Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Constantine

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 66

Solo Loewe by Loewe

Very good light refreshing masculine fragrance. Citrus without being overly citrusy while still tangy. Why can't Hermes do this? Wear anywhere anytime but in cold weather go for Loewe 7 Anonimo (which is a poor mans Amouage Journey Man). Longevity could be better. After a couple of hours the fresh citrus had all but evaporated leaving a light pink pepper rather like an expensive fragranced tissue wipe which in my opinion points towards cost cutting and saving on imagination over-utilisation by Loewe but at least its pink pepper rather than the acrid - I can't imagine anyone genuinely liking this laziness of attitude or smell- get up your nose peppers used as a base in a lot of other fragrances.

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity 6.75/10
13th July, 2018

7 Loewe Anónimo by Loewe

Very similar to Montale's full incense but here the incense is more subtle so the fragrance is less categorised. It just smells delicious and rich warm, well balanced. It does not last as long as Montale's effort though but is more wearable and much cheaper. It also overlaps with Amouage's outstanding Journey Man. In fact if this had significant longevity it may have been the good value alternative but after an hour the delicious boozy component goes leaving a slightly powdery floral vibe just on the masculine side of acceptable.
Loewe's colognes seem to suffer from this. The brilliant Solo stays brilliant for an hour and blows away anything else citrusy as it is citrus masculine rather than citrus metro -Hermes take note- then degenerates into an insipid pink pepper. The trouble is if you have to keep on re-applying it then bang goes the value. Amouage is still evident on the shirt collar the next day.

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
11th July, 2018 (last edited: 13th July, 2018)

7 Loewe Sport by Loewe

This is similar to 7 Natural but more synthetic, less classy and frankly rendered a curious excessive irrelevance by the former. I gave my bottle away.Perhaps for teenibopers summer parties.


Fragrance: 4/10
Projection:6/10
Longevity :6/10
11th July, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

7 Loewe Natural by Loewe

Fresh tingling Yuzu and incense. The first takes centre stage initially then incense begins coming through but still remains subtle and masculine. Leaves you with perfectly balanced fresh richness. Simply the best fresh fragrance I have found which is not an aquatic blast or synthetic floral overkill. It is so good that it would demean it to call it a Sport flanker. Well done Loewe.

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7.75/10
Longevity: 7/10
11th July, 2018

Polo Ultra Blue by Ralph Lauren

Slightly above average aquatic in that it does not appear to be generically cheap. Undertone of something bitter attempts to keep it masculine and this gradually comes to the fore as time goes on which indicates a lack of imagination and/or disappointing lack of effort on the part of Ralph Lauren who assume their name on a new Summer product will guarantee sales. Not for long without class, quality and innovation gentlemen.

Fragrance: 6.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
09th July, 2018

Luna Rossa Carbon by Prada

This is a cross between the good LR Sport and the corpulent LR Black over fed with sweet vanilla. This one you can make out pepper, citrus, amber and sweetness. A pretty good office scent if you like that kind of thing but slightly cloying while at the same time linear in that state, if anything eroding away into more of a pepper undertone as time goes on. Not good.
May suit some quite nicely. My thumb was wavering for a while but writing this review has kept it neutral.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
09th July, 2018

Luna Rossa Black by Prada

Phew.

Overpowering sweet vanilla. The polar opposite to the classy masculine subtle fresh Sport version.
This is a power fragrance for women at work or for our Middle Eastern Brethren single handedly propping up the economy and inflating the property prices of Knightsbridge.
Almost a wash off situation.

Fragrance: 2.5/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
07th July, 2018

Luna Rossa Sport by Prada

A very solid offering here.
The most similar I have come across is the not quite as good Lalique's Encore Noire Sport which itself is a poor mans Fredrick Malle's French Lover. The Prada LR Sport overlaps with Lalique but not French Lover.
It is classily subtle and masculine and linear. Totally reliable with good projection and longevity.
Some citrus and ginger, not much if any aquatic. Can't pick up on any Vanilla but don't worry if you want vanilla overkill try the Luna Rossa Black. A bit too sweet and vanilla. Maybe good as a power fragrance for a lady.

