Perfume Reviews

Reviews by mrcologneguy

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 48

Signature : Oud Wood & Dark Vanilla by Axe / Lynx

Bought it for £5 at Boots. You like boozy, dark vanilla fragrances, right? What are you waiting for? One of the best values of the year, and surprisingly good quality. Surpassed in bang for the buck only by Lynx Tobacco Amber. Buy both, and toss in the deodorants while you're at it.
26th November, 2016

Zizanie by Fragonard

Brilliant floral oriental, currently available at great prices. Don't think, just buy.
11th November, 2016

Urban : Cacao & Amber / Tobacco & Amber by Axe / Lynx

Highly recommended, even if it were 20 times the price. I picked it up for five pounds at Boots. It's seriously good stuff, a nice, sweet tobacco and amber combination that works stunningly well, especially considering the bargain price. If you're feeling particularly flush, go ahead and spend a few more pounds for the accompanying deodorant. A light all-day treat, and a favorite among the women in my life, too. Hard to argue with such a strong value proposition.
23rd October, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

L'Art et la Matière : Tonka Impériale by Guerlain

Delicious gourmand, with a deceptively complex structure. Repeat wears bring out incense, tobacco, rosemary. Of course, the ultra-rich and refined almond/tonka notes on top are the real star of the show.

Wear it only when you want beautiful, rich strangers to ask you to run away and live a life of luxury and indulgence together.

One of the most guaranteed sexy fragrances I've ever found. A sheer delight every time.
09th May, 2016

A*Men Pure Tonka by Thierry Mugler

A bit too close to Pure Malt, and not enough tonka. It's ok, worth checking out if you like others in this series. Top and middle worked well for me, the caramel-sugary effect mentioned in other reviews. The drydown turns kind of harsh and chemical-ish. Not my favorite in the line. Pure Havane is still my favorite of the A*Men flankers.
13th April, 2016

Guerlain Homme L'Eau Boisée by Guerlain

Guerlain Homme wrecked by an obnoxiously large dose of ISO E Super. Here's to hoping Guerlain never does that again. Really can't stand this one.
10th March, 2016

Spicebomb Extreme by Viktor & Rolf

Very much like the original, but spicier and longer lasting. Not obnoxious in terms of projection and silage. Worth checking out if you like the original. Worth owning if you love it.
09th February, 2016

One Man Show Gold Edition by Jacques Bogart

You've found this page on BN. . . you most likely own and love One Man Show. . . and you don't own Gold Edition? What in the world are you waiting for? Incredibly rich, strong, and inexpensive. Seriously, stop reading right now and buy it already. If you like One Man Show, and other legendary powerhouses, you've come to the right place. Don't think, just buy.

Get OMS Ruby Edition while you're at it - a tad sweeter and spicier than Gold Edition, also worth your hard-earned chump change.

So pleased to find wildly outrageous and inexpensive scents like this on the market these days, when stores are flooded with bad, boring "safe" scents. Viva la outrage!
01st February, 2016

Royal English Leather by Creed

Reference leather fragrance. Superb quality, good investment value. Pounce on it. Even if you're not a fan of leather you'll be intrigued by a leather that's so well done. Likely that you can turn it at a handsome profit, if you can bear to part with it. I love it, Mrscologneguy isn't too keen on it. Too bad. I wear it with impunity. Best in freezing winter, but always a good choice if you're seeking a top-quality leather fix.
22nd January, 2016

Fahrenheit Parfum by Christian Dior

It's gorgeous. The best of Fahenheit, minus the annoying petrol note. Instead there's a beautiful vanilla drydown. I find Fahrenheit Parfume infinitely more wearable than the original. Better than the Absolute version, even. Glad I found it in duty free. Sampled it before an overnight flight. Sold by sunrise. Now available online at reasonable prices. If you're a fan of Dior Homme Parfum and Eau Sauvage Parfum, go ahead and complete the set with this entry. It's lovely stuff.
03rd August, 2015 (last edited: 04th August, 2015)

Island Life for Him by Tommy Bahama

Bad, boring garbage. Smells like a thousand other "fresh" fragrances. Pass.
16th July, 2015

L'Homme Idéal Cologne by Guerlain

Sprang for a bottle in duty free. It's quite nice, with amazing longevity and complexity for something labeled cologne. Three sprays at 8a. Still going strong at 5p. The drydown smells a lot like L'Homme Ideal. The rest is a parade of various fresh effects, including the grapefruit molecule that's featured in the new version of Dior Homme Cologne. A dangerous example of the Molecule de Jour effect, though in this case it works. Glad I jumped on it. Good for the office on a hot summer day. Best summer flanker since M7 Fresh, IMO.
10th June, 2015

