Reviews by lunoar

    lunoar's avatar
    lunoar
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Showing 1 to 15 of 15.
    rating


    Boss Selection by Hugo Boss

    This smells very rough to my nose, sweet, green citrus but quite harsh and cheap. It also doesn't change much from the moment you put it on. No thanks from me, there are so many better options out there for this kind of scent for similar money.

    30th March, 2010

    rating


    Roma Uomo by Laura Biagiotti

    Whatever top notes there were (i couldn't distinguish them apart from a slight fleeting floral) faded quickly into a linear musky sweet vanilla. Not unpleasant but a little bland and unexciting.

    30th March, 2010

    rating


    Vetiver Bourbon by Miller Harris

    This immediately reminds me of Encre Noir which is hardly suprising as both contain bourbon vetiver in large amounts. But, where EN is a thick, bitter, dark vetiver monster the MH is a slightly lighter, breezier creature. As EN is one of my favourite frags i can really appreciate and enjoy the MH due to some similarities but its still EN i'd buy.

    29th March, 2010

    rating


    Joop! Go by Joop!

    Initially a very sweet citrusy blast followed by sweet woods. I'm unable to "get" the blood orange and rhubarb note tho' but the top notes seem to give way very quickly anyway for the woods.
    Scent doesn't seem very refined and is a bit rough on my nose but i wouldn't say i dislike it, its nice enough as an informal scent but personally i wouldn't wear it.

    29th March, 2010

    rating


    Encre Noire by Lalique

    A forest bonfire with a bucket of water thrown over it..

    This is the most challenging fragrance i've smelt to date. I bought it blind based on so many good reviews and wanting to own a quality vetiver scent.
    The scent is not a million miles away from vetiver essential oil just with its inherent dirty green bitterness but with the edges smoothed out.
    This scent also taught me some important lessons in application. This is VERY powerful stuff and the first day i received it i overapplied and it became a bit too much for me. Also this scent really works best from the sillage, smelt up close on the skin or on clothes it personally can remain too bitter for me initially but nose held a few inches away is wonderful.
    There is also something very unusual about the drydown, typical at first with vetiver mellowing and joining with some wood then a while later the vetiver seems to come back in full force and slaps you in the face like a damp smoking tree branch.

    21st March, 2010

    rating


    Eau d'Hadrien by Annick Goutal

    I tried this yesterday for the first time and thought it was ok at first, nothing amazing, nothing offensive but the smell was tugging at my memory trying to extract the memory where i had smelt this before. After an hour the answer arrived .... Urinal Cakes!

    21st March, 2010

    rating


    La Nuit de L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    A nice enough smell but not very distinctive.
    I get a sort of gingery/spice citrus at the start which gives way to amber/hint of vanilla base.

    15th March, 2010

    rating


    Burberry the Beat for Men by Burberry

    Just sprayed this on my hand to test about an hour ago and to my mind it hasn't changed or evolved one little bit .... just a green pepper smell and not a very clean or natural one either.
    No thanks.

    15th March, 2010

    rating


    Guerlain Homme by Guerlain

    Being relatively new to fragrances Guerlain were the first fragrance house i really found that stood out from the crowd and i invested in a bottle of L'Instant which i've never regretted and i intend to buy others in the range at some point in the future.
    Guerlain Homme however doesn't stand out to me and falls in with many other releases by other brands. Don't get me wrong its a nice enough sweet scent but not destined to become a classic Guerlain like Vetiver or Habit Rouge.

    15th March, 2010

    rating


    No. 88 by Czech & Speake

    This really is such an intriguing addictive smell and i keep going back to the sample i have just for one more sniff as it does stand out from many of the fragrances i've tried.
    For me it makes me think of something a 1000yr old vampire would wear, old musty coffins, dark dried roses and i love it purely for the scent.
    Unfortunately i'm still unsure about buying it as i can't imagine many scenarios where i personally would reach for it. Still a big thumbs up from me for the scent.

    15th March, 2010

    rating


    Only The Brave by Diesel

    Wow, i think this is the first (arrrggghh get it off me) scent i've ever tried and i've sampled lots recently.
    Firstly, the smell could be the most amazing mana from heaven but in THAT bottle it still wouldn't go near my wardrobe.
    The actual real smell is terrible anyway, synthetic off-smelling cheap lemons dries down to boring powder base and in the end i didn't need to scrub it off as longevity was poor aswell.
    Avoid!

    14th March, 2010

    rating


    Usher for Men by Usher

    I'm always dubious of any scent that's been given a celebrity identity (do they have ANY input regarding the outcome of the scent?) and i doubt very much they wear it themselves.
    Anyway, its hard to review this one as there is nothing really special to pick up on good or bad, typical citrus blast opening, then soap, then musk. Its just OK, not offensive but certainly no head turner either.

    14th March, 2010

    rating


    Light Blue Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

    Not a bad scent, just not very special or distinctive and there are better similar citrus type scents out there for the same money.

    24th May, 2009

    rating


    Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier

    Waaaay to sweet and sickly, not for me, bottle is terrible aswell.

    24th May, 2009

    rating


    Infusion d'Homme by Prada

    Wasn't too sure about this at first, very different from the fragrances i'm used to. It is a very soapy smell and reminds me of "imperial leather" soap but a lot more refined and elegant. I have come to appreciate this more over time and enjoy wearing it. More suitable for work rather than a night out as it doesn't really draw attention but is very clean smelling, inoffensive with amazing longevity and just as you think the scent has faded it has a strange way of waking up again for another round.

    14.03.2010
    Had a change of heart with this one, it is as i said above "refined, clean smelling, inoffensive with amazing longevity" but also very very boring after a while.
    After a few hours i want to remove it so i can smell something exciting again.
    Its not that its a bad scent or poorly made but i now find it very one dimensional.
    Thumbs Up is now a Neutral for me.

    19th May, 2009 (Last Edited: 14th March, 2010)

    Showing 1 to 15 of 15.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000