Reviews by Zgb

    Zgb's avatar
    Zgb
    Croatia Croatia

    Showing 91 to 120 of 303.
    rating


    L.12.12 Blanc / White by Lacoste

    Quite appealing and apple like, although apple is not in the pyramid notes. Nothing special at all, but I must stress out that it is appealing despite the fact that it's nothing original and it's quite mainstream.

    25 September, 2012

    rating


    Intuition by Estée Lauder

    Quite feminine and complementary with the male version of the scent. In style, de facto, male and female version are the same and yet the male version is unmistakably masculine, whilst the femme version is unmistakably feminine. This is not for a "from the hood" girl, but for a woman that has some class and is intelligent. Scent itself is quite flowery, slightly backed up by woody notes, very well rounded and refined. There is a certain heaviness about it, but not such that it could not be worn during hotter weather, albeit with very mild application.

    25 September, 2012

    rating


    Intuition for Men by Estée Lauder

    Sharp, zesty, conservative and quite Terre D'Hermes like. Strong in character, somewhat bitter and not a mainstreamer at all. In the initial wave there as if there is an echo of Fahrenheit but that's only for a while. A good quality scent for "stronger" men who'd like to avoid sweet orientals and yet smell contemporary and masculine.

    25 September, 2012

    rating


    Dior Homme Intense by Christian Dior

    Albeit similar, Intense version of Dior Homme talks a different story. A bit darker, evening character is even more profound in this version. In my opinion, whoever loves DH simply must own DHI as well! A bit smokier but not in a tobacco way, hint of cacao but dark and thick (no cacao notes in the scent per se). This scent is just gorgeous and that's that. To a person that's a bit more experienced in this hobby DH and DHI are both to be a part of the collection.

    23 September, 2012

    rating


    Givenchy Play Intense by Givenchy

    What's there to say. Youthful yet mature, sweet, thick but also somehow bitter and sharp which makes it quite masculine. Good quality colder weather scent that avoids me and I'm unfairly avoiding it, at least for now.

    18 September, 2012

    rating


    Oyédo by Diptyque

    Citrusy, minty, woody. Unisex? I'm not sure. Not original at all but a good quality scent that puts me in the gloomy mood as if I sprayed depression all over myself.

    13 September, 2012

    rating


    Guerlain Homme L'Eau Boisée by Guerlain

    A good quality fragrance. So why a thumb down? It's the negative emotions that scent inspires in me. It's formal, office scent that blends well in spring time. It could be perfect for funerals too. I must stress out that the scent itself, albeit not all too original, is in fact a high quality scent, but I can't forgive it the fact that it puts me in the negative, gloomy mood.

    13 September, 2012

    rating


    Gucci by Gucci Sport Pour Homme by Gucci

    Gucci by Gucci PH would be quite good only if it was stronger. So, they make something even weaker and call it "Sport". I've got nothing else to say about this one.

    13 September, 2012

    rating


    Tabac Man Silver by Mäurer & Wirtz

    More contemporary and quite fresh unlike the original. Nothing much to say about this fragrance, however it is a quite positive scent, relatively good quality for the low price. Nothing memorable, but worth a wear once in a while.

    12 September, 2012

    rating


    GF Ferré Lui / Him by Gianfranco Ferré

    Sweet, smooth, rounded, woody and spicy. An effort was put to compose this one. I've got nothing negative to say about this fragrance. I see some connection with Joop! Jump, Cerruti Pour Homme, Chopard Pour Homme and Azzaro Boarding (wich is not in the directory). Spring scent with some elegance, although it could hold well in all seasons except summer when due to heat it might dissipate fast. All in all thumb up, and too bad it's not mentioned here and there, I think it deserves it.

    07 September, 2012

    rating


    Boss Bottled Sport by Hugo Boss

    What a pleasant surprise indeed! It even has some style and character. In all manners of a fresh scent, he is a winner. It has the freshness of Issey Miyake, heaviness of Fahrenheit and a style of Dior Homme Sport and yet is like neither of mentioned! What I was expecting is watered down lemon mixed with some spices with overall poor longevity and projection. What I got was a very nice scent that lasts, projects and actually smells quite great. Of course it's not a hype, nothing revolutional, but I repeat, a nice surprise by Hugo Boss.

