Perfume Reviews

Reviews by satyen

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 16

Ta'if by Ormonde Jayne

At first sniff i loved this fragrance. Unfortunately i have grown not to trust my first sniff as it has been often deceiving. The first sniff is sometimes like the supermodel who is good to look at but sucks in conversation. in the long run you need someone you can have a conversation with.

similarly with perfumes, after the initial wow factor dies down, how the fragrance fades and becomes one with your skin, and puts a smile on your face and makes you feel good on a long term basis is what differentiates the great ones from the good ones.

moreover, just like what your friends think about your gf effects your better judgement, what other basenote reviews speak about the fragrance, also effects your final buying decision.

as such, ta'if has been on my mind for a long time. i have sampled it maybe a dozen times. The opening is a blast of rose and spices, typical but not overly sharp as many rose and spice combo behave. but also not my favorite part of the fragrance.

As the fragrance develops, it transforms into a beautiful silky creamy tone, which could be described better as a texture than an actual smell. This is my favorite part of the fragrance and the longest lasting segment as well. in fact it remains so for the rest of its life. they say amber in the end but i cant distinctly smell it, so it plays more of a supporting role perhaps.

A lot of Ormonde Jayne fragrances have that silky creamy middle note. Im wearing Ormonde Man today and its a similar vibe.

Ta'if is not daring, nor different, nor loud, nor even long lasting. Its a really subtle creamy rose, which remains close to the skin during its breif lifetime. yet each time i sampled it, i fell more and more in love with it. to the point that despite several reveiws about how ordinary it is, i finally plunged in and got a full bottle.

Sometimes you just dont want to make a statement. Sometimes you just want the best of what is ordinary! And Ta'if does a damn good job at making 'ordinary' feel good.
04th March, 2020

Lavande 44 by Rania J

As the name suggests this is definately a lavender fragrance from the beginning to end. I wouldnt go as far as to call it a soliflore purely because the star player gently evolves during its life cycle.

Lavande 44 opens with a blast of freshness aided from the bergamot and petit grain up top. I cant distinctly smell either of them but they help in making the lavender smell fresher in the opening.

As the fragrance develops the vetiver, tonka and cedarwood help in softening the lavender to the point that its almost powdery. This is the part of the fragrance that some might find dated or old school. But to me this is where it truly shines as one of the best barbershop fragrances ever made.

Thankfully i cant detect the oud and patchouli cause that would have definately turned me off. A perfect scent for all seasons, day or night, casuals or formals. This very well might be the end of my search for the perfect lavender fragrance.
30th January, 2020

24 Old Bond Street Triple Extract by Atkinsons

I was on the fence for quite some time before finally pulling the trigger. This is a classic gentleman's perfume. The combination of dark florals and spices on top with a earthy smoky and slightly boozy base reminds one of a plush hotel lobby. Its elegant without being too dated. The performance is just slightly below average so you really to go trigger happy. Perfect for an evening out in spring/fall.
25th January, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Ambre Cashmere Intense by Nicolaï

Blind buy. Liked it at first sniff, but after a few full wears iv started to love this. It opens with orris butter with just enough freshness from the citrus to balance it. Within the first hour the vanilla amber combo takes over with the rest of the notes playing a supporting role. The spices and the woods add just enough oomph to round it off. All in all a superbly blended unisex amber scent.

Performance is above average and wears wonderfully on cold evenings.

I love ambre sultan by lutens when im feeling bold, and diors ambre nuit when im feeling sophisticated. But this one is probably more versatile and easier to wear than both of them.
13th January, 2020

Wood Sage & Sea Salt by Jo Malone

I have sampled a lot of jo malone. Never liked them enough to pull the trigger on a full bottle. Got this one as a gift, and i must say its better than most i have tried. Id say this along with lime and basil are probably the best of the lot. But even then there is a generic almost designer quality to it. The ingredients dont seem at par with other niche offerings in its price bracket. I dont really get any woodsiness, but a rather sweet salty aquatic inoffensive but unextraodinary perfume that can get cloying if overapplied. But like another review earlier mentioned its also quite fleeting if underapplied. Like with a lot of her newer offerings in the hermes lineup, christine nagel plays it safe, almost too safe!
12th October, 2019

Un Balcón Sobre el Paseo del Prado by Loewe

Very odd this one. Yes its got rose, and yes its got saffron, but very harsh and synthetic. the notes pyramid looked interesting enough for me to blind buy a miniature from a discount site. but it severely disappoints. in india you get little packets of supari (betel nut pcs with synthetic flavors) at every street corner. The first spray of this instantly reminded me of that and every subsequent spray more so of it.

