Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Zgb

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 386

David Beckham Beyond by Beckham

A modern, typical mainstream woody-spicy fragrance. Nothing original about but it does imitate well more expensive counterparts. It's not a complete synthetic mess, which is very positive considering the price.

So, maybe it's cheap but it doesn't smell cheap. For every day use, whole year fragrance for all instances - work/office, date, clubbing etc.

For those who want to smell good for a low price. Thumb up from me.

Originality 5/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 7/10
_____________________
26/40 = 65%
01st July, 2016

L'Homme Ultime by Yves Saint Laurent

Exquisitely good! Indeed nothing original, though, but what's good is good. Period.

Considering the shyness of the original L'Homme, this Ultime version is ultimate indeed and a very good universal fragrance. Good for all instances, albeit inclining to a more formal instance. Whole year fragrance, be it summer or winter, it'll do the trick.

Strong, potent, highly projective, in my case at least. Where Parfum Intense was a failure in my opinion, YSL tried to make it up with the Ultime version and succeeded.

Although not high on the priority list, I'll most certainly give an effort to make it a part of my collection eventually.

Originality 5/10
Scent 8/10
Projection 7/10
Longevity 9/10
15th June, 2016

L'Anarchiste by Caron

Talk about "different" and "off", L'Anarchiste is it!
Funeral and wedding at the same time.

Rough and gentle, warm and cold, loud and silent, happy and sad, sane and mad.

Fruity notes and fresh mint combined with woods and musk create a feel of iron or copper to be precise. Highly unusual fragrance, hard to love and hard to hate at the same time. Absolutely unique.

This anarchist is more that of a nobility. Educated and calm, but had his rough time on the streets once. Now he's brooding while drinking a fine cognac, watching the parliament building in the distance from his window. Soon it'll burn. He knows, it's all settled. The clock is ticking final hours.
06th June, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Lalique pour Homme by Lalique

Old school vibe. Quite a "miracle", more like a surprise making such a fragrance in 1997. The muse here was definitely Joop! Homme, something like "L'eau" version of it. Not that bad.

There is a boom of citruses and woods, warm sharpness in the beginning. Soon the spices ensue but they're quickly moulded by woody notes and Lalique PH is no longer sharp, but more smooth with a creamy-powdery undertone, slightly enhanced by warmed up citruses.

Quite old fashioned and a formal scent for spring or early autumn. Too heavy for the summer and sort of characterless for the winter, albeit the fact it is strong as the scent.

Originality 4/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10
25th May, 2016

A*Men Pure Tonka by Thierry Mugler

In style this is like a more refined, less burned and dry Pure Wood. Not bad at all, although I was really disappointed at first. When I sprayed it, it was totally Pure Wood to me until I took a deep breath and side tested them.

Not to get all "joy oh joy", I find it to be quite redundant if one has Pure Wood and vice versa.

Pure Tonka is very sweet and also quite soft. I don't see a lot similarities with Rochas Man as that one is much less dark and less sweet. As per New Haarlem, never tried it so I can't make any claims concerning that one.

If you're a fan of the Pure series, you'll love the fact that you have Pure Tonka even though you're not that impressed, like me for instance. If you're not the fan, own Pure Wood, you might think Tonka is not worth the effort and probably be right.

I'll rate it positive due to it's strength and overall quality, also for a reason of being a fan of the series and having them all in my collection.

Originality 0/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
27th April, 2016

Voyage by Nautica

So, you like Versace Man Fraiche, Azzaro Chrome, AdG and all the other alike, this one is your player.

Price is ridiculous for the quality you get. Price tag is cheap, but the smell doesn't smell cheap and the package doesn't look cheap.

A compliment getter and a great return of investment.

Originality 0/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
27th April, 2016

Cuba Brazil by Cuba Paris

For 5 bucks one gets a creamy, fresh and not all that synthetic mess kind of fragrance. In other words it doesn't smell like 5 bucks or 50 bucks, but you can bet it smells good. Well, for the time it lasts.

Sure it's nothing grandiose. It's a copy of few well known brands that last and project just a bit better and some which last much more.

If I were somewhere far away from home, needed something fast to put on in case I didn't bring anything with me, I'd go to a drug store and grab this one without thinking twice, use it for the time needed and that's it.
22nd April, 2016

The One for Men Eau de Parfum by Dolce & Gabbana

When compared to the EDT, EDP is quite redundant. But damn, I still love the juice.

It won't give you more or less projection or longevity than the EDT, but here's the catch when it comes to me - I'm the lucky guy. I get 12+ hours of longevity and 8+ hours of projection with EDT version.

So, from instance of owning EDT, EDP is redundant. From instance of loving the scent, loving the line, why not have a spare bottle and potentially - if one does have longevity and projection issues - maybe a bit stronger juice after all?

