Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Constantine

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 126

Voyage d'Hermes Parfum by Hermès

Cloying and sweet with none of the freshness of the cologne. Eventually it settles down to a subtle yummy creamy shadow of the EDT but its not nice enough to warrant going through that horrible open and mid.

Longevity is a bit better but if you are a guy then the EDT is the sharp masculine fresh all year round signature scent. The EDP is probably the more unisex version. Shame on you Hermes trying to cater to political correctness and producing a turkey (relative to the masculine EDT) when it could have been a drier stronger version of the EDT. And EDT intense or black not an EDT dolled up and tutti fruity.

Fragrance: 6.5/10. ---EDT scores 8
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
15th March, 2019

Voyage d'Hermès by Hermès

In a nut shell this is a more gentle version of Frederik Malle French lover. Angelica cedar white musk and fairly linear. I love the later but it can dare I say it appear as rather austere on cold dry days. H V on the other hand is slightly more wearable and can serve as a year round signature scent. Longevity is average, in fact its not much worse than the EDP. Its half the price of FL as well. Full bottle worthy! Fresh and masculine. As unisex as ladies wearing large Rolexes. Only if you can pull it off!


Fragrance: 8/10
Longevity: 6.75/10
Projection: 7/10
15th March, 2019

Versace pour Homme Dylan Blue by Versace

All those lovely sounding notes here combine to make an inoffensive generic office fragrance with a cheap edge. Nothing more or less. If you buy a bottle its unlikely you will replace it.

Fragrance: 6/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
13th March, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Vintage by John Varvatos

This starts of as an obviously cheap generic spicy boozy fragrance but settles down into a slightly more classy wearable smoky tobacco boozy but still not good enough for me to wear. Nice try.

Fragrance: 6.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
06th March, 2019

Artisan Pure by John Varvatos

What a shame. At first this appears a fresh lemony blast without that awful sweetness and barbershopiness of other similar scents such as G Eof Trumper Cologne. Is this a cheap version of D R Harris Windsor which itself is lovely and fresh but disappears in a wisp of disappointment after 20 minutes? No it smells like those lemon anti mosquito tablets or something similar. Puts me right off. Such a shame.

Fragrance: 6/20
Longevity: 6.75/10
Projection: 7/10
06th March, 2019

Eucris by Geo F Trumper

This is a very interesting one.
Last year the Edt was joined by the Edp. I love the smell itself and the shave cream is fresh and masculine. An instant classic. That said the Edt was to my senses too sweet. My heart sank when the Edp was announced. Sure enough out it came and took the best elements of the Eucris smell and shoved in your face in a boiled sweet. Awful.
That said those who like the 90s power house Polo and Loewe would like it.
All is not lost. It looks like G eof Trumper in their magnanimity repositioned the Edt and made it a tad lighter and fresher. It is still not as stunning as the smell of the shave cream but its just about a winner especially when you let it settle down. If you let the Edp settle down its like a sweet bomb that's gone off where you sprayed it.
I like the Edt but there really is space for a Eucris Fraiche in this line up. If so I'll be first in!

Fragrance: Shave cream: 9/10 Edt 7.5/10 Edp: 5.75/10
Longevity: 4/10, 6.5/10 7.5/10 respectively
Projection: 3, 6, 7.5 respectively
05th March, 2019 (last edited: 06th March, 2019)

Sel de Vétiver by The Different Company

A disappointment considering the positive reviews.
To me it is a mild version of CdG Hinoki. A mild sour dentist mouthwash. Sounds worse than it is. It's actually pleasant enough but not worth buying in any amount. My wife hates it. At least Hinoki is more playful although it garnered the most looks in a tube train I have ever had and I am not sure whether is was because they liked it. Maybe an olfactory surprise that they had to make their minds up about. That's ok, but this SdV is not even playful. It won't stimulate any thought or conversation. Hence neutral.

Fragrance: 6.10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
20th December, 2018

China White by Nasomatto

Spicy rose on the nose. Quite a strong feminine scent. How on earth can this be called unisex is corrosive to any concepts of masculinity. Political correctness gone too far, and of course political correctness is the acid to the structure of functioning society. Don't go that way Nasomatto for the sake of your own integrity and identity.

