Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Zgb

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 487

A*Men Ultimate by Thierry Mugler

The best description of this would be a clearer, filtered and less potent version, or a copy, of A*Men Ultra Zest. Why is it a failure? Because Ultra Zest was better. Why it isn't a failure? Because Ultra Zest is supposedly discontinued.

Ok, someone will say: "but Ultra Zest had orange note and Ultimate doesn't". Well yeah, but it's a thing of chemistry. As a chemist, you can make, or produce, an effect you want.

So this "Ultimate" flanker was made purposely to emulate the Ultra Zest flanker effect. I find this to be an insult in a way. Ultra Zest is discontinued and then they make a "new" flanker, change the colour of the bottle and name it Ultimate.

I dare you to side test them both, one on left wrist, the other on the right wrist and you'll see, that is smell, what I'm talking about.

Occasions: casual, informal, whole year, daily, can be an evening fragrance during summer.

Conclusion: marketing fraud/scam. But ok, let us have it.

Orignality 2/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 5/10
________________________
mathematical grade:55%
subjective grade: 6/10
05th January, 2020

To Be by Police

What a cute frag. Tries to be a "bad guy" + YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme at least when you smell it on others. Fails at it, but you accept it becasuse he asks you nicely. Different story when one wears it himself.

In terms of how it smells, it also shares the style of Joop Jump, Cerruti Pour Homme, Chopard Pour Homme and also a bit Guess Blue Seductive.


Conclusion: not tragic!

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
____________________
52,5%
05th January, 2020

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Wood & Wood by Issey Miyake

Unisex and universal fragrance that initially reminds me a bit of Bvlgari Aqva Amara, but in the drydown it gets a more woody, mainstream character in the spirit of this vaning decade.

Could've been better. With so many flankers and many other similar designer frags, it's very redundant. I do sympathise to a degree, though.


Decent, casual and universal.

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 5/10
________________________
matemathical grade: 50%
subjective grade: 6,5/10
28th December, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

K by Dolce & Gabbana by Dolce & Gabbana

Typical modern "mall scent". You've smelled this already. Namely, Mr. Burberry EDP and YSL Y EDP. If you're guy that likes to spend the weekend free time moving around shopping malls, this is the scent for you!

I am on the verge to rate it negative, but I've rated Mr. Burberry EDP positively and this D&G K being a copy of it is not all that bad, so will be rated neutral. It's not really a polarising scent. People en masse will like it and wear it and very few will dislike it.

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
________________
55%
25th November, 2019

Bad Boy by Carolina Herrera

This is bad. You've smelled it all before. Here's a bit of Armani Stronger With You for Men, then a bit of PR Invictus, tad bit of CH Chic for Men and a little bit of PR 1 Million too. Pair all that with this bottle and...well it's simply horrid. For instance, I really don't like Versace Eros but I'd rather wear that one than CH Bad Boy. Sapienti sat.

Originality 1/10
Scent 3/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10
19th October, 2019

La Vie est Belle Éclat by Lancôme

Sudden testing as my niece has a sample of this. I rarely review women frags, but from time to time why not? This is not bad.

In initial wave it seems as a version of Armani Stronger With You, but that disappears very fast and becomes a typical, modern, floral scent for girls/women.

Surprisingly it's not overbearing at all. Very decent, heavy but not too heavy, sweet scent.

Floral notes and vanilla are very dominant, synthetic but not overly so.

Nice choice for girls and women that don't want to send the message loudly.


Originality: 4/10
Scent: 7/10
Longevity: 9/10
Projection: 7/10
______________________
67,5%
31st August, 2019

Ombré Leather by Tom Ford

Very refined, elegant and luxurious. Closest description would be more rounded, smoother and a bit creamy Dior Fahrenheit. I just can't make a better description of it.

Exquisitely well done, albeit not really original. One can't hold any grudge because of this lack of originality because the fragrance is so damn good. It is maybe a bit of a taste to acquire and not for beginners.

Originality 5/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 6/10
_________________
70%
17th August, 2019

Tom Ford Noir by Tom Ford

This a very interesting scent. In style it reminds me of Encre Noire, however in character it has nothing to do with it.

Dark, mystical, mysterious, polarising, creamy in a dry and strange way. This scent is certainly a taste to acquire.

In the first half hour it was just ok and different, sort of specific scent. But after that it became something to seriously consider - maybe even buying.

Dry, woody (maybe styrax makes it a bit woody because of the tar and leather mix in it), dark, powdery, gloomy but not depressed.

Originality 6/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
__________________
70%
17th August, 2019

Tom Ford Noir Extreme by Tom Ford

Well, I was expecting something, got half-something and decided that for that price it's actually nothing.

There's a 1 Million catch about this one. I say, subjectively of course, that 1 Million Prive is better than Noir Extreme. Old latin proverb says: honores mutant mores. When you tell people it's Tom Ford, all of sudden it's a "very good fragrance".