    07 September, 2012

    rating


    Decibel by Azzaro

    A projective, irritating bomb not following a typical Azzaro style. It reminds of CK Shock, but this one is more loud in a negative way to me. Scent itself is like a spoiled, loud brat that got a lot candy and is crying for more candy and attention after it puked all the candy that it has eaten already.

    07 September, 2012

    rating


    cK One Shock for Him by Calvin Klein

    Nothing shocking, but really not a bad juice. It borders with a gourmand category and I see the connection with Givenchy Very Irresistible for Men, but CK Shock is a bit more fruity and less formal, or to express myself more correctly, it is more casual than Givenchy. This fragrance blends quite well during colder weather seasons as the scent itself is quite warm. Longevity and projection are great. I'm rating it neutral only on account I find Givency better and I find it to be an example for many fragrances such as Azzaro Decibel (which I rate thumb down), CK Shock and Diesel Only the Brave Tattoo (which I rate thumb up).

    07 September, 2012

    rating


    cK be by Calvin Klein

    Incredible how much it reminds me of Emporio Armani Him. I don't find this fragrance unisex at all, but quite masculine. There is this sharp, synthetic-technological smell about it, slightly sweetened. Albeit not unique altogether, and just because former mentioned Armani fragrance, scent will get noticed and be regarded as something smelled a lot in the neighbourhood or wider.

    07 September, 2012

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme Sport by Issey Miyake

    Why? Is it a trend? Well of course it is a trend. Why would one want to wear this one, albeit I have to admit that the scent is really good, ironically. When compared to the original and its intense version, this one is just not up to the task. Iteration indeed, as mentioned here by member "Andrewthecologneguy", but non the less a pleasing iteration.

    29 August, 2012 (Last Edited: 12 September, 2012)

    rating


    Kokorico by Jean Paul Gaultier

    I myself am confused about this one, but non the less I like it! I can see that JPG tried to launch something could be en par to Le Male, a new classic that would stand side by side with Le Male and share a status of classic. This is where Kokorico is a complete failure. Now, in the terms of fragrance or smell itself, that is, I find it to be quite seductive, sweetly dry and cold in charachter, somewhat a hint of Zino Davidoff in it. People will mention it here and there but just don't see it as some future, popular mainstream, new age classic it was supposed to be. Le Male is THE fragrance of this house and that's that.

    I'll rate it thumbs up only on account that I really liked it on me and it's quite long lasting with great sillage. Otherwise, fragrance itself should be rated neutral and I do expect at least 70% of reviews here to be "neutral" in character.

    28 August, 2012 (Last Edited: 12 September, 2012)

    rating


    Azzaro Pour Homme Night Time by Azzaro

    Sweet, a bit cold in charachter, but masculine and nothing to do with the original. Its only potential fail would be the marketing or, to be precise lack thereof. If you're into Escada Magnetism for men, Roberto Cavalli Black or La Nuit de L'Homme or Feragammo F Black then this is your scent! I almost dare call it a "player". Very contemporary fragrance with no hint of clasicism of the original. Cedar and vetiver give quite a dose of mascunlinity whilst the sweetness is constantly retained and present. I'm not expecting it to become a hype on Basenotes, but I'll make sure to mention it here in the forums once in a while because in my opinion it deserves to be noticed. Longevity and sillage are astonishing so be careful when applying. Thumb up for this one! To say the truth, I expected it to be quite a fail and I'm so glad it proved me otherwise.

    26 August, 2012 (Last Edited: 06 December, 2012)

    rating


    Azzaro Pour Homme L'Eau by Azzaro

    Why neutral? Well, original is original and that's that. There is a strange watery echo in this fragrance in the dry-down, not necessarily bad. Citruses are mildly felt only in the initial moments after spraying but all in all this scent is too similar at one point to the original, at the other point it is way similar to the Cerruti 1881. So, all in all not bad, classic scent in the spirit of the 1980's but also unnecessary and I find it quite doubtful that it'll be noticed or get a lot of attention.

    26 August, 2012

    rating


    Magic Man by Bruno Banani

    Sweet and spicy but in a bit a cold way. There is quite a similarity, or connection, to be precise, wit Diesel only the brave. All in all quite youthfull night out fragrance that is not bad at all and doesn't lack quality in terms of projection or longevity.

    03 August, 2012

    rating


    Black by Kenneth Cole

    Ok, I'll be short about this one. Black? What's "Black" about this unimaginative citrusy with tad bit coffee junk of a perfume? "Black" is its name and the bottle. The scent itself is bland and forgettable.

