Perfume Reviews

Reviews by 10is

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 8
10is Show all reviews
United States

Une Amourette Roland Mouret by Etat Libre d'Orange

This fragrance was my first with ELDO, and I was advised by the extremely knowledgeable expert at a niche perfume store in London that collaborations with the brand tend to produce better fragrances than the in-house creations. While my comparison was between this and Secretions Magnifique, the advice was very true.

Not to take anything away from this fragrance, it opens with a floral and slightly incensy vibe. While not listed in the notes pyramid, my nose picks up jasmine, and not just any kind, Arabian jasmine, indigenous to the South Asian region. This is a balanced and floral charmer, with the woody jasmine note taking over after the first few minutes. Definitely unisex, definitely worth a sniff.

Rating: 8/10
02nd May, 2018
10is Show all reviews
United States

Big Pony 2 by Ralph Lauren

Terrible, terrible, with a drydown of terrible. Save yourself any amount of money and get CK One Shock if you want a whimsical take on chocolate. It's cheaper, better, and you won't encourage such creations. Or get the Chocolate Axe, which is still infinitely better than this awful concoction.

Rating: 1/10
02nd May, 2018
10is Show all reviews
United States

Perfume Calligraphy by Aramis

I sprayed this on my wrist and for the first couple of hours the rose was extremely cloying (for someone who likes rose fragrances). But the oud(?) and leather drydown managed to stick around on my watch band and definitely smelt like a niche a couple days later. Appreciation for the uniqueness, but cloying rose note gets a thumbs down overall.

Rating: 5/10
02nd May, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

10is Show all reviews
United States

L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

In a world of designer aquatics with little differentiation, L'Homme by YSL first came off as a softer, sweeter alternative while still being inoffensive. I found the opening of this to be better than its La Nuit counterpart, with the citrus, ginger, and tonka notes to be the most prominent. This was my work scent for a couple of years, and works perfectly for such occasions. Some similarities with D&G The One more in their approach to sweet vanilla-like notes, which suits my taste over smelling "Blue" just fine.

Rating: 7/10

02nd May, 2018
10is Show all reviews
United States

Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

Without a doubt a modern classic! Terre opens with wet vetiver and citrus, before hitting you with pepper and drying down to a woody and ever-so-slightly sweet base. I cannot count the number of times I have smelt this walking down the street in a crowded city like New York (on other people), so I can only assume this is what it would project like on myself.

Rating: 10/10
02nd May, 2018
10is Show all reviews
United States

Spirit by Antonio Banderas

Spirit opens with a sharp spicy blast of cinnamon and other spices, with a faint sweetness of...something else synthetic. But as others have mentioned, if you can find this at clearances then this makes for a great winter cheapie.
02nd May, 2018
10is Show all reviews
United States

The One for Men by Dolce & Gabbana

Sweet and simple, with gourmand vibes. This is inoffensive and a good daytime scent for uneventful days, mirroring the linear drydown of the scent. Longevity is poor, but the opening is so likeable that it gets a neutral rating.
02nd May, 2018
10is Show all reviews
United States

Égoïste / L'Égoïste by Chanel

Absolutely gorgeous! This is the fragrance that got me into this hobby and it was love at first sniff. It starts off with a spicy, peppery blast with a soft rose backbone. The scent develops into a warmer scent, with the beautiful blend of the sandalwood, saffron, and rose (think creamy and lush). There's a bit of a transparent feel throughout the drydown, but this isn't a bad thing - it's clean while being a little dirty and not overly heavy.

1 Word Summary: Masterpiece!

Rating: 10/10
01st May, 2018 (last edited: 02nd May, 2018)