Reviews by adonis

    adonis's avatar
    adonis
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 25 of 25.
    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Big compliment getter. One of my favorite fragrances. It shares some of the same qualities that also makes Bois du Portugal unabashedly masculine, although I prefer Rive Gauche much more. You can't judge this one by the opening - an hour in is when the magic happens. Works well in any weather, although a cool stormy day and RG is an the perfect combination - perfect, I tell you! :) I wouldn't recommend RG to high schoolers, but by your later college years you could pull it off. Just don't expect this one to resemble anything found on your average dept store shelf. Two thumbs way up.

    25 July, 2011

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme Intense by Yves Saint Laurent

    Darker, dirtier, deeper than the original during the first hour. Not any longer lasting, however. I love RG so much that it's hard to criticize the intense version. It doesn't really merit a purchase if you already own a can of the fantastic and manly smelling barber shop masterpiece that is YSL Rive Gauche.

    26 May, 2011

    rating


    Aventus by Creed

    What can I say? I like it. It's a compliment getter. I'll leave the notes breakdown to those far more proficient at it than I. There are several batches of Aventus currently on the market, each different smelling than the next. Caveat emptor. Search the threads for more information.

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    Silver Musk by Nasomatto

    Very long lasting ultra clean, yet thick scent. Sillage is good as well, although others could mistake the smell of Silver Musk for a high end body wash or shampoo. Not really controversial, yet magical in an interesting way. I understand the connection to elves, LOTR, and flying fairy fantasy creatures. Perhaps this is what Sookie Stackhouse smells like.

    02 October, 2010

    rating


    YSL pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Magnificent in it's simplicity. A restrained lemon opening that dries down to an warm herbal base. The entire start to end experience is wonderful. While it doesn't smell like ADP Colognia, the two fragrances share the same distinguished gentlemanly and happy vibe. Appropriate for any occasion. Such a pleasant and lovely scent. Thumbs way, way up for this beauty.

    20th August, 2010

    rating


    Bois du Portugal by Creed

    This is a quality fragrance. Don Draper smells like this. BDP is definitely of a different era. I'm surprised it was formulated in 1987. Don't buy it blind, but definitely try it.

    23 January, 2010

    rating


    Rose 31 by Le Labo

    Magnificent stuff. The cedary drydown is lovely. Can't wait for morning to roll around so I can apply it again. Giant thumbs up on this one.

    26 July, 2009

    rating


    Gendarme 20 by Gendarme

    Just to clarify things, Gendarme 20 is the original Gendarme formulation PLUS a formidable Lavender note. Gendarme EDP (the more concentrated version of the original scent) is different - a large "G" graphic is displayed on the bottle. These are two separate products from the same family of fragrances. If you like a clean pronounced lavender, 20 is your scent. Not a hint of sweetness or femininity in the juice. I really like it, but as with all Gendarmes I wish the lasting power was greater. I guess you can't have everything. Nonetheless, a big thumbs up because it smells so good.

    17 July, 2009

    rating


    Mr. Hulot's Holiday by CB I Hate Perfume

    I think the lesson from both the Demeter and the CB line is the connection between memory and scent. CB likes to take you back to childhood with his concoctions of Play Dough, waffles, and coastlines. Mr. Hulot's Holiday is very interesting. This is the East Coast in a bottle. I immediately got vivid images of the Atlantic Seaboard and a summer vacation I was on when I was four or five. In particular I could remember the deep blue sky of Miami and crossing waterways on short bridges. Powerful, but It's just not a scent I'd ever want to apply more than a few times. Much respect to Christopher; now make something all of us would love to wear 24/7/365.

    25 April, 2009

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Intensa by Acqua di Parma

    Oh, how I love this one. The top and middle notes give way to a beautiful dry leathery scent that is both refined and sexy. I don't know how ADP was able to improve upon their original classic, but they did. Colonia Intensa also lasts longer on the skin than original ADP. A fragrance masterpiece, folks.

    14 April, 2009 (Last Edited: 17 May, 2009)

    rating


    Erolfa by Creed

    I'm a sucker for office safe scents (we do spend most of our waking hours at work after all), and Erolfa would offend no one. This one I have to spray on heavier to smell, whereas SMW and GIT are single spritz deals on my skin. If GIT were a Merlot, Erolfa would be a big buttery Australian Chardonnay. The dry down is pretty fast, yet the middle and base are just as enjoyable as the top notes. Salt -> yes! Tangerine -> are you sure? Sillage is poor, but who cares - more for me. Perhaps my favorite Creed so far. Look out Summer, here comes Erolfa Guy. A Fonzie thumbs up on this one.

    14 April, 2009

    rating


    Néroli Sauvage by Creed

    If Neroli Sauvage was a movie it would be called - "Gone in Sixty Seconds". Premature olfactication. The opening is terrific - a beautiful sort of lemony intoxication. There's almost no middle or base notes. So much promise but ultimately disappointing.

