Reviews by kida2007

    kida2007's avatar
    kida2007
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.
    rating


    Sycomore (new) by Chanel

    This is something i wasnt expecting and its not really my typical scent but its a beautiful fragrance.
    The quality of it is ridiculous and its very smooth, strong and long lasting.
    If you have no idea what to expect then get your hands on Encre Noire and your 95% there, a trained nose can obviously tell the little differences but for what this costs its worth getting an idea what to expect.
    I'd call it a true Genderless scent, my mom likes it and guys too.
    Still having a hard time finding a slot for it to wear, i think on a very early summers morning when the air is cool but warm and the suns just come up its pretty amazing.

    27 October, 2012

    rating


    Encre Noire by Lalique

    Pretty linear, very muted smelling and i do get smoke but its sort of dampened at the same time with all the woody/inkyness going on.
    Its a pretty cool scent and i do like it, just not enough to either buy it again or wear very often.
    I have a vetiver soap that smells the same but more smokey and dusty i sooo wish it smelled like that i'd wear it all the time.

    27 October, 2012

    rating


    A*Men: Les Parfums de Cuir / Pure Leather by Thierry Mugler

    Agh! im having a hard time with this, overall i do not like it but I have a few mini testers and still find myself wearing it?? I've previously commented on how personally i think the leather blast at the beginning comes across synthetic and really quite harsh till the point where it doesnt smell like soft leather but fake plastic.
    I can also totally understand the harsh reviews on sites where people say it smells nothing like leather because in a way, it doesnt.

    I started off thinking it was basically A*men with a leather note simple as that, but i noticed a guy wearing it on the bus and as it was filling the space i kept thinking it smells more like pure malt! Now i know A*men a lot better i could tell its not exactly the same and it does have a touch more of that sweet fruity note rather than tar and salty caramel.

    But i still do not hate it, i wouldnt call it trash and i wouldnt run around bitching about it.
    I just think its ok, certainly nothing to go nuts over or call "the ultimate leather fragrance!!"

    27 October, 2012

    rating


    A*Men Pure Coffee by Thierry Mugler

    It's true what they say sadly, unless there's a serious batch problem going on its basically A*men with a bit less tar and a brief coffee blast at the beginning. Its a shame because the way its marketed i was really expecting a dark, sweet, dusty, rich coffee type aroma maybe with a hint of A*men in the background.
    After about 10 minutes the coffee seems to disappear a i just get the usual mugler mix.
    The hype hasnt helped over this because basically it doesnt live upto it, but was it ever meant to?
    Maybe he wanted it to basically be for people who love A*Men but with a quick coffee blast to give you a quick treat??
    Its certainly ok but no way worth the money it sells on sites for.

    27 October, 2012

    rating


    A*Men: Le Gôut du Parfum / The Taste of Fragrance [hot chili pepper paste] by

    First time i tried this was in the summer and i sprayed it on my jacket and all i could really smell was red pepper!
    Gave it about 2 months then went back properly and sprayed it on my skin, at first i though hmm thats not too bad actually and went to work. Couldnt stop smelling what it had turned into, a beautiful sweet cherry, spice, coffee blast that everyone seemed to be complimenting on!
    The next day went back and bought a bottle and have been loving it ever since. After seriously trying out all the Mugler scents now and finally getting my hands on pure malt i still think its the most wearable and well balanced Mugler scent.
    Its brilliantly well blended, not sickly sweet, a bit unusual but not weird.
    It could easily become the next Pure malt in a year or too i think its worth every penny!
    (long as your not paying crazy prices)

    27 October, 2012

    rating


    Tam Dao by Diptyque

    Still a great scent, fairly unique.
    Obviously a quality scent, i dont pick up on much synthetic stuff here
    It does have a strength to it thats really sharp on my nose and can be slightly headache inducing!
    Its woody but not dark, strong sandalwood, sharp cedar and spicy notes!
    Still a clean scent though not in the 80's sandalwood territory like a lot of frags.
    Nice autumn/fall fragrance.

    02 January, 2012

    rating


    Dunhill by Dunhill

    Not bad, from the pyramid list you'd think it smells like everything else but it does have a really stand out soapy note to it ( i think its the orris)
    But yeah its a light, refreshing, citrus/woody/clean smell and seems to have good projection as just when i think its totally gone someone catches a whiff!
    Definately a springtime scent, i bought it blind and prob wouldnt buy it again.

    02 January, 2012

    rating


    Ted Baker Skinwear by Ted Baker

    This might be in the citrus/aquatic/woody sorta catagory but I've still never smelt anything like it.
    It has a few extra notes, mainly the rosemary and juniper that just really change it and stand out.
    Its not sharp and has a soft musky tone that always gets good compliments. Its great for everyday workwear esp in the summer and it stays fresh all day.
    An excellent example of a cheap fragrance done well!

    02 January, 2012

    rating


    Givenchy pour Homme by Givenchy

    Still one of the best dry downs ever, wish i could find something like it minus the grapefruit.

    23 June, 2010

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.