The thing is with this scent, EDT or EDP, you have to love it. Modern classic.
04th April, 2016

Fahrenheit Cologne by Christian Dior

More airy and citrusy than the original, also a bit milder version of already existing Aqua Fahrenheit which is a bit stronger.

If you like this line in general, then this will definitely find its way on your scent shelf. Otherwise this scent will be regarded as an interesting and a bit different approach to fresh scents, but will not become really popular. I think it'll be overlooked by the general population and maybe even among those who do appreciate the entire Fahrenheit story and like to have flankers.

I myself find it a bit more than ok, but not enough to give it a firm thumbs up.

My vote goes for Fahrenheit Aqua.
04th April, 2016

Reveal Men by Calvin Klein

Melon and pear, a synthetic mess on my skin.

Although I do understand the concept that's behind this, I just can't stand it. There is a slight element of YSL Body Kouros here, without eucaliptus but "enriched" with fruity notes. It is, however a rather soft and smooth fragrance, but overbearingly thick and sweet.

I believe there will be quite a few people who will enjoy this fragrance, not me apparently. I do have to admit that it's unique in a strange way.

Scent 4/10
Originality 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10
09th February, 2016

L'Eau Kenzo Intense pour Homme by Kenzo

A bit more intense version of the original. Thicker and more sweet. There is an echo of the nineties/20th century here.

Pretty mainstream fragrance that won't turn heads, will be recognisable and appreciated when applied sparingly.

Ok, it's not that strong, but it's sort of "bubble gum" sweet which can be very annoying if you over-spray.

Simple, mainstream but done well.

Originality - 5/10
Scent - 6/10
Longevity - 8/10
Projection - 8/10
09th February, 2016

Joop! Homme Extreme by Joop!

Like some sort of a mainstream rock band that's still searching/exploring itself.

Dull, boring, sweet and overpowering.

Notes are black cococa? Where? I don't sense it. Hot skin note? Nope, not here. Patchouli? Maybe, just maybe.
A lot of sickening, sweetened chemicals? Definitely.

I still appreciate the original. When mildly applied, the original can make wonders even today.

Extremely boring and irritating.

Originality - 4/10
Scent - 5/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10
21st January, 2016

CH Men Privé by Carolina Herrera

Excellent scent, but why neutral rating? It's a shameless copy of Dior Fahrenheit EDP. To make things even worse in a funny way, YSL La Nuit de L'Homme L'Intense smells as exactly the same as well.

So basically we get two completely the same scents under different brands and names, that copy Dior Fahrenheit EDP.
I'd say pretty much that's insulting. Now, I did rate YSL La Nuit de L'Homme L'Intense positively, regardless of the fact that it's a shameless copy. I can not and will not rate CH Men Prive positively albeit the fact that it smells completely the same as YSL and Dior F.EDP, in other words it smells nice and classy.

The third frag that'll smell like this will get a negative review only on that basis, that it smells exactly the same. Because really, could there a third one, excluding Fahrenheit EDP which was the first? How things are going, there'll be a lot of them, hell, why not exactly the same by Gucci? It's name should be "Exactly the same Pour Homme".

Originality - 0/10 I think I said it all
Scent - 8/10 it smells good
Longevity - 8/10 it lasts
Projection - 7/10 solid projection
18th December, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Lalique White by Lalique

Nihil nuovo sub sole, but it is stylish, decent and there's even some hidden complexity in it. Fresh, clean, white, less heavy than Fahrenheit 32. It'll give most in the spring, when temperatures are mild, neither too cold or too hot.

Nice scent for the office or walk in the park, forest etc.

I'll rate it positive/thumb up simply because I like it and I'm biased.

Originality 5/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
14th December, 2015

Luna Rossa Sport by Prada

Spin off ala JPG Le Male, a bit of YSL Body Kouros, and in the end a bit of Givenchy Pi. Whatever you might think about that from this perspective, it gets the job done and that's it.

Basically, you're not interested in something new or different. You just want to smell good without and not too much philosophy, this is for you.

I'll rate it neutral albeit the fact that I like it. It's way too similar to fragrances already mentioned in this review, and lets get real, smelling like that and calling it "Sport"?

Originality 0/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
14th December, 2015

Hommage à L'Homme Voyageur by Lalique

Very elegant, formal and serious. It's foundation is based on the Encre Noire with a nice pinch of idea of Burberry London. Result, something quite unique.

Highly accentuated vetiver and moss note. Moss in nature is not something that people in general give high regards to, however with this fragrance, moss gets a different dimension.

Sharp, zesty, tonic, cold and balanced, centered and positively dark.