Fragrance: 7.5/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
07th July, 2018

Sauvage Eau de Parfum by Christian Dior

The EDT is an over the top mess. You can smell it on people coming down the hall, scratch that, you can smell where people have gone wearing it. It is also too metro -unless you like that kind of thing. But it is supposed to be a masculine fragrance.
Cue the EDP.
Think a really well done Blue de Channel EDP. More classy, less overpoweringly metallically peppery while maintaining a play with the fruity lighter notes. The BdC EDT is very good indeed is much lighter but eventually goes the same way of the EDP.
In fact the longer you wear Eau Sauvage EDP the better it gets. Some of the more vibrant notes which threaten to get unruly and jump out of line settle down and it becomes a solidly, classily masculine fougere with nothing like it in the market in this class.

Fragrance: 7.5/10
Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
07th July, 2018

L'Insoumis by Lalique

Based on the raft of positive reviews I blind bought a whole bottle.
I was intrigued by the Encore Noire Sport that is almost a poor mans French Lover by Frederick Malle were it not for the Moth Ball vibe and the Extreme which is not bad at all as a night scent. Great value both of them.
NEVER blind buy based on who's knows what opinions.
It smells of slightly moldy cheaply fragranced tissue paper although surprisingly inoffensive fortunately with poor projection and worse longevity. And its the most expensive.
Straight on eBay for the next sucker. As Socrates says Know thyself but not too much.
30th June, 2018

Bleu de Chanel Eau de Parfum by Chanel

This is a completely different beast to the delightfully frothy and tangy EDT.
Even the opening blast is sultry giving a grudging nod to the freshness of the EDT. It then settles down into something mildly synthetic and fougerie morphing into slightly metallic then settling into pure pepper on a bed of faded petals, fortunately with the pepper mellowing over time otherwise it would have necessitated a wash off situation.
I was hoping for a more mature and meaningful version of the EDT.
Nope. Just boring and generic.

Fragrance: 2/5
Projection: 3.5/5
Longevity: 3.5/5
28th June, 2018

Royal Oud by Creed

My search for a more gentle masculine Frederick Malle French Lover relative took me to Creed's Spice and Wood and from that to this. Note there is a feminine version of this so this should be safely masculine. Never assume.
The Spice and Wood is indeed warmer and slightly spicier and more gentle than the superb FM FL which is dare I say it a bit too austere for cold days. However the Royal Oud goes down another path. Innate in the name really. Think Sheikhs and flowing multicoloured silk thobes and you've got it. Less subtle, more flowery or shall we say effeminate. Starts off fine and fresh but quickly becomes cloying, gets up your nose and stays that way.
Not for me but there will be plenty of people who swear by this thinking that they are making the elegant decision in lieu of all the dreadful cheaper blast to the senses designer fragrances . A masterpiece of product placement by Creed, but a bit too obvious in its intention and disappointingly lacking in adventure and innovation. No Arabian nights here.
That said there may be some more mature women which this suits down to the ground depending on skin chemistry.

Fragrance: 2.75/5
Projection: 3.5/5
Longevity: 4/5
22nd June, 2018 (last edited: 24th June, 2018)

Amazingreen by Comme des Garçons

This is a fun fragrance.
I agree with one of the previous reviewers. I am also familiar with the smell of spent gun cartridges and its fresh green mixed with a hint of that.
Its fun and fresh and more masculine than unisex and nice for a hot day but lacks true depth and class to be taken really seriously but there is nothing wrong with bit of fun!
21st May, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Les Jeux sont Faits by Jovoy

Les Jeux Sont Faits is a more feminine version of the brilliant Amouage Journey Man. The former is more immature fougere and floral ebullient and demanding attention when first applied but settles down and stays noticeable for hours.Solid rich mix of angelica rum cognac tobacco. Journey Man is cleaner more masculine slightly peppery but not so you'd single it out and the best evening/special occasion cologne I have tried.
Will suit different personalities. Both are recommended but the latter is a super star.

Fragrance : 3.75/5
Projection: 4/5
Longevity: 4.25/5
25th April, 2018

Monocle Scent Two: Laurel by Comme des Garçons

It was difficult to acquire a decant of this in the UK. I had to order from First in Fragrance and pay heavy postage as they are outside the UK. Thank God I did.
It has been compared to French Lover by Frederick Malle and the latter has also been compared to Creed's Spice and Wood. Think of them in that order.
CdG is a rather sour (like really rancid cantaloupe melon) fragrance. It may suit some. It does eventually dry down to something more powdery and gentle and less challenging. French Lover is brilliant in almost every way apart from being slightly too austere, so not for cold days. Creeds Spice and Wood is warmer but not as accomplished as FL but lacks that austerity so suits cold days better.
If you are wanting a nicer CdG fragrance which is similar to this then Hinoki is the one to go for. Still slightly challenging and reminds me of dentists mouth wash and Lawrence Olivier but its likeable. Is it safe?

