Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Stephan


Eau de Vetyver by L'Occitane

This fragrance reminds me of Kyoto, Jubilation XXV, Oud Wood and Encre Noire. At such a price, this is the best buy. My favorite Occitane. I can smell the same cypres note than in Eau des Baux, but without the nauseating vanilla. Masterpiece!
22nd December, 2011

Aoud Roses Petals by Montale

My favorite rose scent. The aoud and the rose are incredible together. If you don't love the patchouli in Black Aoud, you must try this one. But I'm sad that this fragrance doesn't last long enough!
29th September, 2010

The One for Men by Dolce & Gabbana

It smells cheap and it is cloying.
The dry down is similar to M7.
Not a good cologne!
10th December, 2009
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Gucci pour Homme by Gucci

Gucci Homme smells like cheap Hinoki, without the clean notes.
I really prefer Hinoki.
Years before, there was another cologne that doesn't exist anymore: Trend by Les Copains.
This last one was better too.
10th December, 2009

Dolce & Gabbana Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

The opening is gross, almost sickening.
But 30 minute later, the dry down is heaven (if you love clean fragrances).
Sillage is good, longevity is excellent.
10th December, 2009

Olibanum by Profumum

It is my comfort scent. Peaceful, a little sad. Sillage and longevity are moderate. It is very similar to Rock Crystal (Durbano), but it smells cleaner, not as smokey, not as spicy. I prefer it.
I don't wear this fragrance when I have to seduce others.
The dry down is heaven (especially on clothes), it comes about 30 minutes after the opening.
18th September, 2009

Santalum by Profumum

This fragrance is a perfect and simple combination of sandalwood, myrrh and cinnamon. The lasting power is excellent. In the Profumum collection, it's my favorite together with Olibanum. Santalum is much brighter than Olibanum and I keep it for my happy days. This scent is not for an introvert!
18th September, 2009

Rock Crystal by Olivier Durbano

You love Olibanum (Profumum)?
I like it too, especially the heavenly dry down.
Cristal de Roche is almost the twin of Olibanum, but stronger and longer lasting.
Oh, I forgot, it's half the price of Olibanum.
My actual favorite together with Hinoki.
Unisex and best suited for 30-60 years old people.
Thank you Olivier Durbano!
11th March, 2009

Fumerie Turque by Serge Lutens

Sirupy leather with a dirt ash note.
10th March, 2009

Chergui by Serge Lutens

Sorry, it smells the same than Pi - Givenchy to me.
And I don't like that.
10th March, 2009

Vetiver by Guerlain

Nice fragrance!
But... no sillage and bad longevity.
Is it the reformulation?
09th March, 2009

After My Own Heart by Ineke

You are a girl, you love lilac.
Don't try others, this is fresh lilac that doesn't smell like a granny but like a young classy lady.
I'm sure nothing else will come close to lilac like this one.
This fragrance is to lilac what Diorissimo is to lily of the valley (muguet).
Oh, and this stuff has a very decent longevity and the sillage is not overpowering!
This is a winner!
(This fragrance is for women, but some very open minded men could use it too, but I won't.)
Thumbs up!
25th February, 2009

Aoud Lime by Montale

First I thought it was a joke.
But no, they mean it, it is supposed to be a fragrance.
I asked about 20 people at my office to try it from my big sample.
They all hated it.
Thumbs down!
25th February, 2009
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Dior Homme by Christian Dior

So it smells like lipstick?
Yes it does, even in the drydown.
Is it a problem for me?
No, really!
It feels like a new version of "Le Mâle" for me.
Sillage is not too subtle, not too strong, just perfect!
Longevity is very good for me.
And look at this beautiful bottle!
Thumbs up!
25th February, 2009

parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Kyoto by Comme des Garçons

Very nice top notes, but you have to keep the bottle in your pocket because the longevity is mediocre.
Should be thumbs down, but I still give it neutral for the nice scent.

However, if you like this fragrance, you should give Hinoki a try.
In my opinion, it is similar but smells better, more expensive and lasts longer.
25th February, 2009

Fou d'Absinthe by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Very nice fragrance, really BUT...
Eau de Parfum?
That's a joke.
Very bad lasting power on my skin.
Over applied, it makes me sick.
Won't buy it again, like the other Artisan I've tried.
29th January, 2009

Monocle Scent One: Hinoki by Comme des Garçons

The sillage is very very subtle, lasting power is decent, but this fragrance is just sooo sensual.
I wouldn't like to smell a woman wearing this, but I love it on men, especially on me. :)
The price is just a shame... but I couldn't resist.
12th January, 2009

Paestum Rose by Eau d'Italie

It's my favorite between the Eau d'Italie scents, but they are all nice.
Great quality, very good lasting power.
On my skin, the rose is more powerful than the incense and it draws tons of compliments.
On the skin of my female colleague, the incense has more power than the rose, but I like it too (she doesn't, she prefers it on my skin).
The bottle looks cheap, but I don't matter.
I'm happy to own this EDT.
It's a little similar to Passage d'Enfer by L'Artisan Parfumeur, but lasts longer.
08th January, 2009

Millésime Impérial by Creed

On my skin:
- smells cheap
- gives me headache
And it's overpriced, of course.
08th January, 2009

Bois du Portugal by Creed

Creed's best millésime.
Nice smell, manly and mature.
Also, better lasting power than the other Creeds.
But way overpriced.
08th January, 2009