L'Homme Idéal by Guerlain

Pleasant, sweet, almondy, women like it. Well-priced, and the bottle is good-looking. What's not to love? Don't overthink it, just enjoy. No, it is not on par with Guerlain masterpieces like Derby and Heritage. Still, it's a worthwhile addition to the collection. Surprisingly fun and fresh, more in the realm of (underrated) Guerlain Homme than the brand's legacy output. Not a bad thing when you're in the mood for a quick, modern, spray-and-go. It's highly versatile, safe for a wide variety of applications. Eventually L'Homme Ideal will find a passionate fan base on BN. Can't wait til we see threads about the "exquisite, rare, vintage formulation." Its amazing and quirky "cherry Pla-Doh" accord seems too good to last. Buy it before corporate bean counters dictate a cheaper, less interesting formulation.
04th April, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Cedre Blanc by Creed

Plays well in comparison to the other Creed Acquas in in-store sniff tests, but ultimately it's done in by a shrill chemical undertone that emerges about ten minutes in. Shame, too. The opening is very nice. The middle and end are a real letdown. I keep trying to like it, but so far not so good. Kind of wish I'd gone for Vetiver Geranium instead as my first selection from this line. Guessing it might grow on me eventually, but in the meantime, there are other Acquas I'd recommend over this one.
21st November, 2014

No.032 Bay Rum by C.O. Bigelow Apothecary

A beautiful, well-constructed bay rum. If you're even halfway interested in this genre it is a must buy. A perfect spicy fragrance for chilly weather wear. Jump on it.
06th November, 2014 (last edited: 15th November, 2014)

That Man by Revlon

A masculine classic from 1958, similar in spirit to ultra-rare Woodhue For Men. No kidding, it also reminds me of vintage, pricey Patou Pour Homme. Still can't figure out why this isn't a massive BN favorite, especially at current affordable prices. Warm, woody, ambery, a nice shot of oak moss. It's from a long lost time and place when men could go into a drugstore, spend less than $10, and come out with a very nice, high quality scent. Old Spice is the only remaining scent in that price/value range. If you love vintage fragrances, especially men's classics from the '50s-'60s, That Man is a must buy.
28th May, 2014

Prada Amber pour Homme by Prada

Lots of comments here referring to a soapy smell, but it's really more like fabric softener. If you want to go around smelling like an overdose of scented laundry chemicals, you've come to the right place. A lot of fragrance fans crave that effect now and then, no doubt. There are worse reasons for wearing fragrances. This one works on both a utilitarian and fragrance artistic level. You'll handily accomplish the fresh laundry scent goal, and veer into genuine high-quality fragrance territory. You can do far worse in the territory of designer perfumery. This one's worth the midrange price point it's currently at. Wouldn't be surprised to see first edition bottles going at increased prices someday. Beautiful packaging and high-quality juice often equals candidate for cheapass reformulation and repackaging. Get the good version while it's still out there.
01st May, 2014

Silver Mountain Water by Creed

It's Millesime Imperiale with fizzy grape soda pop thrown over the top. Works surprisingly well. Somehow invokes images of its namesake, similar to the way Himalaya pulls off the evocative name trick. Overall, another impressive Creed release.

Worried about SMW's supposed feminine connotations? Well don't be a baby about stuff like that. Come along for the sparkling, good clean fun. Sure, it does wear a little feminine. But I get compliments from women when I wear it, so who cares? Maybe not right if your intention is to smell masculine to other men. Goes without saying that it would smell great on women, too.

Creed is great at mixing some unexpected masterpieces into their extensive collection. SMW is another one. You have to give them credit for coming up with quirky stuff like this. Bravo. SMW is a fine addition to any collection. You might not wear it often, but it's likely you won't have much else like it in your collection. Really hits the spot when you're in the right mood for it.
11th March, 2014

Ungaro II by Ungaro

I found a later edition bottle in an out of the way fragrance shop. Major score. As others have stated here, Ungaro II plays a lot like a sophisticated and slightly modernized Jicky, only with a distinctly masculine skew. Civet yes, but on my skin it's not the horrid civet bomb that others have mentioned. It's all very well-blended, smooth and delicious. Heavy on classic French vibes. It's hard to argue with such a winning proposition. Ungaro II pulls it off with highly admirable style and grace. If you find it, buy it immediately. Currently exhibits strong investment potential, if you can resist using the entire bottle with reckless abandon. . . it's that addictive, and you have been warned. . .
27th April, 2013

Reaction for Men by Kenneth Cole

Mrscologneguy bought it for me many years ago, and it's still a somewhat guilty pleasure. Guilty, because the sweet melon notes should not be so enjoyable in a fragrance worn by mature men. . . but WTF, who are you wearing this fragrance for anyway? Strictly to be applied for personal delight, but don't be surprised if women love it on you, too. Strangely strong compliments from a wide variety of female co-workers. My wife still likes it on me. Hard to argue with that kind of performance from any designer fragrance.
06th March, 2013

Un Bois Vanille by Serge Lutens

Un Bois Vanille is a warm, woody, buttery vanilla fragrance. You should know what you're getting into when you try it. So, what's the fuss? Either you love these fragrance elements, or you don't. If you love them, you won't find any finer presentations of them. Un Bois Vanille is superb. Vanilla fans shouldn't think twice about buying. All other fragrance affcionados should jump on it, too. Buy it now, before horribly misguided reformulation wrecks it. Soon to be a legendary woody vanilla. You will find no finer.
26th February, 2013