Fragrance: 2.5/5
Projection: 3/5
Longevity: 3/5
04th April, 2018 (last edited: 05th April, 2018)

Heritage Eau de Parfum by Guerlain

This the best Guerlain fragrance I have smelt.
It has the normal depth of the EDT but it's creamier and more subtle and emminently more wearable. Lavender corriander patchouli in the dry down. Could not sense the pepper indeed raising that to the level of awareness would have added to the masculinity. A solid like which may mature to love or fade gracefully.

Fragrance: 3.75/5
Projection: 3.75/5
Longevity: 3.75/5

EDT would be 3/5, 4.5/5, 4/5 respectively.
06th March, 2018

L'Homme Idéal Eau de Parfum by Guerlain

Hint of citrus in the opening rapidly evaporating.
Smooth warm creamy with a touch of pepper and spicy rose and vanilla. Fairly linear after that. Gets up your nose far less than the EDT therefore far better.
Nice but not love. Reminds me of Ferrari Uomo in the dry down but classier.

Fragrance: 3.25/5
Projection: 3.75/5
Longevity: 4/5
06th March, 2018

Full Incense by Montale

I don't like the classical ecclesiastical incense fragrances. Most whatever their opening end up transporting their wearer to the bishops enclave at the Vatican during voting time for pope. I would love to find a bright citrus incense but the closest I have come is Heeley's eau du Tigre which nails it for the first half hour before dumping you back amongst the bishops. Now , however , Montale have given us this . Instead of bright citrus we get a subtle baked bergamot which has been given time to cool down and which remains a faithful companion to the incense. Marvellously wearable as the incense by nature of having to co star is slightly more subtle, soothing, reflective and enriching. You can see my reviews. I am usually a heckling skeptic. If you like incense this is a no brainer. I am still looking for a more playful one that has staying power. Any suggestions anyone?
26th February, 2018

The Dreamer by Versace

Starts off potpourri and a bag of sherbets in other words unbearably sugary and fougere. The dry down of course settles a bit but its sweet tobacco although the sweetness does tend to eventually fade only to be replaced by pepper which begins to get up your nose. Lots of pain for little gain. That said I can see the attraction for some.
Fragrance: 2/5
Projection: 3.5/5
Longevity: 3.5/5
21st February, 2018

Ferrari Cedar Essence by Ferrari

This is a double thumbs down.
After a mediocre fresh but jarring opening when you are thinking it could go either way in the dry down ie disaster or jackpot it takes a dive.
Think lemon fresh windowlene sprayed on Ikea varnished cedar with potpourri on top. Unfortunately is projects and lasts. Not quite a wash off job but almost.
Enough said.
Uomo is much better -if you must have a Ferrari fragrance- but that's relative only. Even the Neroli is preferable and thats cheap and cheerful but without class.

Fragrance: 1.5/10
Projection: 3/10
Longevity: 3.75/10
17th February, 2018

Ferrari Uomo by Ferrari

There seems to be considerable batch variation if you read the reviews.
I am more on the negative side.
Opens slightly citrusy and woodsy and dries down quickly to woodsy and earthy.
Nice enough. A restrained masculine cologne but projection is very weak. More of a skin scent. If you fall on hard times this is a cheap safe office fragrance.

Fragrance: 2.75/10
Projection: 2/10
Longevity: 3/10
16th February, 2018

Ferrari Bright Neroli by Ferrari

This is a pleasant synthetic neroli with lemon. Quite light and fizzy.
Quite generic though and this is a theme running through the recent Ferrari releases.
In isolation a certain thumbs up. And it lasts.
However, Hermes tres fraiche , Cartier Declaration Eau (and bleu bois) are both more accomplished and classier and the same price. Creed's Neroli Sauvage is the ultimate but is overpriced and has unforgivable longevity issues.

Fragrance: 3.25/5
Projection: 3.75/5
Longevity: 4/5
12th February, 2018

Givenchy Play by Givenchy

Starts off unbearably sweet and peppery then patchouli joins in and sweetness dials down without disappearing and there is some freshness but with paradoxical pepper which keeps on getting up your nose.
Nothing playful about that. To be fair the offensive part dials down leaving you with a peppery sweet fresh fragrance which is not too bad. But what a journey to get there and not very masculine.
Similar but done much better is Dunhills Racing Green which is fresh without being sweet and slightly peppery. Good masculine daily wear and its one my wife came up to me and oooooo d at.

