Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Zgb

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 454

Eros Flame by Versace

Shallow, synthetic, sweet, redundant. A bit less atrocious than the original - which can say a lot what I think about the original.

That being said, I'd rather not waste my time typing a longer review.
02nd March, 2019

GF Ferré Bluemusk by Gianfranco Ferré

Why is this marketed as unisex? It's a typical man's aquatic fragrance.

That being said, it's nothing new on the market. Smells pretty much like Bvlgari Aqua or Armani Acqua di Gio with a liquid soap added.

It's clean, fresh, masculine - not unisex, quite potent for this type of fragrance and it's just ordinary.

It does smell rather nice, but too much the same as the aforementioned. No wonder it's discontinued.

Originality 3/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
23rd February, 2019

Boss Bottled United by Hugo Boss

I have to admit that this is very interesting, pleasant and far from lacking in character. Totally different.

Reminds me of the 1st decade of the 21. century a lot. I don't know why. It instigates quite positive emotions in me. Casual and free, but serious and mature at the same time. Far from being something we might consider to be a classic, however not all that modern too.

Doesn't remind me of the original Boss Bottled. "United" flanker is quite green and aromatic. Think L'Eau D'Issey without yuzu maybe? Maybe a poor example but it's the first thing that came to my mind. Fahrenheit 32 example from the previous review totally makes sense when I come to think a bit better.

Red orange + green notes make this fragrance quite unique in a way. Pleasantly acrid (quite an oxymoron) without being typically, clasically citrus scent.

Spring, summer, casual, office, daily and evening wear.


Scent 7/10
Originality 6/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 6/10
___________________
70%
20th February, 2019 (last edited: 22nd February, 2019)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Hugo Iced by Hugo Boss

Well, unlike the other reviewers here, I'd rather stick to the original.

Hugo Iced is really not bad, quite good, but not that good.

I easily understand why people dig the simplicity of this fragrance. It's simple and not overbearing or powerful, yet also it's not weak or meek.

Originality 3/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 5/10
__________________
50%
20th February, 2019

L'Homme Idéal L'Intense by Guerlain

The best from the entire line. Ironed to the last centimeter of the finest, softest fabric/cloth.

Dense, warm, sweet and a bit dark but in a positive manner. Sensual and tad bit smoky. Labdanum, rose, vanilla, patchouly and smoke are incredibly well done. Tonka, warm, sweet and soft, not intrusively sweet as in some fragrances.

It's not that this type of fragrance is not already done. Dsquared Potion Black did a similar thing, however more into your face.

L'Homme Ideal L'Intense is not for clubbing, office or casual instances. It's more for the close encounters, winter and autumn evenings.


Conclusion: excellent work, almost niche quality.

Scent 8/10
Originality 6/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 7/10
__________________
75%
12th January, 2019 (last edited: 04th February, 2019)

Gentleman Eau de Parfum by Givenchy

A very decent hybrid of several existing styles. Namely the original Gentlemen, JPG Le Male, Rive Gauche and Dior Homme/Valentino Uomo (Intense).

Very decent and much more interesting than the EDT. More for the winter, daily wear but it can be pulled off in the evening. Not for clubbing, formal wear yes! It has this feel of mature and classic but made for the modern times. Frag for the most of the year except for the summer.

It's not awesome or great, but very good - yes! Not on my priority list, but most probably will appear in my collection in the following years.


Originality 5/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
____________________
67,5%
23rd December, 2018

Wood pour Homme by Dsquared2

Very weak and generic, uninteresting. Maybe would've been more interesting if it was more intense. Imitates some other frags from this house which are not bad, but with them around, cheap and available, this one is dull and redundant. Dsquared Wild was a muse in particular for this one, which was also not interesting.



Originality 3/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 6/10
Projction 4/10
___________________
45%

(test wear 05.11.2018.)
06th December, 2018

Emporio Armani Stronger With You by Giorgio Armani

Another rip off. Yeah you sniffed it somewhere already. YSL L'Homme Parfum Intense and a very cheap but very good rip off from Zara Night Pour Homme III.

