Perfume Reviews

Reviews by notspendingamillion

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 116

Ambre Impérial by Van Cleef & Arpels

Yes, it is an amber, but there is something like orange candy and hair spray with it. So it smells like someone who just put on hairsray and then a generic amber fragrance is eating orange gummy bears or something. Gets less interesting to me as it dries diwn. Projects fine. Lasts well, both as i would expect in the genre.
25th June, 2019 (last edited: 24th June, 2019)

Dior Homme Parfum by Christian Dior

Starts strong with heavy waxy iris and leather. This changes the complexion of the dna to a darker hue. Kinda smells like opening up an old leather makeup bag while sitting in the pew of an old church right after someone has blown out a candle. Not as sweet is the intense version. Does last a long time, but doesnt project super hard. Projection average, longevity plus. Interesting, and a worthy flanker.
23rd June, 2019

La Yuqawam pour Homme by Rasasi

Smells noticably like Tuscan Leather. A bit sweeter, more syrupy sweet rasberry. It is loud and lasts at least 24 hours. Probably the longest lasting thing ive tried, edging out Interlude. Had to sell it, just hard to find a time i could wear something so strong. Nice wooden box, presentation was nice.
22nd June, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Polo Supreme Cashmere by Ralph Lauren

I like the smell of this. It sort of has the feel of drinking a diet cream soda. Kinda sweet, kinda vanillay and pink pepoercorny. Has cardamom. Lasts forevor. Like 24 hours, but projects about 8 or so. Very very strong for something not smelling of oud, leather, or incense. Wife was not a fan, made her catch her breath and cough. Im assuming it is from the synthetics. Still a thumbs up from me.
22nd June, 2019

Carlisle by Parfums de Marly

This fragrance made me smile when i put it on. I dont get anything from the pyramid, lol. It is a apple cider, fall spice, incense frag. Silly marketing. Just say what it is. The apple here is not the sour apple candy smell from say YSL Y or Wanted by Azzaro. More of a red apple, apple cider, apple juice accord. Pleasant. Id wear this in the fall, but then only. Maybe taking the family to an apple orchard or something. It is cozy and warm. It smells more complex than other PdM fragrances ive smelled. The woody incense notes really are beautiful in the heart, sweetened with the apple accord, somewhat akin to the feel of the opening of Jubilation XXV. As a specialized fragrance im gonna give this a thumbs up.
21st June, 2019

Pegasus by Parfums de Marly

Goes on strong. It is an assault of almond, sweet sweet vanilla, and lavendar. Smells rather decadent and very very sweet. It settled down a bit after an hour and a half, but stayed very present for quite a while. It is a strong fragrance no doubt. I can see young ladies liking this. The lavendar gives it a bit of a more masculine appeal. Linear, though i felt the lavendar faded just a bit faster than the rest changing to a bit more gourmand in the ultimate drydown. Gourmands are not my bag, but it is not targeted at me. I dont really think the price is out of line with what you are getting here as long as you are shopping discounters. Upscale designer. In the skirt chasing bro town id give it a thumbs up. In my old man life its a thumbs down. So neutral.
21st June, 2019

Lalique White by Lalique

Clean done right. Soapy clean. Dry in the opening with the white pepper and cedar in the dry down. Smells better than its price, read here smoother and less astringent. Dryer sheets is not a bad comparison. Projection on point for the genre, but would have preferred a bit more staying power out of the laundry musks. Well done overall. Points down for subpar performance, points back up for price point. Keeps this as a average sized thumbs up.
20th June, 2019

Bottega Veneta pour Homme by Bottega Veneta

Smells nice. Kind of a classic cologne smell. Bergamot top with soapy leather, pine and sage. The citrus fades in about 30 minutes, and at its heart it is green soapy affair. It sits pretty quickly, and doesnt last all that long for its genre. But it is classy, aromatic, and well blended. Constructed nicely into a sort of updated old school feel. The leather felt most predominant to me in the opening and base. It was harder to disect than i thought it would be, and was much less pine tree-esque than one would be led to believe. To me it almost seems more Bleu de Chanel than Polo, regardless of what the notes read.
20th June, 2019

Dior Homme by Christian Dior

Fantastic. New formulation. Starts off iris sweetened up with dry cocoa and a small bit of leather. Well balanced and constructed. Last 8 hours, projects maybe one or two. Easily my favorite of the whole line. Not overly feminine or macho. Classy.
19th June, 2019