Fragrance: 2/5
Projection: 3/5
Longevity: 3/5
08th February, 2018

Givenchy Gentleman by Givenchy

Reluctant thumbs up partly as I really am quite severe in my consumer (as opposed to connoisseur) reviews. A bit too pinstripe and dark suit. Slightly too much pepper and patchouli I can imagine an elderly barrister wearing it as he dusts off his wig. Yet just dial down the spice ever so slightly and this would be a superb masculine fragrance and real breath of fresh air (literally) compared to all those emasculated unisex fragrances plaguing us in this post modernist wave. Creed Viking once you get over the sharp opening gets it spot on. Fresh masculine without needing to lean back too much on spice.
Nope just changed it to neutral. Fair is fair.

Fragrance: 2.75/5
Projection: 3/5
Longevity: 4/5
07th February, 2018

Dior Homme Sport (2017) by Christian Dior

Either my sample is a fake or this is an instantly forgettable faceless fresh aquatic. No depth at all. I will order another sample to be sure.


Fragrance: 3/10
Projection: 3/10
Longevity: 3.5/10

Update:
I ordered a second sample from Notino instead of ebay. This one is completely different to the original. It is still fresh but not unbearably soapily so and its depth seems to come from pepper which is almost overdone.
Still don't like it though. Fresh yet gets up your nose with pepper.
06th February, 2018 (last edited: 09th February, 2018)

Loewe 001 Man by Loewe

Agree with the previous.
A fresh sweet linear woody cinammony amber and relatively linear.
As their new scent it really is too non descript and unisex and needlessly so as they also have a women's version of this fragrance. Feminism gone too far as per Jordan Petersen. Wife turned her nose up at it. She also likes me to leave a bit of stuble. The message is clear. Men to be men and women to be women. Same rights but enjoy our differences.

Fragrance: 2.75/5
Projection: 3/5
Longevity: 3/5
06th February, 2018

Solo Loewe Cedro by Loewe

This is neutral for me instead of a thumbs up as it could have been so much better. Call it Sport and it would be OK. It is fresh air through a tangerine grove and soapy with a hint of cedar. If it was less soapy and more cedary then it could be a winner, indeed the previous reviewer says this is about the situation with the EDP versus the EDT that I am testing. Interesting. Unfortunately the EDP is a lot harder to get.

Fragrance: 2.9/5--its almost there lets see what the EDP is like
Projection: 3.5/5
Longevity: 3.5/5
06th February, 2018

Fan di Fendi pour Homme by Fendi

What a pleasant surprise after the over rated Life Essence.
This one has a fresh ish spicy opening and settles into Cardamon, woody with a hint of pepper (but only a hint so it does not get up your nose) middle and stays there.
It is nice enough with some depth, but nothing to write home about.
It is a non committal scent. You'd probably wear it where you want to be polite just so without the wish to get particularly close such as meeting an ex or going out with some of your wives less interesting friends or mother-in-law.
As such its not for me as I would never let my standards drop so if I want not to be totally irresistible I would not wear anything at all.
You can see from my ratings that this fragrance just misses the mark. Shame.

Fragrance: 3.25/5
Projection: 3.5/5
Longevity: 4/5
04th February, 2018

Life Essence by Fendi

A fleeting fresh opening followed by a fougerie peppery middle. Not refreshing, not masculine not feminine just gets up your nose. Fortunately the pepper does settle over time but why should you be grateful for that? So more feminine than masculine. I am trying to find it a place.
Perhaps for the very young on dance night who want to give the impression that they know how not to over cologne themselves but fail. Phew.

Fragrance: 2/5
Projection: 3.5/5
Longevity: 4/5
01st February, 2018

Musgo Real No. 1 Orange Amber by Claus Porto

A lovely bitter citrus opening as fleeting as mist then just a damp citrus smell with a touch of pepper. I don't want to smell like damp scented tissue. That's not even a clean smell. So Hermes tres fraiche beater sadly it is not.
The only Musgo cologne of the whole lot (Oakmoss, Orangeamber, Limebasil, Classic) which does what it says it does ie is fresh is the Oakmoss but you have to let it settle down for 30 mins otherwise its too artificial .
The best smell by far is the Classic Shave Cream. Why couldn't Musgo just replicate that in a Cologne? They would have a real hit.

Fragrance: 2.5/5
Projection: 2.5/5
Longevity: 3/5
01st February, 2018