    10th April, 2009

    rating


    Clean Provence by Clean

    Tried most of the "Clean" line today. I'm sniffing Provence on my hand right now. It's nice - feminine and young. Definitely not a man's scent. I like the light soapy ones, so it's hard to be critical. No sillage, but a guy nuzzled up to your neck would like it indeed. Safe, but sometimes safe is good. Worth trying out.

    04 April, 2009

    rating


    New Haarlem by Bond No. 9

    It really does smell like sweetened coffee candy or caramel butterscotch chews. Personally I don't want to smell like sweetened coffee candy, but you might. Staying power is amazing. Couldn't scrub it off in 2 washings. I can't really knock it just because I don't like it, so it gets the sideways thumb from me.

    29 March, 2009

    rating


    Burberry the Beat by Burberry

    This is really good. Surprisingly good. It vaguely reminds me of Creed's MI, certainly more than the yucky Unforgivable does. I suspect this is going to go the route of Gio and Cool Water - two nice scents that became far too popular. Still, worth trying, and certainly worth buying. Get on the train before it leaves the station.

    21st March, 2009

    rating


    L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    The moment I smelled it I thought, "Wow, this is classy". More of a nighttime scent in my opinion. I could see wearing this on a date with a lovely female on your arm, burying her nose into your sleeve to get another whiff. YSL did a nice job on this one. I want it, but first I have to go about getting the lovely female. Try it, you just might like it.

    21st March, 2009

    rating


    Mugler Cologne by Thierry Mugler

    I so wanted to like this one as I'm looking for a nice summer scent. Unfortunately, it's not going to be this. It isn't bad, nor is it offensive. I just get a scented toilet paper vibe from the dry-down. Maybe it's the little hint of vetiver in the mix. Worth trying, but not worth buying.

    21st March, 2009

    rating


    Russian Caravan Tea by CB I Hate Perfume

    Remember powdered Nestle's Sweetened Iced Tea mix? This is exactly that scent. I can't say I dislike it because RCT reminds me of carefree summer vacations as a child - much to my parent's dismay I drank gallons of the stuff. I can't say I like it because I don't want to smell like sweetened iced tea. Amazing how CB I Hate Perfume can capture these essences.

    16 March, 2009

    rating


    Grabazzi by Gendarme

    Clean, clean, clean and soapy as they get. The top notes are really unique and lovely, but the dry-down becomes, as one poster noted - "Lava Soap". Still, if you want to offend absolutely nobody, this is a great cologne, although you can achieve the same effect for a lot less money. I like the Gendarme line a lot, but this one...hmmm.

    16 March, 2009

    rating


    Unforgivable by Sean John

    Strong, sparkling melon punch with the staying power of the Roman Empire. Fortunately, it was available at a deep discount at the local pharmacy, otherwise I would still be kicking myself for buying this. I had to bag the box because I could smell it in my bedroom. I was hoping it was going to be pretty close to MI, saving me many dollars as a result, but I don't get the comparisons at all.

    15 March, 2009

    rating


    Himalaya by Creed

    I love GIT, I really like Erolfa, I kind of like SMW, and I couldn't wait to scrub Himalaya off of me when I tested it. Far too feminine for me. However, if you're a mature woman reading this review you might really like it. Flowery doesn't do the description justice.

    15 March, 2009 (Last Edited: 18 April, 2009)

    rating


    Vetiver by Guerlain

    I really, really wanted to like this. The reviews were so good, and I made the mistake of buying without sampling. To me, it smells like the cement dentists mix up before they pack a tooth. Oh well, live and learn.

    15 March, 2009

    rating


    Silver Mountain Water by Creed

    Blackberries and whipped cream with a steaming cup of English breakfast tea. Few would take offense to this scent. Lasts on my skin around 4 hours, which is fine. I usually tire of a smell after that long a time anyway. I bought a sample of this at TPC before buying, I'd recommend you do the same or try it out at Neiman Marcus before purchasing blind.

    15 March, 2009

    rating


    Green Irish Tweed by Creed

    Some great smelling stuff. Thanks to you basenoters, I immediately identified a fake bottle I received and sent it back. Like everyone says, buy this from reputable dealers. A small price savings isn't worth the trouble in this case. The scent - Sean Connery wearing a tux inside a casino in Monte Carlo, circa 1965. There's something incongruous about wearing GIT with jeans and a T-Shirt - a vibe better served by Silver Mountain Water. About the Cool Water comparisons - GIT doesn't have the metallic tang in the opening notes. The dry down is completely different than CW. Probably a better scent for the cooler months, although I won't know until the warm weather arrives. I'm glad I bought this one, despite the price.

    15 March, 2009

    rating


    Gendarme by Gendarme

    I like this juice a lot. Nobody in the office will ever accuse you of being "that guy". I agree with the others about the fleeting experience. I've met Topper Schroeder a few times at his Gendarmiere store in LA - cool guy, willing to talk in depth about his creations. Apparently, it's the Tonka which makes the scent seem to dissipate so quickly. Guess I'll just spray more on. There's no danger of over applying. It's clean, fresh, light. This is going to be one of my spring and summer fragrances.

    15 March, 2009

    Showing 1 to 25 of 25.