Conclusion: nihil nuovo sub sole, however not tragically bad. Far from a "must have" and even farther from thinking about it after the initial try. Sample is more than enough for me. Oh it's a good scent alright, but sadly a rip off.

Originality 2/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10


09th November, 2018

The One Grey by Dolce & Gabbana

Redundant. There, one of my shortest reviews. It's the same as the original and there's nothing more to say about it.

Yes it's as good as the original because it's THE SAME! Thus the neutral rating.

Originality 2/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
05th November, 2018

CH Men by Carolina Herrera

I really understand why some of the youtube reviewers are hyping this one. Very elegant, smooth, sugared without actually being sweet. Almost amazing.

Albeit well known and around for a while, it's still rarely mentioned and is quite off the radar. It shares the idea, concept with Chic for men, but Chic is less sugared and more spicy.

CH Men is warm, elegant, mature and serious. Hidden gem and for those who know and "know".


Originality 5/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 7/10
__________________
65%
31st October, 2018 (last edited: 06th December, 2018)

Night pour Homme III by Zara

A rather good rip off, no more or less, but that of YSL L'Homme Parfum Intense.

The scent you get is practically the same. The quality you get is also practically the same.

Price? About five times lower than the YSL.

Originality 3/10 no need to explain this rating

Scent 6/10 a very good scent for the price

Longevity 6/10 it'll do it's job for more than 5 hours, maybe even 7h or 8h if you apply more

Projection 5/10 not exactly a beast, however far from weak
30th October, 2018

Bulgari Man Wood Essence by Bulgari

Boring, uninventive, already seen/smelled.

En par with many frags already on the market. Gucci Guilty line except the Guilty Absolute flanker. Brit Rhythm and Rhythm Intense - especially those two Brit flankers.

In my opinion, Brit Rhythm Intense is far better than this. Even that flanker was nothing new when it came out though, so go figure.

So what is this flanker exactly for? Money of course, logically. However to make such an utter copy of already exisiting frags that are actually cheaper and better? Wow. Speechless.

There are literally dime a dozen mainstream, designer woody-spicy frags that are awesome, too awesome when compared to this.

Originality 2/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
____________________
52,5%
24th September, 2018 (last edited: 21st December, 2018)

Uomo by Salvatore Ferragamo

Oh boy, how come still not hyped? Is it fabulous? No. Unique? No. Solid good? Yes. Surprised that some of those youtubers (no need to name them) didn't review it.

Tiramisu + boozy sweet. Creamy and somewhat powdery. Not my game, but I like it and would wear it regardless. For autumn and winter only as it is too heavy.

Aggresively strong and sweet. Shares the style with many fragrances, but has its own particular character. Namely those frags wouls be: CK Obsession For Men, Chanel Allure Homme, Guerlain Ideal, Boss The Scent/Scent Intense, Armani Code Profumo etc.

Not for everybody this one. Not for the kids because it has a dose of maturity. Not for the older men because at the same time it has a dose of something flippant, frivolous maybe. For 35+ crowd who have their own vision of life, not caring for other people's opinion.


Originality 6/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 9/10
_____________________
80%
07th September, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

L'Insoumis by Lalique

Magnificent! I can not begin to fathom how come that nobody noticed a great connection between L'Insoumis and the discontinued Thierry Mugler B*Men!

Considering the fact that I adore B*Men, I can only adore L'Insoumis as well! It is a strong fragrance, yet not overbearing at the same time.

L'Insoumis is less thick or heavy, maybe a bit more soft than B*Men but not less potent whatsoever. I just can't compare this to Dior Sauvage and as someone said in a review, this is far better than Sauvage anyway.

Scent 10/10 - very subjectively of course
Originality 9/10 - if B*Men was still around I'd say 6/10
Longevity 9/10 - it lasts 10+ hours
Projection 5/10 - not shy at all and yet not overbearing for the first hour, then it fades and becomes very subtle
05th September, 2018 (last edited: 06th September, 2018)

Midnight in Paris by Van Cleef & Arpels

A gorgeous gem, albeit I have to exclaim that it is not for me. Not my style whatsoever, but that won't stop me from rating it positively! I'm reviewing the EDT.

