a few hours before getting closer to the skin. The skin scent loses the sweetness and is just a spicy musk.
05th July, 2017

John Varvatos by John Varvatos

JV lists a ton of notes for this but it just comes off as a very pleasant, light, woody scent after the sweet and leather opening.

I actually got decent performance, lasted all work day. The projection was average.
03rd July, 2017

Mugler Cologne by Thierry Mugler

Very versatile, clean and fresh. Really good vetiver and neroli scent that is crowd-pleasing and easy to wear and enjoy in many temps and different events.

Projection is good and longevity is even better on me. Still going after 8 hours. It's EdT strength so don't worry about the Cologne name.
02nd July, 2017

Another Oud by Juliette Has a Gun

Nice, light cedar scent with surprisingly good projection. Very pleasant and quite unisex. Not getting much oud but the ambroxan is very prominent. Longevity is pretty good too, feels like an ISO-E super scent as the scent comes and goes throughout the day.
30th June, 2017

Black XS by Paco Rabanne

Starts out sweet and fruity, then dries down to sweet and powdery.

The opening lasts for an hour or two and then you get the powdery drydown for 5-6 hours. Seems best suited for casual wear and because of the sweetness, might be best in colder weather.
29th June, 2017

In Heaven Him by Tous

Just average-nice, from smell, to projection and longevity.

Has a soft, sweet, powdery feel to it with a weird note that's almost not detectable, maybe the pimento?

Lasts about 6-7 hours and projects for the first couple hours.
27th June, 2017

Spice and Wood by Creed

Wonderful opening that dries down within an hour to something that resembles Versace Man Eau Fraiche.

The opening of sweet and spicy wood notes is mature but not dated. Smells sophisticated and luxurious and completely masculine.

Seems most appropriate for work or formal events where you need to reinforce your confidence and respectability with others. Surely the man who wears this has everything in order.

Projection is acceptable and longevity lasts all work day.
27th June, 2017

Flight by Michael Jordan

Completely serviceable clone of YSL L'Homme. Doesn't have the same amount of ginger and gets a little spicier in the drydown but then just becomes a soft woody scent.

Good projection for the first 30 min and then gets very soft for the next 3-4 hours. That's about it for longevity.
25th June, 2017

By Man by Dolce & Gabbana

Opens As an old-school oriental with an alcohol blast but later dries down to a smooth, refined fragrance that lasts all day. Has some sweetness and freshness but has this mature vibe that makes this feel more appropriate for formal events. Versatile for any temp except high heat.

Projection is quite good for 6-8 hours. Can still detect the scent the next day.
24th June, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Kouros Silver by Yves Saint Laurent

Fruity, sweet and nothing like Kouros, as far as I can smell. Not a fan of the original, so Silver is fine with me. It smells non-offensive and modern, unlike the original. The apple note is strong in the beginning and has a Boss Bottled feel. Later, the sage and woodiness bubble up and lightens it up, giving it some green-freshness.

For projection, the scent is there if you go looking for it but it doesn't push out a lot. Kinda soft and quiet. I would think there are much better options for getting noticed because it's just not very loud. However, would be very suitable for work.
21st June, 2017

Bulgari Man Black Cologne by Bulgari

I like the other Bulgari Man scents but this one seems to be the dullest of the batch. It doesn't smell bad but it lacks the citrus-spiciness of Man and Man Extreme while also missing out on Man in Black's sweeter, darker side. Just doesn't have that punch of something extra, but maybe that's the point.

It does resemble those other scents and might prove to be a compliment-getter due to its relaxed attitude and generally pleasing notes. Fresh, clean and masculine with nothing offensive.

Average projection.
19th June, 2017

Animale Intense by Animale Parfums

Just way too synthetic and sweet. Has some decent fruity notes but very hard to wear and enjoy because it becomes cloying.


It is quite intense at parfum strength. Impressive projection and longevity.

19th June, 2017

Yesterday by Room 1015

This might be the most unisex fragrance I've tried, because while I would like to smell this on a woman, I'm enjoying it a lot myself. Most of the time, the scent leans one way or the other to me but I just cannot decide on Yesterday.

It has a natural sweetness, some florals and a tea-like note that is very pleasing and not cloying to me.

Projection isn't huge but this is parfum strength, so you keep smelling it all day.
18th June, 2017

Aoud Lime by Montale

I do not like this but I'll go neutral because the lime in the opening is a nice twist to this rose-dominated, heavy incense fragrance. Like other Montales I've sampled all are extremely potent in projection and longevity, so temper your sprays with restraint.
18th June, 2017

Aqua pour Homme Atlantique by Bulgari

Very, very sweet, like candy. I don't get much aqua, but there is very nice citrus in the beginning. Reminds me of Acqua e Zucchero, but lighter.