Scent: 7/10 for a lady, 0 for a man
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 8/10
23rd November, 2018

Pardon by Nasomatto

Outstanding.
A slightly more gentle version of the equally superb Amouage Journey Man.
So its masculine, boozy spicy slightly more woody than Amouage. If anything it is better. I get the bitter chocolate in retrospect. Masterful.
Almost Christmasy but the fact its not too strong and is woody makes it more wearable. You can pull it off as an office fragrance, just especially if you have the presence and I see why it would be used as a signature scent.
But lets be honest. Ridiculously expensive. There is no justification for this. Notino sometimes have blinding deals for Amouage JM. Then there is Les Jeux Sont Faites which is not far behind. So unless you find it heavily discounted why encourage ludicrous pricing by accepting it?

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7/10
19th November, 2018

Spice and Wood by Creed

Very nice.
Indeed wood with spices and a citrusy /apple opening.
What is done well is that this is a wood fragrance than does not scream wood which is often 'wooden' and overpowering and can make you feel you are in a freshly sandpapered sauna.
Masculine, powerful yet subtle. A great statement. Lovely from start to finish unlike Creed Viking which has that challenging opening but then settles to pure poetry.
Horrifically expensive but then it would have to be as it would outsell most of Creed's other connoisseur's offerings -which does not by inference give them mass appeal.
It is a distant cousin of Frederic Malle's excellent French Lover which has more pazaz and as such is less subtle but dare I say it may seem too austere for cold days. This one works.

Fragrance: 8/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 6.5/10
18th November, 2018

L'Anarchiste by Caron

Revolting.
All I get is sickeningly sweet sandalwood and musk and a hint of cinnamon.
Linear, offensive, found myself grimacing and fanning the air. Washed off with a whince.
You have been warned.

Fragrance: 2/10
Projection: 7/10 -unfortunately-
Longevity: 7/10
16th November, 2018

Terre d'Hermès Eau Intense Vétiver by Hermès

Too unisex.
Sweet orange and cinnamon. No detectable vetiver.
Initial grapefruit buzz is promising but quickly settles down to something sweet and just a bit too heavy. At least on my skin.
I don't like the original Terre either.
However the Tres Fraiche is very nice and strikes a perfect balance of masculinity and freshness but it only lasts an hour before disappearing.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 8/10
16th November, 2018

Vétiver Extraordinaire by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

What a let down.
Especially after the masterful French Lover and Femme Sous La Pluie (or words to that effect).
It has some of the solid back bone of French Lover without the soul instilling the uncomfortable feeling that it has been sucked out leaving you staring into an abyss and yours is about to follow. Almost like the cologne you'd expect a dementor to wear at a black tie (well black gown) event that being the last thing you remember as he turns to you to introduce himself.
It may be vetiver and woody notes and indeed there is a bit of promising fresh fizz right at the beginning which hurries away in fright leaving something stripped down and lifeless. Nothing inspiring or noteworthy apart from the price.
As a piece of Tate Gallery Art perhaps this has a place. As a credible masculine fragrance its a complete dissonance to its name.

Fragrance: 2.5/10
Projection: 4/10
Longevity: 6/10
16th November, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Royal Water by Creed

Another shockingly bad fragrance hiding behind a ludicrous price, a brand and political correctness.
Stale candy and potpourri.
Awful.
Wash off job.
You have been warned.

Fragrance: 2/10
Projection: 7/10 -unfortunately
Longevity: 7/10
14th November, 2018

Vetiver Extreme by Guerlain

My favourite Vetiver.
The original is too 'damp'.
This is a pure fresh vetiver which has been smoked gently for depth. Mature. Can be worn for any occasion, any season but not in sweltering heat.
It reminds me of Fine Accoutrements Fine Fresh Vetiver Aftershave which smells fantastic but lasts 10 minutes.
Much much better than Creed's ridiculously expensive Original Vetiver. Who do they think they are kidding?
Full bottle worthy.

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7/10
02nd November, 2018

Original Vetiver by Creed

This would have been a neutral if it were not for being so expensive.
Its a scented spa tissue with a hint of mothballs which ends up getting up my nose.
Stick with Thierry Mugler The Cologne if you want this kind of thing. You will be happier and richer.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
02nd November, 2018

L'Homme Ultime by Yves Saint Laurent

More like Femme Ultime.
Phew. Gave it to my wife. She loves it.
Like a sweeter version of Xerjoff Shooting Stars.