Conclusion: nothing special at all, but I'm glad I tried it and didn't blind buy it.

Originality 3/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
__________________
55%
17th August, 2019

Soulmate Men by S Oliver

No much philosophy here. Fresh and aromatic, maybe a little brash and not special, but still in a nice positive way. For that price it's a good whole year rounder for multiple purposes.

Saffron and pepper are very invasive in the initial blast and even persist for some time. Tonka and amber become more noticable a bit later. Almost a lavander bomb too.

Conclusion: good ratio of what you pay for and what you get. Quite solid for the less developed noses.

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10
__________________
62,5%
12th August, 2019 (last edited: 13th August, 2019)

Higher by Christian Dior

En par with Pasha de Cartier, well that style at least. Not modern even for the time when it was launched at 2001. Fresh, aromatic in an atypical, nonaquatic way.

Citrusy, aromatic and very sympathic. Relaxing and mature at the same time. For the summer heat and laziness in a spacey summer villa near the sea.

Brings about positive emotions, quite elating!

Originality 6/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
___________________
67,5%
27th July, 2019

Run Wild for Men by Davidoff

I really don't like it. Rather acidic, sour with a strange vibe. Loud and brash, overbearing. Like a noisy maniac trying to make a statement by being very loud while thinking, better yet believeing, that his opinion matters and is the ultimate truth only because he is being very aggressive.

Originality 5/10
Scent 4/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
20th July, 2019

Uomo Signature by Salvatore Ferragamo

More clear, less creamy version of the original, yet very sweet.

For the winter and autumn evenings, especially autumn in my opinion. Really has some style this one.

It has all predispositions for me to want it, however I really don't want it in my collection. There are so many in this range of style on the market. P.R. 1 Million, or Prive flanker that I really dig. V&R Spicebomb, although a different beast and character, has that sweet semi gourmand vibe that is popular and appreciated.

Conclusion: the original Uomo and Signature flanker will have its followers, well earned and deserved I must add, but it'll never have the popularity of some already well established and known fragrances of similar vibe on the market.

It lasts 10+hours if not more and projects like a beast.


Originality 4/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
__________________
72,5%
21st June, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

L'Eau Majeure d'Issey by Issey Miyake

Subjectively, for the first hour this fragrance is horrid.

Negative part of the review: the start of it is arduous. As if u enter a street where a lot of people like to urinate, or maybe a domestos liquid poured in an unwashed toilet. Rather terrible notion, but there it is.

Positive part of the review: whoever makes it through the first hour of this fragrance gets a very sharp, tangy or better yet spicy but dignifying scent that emulates seriousness and maturity.

Conclusion: who has a strong stomach for the first hour of this fragrance, it is well worth it.


Originality: 7/10 very tedious 7
Scent: 2/10 first hour then 6/10 for the rest of the time
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 6/10
15th June, 2019

Cool Water Wave by Davidoff

Well, another flanker in a row. Subjectively I find this to be a positive fragrance.

If the original is a deeper sea, neither too warm nor too cold, CW Wave is a tropical, fizzy/foamy wave that cools you down a bit.

It's ok for a season, also to move away from the original for a moment.

Simple, summery, tropical and positive.

Scent 6/10
Originality 3/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
_____________________
55%
15th June, 2019

Mr. Burberry Eau de Parfum by Burberry

Ha! Likeable, fruity, mainstream "shopping mall" scent.

There is a style connection with the YSL Y EDP, however the character is different.

A very good job by Burberry. A lot of people will like this one, even those who are put off by invasive synthetic sweetness.

Personally this scent reminds me of some past, more relaxed times when in Croatia shopping malls were something "new", some decade after the war was over.

Mr. Burberry EDP is quite unisex in my opinion. Girls might pull it off without any problem.

Occasions - spring definitely however in autumn evening this could be a prince if not a king.

Conclusion: cheap, placid, mainstream but also very appealing and chic!


Originality 5/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
____________________
62,50
12th June, 2019

Light Blue pour Homme Sun by Dolce & Gabbana

No and simply no. On me this smells weirdly synthetic and feminine. Valentino Uomo Acqua that I also "hated" smelled exactly the same way on me.

As they say in Croatia: "tko voli nek izvoli" or loosely (not exactly) translated - he who likes is free to enjoy.
06th June, 2019

L'Homme Idéal Cool by Guerlain

This is amazing. What Chanel did with Allure Edition Blanche, that creamy lemon scent, Guerlain did something similar but not with lemon but with almond - that actually reminds me of pistachio a lot.

Pistachio plus mint plus everything else in it - you get an amazingly elegant, almost unique summer fragrance. If Chanel Allure Edition Blanche is a cooled down lemon pie, Guerlain L'Homme Ideal Cool is a pistachio, or almond if you wish, ice cream!

