Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Constantine

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 116

L'Anarchiste by Caron

Revolting.
All I get is sickeningly sweet sandalwood and musk and a hint of cinnamon.
Linear, offensive, found myself grimacing and fanning the air. Washed off with a whince.
You have been warned.

Fragrance: 2/10
Projection: 7/10 -unfortunately-
Longevity: 7/10
16th November, 2018

Terre d'Hermès Eau Intense Vétiver by Hermès

Too unisex.
Sweet orange and cinnamon. No detectable vetiver.
Initial grapefruit buzz is promising but quickly settles down to something sweet and just a bit too heavy. At least on my skin.
I don't like the original Terre either.
However the Tres Fraiche is very nice and strikes a perfect balance of masculinity and freshness but it only lasts an hour before disappearing.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 8/10
16th November, 2018

Vétiver Extraordinaire by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

What a let down.
Especially after the masterful French Lover and Femme Sous La Pluie (or words to that effect).
It has some of the solid back bone of French Lover without the soul instilling the uncomfortable feeling that it has been sucked out leaving you staring into an abyss and yours is about to follow. Almost like the cologne you'd expect a dementor to wear at a black tie (well black gown) event that being the last thing you remember as he turns to you to introduce himself.
It may be vetiver and woody notes and indeed there is a bit of promising fresh fizz right at the beginning which hurries away in fright leaving something stripped down and lifeless. Nothing inspiring or noteworthy apart from the price.
As a piece of Tate Gallery Art perhaps this has a place. As a credible masculine fragrance its a complete dissonance to its name.

Fragrance: 2.5/10
Projection: 4/10
Longevity: 6/10
16th November, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Royal Water by Creed

Another shockingly bad fragrance hiding behind a ludicrous price, a brand and political correctness.
Stale candy and potpourri.
Awful.
Wash off job.
You have been warned.

Fragrance: 2/10
Projection: 7/10 -unfortunately
Longevity: 7/10
14th November, 2018

Vetiver Extreme by Guerlain

My favourite Vetiver.
The original is too 'damp'.
This is a pure fresh vetiver which has been smoked gently for depth. Mature. Can be worn for any occasion, any season but not in sweltering heat.
It reminds me of Fine Accoutrements Fine Fresh Vetiver Aftershave which smells fantastic but lasts 10 minutes.
Much much better than Creed's ridiculously expensive Original Vetiver. Who do they think they are kidding?
Full bottle worthy.

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7/10
02nd November, 2018

Original Vetiver by Creed

This would have been a neutral if it were not for being so expensive.
Its a scented spa tissue with a hint of mothballs which ends up getting up my nose.
Stick with Thierry Mugler The Cologne if you want this kind of thing. You will be happier and richer.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
02nd November, 2018

L'Homme Ultime by Yves Saint Laurent

More like Femme Ultime.
Phew. Gave it to my wife. She loves it.
Like a sweeter version of Xerjoff Shooting Stars.


Fragrance: For men: 6/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
02nd November, 2018

Gentlemen Only by Givenchy


Slightly effeminate.

Sweet floral woody.

If that's what's called playful fair enough. Not in my book. More like Unisex.

Fragrance: 6.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
30th October, 2018

Tres Nuit by Armaf

Initial fresh green blast settling into warm peppery pot pourri in a wooden pot. Nothing heavy handed and overwhelming here. Well balanced for what it is.
I can see the attraction but not for me.

Fragrance: 6/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
30th October, 2018

Molecule 02 by Escentric Molecules

Light wood shaving almost minty.

Little depth to it. Almost a non event.

I am giving this a neutral until I test it some more and get opinions.
26th October, 2018

Molecule 01 by Escentric Molecules

Essence of Mothballs holding mint hostage.


Fragrance: 3/10
Projection: 5/10
Longevity: 7/10
24th October, 2018 (last edited: 26th October, 2018)

Jus Interdit by Jovoy

Awful pot pourri scrubber.
For the braver female only and in small amounts.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
22nd October, 2018

L'Art de la Guerre by Jovoy

Slightly medicinal apple and rhubarb.
More wearable but less characterful version of Hinoki by CdG.
Not offensive but nothing to write home about either.
I may wear Hinoki for fun but this is not worth bothering with.