Balsamic, smouldering, embracing, warm and passionate. Like warm candles.

This house conceptually used ideas from YSL Body Kouros, Givenchy Pi and Boucheron Jaipur Homme, without copying directly any of them, of course.

Whoever is a fan of warm, soft and balsamic fragrances, Midnight In Paris is a must have!

Originality 6/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
_________________
75%
05th September, 2018

1 Million Lucky by Paco Rabanne

Too agressive, too heavy and too sweet. White colour is tempting and insinuating that the frag you get is a fresh one. It is not. More for the early spring, autumn and winter for sure. For the younger crowd unburdened by life.

Rather reduntant unless you have the original 1 Million or any of its flankers. The best one, in my opinion, is the Prive flanker.

Conclusion: redundant, but not all that bad. Nice sweet frag that offers nothing new. One more on the long list of many flankers of the same house and hybrids of similar concepts from other houses.


Originality: 3/10
Scent: 7/10
Longevity: 9/10
Projection: 8/10
__________________
67,5 %
21st August, 2018

The Scent Parfum Edition by Hugo Boss

This is far better than a good try. Very strong, thick, hard and mature. Not for kids.

Invasively strong leather note in the very beginning, but as it drys down, starts to be more like the original EDT but stronger, fuller, more masculine, tougher and with more character. It is, in my opinion that good, that it is almost niche like. This fragrance is not a joke!

Maybe you won't like it or find yourself in it, but that's ok. It accepts you anyway. To some it'll be a problem only because it is a BOSS fragrance, but that's ok, it'll accept you too, especially the secret admirers.

(test wear 31.05.2018.)


Originality 6/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
_________________
77,5%
21st July, 2018

Bleu de Chanel Parfum by Chanel

Very rounded with a powdery, grandma aura in the drydown. This one didn't get me.

EDT has the sharpness and fluffiness, feel of freedom of spirit that I want and appreciate.

EDP is more rounded, refined and mature. I can respect that.

PARFUM is too soft, too quiet, too meek. It kind of lacks "the world is mine" type of awesomeness and I dare say it lacks toughness.


Originality: 3/10
Scent: 6/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 4/10
_____________________
55%
08th July, 2018

Gentleman (new) by Givenchy

How ironic indeed. This placid fragrance is pathetic but I actually like it...sort of.

Such a boring fragrance. Neither it's classic enough to be strong in scent and character, neither it's modern enough to be wanted by the crowd.

If one wants classic, stick to the classic Gentleman because even the reformulated version is class in itself when compared to this one. If you want a bit of more modern approach, Gentlemen Only and G.O.Absolute are really more than ok.

Who wears it? Boys wannabe men, same thing with YSL "Y"!

Irony is, I'd probably even buy this stuff for the office wear and casual room spraying here and there. Sort of usable, actually.

Scent 5/10
Originality 2/10
Longevity 5/10
Projection 4/10
_________________
40%
15th June, 2018

Y by Yves Saint Laurent

Today, in terms of this time and especially YSL as a house, there's hardly anything good to say about this fragrance.

There's a bit stripped Body Kourous idea here, spiced up with something I can't identify. As if it could be named Body Kouros L'eau. There is also an echo of Givenchy Gentlmen Only in this fragrance.

It's a shame actually, for had it been released 10 years ago, it could have played a role of an answer to Gucci's Pour Homme II and be remembered today as one of the modern classics.

"Y" has good quality ingredients, but issued in the wrong time in a wrong way and is lacking in spirit and character.


Scent 6/10
Originality 3/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
_________________
57,5%
27th May, 2018

Hugo Urban Journey by Hugo Boss

Flanker number...how many were there up to this point?

Nothing new, generic and yet not that bad.

I'd stick to the original because, what ever one might think of the original, it is a modern classic and a product of its time.
27th May, 2018

Sauvage Eau de Parfum by Christian Dior

Not more "spectacular" than the EDT, however it is more rounded, softer and more refined.

A mass pleaser that works pretty well. Bubble gum note in this version is less acrid than in EDT version and thus much less annoying.