Dark Rebel Rider by John Varvatos

Take the original, tone down the bright booze, amp up the leather, add a dollap of incense and a pinch of smoke. You have Rebel Rider. It is sweet, but that is balanced down by the leather and incense to give this a darker feel. Not a dirty brown leather, more like a black biker jacket on a real biker. Bad a** dudes could sport this. Not metro or betas. Projection and longevity both above average. Fall and evening wear. This is a GOOD fragrance. Better than most designers and cheapies.
19th June, 2019

Dunhill Pursuit by Dunhill

Ambery pink pepper over a flat cwdary base. Feels a bit cheap and synthetic (which it is). It has something a little gingery in the heart. It also has just a hint of that la nuit cardamom/lavendar thing snuck in there. So in the under 20 dollar cheapy category im gonna say neutral. Better than a bland clean nothingness. Performance, not good.
18th June, 2019

Comme des Garçons 2 Man by Comme des Garçons

Opens as a soapy vetiver incense mahogany. The incense reads to me as what i identify as the used and abused woody ac norlimbanol. When i applied quite a lot on my hand there was something just hinting as pissy or animalic, but that faded out of being able to identify it before i could really get a take or any real recognition for identification. Strangely dark and fizzy in the heart, a bit smoky from i have no idea what. Pleasant and sofisticated. Im going thumbs up here. It doesnt feel earth shattering, but i like it. It wears nice, good performance in a mannerly way.
18th June, 2019

XJ 1861 Naxos by Xerjoff

Opens with a tonka lemon bergamot mix. The citrus all but disappears after about 45 minutes. It lives a good amount of its life as a tonka honey cashmeran lavendar tobbacco fragrance. I sprayed polo supreme cashmere on a bag a couple weeks ago and got pretty used to picking out cashmeran, so maybe that is why it stood out so predominately to me. It does have tobacco, but it just doesnt read very loud. About in the same strength as the lavendar. But this is a decidedly sweet fragrance, that because it stays a bit drier, smells more expensive that edible. Great performance. Lasted well, above average projection.
Didnt really wow me into even consideration, regardless of price. Smells like good quality. But it didnt really develop after the initial transition away from the citruses. Too sweet and tonka-y for me. Ill say im gonna go thumbs down, with points dropping it from a neutral based on it being so pricey.
18th June, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Missoni Parfum pour Homme by Missoni

Opens with a clean melange on grapefruit and fresh linen smell, like clean clothes. There is just a touch of lemon peel mixing in. It feels like an edp concentration. The citrus here sits and doesnt seem to move or sparkle. It is more of a clean citrus, not a fizzy sparkling one. Fairly nondescript and normal. Nothing to get excited about or trash on.
18th June, 2019

Wonderwood by Comme des Garçons

Its soft and dry. Woody dry cedar, a bit of a thinner cedar, sort of transparent, sandalwood, pencil shavings. Blend all the woods you got. Well balanced, all the notes purr along together. Smells modern and a bit softly minimalistic. I love dry woody concoctions, so this should be directly in my wheelhouse, but it just doesnt really stand out incredibly at any point in any way. Doesnt smell bad, or sweet. A sad panda neutral.
14th June, 2019

Blackpepper by Comme des Garçons


It indeed opens up with a strong hit of pepper grinder black pepper. I timed it, this blends in with the rest of the scent in 35 minutes. Before that it is a bit of an unbalanced overload, though interesting and not unpleasant. Doesnt scream, sits down relatively early. Fairly clean, woody, and peppery. Polite and well mannered. It definitely has pepper, but seems to be of a somewhat nice generic woody base it sits on. More up than down, and it was close, but im gonna fall in the neutral category.
14th June, 2019

Dodo by Zoologist Perfumes


No. Wrong. Its a fougere... in the air. Super harsh up close. Moth bally, bug sprayish, wet rat nest smell over fruity salt or something. Also the first fragrance to make something twing in my head and give me a headache about 10 minutes in. By far my least favorite Zoologist to date. Good lasting power, as per Zoologists MO, but little evolution. Smells fairly linear to my nose.
13th June, 2019

Robert Graham Valour by Robert Graham

Note list is misleading. It is not a heavy gourmand, as coffee, sage, and amber would have you believe. It is somewhat lighter, without a heavy vanilla or tonka base. It is sweet in the rwalm of Tom Ford Noir Extreme, sort of almost coming halfway between the kuffi smell there and the pink pepper of Bulgari Man in Black. Ambroxan backbone is what they really meant by amber. The is a quiet coffee note there, and the sage making this just a bit more interesting smelling than bland. Cant possibly go thumbs up, but rather a fine neutral.
13th June, 2019