Fragrance: 6/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
22nd October, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Narciso Rodriguez for Him by Narciso Rodriguez

A real synthetic stinker.

Awful stale apple/pear/musk. Pot purri gone crazy.

Phew.

Fragrance: 4/10
Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 8/10
22nd October, 2018

Narciso Rodriguez for Him Bleu Noir by Narciso Rodriguez

I like this.
Rudolfo512 has it spot on.
Sweet and spicy mixed with musk. As time goes on the cedar wood eventually starts overlapping the musk. Pleasant to the senses with depth, although not the most exciting or masculine of fragrances due to the sweetness but not unisex either. Perhaps a signature scent. Strong and it lasts. I don't get the TdH similarity on my skin.
Although this gets a thumbs up I still have to make up my mind about being full bottle worthy.
Addendum: My wife agrees with me. It is really too sweet in the opening and mid. Much better towards the end with the woodiness. So a reluctant farewell for me. What might have been. So close and yet so far.

Fragrance: 7.25/10 maybe up to 8.5 if it grows on me.
Projection: 8/10
Longevity: 8.5/10
19th October, 2018 (last edited: 21st October, 2018)

Tom of Finland by Etat Libre d'Orange

Total scrubber.
Cloying sweet geranium musk and pepper from the open. Looks like it may clear up to something more interesting and metallic but lapses back into its suffocating sweet heart. Phew.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 6/10
Longevity: 7/10
04th October, 2018

Je Suis Un Homme by Etat Libre d'Orange

This is Tabac de nuit without the Tabac and slightly sweeter. It is therefore inferior to TDN just as TDN is inferior to Jovoy Les Jeux sont faits which is inferior to Amouage Journey Man. However this is speaking from a masculine perspective. This would make quite a nice spicy yet strong female fragrance but use sparingly otherwise you'll repel all suitors.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
04th October, 2018

Fat Electrician by Etat Libre d'Orange

Starts off heavy sweet vanilla and amber to the extent it is cloying reduces in intensity but remains qualitatively linear so that it is no longer offensive but neither is it pleasing. No vetiver to my nose. Almost a scrubber.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 6/10
Longevity: 7/10
03rd October, 2018

Remarkable People by Etat Libre d'Orange

I agree with the tuttifrutti vibe. Maybe not that cruel but cloying getting up the nose and feminine. However opinions on this are divided. I was recommended this by someone who was effusive about it. That said he is quite closet metro so perhaps fragrances tell you more about the wearer than I thought!
And who wants to smell of Champagne! Anything apart from whisky brandy or some liquor is just stale.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 6.5/10
Longevity: 6/10
27th September, 2018

Tobacco Nuit by Atelier Cologne

Linear boozy tonka bean tobacco without being too heavy on the tobacco, while remaining masculine, really lovely, not quite my thing but you have to respect the artistry and quality.
Reminds me of the superb Amouage Journey Man and its little brother Jovoy Les Jeux Sont Faits. Both superior to this.

Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
27th September, 2018

Ag by Ted Baker

Heavy on the violet and leather. If you like this kind of thing be very sparing as it will get right up your nose and be offensive like the inside of a French courtiers's kerchief top pocket.
I ended up having to wash it off. Of the 3: Ag, Au, Cu unfortunately Ag is the most potent and long lasting. Hard to imagine the same nose came up with all three. Delicacy and detail versus sledge hammer.
Fragrance: 6/10 from a distance, 2/10 close up
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
24th August, 2018

Au by Ted Baker

Intriguing. Versatile.
Fresh with masculine depth. Bergamot with clove and musk predominant. Jasmine flits in and out of olfactory view.
Seems to last less than the Ag and Cu. More's the pity.

