Reviews by abc1234

    abc1234's avatar
    abc1234
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 19 of 19.
    rating


    Tsar by Van Cleef & Arpels

    bother of the King ( VCA PH ). It is equally marvelous.

    I think the two are in the same type of smell, while Tsar has a tad more fruity and freshness hint while less soapy. It lasts a little shorter than VCA PH.

    Royal !!!

    Two Thumbs Up!


    18 January, 2009

    rating


    Carven Homme by Carven

    I am not a sweet/citrus sour type a guy. But Carven Homme does something right that makes feel really happy when I smell it. It is sweet, but not at all cloy and overwhelming. The type of sweetness is neutral, uplifting, subdued, formal, classy. I can't imagine how they can make such good fragrance.

    It's a keeper!

    18 January, 2009

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    It has a hint of Vetiver Guerlain but ligher, rounder, a tad of sweeter, more complex. Equally all time classic. No wonder so many people love it. One of my best blind buys..... wait, all my "buys" were blind! ;)

    17 January, 2009

    rating


    Vetiver by Guerlain

    Absolutely fantastic! It is very difficult for me to describe the smell for lack of terminologies. It is clean, subdued, classy, no sweetness, pleasant, fresh, ... I didn't imagine such fragrance can exist!


    Two thubms UP!

    17 January, 2009

    rating


    A*Men / Angel Men by Thierry Mugler

    I am not into sweet/sour(citrus) type of smell in general. A* Man struck me with a smell of pure sugar, a little burnt. It's so intense, thick, and "food" type of smell just not my cup of tea. I can't think of an occasion people wear this fragrance: certainly not at work, you don't want to offend people; not dine out since it may interfere with the smell of the food there. .....

    Just say no.

    16 January, 2009

    rating


    Équipage by Hermès

    Just got a bottle. Smells great: subtle, clean, smooth, elegant, classy. A perfect cologne for all occasions.


    One of the best in my collection.


    Two thumbs UP!!!

    12 January, 2009

    rating


    Azzaro pour Homme by Azzaro

    I generally not a big fan of sweet/sour/floral scent which are too feminine to my liking. But Azzaro PH has a WONDERFUL green apple smell which is not sharp, not over-the-top. I makes me feel happy instantaneously! It has some kind of magical power. So elegant and fresh. Highly recommended (even you don't like fruity smell)

    12 January, 2009

    rating


    Muscs Koublaï Khän by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    After one spray on my wrist, I smell ZOO. Yes, the place with all kinds of animals, you know. Most zoos have flowers planted along side of walkways as well. It is dirty and gross. The animal smell is so realistic so vivid. Can't stand it.

    But I guess this is the thing with niche fragrance, the worse they are, more popular they become. I bet average Joe can not appreciate such "high class" smell ;-)

    11th January, 2009

    rating


    Knize Ten by Knize

    Very sharp, fresh Synthetic Leather, not real leather, smell. Yeah it's pleather! Like the fake leather in cheap cars. No class, no sophistication, not pleasant. Pass.

    11th January, 2009

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

    Two Thumbs Up !!!!


    This is a modern classic. Very sophisticated, complex, but still has a young lively spirit built in to it. It is fresh and depth, a combination works wonderfully. It is great to wear to work and other occasions as well.


    Good job Hermes!

    08 January, 2009

    rating


    Havana by Aramis

    Majestic, warm, classy. Smells very expensive. It has the depth and volume of a sophisticated modern man without being cheesily too sweet/aqua/citric etc.


    The Best!!!

    07 January, 2009

    rating


    Polo Double Black by Ralph Lauren

    very neutral, pleasant, refreshing. Suitable for all occasions I think. I like it A LOT. My six years old son's comment: "cake" ;)

    04 January, 2009

    rating


    Cool Water by Davidoff

    very refreshing and sweet. none offensive at all. has a romantic touch. My six-years-old son's comment: "candy"! ;)

    04 January, 2009

    rating


    Dior Homme by Christian Dior

    I am a little surprise to see so many praise from GUYS. This smells more feminine than most of female fragrance! It is extremely sweet, but not just that. It is the kind of sweetness that makes me doubt this is a male fragrance. It smells sooooo flowery, cloy sweet, feminine I can think of wearing it in public.

    I bought a bottle blind. Two sprays. Thast's it! selling it now ...

    02 January, 2009 (Last Edited: 17 January, 2009)

    rating


    Paco Rabanne Pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

    I bought a big bottle based on all the rave review here. It is not bad but nothing extraordinary. Very clean smell, so much so it smells EXACTLY like a common bar of soap or laundry detergent! No complexity, no change what so ever. Very disappointed.

    02 January, 2009

    rating


    Givenchy Gentleman by Givenchy

    This is a very powerful and complex fragrance. I am a newbie and bought this solely based on reviews here on Basenotes. Man what a wonderful product! The first day I got it, I was kinda shocked by the 'weird' smell as I was used to sweet/refresh generic fragrances from Macy's. After a few weeks, now I am totally hooked by it. It touches the emotions like no other. In late night when I working on computer and surfing the net, I kept sniffing it on my wrist and couldn't get enough of it. I really is a classic.

    I don't have all the terminologies -- it has a uplifted tobacco hint, a very pleasant and intoxicate one. After a while it fads into a clean Guerlain Vetiver smell but with much more texture and layers. Very warm hearted feeling.

    Two thumbs WAY UP!!!

    01st January, 2009 (Last Edited: 04 January, 2009)

    rating


    Burberry London for Men by Burberry

    Wonderful.

    It has similarity to the great Van Cleef & Arpels Tsar, but lighter and less soapy. It is formal yet not boring, romantic but not tacky, suitable for work place and parties. It does seem go down fairly quickly like within a hour or two, I can hardly detect much anymore.

    31st December, 2008 (Last Edited: 18 January, 2009)

    rating


    Van Cleef & Arpels pour Homme by Van Cleef & Arpels

    The best at the top of classy fragrances I tried: Guerlain Vetvier, Givenchy Gentelman, Burberry London, YSL Rive Gauche pour Homme and others.

    Love it!

    30th December, 2008 (Last Edited: 02 January, 2009)

    rating


    Light Blue Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

    Very light indeed. After a while the smell turns into something like salty sea water and very noticeable "fishy" hint. I guess it tried too hard to mimic "aqua ocean". Not my cup of tea.

    29 December, 2008 (Last Edited: 30th December, 2008)

    Showing 1 to 19 of 19.