Perfume Reviews

Reviews by SuperChief Joe

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 15

Costume National Homme by Costume National

I liked this. Reminds me of Tauer No 02 L'Air du Désert Marocain
Incense & sandalwood. The drydown reminds me of the fragrance that surrounds you when you go to a Restoration Hardware or a Hollister. This one lasts and lasts. I will definitely wear this again.
Projection and longevity average. I was noticed.
15th July, 2017

Portrait of a Lady by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Fantastic projection, fantastic longevity. Perhaps bit too much floral. Only the second cologne that I tried that last until I was in the gym the next morning. Although not quite my fragrance definitely has a lot to have any protection.
15th July, 2017

Polo by Ralph Lauren

I had a Vintage sample, so your milage may vary.

There is a reason why this scent was so famous for so long. I got tobacco underneath the lime and pine. What a complex scent. And it lasted all day. Wow.
Second try, just as good. If a bit dated.
15th July, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Knize Ten by Knize

For some reason was expecting more. Beginning is oily and petrol. Dry down is powdery and ...?
Longevity good. Projection poor.
15th July, 2017

Sycomore Eau de Toilette by Chanel

Got a tester of this in Vegas from the Chanel shop. It smells beautiful, but almost too fleeting.
Longevity is good, I could smell it on and on my clothes the next day, but projection was weak.
15th July, 2017

Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

In the beginning this out blacks Bvlgari black. Definitely gasoline oil rag auto shop smell. Drive down pretty fast, doesn't seem like it's got the legs that Italian cypress had. Just doesn't envelop you like that one. I needed to put the whole sample on.
Avg longevity and projection.
15th July, 2017

Italian Cypress by Tom Ford

As expected, this really jumps out at you. In the same family as polo, I expect projection and longevity will be just fine.

Lasted all day. Got home and I got within a foot of my girlfriend and she noticed it and said I smelt nice. Perfect!
15th July, 2017

Black by Bulgari

I liked it. Smell like burning rubber gasoline at auto shop. Really neat perfumery. Great idea. Good to see that the shops are putting out really new ideas, however like most department store brands, it faded after two or three hours. Longevity poor, projection poor
15th July, 2017

Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

So this is the second day that I put a cologne on and could tell it was fading as soon as I put it on. I'm beginning to think that the store that I'm buying these samples from his either watering these perfumes down for, or, the perfume houses understand that Americans want the idea of putting clothes on but are so afraid of being offensive that the manufactures have got the juice down to where you'll only smell them 30 minutes after you put them on. So I dumped the entire 1 mL sample on my head (I usually put cologne on the back of my head/neck) Easily the worst experience of all the samples that I've tried so far. This one was disappearing before I got out of the locker room. It's got some nice notes I can smell the Cedar and lime. I can smell the notes that I like. However it's gone off. Longevity poor projection worse than poor

Edit. So after an entire day wearing this I may have changed my mind. It is now over 12 hrs later and I still sense it. Other reviewers said it was one dimensional, I agree, there isn't so much notes as note, but it is there all day. I'm not sure if it is because I have never used pure perfume before, because I swear there was nothing there when I put it on, but as I wore it, it settled into, I dunno, citrus? Grapefruit? My girlfriend has to be in my personal space i.e. Kissing me to smell it. She said she likes it, but doesn't love it. I'm going to try the edt and order another edp just to see if there is a there there
15th July, 2017

Encre Noire by Lalique

When I put this on this morning I was like wow that's good. On the drive into work I keep getting notes that really interest me. Very good smelling cologne. However it's already fading so I imagine the longevity will be poor.
And it was.
15th July, 2017

Memoir Man by Amouage

Strong sandalwood, sawdust, incense start. Peppery. Died away after about three hours. Not quite the leathery scent I would look for.
Projection poor, longevity. Poor.
Second try, same as the first. Not memorable.
15th July, 2017

Kiehl's Original Musk by Kiehl's

I've been applying about .5ml during my experiment. This goes on lightly and fades quickly. What I can smell is urine. Is that what musk is? Blah.
Wore this half a day. Another reviewer mentioned he could smell it off and on throughout. I had the same impression, It would show up unexpectedly. More interesting than I thought when I first put it on. Girlfriend found it too powdery. I didn’t sense the powderyness much at all.
Longevity spotty (new classification) I smelled it on for almost 24 hours, but it was like an eye floater or a ghost, if you looked directly at it, it wasn’t there.. Projection poor
Ditto
15th July, 2017

Green Irish Tweed by Creed

Starts off lemony. I like it. There's something there that reminds me of Polo. It dried out and I still definitely smell it. Longevity lasted about 4hrs. My second Creed. Longevity average. Projection average. Nobody commented
Second try, didn't notice it at all once I left for work.
15th July, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

L'Air du Desert Marocain by Tauer

Incense & sandalwood. I see how some folks are reminded of church. The drydown reminds me of the fragrance that surrounds you when you go to a Restoration Hardware or a Hollister. This one lasts and lasts. My girlfriend could still smell it on me when I got home from work. I could smell it when I got into bed, and again when I went to the gym. Sweet, vanilla ending, not bad,l. I will definitely wear this again.
Longevity high. Projection average. Nobody commented
15th July, 2017

Original Vetiver by Creed

Right off the bat I smell the fresh lime and lemon. I like it. There's something there that's cardboard. It dried out and I still definitely smell it. I don't know what the projection will be like, but the longevity is good so far. Update. Longevity lasted about 4hrs. I had high hopes for my first Creed. Unfortunately, my quest for a juice that lasts all day continues. Longevity average. Projection average. Nobody commented
Try #2. Unremarkable juice. First impressions are correct
15th July, 2017