To me personally this is the best of the whole line, subjectively of course. Almost unique, definitely special!

Originality: 7/10
Scent: 9/10
Longevity: 7/10
Projection: 7/10
06th June, 2019

Allure Homme Edition Blanche Eau de Parfum by Chanel

Finally in my collection. Decade back when I tried it (EDT Concentree), I just liked it and that was that. Had a sample or two, a job I hated (first job), fresh out of college, the country was badly struck by the financial crysis year earlier, a lot of friends to hang out with, girls and dating too - it was a terrible time crossed with the best times in my life sort to speak. In a way this frag reminds me of that time as it was among the first that I've tried and had a sample of, 2009. being the year I started this hobby and discovered Basenotes.

The EDT concentree was lighter but very creamy. The EDP is a heavy citrus right off the bat, that creaminess is much smoother but toned down in the first wave, citruses being very dominant. Creaminess in EDP becomes more and more dominant as the time passes.

Well known and familiar elegance of Chanel house is present. All of their fragrances are well put together and "ironed" to the last fiber.

Creamy lemon that evokes of a nice villa by the sea and a good, positive life in general.

Originality 5/10
Scent 9/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 5/10
__________________
65%
01st June, 2019 (last edited: 10th July, 2019)

Light Blue Eau Intense pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

Very nice, but redundant. I'll rate it positively non the less.

Nothing new in the sea of many similar. If you own or at least have tried Nautica Voyage, Versace Man eau Fraiche, Versace Pour Homme, Armani Acqua di Gio, Bvlgari Aqva etc., this is really nothing new.

That being said, it really is a nice fragrance. It can serve as an intro into this type of fragrances to someone who is inexperienced.

Originality 3/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
__________________
62,5%
01st June, 2019

Cool Water Caribbean Summer Edition by Davidoff

What is there to say? Flanker next in line among the many. Smells so minimally different that it really isn't any different.

For those who might be a bit tired of the original, if that's even possible. One may yet have a little summer play with this flanker instead, for one summer at least.


Conclusion: only the original Cool Water to me makes sense.

Scent 7/10
Originality 2/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
______________________
55%

(edit: lapsus calami)
25th May, 2019 (last edited: 08th June, 2019)

Boss Bottled Infinite by Hugo Boss

I was expecting an ambroxan bomb, but this is a soft, casual evening variant, but not exactly a copy of Chirstian Lacroix Tumulte that is sadly discontinued.

Well done plum note. Ok, there's no plum note on the note list, but don't be fooled because some combination of notes here emulate the plum note. So is there any original Bottled here? Well yes, it's still a woody spicy Bottled and the original does have that plum note which is also pronounced in the Infinte flanker, albeit there's no plum in the note list as already mentioned.

This is a very pleasant scent, made for casual evening strolls and drinks. It even has a dose of elegance. Nothing new or specatular but very well done and very smooth.


Originality: 5/10
Scent: 8/10
Longevity: 8/10
Projection:6/10
______________________
67,50%
11th May, 2019 (last edited: 12th May, 2019)

Alien Man by Thierry Mugler

Almost incredible how much this fragrance is excellent and terrible at the same time.

It reminds me of the end of the nineties of the 20. century and the first decade of the 21. century. Smells exactly as "you/we've smelled this before". There's an idea here that gives certain whiffs of Gucci Envy For Men, then a bit of V&R Antidote, also a bit of Givenchy Very Irresistble For Men because of that gourmand note.

It strikes a chord, that is, emotions in me. Emotions of those times from the past decade. Going out, those moving around moments, girls I've dated and all the good and bad moments with them. Friends and acquintances I haven't heard from a long time now.

This is a frag that taps you on the shoulder and says: come on man, remember those times a bit, it's not a sin, it wasn't that bad. Ironic, reminds you of the past times and the fragrance didn't even exist!

Final judgement: very bad and very good at the same time. Becomes harshly synthetic and very dull in the drydown. I can't see myself wearing it and yet I want to give it a shot again and again.

Originality: 6/10
Scent: 7/10
Longevity: 9/10
Projection: 7/10
_________________________
72,50%

11th May, 2019 (last edited: 12th May, 2019)

Luna Rossa Eau Sport by Prada

Too delicate, too soft, too airy.

If I want something like this, I'd stick to the original or the first sport flanker. For the ultimate summer vibe Carbon flanker and that's that.

Originality 3/10
Scent 4/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 4/10
__________________
45%

(edit due to lapsus calami)
10th May, 2019 (last edited: 11th June, 2019)

Y Eau de Parfum by Yves Saint Laurent

Better and more interesting than the EDT. However, this is a very plastic fragrance, very synthetic and there's barely anything natural about it.

Subjectively - I'd pass this.

Objectively - A good mainstream scent that does well exactly what it's supposed to do.