Performance is very good. Projects nicely and you can smell it jumping off your skin for 5-6 hours later with only a few sprays.
18th June, 2017

Monsieur by Huitième Art

Very woody, and somewhat green. Reminds me taking a historical tour through a 1700's colonial house or building that has the original wood furniture still in the room. I also get hints of the smell at the opening of a cave, must be the oakmoss.

17th June, 2017

Bois Bleu by Robert Piguet

Starts off with a hard citrus and then morphs into a musky, mature scent that has a Bleu de Chanel vibe.
17th June, 2017

Chrome by Azzaro

Chrome is young, fresh and clean. All good qualities that make this a versatile and popular scent for younger guys. The most recent ads show a "dad" as the target audience, so maybe it's actually more popular with a more mature demographic, considering when it was released.

Yes, it is kinda metallic and cloying, but I like this better than Nautica Voyage. Also, performance is impressive, both in projection and longevity, so error on the side of less if you're trying for the first time.
16th June, 2017

Bogart Story Blue by Jacques Bogart

As usual, another Bogart scent with excellent projection and longevity. It has the sweet, oily note that I get in Red Story and One Man Show Ruby but is balanced out with lighter "blue" notes. It's not all that aquatic but it is fresh and light, like other aquatics and has that familiar calone-vibe. Kinda boring in a pleasant, nice way.
15th June, 2017

Eternity for Men Intense by Calvin Klein

If Prada L'Homme is the light version of Dior Homme, then Eternity Intense is Prada L'Homme light.

I don't get any of the original Eternity DNA and this seems like an entirely different scent, not a true flanker. The smell is a light, sweet iris, but there's no iris note listed on BN.

It's just very light, not intense in the way I'd like it. It is a darker, more serious scent than the original but performance is definitely lacking.

Iris note is gone after a couple hours and a skin scent lasts for maybe 5-6 hours.
13th June, 2017

Paris Hilton for Men by Paris Hilton

Sweet, candied melon.

It does smell a little cheap when wearing because it resembles a body spray from Bath and Body or Victoria's Secret. Not that it's not pleasant to smell, because it is, but it can become cloying if over-sprayed.

Projection is very good, you shouldn't need much to get noticed. Also, heat helps it jump off the skin, so you won't need as much in warmer waether...which this seems suited to best.
12th June, 2017

Uomo by Salvatore Ferragamo

My initial thoughts after spraying were a cup of coffee with cookies baking or honey roasted almonds. Very syrupy sweet, heavy and nutty. Wife detected some "smokey" notes.

Seems most appropriate for cold nights when you want to get close with someone.

Very good projection from opening into the drydown, so no need to over-spray. After the opening softens, I do get some florals, although only in a very soft way.



07th June, 2017

Versace Man Eau Fraîche by Versace

Nice citrus in the opening but then dries down to a baby powder smell.

I've worn it a few times and it always projects very well and lasts all day.
06th June, 2017

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Eau d'été 2016 by Issey Miyake

Smells very close to the original Issey Miyake pH but with extra fruit/citrus notes. I wouldn't say they backed off with the yuzu, just added more fruit and citrus. Still has that bitter yuzu bite that gives it a nice edge for summer.

Performance is good during the first couple hours as you get plenty of refreshing smells projecting and filling the area around you. Further into the drydown, a non-offensive base hangs around for many hours.
05th June, 2017

Luna Rossa Carbon by Prada

Luna Rossa Carbon is in the same vein as BdC and Sauvage (maybe Dylan Blue as well) with subtle differences. It's a mass appeal, compliment-getter that has a good mix of sweet and fresh notes with a zingy citrus opening.

Luna Rossa Carbon is a bit more powdery and soft than both BdC or Sauvage in the drydown, which I find both have some sharpness to them.

BdC also has a tea-like note to me that I do not smell in Carbon.

Sauvage is much louder and not as sweet (or maybe it's hyper-sweet and I'm perceiving that as a sharp note) as Carbon.

Projection is not as good as both BdC and Sauvage.
02nd June, 2017

V pour Homme by Valentino

Powdery sweet with some spiciness in the opening. Wife said I was "wearing one of the smokey ones" when she smelled it but I don't really get smoke, so must be the spice. Later, the drydown is warm, woody vanilla.

Projection is decent. I'd say this is versatile for an occasion but leans more towards a cold weather scent for me.

The spicy top lasts for about an hour. The soft drydown lasts all work day.

01st June, 2017