If you're thinking about wearing this as your signature, it requires formal attire. Clubbing? No. Dating? Only when girl/woman got to know you a bit better. It's not a line opener as it takes experience and taste for it to be appreciated. Time of year? Autumn, winter, early spring.

Originality 7/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10



07th December, 2015

La Nuit de L'Homme L'Intense by Yves Saint Laurent

Quite a shameless rip off of Dior Fahrenheit EDP. There is a pinch of La Nuit EDT in it, however domination of Fahrenheit EDP or even F. Absolute is too strong.

So, is it bad? No. It lasts, it's strong. Is it original? Of course not. If you already tried Fahrenheit EDP, Absolute, own both or either of the two, La Nuit Intense will be quite redundant. Is there any quality here? Yes, it's still YSL.

If you're 25+ and want to smell nice for clubbing, dating, walk in the park with your girlfriend, casual night out - this is your scent. I wouldn't really wear it in the office, or if I would - I'd spray rather sparingly.

I have to admit, it instigates emotions regardless of the fact that it's a rip off.

I'll rate it positive albeit I was on a verge of rating it neutral.

Scent 8/10 - it's really good
Originality 0/10 - shameless copy
Longevity 8/10 - quality of ingredients is there
Projection 7/10 - rather solid
12th November, 2015 (last edited: 08th December, 2015)

CH Men Africa by Carolina Herrera

I tested it 31.03.2015. and this is a filtered/shortened review I made on another site. At that time this scent was not in the Basenotes directory so review here is a "bit" late.

Creamy, bit more green approach to the original but also a classic D&G Pour Homme. Not weak. Small echo of Chic For Men is also present. Originality none, quality quite some.

Is it a modern scent? Well if you take into consideration the old and "new" reformulated D&G PH, then the answer is obivous - no.

Is this a good scent? Well I'd say it is, but call it "Africa"? I don't know really. Packaging is sort of cool
if you're into that.

Overall impression: flanker of a flanker of a flanker and nothing new whatsoever, but also it's quite well done.

I think it'll have its supporters, but my opinion is that the original version did the job quite well from the start, thus making this "Africa" version redundant.

Originality 0/10
Scent 8/10 (it's still a good scent)
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
23rd October, 2015

Baldessarini Ultimate by Baldessarini

Very good, I have to admit, really but really good scent.
On the trail of Serge Noire, in style and character. In designer world there is a serious lack of scents like this.

Baldessarini Ultimate is very formal and requires a bit of a dress code as well. For the office, formal meeting etc. Dating? Not at first, at least not until a person gets to know you a bit more because it's too formal albeit the fact it's modern as well. You don't want to smell on a date in fashion that you also might be holding data statistics and market analysis in your hands.

Further on, this is a true spicy oriental fragrance with accent on "spice". Very bright, smart, decent, mature, corporate, modern with a twist of classic!
This scent justifies the Baldessarini motto : "separates the men from the boys"


Originality: 7/10
Scent: 8/10
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 7/10
________________________
30/40=75%
21st October, 2015

A*Men Pure Malt: Liqueur de Parfum by Thierry Mugler

Although I do agree that this version is just a tad bit more refined, I also must stress out that this is basically the same fragrance, discontinued for a reason. Ok, that was a little harsh and maybe cynical, but bear with me. Straight in the opening there is a slight, noticeable difference that quickly dissipates to pretty much same old Pure Malt. That's not over, though. Alcohol note is slightly toned down in this flanker, giving the fruits, spices and wood a bit more freedom of expression, sort to speak. Still it can't be denied that the difference is too subtle, albeit apparent, to be recognised when smelled up close and none when smelled from afar.

If you're a collector or simply love Pure Malt in general, then you won't be sorry for having this one. From the point of view of the first, you have them all in the collection, from the point of view of the second, you basically have a reserve bottle.

Scent 10/10 (it's still Pure Malt basically, so it's perfect)
Originality 5/10 (had it not been discontinued it'd be 0/10)
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
02nd October, 2015

Bleu de Chanel Eau de Parfum by Chanel

Deeper, richer and more dense than the EDT. Is it better though? EDT has its own charm and merits. EDT is more sharp and brash and that's what I actually like about it.

EDP is more of a gentleman when compared to the EDT.
Are they both great? Depends. They're generics, simple fragrances done well. That's actually ok!

Are they both worthy of collecting? Yes, absolutely. Still I prefer EDT but just for a margin.

Originality 4/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
25th September, 2015

Boss The Scent by Hugo Boss

Sweet wannabe. At first it's a sweet wannabe combo of Chanel Allure / CK Obsession for men / L'Essence de Cerruti, but only at first.

In the middle and dry down it's just a synthetic, loud, fruity fragrance with no style or character whatsoever.

