Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Nose no limits

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 23

Musc Ravageur by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Wow! This is not for the mild-mannered or straight-laced. Itís a different kind of lace altogether. The opening is bold and direct, unbuttoned, unzipped, unclipped, intense and physical. The vanilla, when it finally emerges, is sweet and gentle, caressing and soft. You almost get your breath back. But the musk keeps drawing you in, time and time again, and each time you breathe it in a little deeper, get a little closer, touch a little longer... itís still there in the morning, almost like a rich toffee fragrance, much more rounded, subtle and intimate, but thereís still only one thing on your mind...
08th February, 2019

L'Eau par Kenzo pour Homme by Kenzo

Cold sparkling water with mint leaves, fruit peel (yuzu?) a clean wet wood like reeds or bamboo (?). No real depth or development but clean and refreshing.
08th February, 2019

Tobacco Collection Rich Warm Addictive by Zara

Rich warm vanilla that lasts for ages. Not much tobacco and pretty linear - experimenting with layering it with other fragrances to give it a bit more depth / interest. Amazing value and very wearable.
08th February, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

BibliothŤque by Byredo

Sweets and not much else? Even a few hours later I just get feminine peach body spray. Was hoping for so much more...
08th February, 2019

Layton by Parfums de Marly

Very green and bitter. Patchouli and cardamom pod skins. Fruit pith without the fruitiness. Bond number 9 New Harlem with less coffee? Unpleasant.
08th February, 2019

Vťtiver Extraordinaire by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Fresh orange peel on a wooden chopping board - zesty but delicate. Ends up in no-mans land with cool clean vetiver pulling one way and warm woods the other. It doesnít quite have the Ďcold water sink-washí feel of grey vetiver/original vetiver/muegler cologne; and doesnít have the full warm woods richness of Comme des GarÁons or Líoccitaneís Cade. Plus Iím not the biggest fan of orange fragrances. Probably needs a particular type of day to make this work - when you need slightly warm, slightly fresh (or canít make up your mind).
08th February, 2019

Mťchant Loup by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Reading the notes I thought this was going to be a really eccentric fragrance of sweet honey, nuts and radix, that was either going to be a smash-hit of inspiration or really awful. Itís actually neither. It opens quite softly, with a delicate fusion of honey with a hint of licorice, cedar and the faintest hint of pine straw. Thereís also something ever so slightly soapy which gives the fragrance a much Ďcleanerí vibe than I expected - itís definitely a forest in the morning after a cold night, with the sun just starting to warm things up and tease out all the different smells all at the same time. Itís more of an ambiance. There are no strong individual notes, no collisions of big flavours. Thereís nothing particularly animalic. In short, I think the ďbig bad wolfĒ must have been out the day they collected the notes for this fragrance.

Itís actually quite pleasant and almost fougere-like. As it dries down, itís got the same green+yellow+brown vibe but instead of ďcleanĒ it becomes ever so slightly warmer and more mellow, like a sort of heavily diluted Cuir Pleine Fleur without the leather. Thereís still no wolf to be found.

Itís difficult to know what this fragrance is for or when to wear it. I like it and itís intriguing enough that Iím going to try it again, perhaps with a heavier application to see if I can get more out of it and maybe it will show s different side to itself in a different season. Weíll see...
27th January, 2019

Dzing! by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Thereís a great Katie Puckrik review of this likening it to a circus and, wow - it really does smells of leather and circus animals! I donít get much sweetness, toffee or woods - just large musky animals with a slightly fecal, stale litter-tray / sawdust twist. To me itís less ďbig-topĒ and more like the cages out the back. Itís incredible how evocative it is (and for some reason I do keep wanting to smell it again) but itís not a pleasant or particularly wearable fragrance.
27th January, 2019

Sel Marin by Heeley

This is my number one fragrance for high-heat summer when anything even slightly sweet becomes cloying and sickly. I remember respraying on a packed train home in the height of last summer (to hide the fug of a carriage-full of hot sweaty people) and was immediately taken to the end of a jetty surrounded by a salty breeze, sea spray and the faintest twist of citrus-y fresh seaweed. Like a breath of fresh sea air!
27th January, 2019

Cuir Pleine Fleur / Fine Leather by Heeley

One of my favourite leather fragrances, but a Ďgreen/yellowí floral leather rather than a dark animal-y leather. I definitely get a leather thatís got a clean fresh hay scent, with grass and something that smells a bit like daisies. For me this is very much a daytime scent, for less warm summer or autumn days, and perhaps even for when itís raining and you want to remind yourself of a summer late-afternoon in a field, relaxing in the last of the sun, in a fleece-lined brown leather jacket. Itís more niche than versatile but a lovely fragrance to have for the occasions you want to use it.
27th January, 2019

Herod by Parfums de Marly

This is a gorgeous woodsy floral vanilla - the tobacco is less full-on than Tobacco Vanilla. TV is a rich spicy vanilla pipe tobacco but Herod Is another level still in terms of Interest and complexity with the floral notes, plus the tobacco is less old-man-ish and intense, and more subtle. Herod is expensive but itís an outstanding winter scent - I wore it last Christmas and itís interesting enough to wear several days in a row, but not so over powering that the rest of the family get overwhelmed and sick of it. Definitely one of my all time favourites and a top ten.
27th January, 2019