Salome by Papillon Artisan Perfumes

Beautiful floral opening strong in jasmine mixed with musk. Sort of the same opening feel as Kiehls, but they depart pretty quickly. There is much more going on here, and at a much deeper level. The heart is a gorgeous birch tar castoreum leather feel, a bit smoky, and just really deep, and a bit dark, line a hazy dark tan color. Really something i have not run across much. It has a timeless beauty to it. It left an oil sheen where i applied it. Really just smells of high quality. Makes me want to xheck out other things they've done, that type if quality. Thumbs up.
11th June, 2019

Siberian Musk Part II by Areej le Doré

Wow. This is one of those fragrances that smells arresting. Starts with a fresh citrus top, and musk. There is a pine element, but nit neccesarily a pine fragrance. It has sort of a green brightness, sort of a fougere feel, though it is not one. Smells so round and rich. Pungent is an understatement. It almost gives a full fat mouth feeling. Like the full flavored version of musk compared to average everyday skim musk. Takes over a room. Beautiful. Animalic 10. Thumbs to the moon.
11th June, 2019

Freetrapper by D.S. & Durga


Less wild than the name would imply. It has a central quality that is medicinal and camphor like. This hangs around straight through the opening and the heart. The castoreum here is quite sanitized until it reads almost as just a weak dirty leather. It overall has a feel that is semi balsamic. There is a bit of smokyness that emerges in the heart and stays for the duration. Longevity seemed average, but was reduced to a skin scent after about only two hours or so. It was fine. Quality was there. It wears a little thin, but it was designed that way. More thumbs up than down, but ultimately was left wanting just a bit more charector. Neutrsl.
11th June, 2019

Duro by Nasomatto

It smells like Dr. Pepper with some woods. Maybe a mixed drink with dr. Pepper and some sort of woody liqueur. It is strong, but in a nice way. Miscellaniously woody with pink pepper sweetness. To me this is about at the border. The sheer strength of the woods though balances this back to being a woody fragrance. Leather is a player, and it is a vaguely smoked background. Id put the woods and pink pepper over the leather in prominence. Good scent. Almost lost its way with the sweetness, but the strong performance keeps it afloat to a medium sized thumbs up.
11th June, 2019

Dia Man by Amouage

To me its a spiced mixed floral, made more masculine and dry by some leather and vetiver. There is a lightness in its composition. There is some incense in the heart, blended behind the floral top. Kinda smells like a small shop in the mall that sells overpriced tiny porcelein figurines and greeting cards. Kind of a dried potpouri smell, not a sumptuous juicy floral. Longevity and performance were acceptabley average.
10th June, 2019

Ummagumma by Bruno Fazzolari

Not neccesarily my thing. Good quality though. The wife said "it smekks like food." Apt. It opens with a choco-tonka-coffee smell. The tonka is used judiciously here as to keep this a gourmand without necesarily bludgeoning you with sweetness. As this fades a couple hour in it is a cocolate incense fragrance. There is notable development in this fragrance, which keeps it interesting. Sort of a niche quality incense A*Men. Good performance. Thumbs up.
10th June, 2019

Horizon Extreme by Davidoff

This fragrance basically smells like its pyramid looks, but a little bit worse. Opening with ginger, rosemary, grapefruit, in that order. These sit on the leather and nutmeg. The Polo Oud comparison is not that far off, but that smells much superior. There is something a little plastic-y about this. Not gross, and I actually find the rosemary to be an interesting addition to this type of fragrance in a good way. Performance, eh, not good. Neutral.
30th May, 2019

Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

It smells like gas. This is a good thing. It is manly. There is just nothing like it. Unbelievable that it got green lighted. Masterpiece. Benchmark. Thumbs up so hard it hurts.
30th May, 2019

L'Homme Idéal Cologne by Guerlain

Sparkling grapefruit almond. Nice smell with an airy wet nature. Longevity and sillage are appropriate/good for the genre. This is refreshing and easy. If you are looking for a bombastic attention getter, this is not it. Great for hot summer days.
30th May, 2019

Dior Homme Intense by Christian Dior

Iris. The powdery aspect is somehow a bit chunky, with say the feeling of flour mixed with butter. If you were to take Dior Homme and make it a bit more sumptuous, this is what you would get. A little more rounded and gourmandy. Longevity is average/good. The more this one is sprayed the more powerful it becomes. As speedracer says, it can take over a room.
30th May, 2019

Sauvage by Christian Dior

Smells good. It just does. Very popular. Ambroxan is very strong, pepper, bergamot. Lasts all day. Fresh. Ladies like it. Versatile enough to wear in any weather, any time. Great choice for someone who wants to own one bottle.
30th May, 2019

Sauvage Eau de Parfum by Christian Dior

It smells like the EDT. I'm a huge fan, so I own both. If you are not, you do not need to. Just buy this one.
30th May, 2019