Fruity notes, primarily from the apple and bergamote, are very obvious and strong, however not in a fresh manner but oppulent, thick. I dare say even tad bit dark. They did a good job combining these fruity accord with the woody notes and tonka.

Logical, realistic view: so is this something new? Not at all. There are plenty of smilar stories already told in the 2000.-2010. designer era of fragrance. Even this decade gave similar stories, one obvious being CK Reveal Man.


Albeit there's no ambroxan note here, the signature of it is definitely here. Since Dior pulled this one off in Sauvage , there's barely a notable fragrance without this sublime note that emulates ambroxan even though there's none of it as direct component.

Subjectively: too fruity, too synthetic, too sweet and too plastic

Originality 3/10
Scent 3/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 7/10
_________________
50%


Objectively: modern, fun, charming, free and what's most important - new.

Originality 5/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 7/10
____________________
62,5%

Conclusion: of course it's not that bad or terrible! It's not a "mistake" or whatever. It's just obvious for what it is and it has a simple purpose. One has to sympathise with this scent at least to a degree. So, neutral rating from me.

(edit: deleted a part of a review written in Croatian that I used to write the review in English)
10th May, 2019 (last edited: 16th May, 2019)

Joop! Homme Absolute by Joop!

In the initial wave, and later, conceptually it's very close to the Lalique Encre Noire. To an untrained nose and the trained one as well, in terms of style Joop Homme Absolute and Lalique are the same, but when it comes to the character of fragrances, there's a world of difference.

Joop Homme Absolute is rather atypical fragrance, firstly for the house of Joop, second for the original Joop Homme.

Albeit there's no vanilla in this fragrance, there is a note or combination of that emulates it. It might be the tonka that masks itself as vanilla, while the incense smokes everything, including the vetiver, thus makes the whole composition woody and Encre Noire like.

Overall impression that Joop Homme Absolute leaves on me is being dark and negative. Encre Noire is much better, more original, refined and more acceptable.

When to wear Joop Homme Absolute? Not on a date, not for clubbing, not casually or the office. It is a fragrance rather for a winter or autumn gray day for a lonley, introspective, brooding person.


Objective rating:

Originality 6/10 - reason: atypical for the house
Scent 8/10 - reason: different, mysterious
Longevity 9/10
Projection 7/10

Subjective rating:

Originality 4/10 - reason: Encre Noire is better
Scent 3/10 - reason: instigates negative emotions
Longevity 9/10
Projection 7/10

Rating is logically neutral when taking both of the ratings into consideration. Subjectively, I'd rate it negatively. Objectively I'd rate it positively, so there you have it.
13th April, 2019 (last edited: 21st April, 2019)

Gucci Guilty Cologne by Gucci

Had Gucci Envy for men survived and got its "eau" or "cologne" version, then Guilty Cologne is the closest to that imaginary flanker in my opinion.

Reminds of that time and era, of Envy for men, when all was special, not just the fragrances but everything in general had more energy, there was more juice in the air.

Gucci Guilty Cologne is a whole year rounder, day and night except for the winter evenings when it may not have the appropriate strength and power.

I really, really dig this scent. Casual but also a gentleman. Not loud but very vibrant, positive, formal, precise, concise, clear and clean. Nothing shallow about it.


Originality 6/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
___________________
70%

(Worn 30.03.2019. - fragrance was not in the directory at that date.)
05th April, 2019

Guerlain Homme Eau de Parfum by Guerlain

Such a shame, this scent as if followed by a curse. It never has the strength you want. The original Homme doesn't have the strength, the Intense version either.

There are, to me at least, unconfirmed informations that this one is actually the Intense version, but with the change of bottle and name to simply Homme EDP. The notes are different in this formulation, though.

I was expecting the EDP to have that power I wanted, needed from it. It didn't.

I'm still rating it positively because it's a really darn good frag, even lasts substantially, but projection is rather miserable. Very mature, sure of himself, formal, warm and cold distant at the same time.

Originality 6/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 4/10
_______________
65%
31st March, 2019 (last edited: 02nd May, 2019)

Hugo Reversed by Hugo Boss

Very pleasant and relaxing scent. Reminds me of the summer walk on the Adriatic coast. Sitting somewhere, drinking lemonade and watching the sea while the light wind called Maestral is breezing.

The spirit of the original is certainly present, but has that feel of the Dalmatian coast. Probably the rosemary note brings this to my attention, because rosemary is very common in Dalmatia.

Ok, so Hugo Reversed maybe isn't something new, original or chic, but it strikes a chord, doesn't leave a person cold or disinterested.


Originality 3/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
____________________
62,5%
31st March, 2019

Armani Code Colonia by Giorgio Armani

Synthetic, sweet, boring.

I really can't make myself to write a better opinion and review than this. Sorry.


31st March, 2019