Fragrance: 7/10 in fact 7.5/10 considering the price point.
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
24th August, 2018

Cu by Ted Baker

Intriguing verging to the fresh. Almost smells like you would expect cold copper and pepper. Very well executed. Perhaps the ingredient providing the grapefruit smell is slightly too sugared so it verges to the effeminate but that could vary according to skin chemistry. Not for me but I appreciate it.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
24th August, 2018

Aoud Lemon Mint by Mancera

Standard issue aoud. The thumbs down is because the positive reviews extolled how fresh and lovely this is which makes it a perfect summer choice. Summer where? On the Ice rings of Saturn? Some lemon skulking on the fringes but nothing to distract you from the obvious heavy aoud. Mint undetectable and probably ran off wanting to avoid any association with this mediocrity.
For aoud connoisseurs the situation may be different. For the rest of us-- you have been warned.


Fragrance: 3/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
18th August, 2018

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Yuzu by Issey Miyake

A cautious thumbs up because this deserves more than a neutral but not full bottle worthy.
The bottom line is that its smells a bit cheap. Well, it is.
Nice bright Yuzu , a bit too sharp keeping it masculine, but settles into ginger and nutmeg with only a hint of yuzu. Disappointing.

Fragrance: 6.5/10
Projection: 7.5/10
Longevity: 7.5/10
16th August, 2018

L'Eau Bleue d'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

Starts off fresh and lovely. Citrus with bite, probably mint and masculine. Slowly it collapses to a heavy waxy metallic smell. Very off putting and almost a scrubber.
Stick with the Fraiche version just be prepared to do top up sprays.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 6.5/10
Longevity: 7/10
16th August, 2018

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Or Absolu / Gold Absolute by Issey Miyake

This is a mediocre version of Guerlain's very competent Homme L'Ideal or YSL Nuit Pour Homme EDP. Smooth buttery nutmeg cinnamon amber.
It is a cheaper version with a slightly sour note.
Tom Ford also does a nice version of this Nuit Extreme but it does not smell better than the first two.

Avoid the IM.

Fragrance: 5.5/10
Projection: 6.5/10
Longevity: 7/10
14th August, 2018 (last edited: 17th August, 2018)

L'Eau Bleue d'Issey Eau Fraîche by Issey Miyake

With a very important caveat this is a very good fresh cheepo , and indeed days of overwhelming humidity and heat this may be the fragrance of choice especially if you are looking for a masculine scent. It may be that the cologne dissolves in the perspiration which is what makes it last longer. Otherwise it is gone in 20 minutes leaving you with a shadow of that awful burning rubber/amber of the bleue itself.
I can see the problem Odyseum and his acolyte have. However on hot humid days the opening is wonderfully fresh bergamot mint and rosemary, but then it looses some of that substance and you are left with a freshness which is an entity in itself. Almost powdery, minty, a touch of musk. It will be an unshakeable companion on overly humid hot days but a flop on others unless you keep on spraying yourself with it every half hour.
The expensive option would be Xerjoff shooting stars but that is a little too feminine.
However a better fresh cheapo which works on dry and humid days is IM's very own Summer 2009. Harder and harder to get. Otherwise there is IM Homme Fraiche which is nice enough although uninspiring but it lasts a long time as a skin scent with not a whiff of pepper.



Fragrance: 7.75/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 2/10
11th August, 2018 (last edited: 17th August, 2018)

Le Mâle Eau Fraiche by Jean Paul Gaultier

Opens with a fresh blast but quickly turns into a metrosexual sweet cinnamon.
Certainly not Fraiche and not for me.

Fragrance: 5/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
09th August, 2018

Cravache by Robert Piguet

This reminds me of an effort at Cartier Declaration. In contrast it is more lemony and the 'dirty earthy' component is replaced by a dirty spa tissue paper bordering on barbershop vibe. Remains quite sharp and linear although eventually becomes unbearably powder puff verging on scrubber.
Not for me but if you like this kind of thing worth a try.

Fragrance: 6/10
Projection: 7/10
Longevity: 7/10
09th August, 2018