Eau des Baux by L'Occitane

A nice woody vanilla scent but it has an ever so slight taint of something thatís almost diesel-like. The same smell is in their Líoccitan fragragrance but there itís better masked by the lavender and burnt woods (though itís still noticeable). In Eau des Baux itís more obtrusive which is a shame - in the genre of vanilla fragrances, the woodyness of EdB gives it an edge against simpler vanilla fragrances (such as Eau Duelle) and it would otherwise be a reasonably priced alternative to more expensive masterpieces like Tobacco Vanille and Herod. As it is, Zaraís Rich Warm and Addictive does this job nicely (though has less tobacco and doesnít have quite the same depth of spices once you get more familiar with both).
27th January, 2019

L'Occitan by L'Occitane

I was gifted the shower gel version of this and bought the fragrance off the back of it. The fragrance is a little sharper but is still clean and inoffensive, and is now a staple in the collection. The burnt woods gives it a depth that makes it more than just a generic lavender, without it becoming too dirty. I find it works well in Spring and Autumn when heavy winter fragrances are too much and summer scents lack depth. All in all itís one of those clean office-safe scents thatís versatile enough to use without too much thought, but not quite a mass-market hype-train scent that everyone wears.
27th January, 2019 (last edited: 26th January, 2019)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Costa Azzurra by Tom Ford

Like the sun sparkling off one of the Italian lakes, with the faintest smell of mountain herbs in the background. Itís classy and gentle enough for the office and summer weekends, and works for evenings too (moonlight reflecting off the Italian lakes). Itís such a subtle fragrance that sings different notes in different situations - refreshing during the day and slightly sweeter at night. Itís versatile but stands out from the designer crowd like a million dollars. As a spring/summer all-rounder Iíve not found anything that beats it. Shame itís apparently discontinued now, so Iím stocking up!
26th January, 2019 (last edited: 03rd February, 2019)

Acqua di Parma Colonia Essenza by Acqua di Parma

A solid cologne thatís ideal for office and formal scenarios, and also works well in summer casual setting (it lacks the flair of Neroli Portofino Forte, but itís perhaps more versatile and it is considerably less expensive). Itís not a young personís scent but not old-fashioned or out-dated either. Itís probably not a top 10 for me but it is a clean reliable Ďdaily driverí for more formal occasions
26th January, 2019

Ferrari Bright Neroli by Ferrari

This is awful. And absolutely nothing like Ford Neroli Portofino. It smells to me like the cheap lemon aftershave they use in the barber shop. I donít get much neroli from it at all. I was pretty disappointed with this one - I tís not expensive and not unpleasant, but itís equally not a substitute for niche-house neroli favourites, which some of the hype suggests it is. Donít be fooled.
26th January, 2019

Neroli Portofino Forte by Tom Ford

Totally love this - itís exoensive but thereís nothing quite like it - perfect for the summer with jeans/white linen shirt during the day and something more formal at night. Beautifully floral but balanced with leather, herbs and woods to make it more than wearable for men. It works less well in colder weather and/or indoors - itís character is just better suited to the warm, breezy outdoors. Wore it on holiday in Lake Garda - it was in itís element! Definitely a must have as a classy outdoors summer scent.
26th January, 2019

Blood Oranges by Shay & Blue

This is scent really needs high heat to come alive. In colder weather itís too thin and uninteresting (like watered-down fanta) but becomes a super-refreshing spritz scent when it gets really hot (and stronger more complex fragrances become oppressive). Good to have in the collection for summer holidays but a bit boring for everyday use.
26th January, 2019

Blacks Club Leather by Shay & Blue

This was the fragrance that first got me on to S&B - some leather fragrances can be very shout-y and animal-y (cuir díarabie, tuscan leather, cuir de russie) whereas this is a more subtle, classy and practical/versatile scent - like a gently perfumed leather chair that can suit formality or more relaxed situations, and be unique without being ostentatious. If the Blacks Club itself (which apparently inspired this fragrance) is as elegant and interesting as the fragrance it could well be worth a visit!
26th January, 2019

Knize Ten by Knize

Not sure why anyone would wear this? Itís dirty and not in a good way. Like an ashtray combined with a leather taxi seat combined with unwashed trousers. I heard it once described as like the inside of a New York taxi at the end of a long shift which is 100% right on the money. Not for me.
26th January, 2019

Oud Alif by Shay & Blue

This fragrance is amazing - definitely in my top ten and a weekend favourite outside of hot weather months. It opens with almost an incense and gradually dries down to delicate, slightly smokey chocolate. I love how it develops throughout the day from a little bit rugged to something perfect for going to bed with - the edges become smooth and it becomes rich and sweet, but with enough of the earlier notes left to keep it balanced, interesting and not too cloying. Itís got real depth and character, and unique/original too.
26th January, 2019

Noir Exquis by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Definitely get nutty maple syrup combined with something very slightly powdery - a bit like a sweeter Valentino uomo intense. Itís pretty linear in the dry down and becomes a bit sickly after a few hours without anything smokey or spicy to counterbalance the sweetness. For me, itís not fresh or clean enough for the daytime (even a Sunday) and not dark enough for night. Itís like eating delicious glazed nuts and waffles but for 8 hours which is and perhaps just not my thing.
26th January, 2019

Tea for Two by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Not a fresh clean tea, nor particularly smokey - think Whittards Spice Imperial - bitter dried spiced citrus peel. Not offensive, but not my cup of tea.
26th January, 2019