    02 August, 2012

    rating


    1881 by Cerruti

    Classic that falls into Kouros category but with less animality and tad bit more formality, a milder approach let's say. Quite creamy and I really like the pine note in it. Incredible as it may sound to you, but this scent reminds me of former Yugoslavia in summer and a sea resort. I was just a little child then, but despite that, I remember those times, that feeling.
    Nobody talks about Cerruti 1881 Man and I think that's just wrong. This perfume deserves to be mentioned much more. Thumbs up!

    02 August, 2012

    rating


    Boss Pure by Hugo Boss

    Faceless, metallic, repulsively cold and sour. I can't imagine a person that'd be drawn to it.

    Projection and longevity are ok, but who cares as I really wouldn't want to smell like this for too long...at all actually.

    27 July, 2012

    rating


    Aqua Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

    I was quite baffled at first but then it really hit me. Quite much of the original there but yet Aqua version has toned it down in a very positive way. We're not talking about typical aqua here, yet there is distinct specific water note emmited by violet, I think. It's a very smooth fragrance. I like to compare this fragrance to Boss Elements Aqua due to it's smoothness and style. All in all it'll be a nice catch for me.

    12 May, 2012

    rating


    Ultraviolet Man by Paco Rabanne

    Synthetic and cold in charaachter but I think it's fabulous. Very contemporary and free, there is sort of unique vibe about it and it's not overworn at all. I don't like the bottle even though it fits the fragrance wich I, ironically, like! Longevity and projection are great. I understand why this might be tad bit off putting to people, and it's amber note is very strong and I agree quite synthetic, but I can't help it, I just like this juice and that's that.

    12 May, 2012

    rating


    Hugo Just Different by Hugo Boss

    Ok, not bad, who liked the original will also like this one or even more. Scent itself is quite good however its projection is so pathetic and I can't forgive this. The touch of the original is present, but the originals projection and longevity are also great unlike this version wich smells actually better than the original. All in all, in a sense of smell it's not a fail, but in a sense of projection and longevity it fails completely.

    08 May, 2012

    rating


    The One Gentleman by Dolce & Gabbana

    In a way it reminds me a bit of Gucci Envy For Men. Quite an interesting juice that I just might give a chance in the future. I was expecting it to be a fail for certain, not that I'm mesmerised, but it is sort of chic and its longevity and projection are somewhat better than with the original version. I wouldn't wear this one on a very hot day, rather in spring, autumn and winter. In any case, thumbs up.

    08 May, 2012

    rating


    Baldessarini Concentree by Baldessarini

    Unfortunately the only thing I remember about it that in style it reminds me a lot of Boss Bottled, but with more charachter, serious and more refined. Nowadays it's nowhere to be found as supposedly Baldessarini line is being shut down. All in all a fragrance worthy of not just trying but possessing too.

    04 May, 2012 (Last Edited: 22 July, 2012)

    rating


    L'Eau par Kenzo Wild Edition pour Homme by Kenzo

    Very casual and free. Nothing special about it, though. Longevity and projection are average. Can't see this one worn but on a sunny, warm day with shirt wide open. It's quite airy but not typically fresh. Sure there are better frags out there, this one is worth a try non the less. I got it quite cheap, otherwise I wouldn't own it.

    30th April, 2012

    rating


    Voyage d'Hermès by Hermès

    Fruity, cold-ish but not in an uninviting way. Free, conservative but not uptight at all. In other words it's quite classy but also very casual at the same time and it seems that Hermes does make them almost all that way. It is very refined and rounded, not a single note is "screaming". Spring and summer day scent with a style and charachter.

    28 April, 2012

    rating


    XS pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

    In Cool Water style but somewhat "greener" and more "acrid". By saying adjectives green and acrid, I'm not being negative. This scent is conservative and formal. There is nothing sexy or excessive (XS=sex and excess) about this scent, even in terms of time when this scent was created and popular. Good quality scent, recognizable, and I think that it would suit me well considering the fact that women like this sort of fragrances on me. These are the times when the sweet juices are sold, and gosh this is not a sweet juice...not one bit. That is one of the reasons I'll add this one to my collection, not with a rushing pace, though.

    14 April, 2012

    Showing 91 to 120 of 303.