Fragrance: For men: 6/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
02nd November, 2018

Gentlemen Only by Givenchy


Slightly effeminate.

Sweet floral woody.

If that's what's called playful fair enough. Not in my book. More like Unisex.

Fragrance: 6.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
30th October, 2018

Tres Nuit by Armaf

Initial fresh green blast settling into warm peppery pot pourri in a wooden pot. Nothing heavy handed and overwhelming here. Well balanced for what it is.
I can see the attraction but not for me.

Fragrance: 6/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
30th October, 2018

Molecule 02 by Escentric Molecules

Light wood shaving almost minty.

Little depth to it. Almost a non event.

I am giving this a neutral until I test it some more and get opinions.
26th October, 2018

Molecule 01 by Escentric Molecules

Essence of Mothballs holding mint hostage.


Fragrance: 3/10
Projection: 5/10
Longevity: 7/10
24th October, 2018 (last edited: 26th October, 2018)

Jus Interdit by Jovoy

Awful pot pourri scrubber.
For the braver female only and in small amounts.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
22nd October, 2018

L'Art de la Guerre by Jovoy

Slightly medicinal apple and rhubarb.
More wearable but less characterful version of Hinoki by CdG.
Not offensive but nothing to write home about either.
I may wear Hinoki for fun but this is not worth bothering with.

Fragrance: 6/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
22nd October, 2018

Narciso Rodriguez for Him by Narciso Rodriguez

A real synthetic stinker.

Awful stale apple/pear/musk. Pot purri gone crazy.

Phew.

Fragrance: 4/10
Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 8/10
22nd October, 2018

Narciso Rodriguez for Him Bleu Noir by Narciso Rodriguez

I like this.
Rudolfo512 has it spot on.
Sweet and spicy mixed with musk. As time goes on the cedar wood eventually starts overlapping the musk. Pleasant to the senses with depth, although not the most exciting or masculine of fragrances due to the sweetness but not unisex either. Perhaps a signature scent. Strong and it lasts. I don't get the TdH similarity on my skin.
Although this gets a thumbs up I still have to make up my mind about being full bottle worthy.
Addendum: My wife agrees with me. It is really too sweet in the opening and mid. Much better towards the end with the woodiness. So a reluctant farewell for me. What might have been. So close and yet so far.

Fragrance: 7.25/10 maybe up to 8.5 if it grows on me.
Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 8.5/10
19th October, 2018 (last edited: 21st October, 2018)

Tom of Finland by Etat Libre d'Orange

Total scrubber.
Cloying sweet geranium musk and pepper from the open. Looks like it may clear up to something more interesting and metallic but lapses back into its suffocating sweet heart. Phew.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 6/10
Longevity: 7/10
04th October, 2018

Je Suis Un Homme by Etat Libre d'Orange

This is Tabac de nuit without the Tabac and slightly sweeter. It is therefore inferior to TDN just as TDN is inferior to Jovoy Les Jeux sont faits which is inferior to Amouage Journey Man. However this is speaking from a masculine perspective. This would make quite a nice spicy yet strong female fragrance but use sparingly otherwise you'll repel all suitors.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
04th October, 2018

Fat Electrician by Etat Libre d'Orange

Starts off heavy sweet vanilla and amber to the extent it is cloying reduces in intensity but remains qualitatively linear so that it is no longer offensive but neither is it pleasing. No vetiver to my nose. Almost a scrubber.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 6/10
Longevity: 7/10
03rd October, 2018

Remarkable People by Etat Libre d'Orange

I agree with the tuttifrutti vibe. Maybe not that cruel but cloying getting up the nose and feminine. However opinions on this are divided. I was recommended this by someone who was effusive about it. That said he is quite closet metro so perhaps fragrances tell you more about the wearer than I thought!
And who wants to smell of Champagne! Anything apart from whisky brandy or some liquor is just stale.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 6.5/10
Longevity: 6/10
27th September, 2018

Tobacco Nuit by Atelier Cologne

Linear boozy tonka bean tobacco without being too heavy on the tobacco, while remaining masculine, really lovely, not quite my thing but you have to respect the artistry and quality.
Reminds me of the superb Amouage Journey Man and its little brother Jovoy Les Jeux Sont Faits. Both superior to this.

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
27th September, 2018