Reviews by trojanhorse

    trojanhorse's avatar
    trojanhorse
    Germany Germany

    Showing 1 to 16 of 16.
    rating


    Marc Jacobs Splash Lemon by Marc Jacobs

    Yet another lemon Cologne? That's what I thought before trying it. This one is quite different from those typical Eaux de Cologne - it does without that dry herbal basil note and has a very pleasant sweetness, just like lemon ice-cream. Maybe it smells a bit artificial and cheap at first - but if you wear it, it is very easy-to-like.

    14th November, 2009

    rating


    Dior Homme Intense by Christian Dior

    Reminds me a bit of the classic Knize Ten, but less sharp, with rounded edges, more gentlemanly and even a bit candied. Very elegant stuff indeed!

    14th November, 2009

    rating


    Fahrenheit 32 by Christian Dior

    I recognize that clove/cinnamon note so typical of oriental spicies! This one is very sweet because of an overdose of vanilla and orange blossom, and there is a hint of minty freshness in it. Smells like an ice-cream café in summe, not too complex, but very pleasant.

    14th November, 2009

    rating


    Marc Jacobs Autumn Splash Violet by Marc Jacobs

    This isn't a real "violet" fragrance, like Fahrenheit or Grey Flannel - it has a powdery, almond-like smell of heliotrope and sandalwood. But who cares ... I like that radiant fragrance, because it is so confident. Can be worn as well by a man.

    14th November, 2009 (Last Edited: 27th November, 2009)

    rating


    Pasha Fraîcheur Menthe by Cartier

    Containing a refined citrus/mint top note, this one is more light-footed than the original. Very nice if you prefer a "slimmer" body!

    14th November, 2009

    rating


    Pasha by Cartier

    I just love this refined, elegant, mature style so typical of Cartier! This one is very warm and generous, very full-bodied and elegant with precious resins, spices and woods. Marvellous!

    14th November, 2009

    rating


    Marc Jacobs Splash Cucumber by Marc Jacobs

    Not too complex, but an easy-going floral scent. Light and mellow.

    03rd October, 2009

    rating


    Eau Noire Cologne by Christian Dior

    This a very delicate oriental spicy cologne, reminding my of Persian food with Basmati rice. I love its warmth and decent elegance - perfect if you like the dark notes of Youth-Dew but want something drier and lighter.

    03rd October, 2009

    rating


    Cologne Blanche by Christian Dior

    I just love those olde-fashioned aromas of citrus and herbs in the top note, florals and heliotrope in the middle note and oakmoss and woods, oakmoss, tonka and musk in the bottom! It's very elegant and light-footed, and very decent - rather on the dry and cool side. Not really an innovation, but a masterpiece of perfection.

    03rd October, 2009

    rating


    Marc Jacobs Splash Fig by Marc Jacobs

    A very complex scent by Marc Jacobs - none of the "easy sniffing category". It is so tender and gentle, the kind that I learned to love at third sniff. Expensive floral, fruity chypre notes - really classy and seductive (in spite of a certain freshness)!

    06th February, 2009

    rating


    Marc Jacobs Autumn Splash Ivy by Marc Jacobs

    Another clasy scent by Marc Jacobs! This one smells very natural, with warm spicy and woody notes. Direct and masculine, and elegant in a casual, uncomplicated way - not at all "perfumy".

    06th February, 2009

    rating


    Allure Homme Sport Cologne by Chanel

    What a charming Eau de Cologne! The lemon top note is the main issue, smelling like a soft breeze. There also are floral, spice, woody and mossy notes, but they stay more in the background, making the citrus last and tickle your nose. A very nice youthful and gentlemanly fragrance in my opinion!

    30th November, 2008

    rating


    La Cologne Fleur du Male by Jean Paul Gaultier

    Far better than the obtrusive eau de toilette version in my opinion! The top note is dry and citrusy, and then a very elegant flowery heart note comes out. Just perfect if a man wants a luxurious scent also showing his femine sides, but never making a dandy of him.

    29th November, 2008

    rating


    L'Instant d'un Eté pour Homme by Guerlain

    This one is truly masculine in a decent and classic way, the first impression of citrus and herbs a bit similar to a man coming out of a barber's shop. The clove/vanilla notes make it a warm scent, but never take control of it as they do in the original scent. Perfect stuff for urban men!

    29th November, 2008

    rating


    Marc Jacobs Autumn Splash Amber by Marc Jacobs

    A very warm and elegant fragrance! It opens up with an aldehydic top note, not unlike Chanel No. 5. But while No. 5 is floral, this one develops into a more semi-oriental direction - however, much more light-footed and refined than Shalimar and that stuff, you know - never becoming too sweet or obtrusive. It is so gentle, I just love this one!

    29th November, 2008

    rating


    Marc Jacobs Splash Rain by Marc Jacobs

    The first impression after spraying this one onto my skin is that of a very radiant, green/floral, cheerful scent. It noticeably gains complexity after two or three hours, when an absolutely charming fruity note comes out, strawberry-flavored candy and a breezy of freshly washed clothes hanging outside. What a deep, bittersweet scent this is - and very long-lasting, considering that it is meant as a summer splash. Each day wearing it, I discover new facets - and this one really is affordable!

    29th November, 2008

    Showing 1 to 16 of 16.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000