I try to be very open minded when trying new fragrances, but its inevitable that smells remind us of a certian place or time or memory, and sometimes its impossible to disassociate them. perhaps this review would be less harsh if it wasnt for the memory assocation!

Thankfully the drydown is more bearable with the powdery and woodsy notes taking over and the rose/saffron harshness is toned down.

The sillage is quite huge, projection and longevity above average.
15th May, 2019

Apple Brandy by By Kilian

probably my first scrubber. the initial blast is amazing, exactly like apple brandy, boozy and fruity. but drydown turns into medicinal cough syrup type vibe. very cloying, dense and nauseating. i love calvados (french apple brandy) so this was a blind buy for me. and sold it off after 1 use for less than half. you know what they say about blind buys... Don't!
11th March, 2019

Bois Doré by Van Cleef & Arpels

A fantastic vanilla fragrance by van cleef. opens nice and fizzy, and maintains a beautiful balance with the cederwood and spices.

Vanilla fragrances can be cloying like boucheron zanzibar, or light but breif like creed's vanille sublime. this one is superlight, perhaps even more so than creed, but more well rounded and long lasting.

It is certainly a feminine leaning scent, but its delightful enough for me to put it on once in a while.
17th January, 2019

Bottega Veneta pour Homme Extrême by Bottega Veneta

i liked the regular version when i tested at the store. bought a sample of the extreme version, but didnt like it. its harsh and dirty, and remains like that for a long time. it took almost 4-6 hours for the dirtyness to subside and then it finally got the nice quality that i liked in the regular.

17th January, 2019

Néroli d'Ispahan by Boucheron

Boucheron have done a great job with giving neroli a different dimension in this sophisticated feminine leaning scent.

I would probably categorize it as an oriental. Its spicy and woody without being too much of either, and the neroli is warm and soothing and omnipresent.

Perhaps one of the most interesting facets of this is how they hv managed to work neroli so that even after a few hrs, you can still somehow find it in there without it being the main hero.
16th January, 2019

Sunday Cologne / Fantastic Man by Byredo

When i hear sunday cologne, i think about a cool, relaxing fragrance, that i can wear at a bbq, or to the park, or just bingin on netflix.

Byredo's sunday cologne is none of that. Its a manly aggressive fougere with the incense and patchouli reigning supreme over most of its shine.

Its a good scent. Just not a relaxing sunday cologne. In fact i would wear it on most days except a sunday.

Perhaps its unfair to compare every cologne to adp colonia. But somehow i cant help but feel this pales in comparision.
15th January, 2019

Je Suis un Homme by Etat Libre d'Orange

Good citrus opening albeit quite breif, leads to a mid with spicy overtones. this is where the fragrance shines for me. it does the spice extremely well. Im not a big fan of spice based fragrances, but this one has a nice balance with the leather and bergemot.
The only thing that didnt come together for me was the patchouli drydown.
08th January, 2019

Opus II by Amouage

a fresh opening with a heavy oudlike drydown with patchouli reigning supreme!
11th December, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Reflection Man by Amouage

starts out nice and fresh with a clean soapy but almost heavy dry down. i guess in typical amouge style this one is meant to make a statement and it does. so definately not for the understated...
11th December, 2018

Eau du Sud by Annick Goutal

very similar imo to acqua di parma pura.
i really enjoyed the initial citrus freshness and soda water fizziness but unfortunately it fades quickly, leading to a green woody peppery long lasting dry down.
11th December, 2018

XJ 1861 Naxos by Xerjoff

my first review here....

tried the naxos after much praise from mr smelly, i must say that i usually quite like all his reccomendations. but this one sorely disappointed.

sticky sweet, takes gourmand to another level, and almost single dimensional this one.

tonka bean, jaggery/honey, i do get a slight bit of tobacco in the dry down, but beneath the nauseating sweetness, which imo lasts a very long time. tested on my hand and could smell it long after i had washed them with soap.

11th December, 2018