Allure Homme Edition Blanche by Chanel

A lovely lemon vanilla fragrance, with unexpected complexity and subtleties that come out with repeated wearings. The resulting effect is elegant, and a bit understated. Well-priced for the quality, and the packaging is beautiful, too. One of the better men's Chanels.
17th November, 2012

Aveda Pure-Fume Tonic for Men by Aveda

This one is far more spicy and warm than the "Pure-formance" Aveda men's fragrance from 2008. It's one of my favorites, in perennial high rotation for chilly weather. The "Pure-formance" version is heavy on menthol notes. The 1999 version has little-to-no menthol. It's all about warm, spicy effects. I get lots of compliments when I wear it. Well-priced for the quality.
10th November, 2012

Men Pure-Formance by Aveda

Very much a fine rendition of what you might think of as "spa" smell. It's the aroma that wafts from just about any expensive day spa I've ever visited. Very nice for when you want to smell clean, herbal-fresh, and modern. Well-priced, for such strong quality ingredients. Recommended to those who seek a modern fresh effect. Only caveat: go light on the trigger. It's strong stuff. Just one or two sprays and you're good for several hours.
10th November, 2012

L'Art et la Matière : Spiritueuse Double Vanille by Guerlain

Well-documented on BN as a dreamy and beautiful boozy vanilla fragrance. If you're even remotely a fan of this genre you should dive right in. Vanilla fans will be in heaven, and others who want a high-quality vanilla gourmand will be very pleased. My wife loves this on me, and I wear it frequently. Well worth the investment. Highly unlikely that you'll be disappointed. Buy now, before some corporate bean counter comes up with a flimsy excuse for reformulation. Fragrances of the caliber are often too good to last.
05th May, 2012

Reflection Man by Amouage

Weird fascination at first sniff, and it hasn't let up yet. Coming down to the last few drops of a generous department store sample, I sprang for a full bottle. It grows on you. If you haven't sniffed it you should think bizarre, bright, chemical air freshener. But it's much deeper in the uniquely so-bad-taste-it's-good style that Amouage is famous for. Seems to be a tweaked version of a bright, floral, somewhat watery, and "clean" aromachemical conflagration. On the too-sweet side for casual wear in public, unless you actually want to shock the hell out of innocent bystanders with the atomic sweet chemical cloud surrounding you. There are times when I actually crave an outre effect like that. To all other casual observers beware. This one is for fans of slightly disturbing and obnoxious fragrance statements. Your statement will be broadcast loud and clear.
12th April, 2012

Pasha Fraîcheur Menthe by Cartier

It's a lovely, light, slightly minty riff on Cartier's superb Pasha. Less spicy, more fresh and minty than the original. Gentlemen, if you ever have to dress in a suit and tie, Pasha Fraicheur Menthe is a foolproof complement to the overall formal image. You'll love it. Works surprisingly well in casual situations, too - not stuffy at all. Very well-priced for the quality. Has a place an in any comprehensive men's wardrobe.
07th March, 2012

Coromandel by Chanel

I love it. It's pretty heavy on patchouli, almost too much so for my taste, but the patchouli is redeemed by an array of complementing rich, smoky, and sweet notes that play in and out all day long. One little spray to the chest and you will be entertained for hours.

Coromandel is a superb value. One of the best, strongest and longest-lasting in my collection. Beautiful packaging. Might be my favorite Chanel.

I have to say this, too: it seems too good to last. If you're at all interested, you should buy a bottle before corporate bean counters decide that reformulation would be a good idea. Looking into my crystal ball, I'm seeing Basenoters in the year 2022 starting threads about how the rare 2012 formulation is definitely worth paying triple the price. Yes, it is that good.
15th February, 2012 (last edited: 14th January, 2013)

"Vintage" Tabaróme by Creed

An extraordinarily welcome addition to any serious fragrance collection. One of a kind, superior quality ingredients, and the composition works magnificently. As others have stated, it's often considered one of THE power fragrances. I often wear it when I'm in power business mode, and it performs without fail. Long-lasting, perfect projection and sillage, a superb complement to formal business wear. For particularly daring thrills, try it when you're just knocking about town on a Saturday afternoon. I find Vintage Tabarome to be amazingly versatile. Truly, if you're a collector, and have the opportunity to purchase Vintage Tabarome, jump on it immediately. A solid investment by any reasonable measure.
15th February, 2012

Bois de Cédrat by Creed

A dreamy, beautiful, rich citrus. Not much cedar in the house, but who cares, when the overall citrus concoction is this perfect? Sparkling top notes, rich middle, smooth drydown, all wrapped up in a sophisticated, richly historic setting. Highly recommended. A short-lived scent, but you'll happily and lavishly reapply. By far one of Creed's best.
08th August, 2011