Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Constantine

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 96

Ag by Ted Baker

Heavy on the violet and leather. If you like this kind of thing be very sparing as it will get right up your nose and be offensive like the inside of a French courtiers's kerchief top pocket.
I ended up having to wash it off. Of the 3: Ag, Au, Cu unfortunately Ag is the most potent and long lasting. Hard to imagine the same nose came up with all three. Delicacy and detail versus sledge hammer.
Fragrance: 6/10 from a distance, 2/10 close up
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
24th August, 2018

Au by Ted Baker

Intriguing. Versatile.
Fresh with masculine depth. Bergamot with clove and musk predominant. Jasmine flits in and out of olfactory view.
Seems to last less than the Ag and Cu. More's the pity.

Fragrance: 7/10 in fact 7.5/10 considering the price point.
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
24th August, 2018

Cu by Ted Baker

Intriguing verging to the fresh. Almost smells like you would expect cold copper and pepper. Very well executed. Perhaps the ingredient providing the grapefruit smell is slightly too sugared so it verges to the effeminate but that could vary according to skin chemistry. Not for me but I appreciate it.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
24th August, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Aoud Lemon Mint by Mancera

Standard issue aoud. The thumbs down is because the positive reviews extolled how fresh and lovely this is which makes it a perfect summer choice. Summer where? On the Ice rings of Saturn? Some lemon skulking on the fringes but nothing to distract you from the obvious heavy aoud. Mint undetectable and probably ran off wanting to avoid any association with this mediocrity.
For aoud connoisseurs the situation may be different. For the rest of us-- you have been warned.


Fragrance: 3/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
18th August, 2018

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Yuzu by Issey Miyake

A cautious thumbs up because this deserves more than a neutral but not full bottle worthy.
The bottom line is that its smells a bit cheap. Well, it is.
Nice bright Yuzu , a bit too sharp keeping it masculine, but settles into ginger and nutmeg with only a hint of yuzu. Disappointing.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
16th August, 2018

L'Eau Bleue d'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

Starts off fresh and lovely. Citrus with bite, probably mint and masculine. Slowly it collapses to a heavy waxy metallic smell. Very off putting and almost a scrubber.
Stick with the Fraiche version just be prepared to do top up sprays.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 6.5/10
Longevity: 7/10
16th August, 2018

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Or Absolu / Gold Absolute by Issey Miyake

This is a mediocre version of Guerlain's very competent Homme L'Ideal or YSL Nuit Pour Homme EDP. Smooth buttery nutmeg cinnamon amber.
It is a cheaper version with a slightly sour note.
Tom Ford also does a nice version of this Nuit Extreme but it does not smell better than the first two.

Avoid the IM.

Fragrance: 5.5/10
Projection: 6.5/10
Longevity: 7/10
14th August, 2018 (last edited: 17th August, 2018)

L'Eau Bleue d'Issey Eau Fraîche by Issey Miyake

With a very important caveat this is a very good fresh cheepo , and indeed days of overwhelming humidity and heat this may be the fragrance of choice especially if you are looking for a masculine scent. It may be that the cologne dissolves in the perspiration which is what makes it last longer. Otherwise it is gone in 20 minutes leaving you with a shadow of that awful burning rubber/amber of the bleue itself.
I can see the problem Odyseum and his acolyte have. However on hot humid days the opening is wonderfully fresh bergamot mint and rosemary, but then it looses some of that substance and you are left with a freshness which is an entity in itself. Almost powdery, minty, a touch of musk. It will be an unshakeable companion on overly humid hot days but a flop on others unless you keep on spraying yourself with it every half hour.
The expensive option would be Xerjoff shooting stars but that is a little too feminine.
However a better fresh cheapo which works on dry and humid days is IM's very own Summer 2009. Harder and harder to get. Otherwise there is IM Homme Fraiche which is nice enough although uninspiring but it lasts a long time as a skin scent with not a whiff of pepper.



Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 2/10
11th August, 2018 (last edited: 17th August, 2018)

Le Mâle Eau Fraiche by Jean Paul Gaultier

Opens with a fresh blast but quickly turns into a metrosexual sweet cinnamon.
Certainly not Fraiche and not for me.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
09th August, 2018

Cravache by Robert Piguet

This reminds me of an effort at Cartier Declaration. In contrast it is more lemony and the 'dirty earthy' component is replaced by a dirty spa tissue paper bordering on barbershop vibe. Remains quite sharp and linear although eventually becomes unbearably powder puff verging on scrubber.
Not for me but if you like this kind of thing worth a try.