If you're a beginner, just want to smell in the office, school, college, on the street or whatever, or you just need an average "crowd pleaser", then this is ok. Otherwise, skip it.

Scent 5/10
Originality 3/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10
22nd September, 2015

Armani Eau de Cèdre by Giorgio Armani

Old school, new age. Office scent, not too casual, but also not that you must follow some dress code, just don't look shabby or sporty or both while you wear Eau de Cedre.

In style of Paco. R. Pour Homme, Azzaro Pour Homme etc. Eau de Cedre doesn't smell the same as the former mentioned, albeit it's not so unique and distinctive as well. That doesn't matter as it takes a bit of a guts, I guess, to make such an old school frag with an old school vibe in 2015. It's not bland and it has character in my opinion. Requires tad bit of maturity of the wearer.

Very pleasant for the wearer and the environment as it'll not suffocate everyone, yet it'll be noticed.

Originality 7/10 - only because it's 2015. and they are trying to re-market this type of fragrance.
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
15th September, 2015 (last edited: 21st September, 2015)

Sauvage by Christian Dior

This will be one of the shorter reviews.

Boss Bottled Night meets Gucci Guilty/Guilty Black/Guilty Intense. For the masses and so much not Dior.

Well, it finally happened to Dior. Following the mass market demand. I can't say I blame them, man needs to make a living.

One thing I have to admit, people will love it on you and it's a "grower".

Originality 0/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
15th September, 2015

Gentlemen Only Casual Chic by Givenchy

This version follows the original. More airy, less dense, however not any less potent. Combination of retro + modern.

Regardless, is it any good? Well yes it is, but also kind of boring and uninspiring.

You can get much more for less money.

Originality 4/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 6/10
__________________
22/40 = 55%
27th August, 2015 (last edited: 15th September, 2015)

Brit Splash for Him by Burberry

What a spin off of AdG. Not a very good spin off at that as there already are plenty of spin offs. Better spin offs than Brit Splash. This is not even an attempt to make something. Bland, boring, unoriginal, uninspiring.

Originality 0/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 3/10
Projection 3/10
______________________

11/40 = 27,5%
27th August, 2015

Sun Men by Jil Sander

I agree with some comments here, being fresh yet warm and somehow balsamic like sun tan lotions. I can easily picture summer on the beach but also a city or a town on Croatian coast during hot days, evenings too. Has this floral touch to it that pushes it towards feminine side. I think it can easily pass as an unisex fragrance, albeit a certain masculine note can't be denied.

Originality 6/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
____________________
28/40 = 70%
06th August, 2015

Fan di Fendi pour Homme by Fendi

I can't believe I forgot to write a review about that one. I did write one though, on the Croatian counterpart of Fragrantica, 13.06.2013. so I'll basically rewrite it here in English, however not in a complete detail.

So, Fendi huh? A bit retro in the initial wave, very spicy and in style quite close between Burberry London (minus boozy, port wine feel) and Moschino Forever. More emphasys on Moschino Forever.

Spices and leather notes are rather neatly combined and that makes Fendi smell quite refined. Can't say exactly when to wear it. It has some depth and weight so it can be worn during colder days, yet again it so uninvasive and sort of light at the same time so it's very wearable during warm periods. Warm and thick, however also gentle and mild, but not weak. Very urban, both formal and casual.

Too bad it's discontinued so soon along with flankers.

Originality 5/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
28th July, 2015

Paco by Paco Rabanne

Rather good. Unisex? There are more feminine fragrances out there, marketed as frags for guys. Paco is not bad at all. I can sense some quality here, however also it's quite contemporary, that is congruent with time when it was made. By that I'm not insinuating it's old fashioned. There's character here, it's not bland. Fresh but also not light, there's heaviness here. Green, sweet but in a subtle manner, with emphasized citrus notes. Smooth, not sharp.
Not unique but definitely it is distinctive.

Originality 5/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
___________________
30/40 = 75%
26th July, 2015

Acqua di Giò Profumo by Giorgio Armani

Being realistic, it has quality and zero originality. Put between the original version and Essenza version from 2012. which is a nice upgrade of the original, Profumo is quite redundant I'm afraid.

Not to be to harsh in judgment, Profumo is rather deep and intense, yet rather decent/dignified and "serious". I strongly believe that it can gain more love and attention after a while which is quite a bonus. I'm saying this because at first I was very reserved about it, now I can see this certain distinctivness in it, albeit mostly retaining the character and style of the original.

So in the end is it really redundant? Only if you already own the original or Essenza or both. If you owned those before, but no more, Profumo is your next best pal.

Originality 4/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
__________________

27/40=67,5%
10th July, 2015