Considering the idea, formulae, format and components it can't get better than this, whatever you might think or not think about this fragrance.

Conclusion: better!

Originality 4/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 7/10
__________________
70%
28th April, 2018

Man's Best by Bruno Banani

Cheap, but only in price. Doesn't smell cheap.

Sure it's a bit synthetic and not quite original. Oriental spicy fragrance for causual evening wear. Pepper, cinnamon, tonka, vanilla in a good, non sleazy way.

This fragrance even has some depth and "weight", however it is not too heavy so it can be easily worn in summer evenings. Even those with more picky noses and deeper pockets might appreciate this one.


Originality 5/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 7/10
___________________
67,5%
25th April, 2018

Prada L'Homme Intense by Prada

I have to admit that I like this version much more than the original. Less powdery, bigger accent on the soapiness which gives the scent an aromatic character en par with CW and GIT but not actually copying them. Not a master piece, but a very good fragrance considering a lot of designer offerings for the last 5 years.

More formal, more masculine and more self in style and character. Simply better.


Originality 6/10
Scent 9/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
_________________
75%
18th April, 2018

Luna Rossa Black by Prada

More than obvious connection and similarity to previous flankers. Sweet, tad bit powdery and woody. An echo of Le Male idea with a pinch of 21. century.

Not exactly a train I'd hurry to jump in, but also not the one I'd immediately jump out from if accidentally found myself in it.


Originality 3/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
_______________
62,5%
18th April, 2018

L'Homme Lacoste by Lacoste

Typical already seen to-go scent. Lacoste takes an idea of Davidoff Adventure and Boss In Motion, mixes those two and voila - Lacoste L'Homme. For daily use, preferably office and/or casual. It's character is too mild for winter, evenings and clubbing but that's not the idea of this fragrance anyway. You won't stand out with it but that's ok. Pragmatic, simple and purposeful fragrance without much depth or philosophy taken into account. Not bad or tragic, but far from instigating any emotion.

Originality 4/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
21st January, 2018

Pure XS by Paco Rabanne

Modern fragrance for mature men that I really don't appreciate, at least not how it smells on me.

I think it's more or less quite unique. It doesn't directly copy Bleu de Chanel and Dior Sauvage + YSL L'Homme. I think that PR tried to create it's own concept based on those fragrances. In that they succeeded, however when it comes to appeal, I think they failed miserably.

Originality 6/10 - pretty high for today's age
Scent 4/10 - I just can't click with it whatsoever
Longevity 7/10 - it lasts ok, could be better
Projection 6/10 - not tragic but concerning the theme and the type of scent, should project more.
21st January, 2018

A*Men Kryptomint by Thierry Mugler

First two hours it's Ultra Zest with a strong mint note. Then it's just Ultra Zest for the next few hours and that's that.

Very disappointed with this one. After Pure Tonka which was awesome in my opinion, they pull off Kryptomint, which would be ok if Ultra Zest wasn't already in the game.

This will be the first A*Men flanker I won't make part of my collection.
10th December, 2017 (last edited: 02nd February, 2018)

Dunhill Icon Elite by Dunhill

An interesting hybrid in vein of CK Man and Emporio Armani He. Fresh, potent, sharp and "specific", however far from unique.

Synthetic, but not a mess. It is a well done fragrance, considering how it is. Memorable? Not really. Good? Yes.

(test wear - 31.10.2017.)

Originality 4/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10

01st November, 2017

Avant Garde by Lanvin

Avangard like? Not really, but very good surely. It is a hybrid of YSL La Nuit de l'Homme and a bit more than a pinch of JPG Le Male.

In case that you own La Nuit or Le Male, Lanvin A.G. will be redundant I'm afraid.

A rather pleasant scent that won't make you stand out in your environment, however that isn't the point. More often than not, most of people just want to fit and blend in and that's where Avant Garde wins. Also, most of the people like to smell good without being burdened by great heaviness or complexity. Avant Garde does a good job at that as well.

Pleasant, simple, already seen. No matter the fact, one wants to see, or smell it to express myself correctly, again despite its more than obvious familiarity.

Originality 4/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
__________________
65%
29th October, 2017