Fragrance: 6/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
09th August, 2018

Blue Aoud by Mancera

Bottom of your handbag with old sweets and mints.
Not a bad smell at all but not for me. Veers to the feminine and I can see this as one for the more confident young lady or for the more mature.

Fragrance: 6/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
09th August, 2018

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Fraîche by Issey Miyake

Fresh but after a lovely citrusy opening with mint there is something discordant -perhaps the rosemary- in addition to a beating heart of pepper hiding behind a veil and ready to get up your nose although it never does.
Not for me.

Fragrance: 6.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
08th August, 2018

Special for Gentlemen by Le Galion

A dinosaur.
Heavy on the vanilla amber cinnamon and tonka. So much so that it actually made me cough and was ready to pounce on me if I breathed in too deeply close to where I sprayed it.
Don't know what kind of man would wear this. Certainly not anyone interested in classy masculinity either formal or informal.
Perhaps as a joke to put off a reluctant date. And if it did not put her off be even more worried.

Fragrance: 3.5/10
Projection: 8.5/10
Longevity: 8/10
07th August, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Osaïto by Micallef

The previous reviewer could not have put it better. '' Up front rubbery floral note is all I can smell''
Citrusy powdery candy.
Either way what a joke especially considering the price.
Leave it on the shelves people.
You have been warned.

Fragrance: 3.5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
07th August, 2018

Passion Boisée by Frapin

This is a stealth tangerine rum woodsie fragrance in that order. Perhaps that's the point of it. Restrained subtle masculinity. Except I would like to decide that with the number of sprays I use. This is not unisex.
Projection is poor from the beginning almost a skin scent but I like it. Maybe not fresh enough for hot humid days when it can exacerbate a sense of dampness otherwise a year round fragrance. Masculine, classy, unique.
Double thumbs up if it projected.

Fragrance: 8/10
Projection: 4/10
Longevity: 7/10

I will report back on this one after a few more tests. Important not to be too subtle.
07th August, 2018

Moschino Forever by Moschino

Very nice cheapo.
Starts bright and cheerful and masculine. Must be the tanginess of kumquat mixed with tonka bean. Very nice . After 30 mins it looks as if its going to collapse to the pepper base of most poorly developed unimaginative (and not necessarily cheap) fragrances but then vetiver and sage come through. A nice surprise. Still not enough character or depth to warrant a full bottle at least not on my skin but it may be better on others. Definitely worth a try.

Fragrance: 7/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
04th August, 2018

Wave Musk by Mancera

I am giving this a thumbs up even though I would not wear this myself. Why? because it manages to have depth of sweetness (not for me if its the main characteristic without something masculine to balance it out) and freshness. So more feminine than unisex but there is a dynamism to it which could suit those men in touch with their feminine needs.
Nice. Not for me.
Would make a good signature scent for men but especially women as it is unique.
Note: My wife likes it but agrees its a bit feminine. Say no more.

Scent: 7/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
02nd August, 2018 (last edited: 03rd August, 2018)

Kumkat Wood by Mancera

Very nice woody fragrance. Masculine. Starts off with Kumkat and Wood which makes it more interesting then the citrus vaporises -more the shame- and it curls up into a smouldering woody heart. Ideal for cold days and better than a very similar one from Ormonde. A bit too unidimensional for me. Aka ultimately boring. So close yet so far away.
Linear. Long lasting.

Fragrance: 7.5/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 8/10
02nd August, 2018

Lemon Line by Mancera

The most realistic lemon and lime but without the freshness. Linear.
More feminine than unisex.
Where on earth would you use this? Not in hot weather, not in cold weather. As I said, suitable for a lady.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
02nd August, 2018

Uomo? Moschino by Moschino

Nondescript citrus woody pink peppery.
Similar to Prada L'Homme but less characterful and better than Ferrari Uomo as its less cloying.

Fragrance: 6.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
01st August, 2018

Cologne by Etat Libre d'Orange

Neither refreshing nor cloying. A musky orange morphing into leather.
Leans towards the masculine. Montale does it much better.


Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
31st July, 2018

Aqua Allegoria Herba Fresca by Guerlain

Starts of lovely and fresh then recedes to damp spa tissue paper with emphasis on damp and tissue. Saved by a hint of clover and mint . It reminds me of a very toned down CDG Hinoki but without the character or hutspa. If you do it do it properly.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity 7.5/10
31st July, 2018

Chrome Legend by Azzaro

Generic fast food citrus opening collapsing to something peppery and cheap. Sea salt? Does it make any difference? Scrubber.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
31st July, 2018

Eau de Cartier : Vétiver Bleu by Cartier

For the more mature woman.
Starts of delightfully fresh but quickly evaporates to a heavy pot pouri.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
31st July, 2018

Santos Eau de Sport by Cartier

What's with the positive reviews?
This is a dinosaur.
Not very sporty at all. I shudder to think what the non sport version is like.
An 80s powerhouse. Cinnamon sweetness. There is also a really cheap barber shop fragrance that comes as a light brown liquid -the name escapes me but there is plenty on eBay- that smells almost identical. Really. In terms of something cheap and cheerful its a comforting familiar cosy smell.
Perhaps that's the origin of the positive reviews. Nostalgia.
Reminiscing. Fantasising about and idealising a bygone era.
If this fragrance inspires some happiness thats not a bad thing.
For the rest of us move swiftly along with breath held.

Fragrance: 4/10
Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 8/10
20th July, 2018

Allure Homme Sport Eau Extrême by Chanel

Sport Extreme?
Sport is meant to be sport. However the Allure Sport is rather an uninspiring forgetful effort. Fresh but without substance. Certainly not unpleasant.
So hopes were high for the extreme. Fresh with a little bite? Some added interest?
Nope. Just something sweet to ruin any freshness.
Why not just produce one and get it right?
Or is it the Howard Moskovicz approach of trying to please all of the people some of the time with infinite variety? But it devalues a brand. Sport is already addressing the need for something fresh. Just do it right or is Chanel contracted to a particular nose so don't want to offend someone who produced a scrubber?

Phew.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 6.5/10
20th July, 2018

Dior Homme Eau for Men by Christian Dior

Starts off bright and intriguing. A real star. Then in the blink of an eye you are left with a powdery iris. If you like that kind of thing it is very well done. Slightly powder puff metro for me.

Fragrance: 6/10--if you like what its aiming to do give it a solid 8/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10

19th July, 2018

Allure Homme Sport by Chanel

Linear freshness. Nice post shower and gym in hot weather. Teeters slightly towards the cheap but better than a lot of sport colognes and to be fair achieves its objective.

Worth a try.

Fragrance: 7/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7.25/10
18th July, 2018

Loewe Pour Homme Sport by Loewe

Another let down from Loewe. They seem to like a pepper base on which they overlay something nice and fresh temporarily but this quickly evaporates leaving you with a gradually more dominant acrid pepper. Individual sports flankers tinker with the individual notes and strength of expression but the basic formula is the same. Freshness with pepper to keep it masculine. In this particular case the deterioration suddenly stops so you are left with a pleasant mild grapefruit and pepper. Neither good nor bad but I would expect Loewe to do much better. At least they removed the element that reminded me of piss du chat -and which made me and others wonder if it had 'gone bad' from Loewe pour Homme.
If you are looking for fresh go for Solo. It is one of the few to get regular compliments before it burns off only too quickly. Wonder what the Solo Sport is like. Please not more pepper.
16th July, 2018

Solo Loewe by Loewe

Very good light refreshing masculine fragrance. Citrus without being overly citrusy while still tangy. Why can't Hermes do this? Wear anywhere anytime but in cold weather go for Loewe 7 Anonimo (which is a poor mans Amouage Journey Man). Longevity could be better. After a couple of hours the fresh citrus had all but evaporated leaving a light pink pepper rather like an expensive fragranced tissue wipe which in my opinion points towards cost cutting and saving on imagination over-utilisation by Loewe but at least its pink pepper rather than the acrid - I can't imagine anyone genuinely liking this laziness of attitude or smell- get up your nose peppers used as a base in a lot of other fragrances.

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity 6.75/10
13th July, 2018