Reviews by Mike_C

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.
    rating


    Himalaya by Creed

    Opens with a disappointingly generic bouquet of fresh citrus notes - a scent which persists throughout the long life of this fragrance. After a while a more exotic incense note filters through but Himalaya simply doesn't do enough to be more than just an upmarket version of any number of standard men's scents.
    A good while into the fragrance's lifespan, however, the incense gives way to a very pleasant amber base note, which ends Himalaya on a sophisticated plus - and putting it into thumbs-up territory for me.

    23 May, 2004

    rating


    Néroli Sauvage by Creed

    My favourite Creed fragrance. Warm, coppery citrus notes frame a clean but sexy neroli heart. As the scent dries down, a sophisticated woody base emerges, which persists subtly throughout the day. Nicely balanced between the dryness of the wood notes and a sweeter ambery musk. While the neroli note is fleeting, enough of the orange and mandarin in the top notes remain to lend a fresh tone to the base.
    Creed seems to be very good at prolonging the effect of citrus notes without making the wearer smell like a lavatory air freshener, which often seems to be the case with "long-lasting" mass-market fragrances.
    Very polished, very smooth: I think it's sublime. Full marks!

    23 May, 2004

    rating


    Vétiver by Creed

    Pity Creed doesn't make fragrances like this anymore. Vetiver is has a little mint, some ginger and possibly nutmeg, all of which take the edge off the strong, dry Vetiver grass. Creed's Vetiver also has a pleasant mineral quality - something in the composition reminds me of wet limestone. Subtle, distinguished, complex: It's not as good as Vetiver Extraordinaire (Frederic Malle) or Route du Vetiver (Maitre Parfumeur) but it is many times better than anything Creed has produced in its Millisime range.

    09 September, 2003

    rating


    Tabaróme Millésime by Creed

    The only Creed millisime that turns foul on my skin. I can't really give a fair comment on it because of that but I dare say that if you are a fan of Creed Millisimes you will probably enjoy this one, but do try it before buying.

    09 September, 2003

    rating


    Royal Water by Creed

    Very powerful and floral. If you want a supercharged CK1 on steroids, this is for you. Otherwise avoid. On the plus side it is a slight departure from Creed's often tiresome Millisime range - the ambergris and musk signature note is not so obvious, though as the scent progresses the musk does make an entrance.

    09 September, 2003

    rating


    Cuiron Pour Homme by Helmut Lang

    Cuiron has all the makings of a contemporary classic. Great, unfussy packaging. A fragrance that is masculine but not so much that it makes you want to go and live in the woods. An artful, enigmatic structure that will draw you back again and again to try to figure out its secrets. The wife likes it as well. What more could you ask for?

    12 May, 2003

    rating


    Baldessarini by Baldessarini

    I think this talk about 'mature' fragrances is just another marketing ruse. Sure, packaging-wise this looks like the kind of fragrance aimed at older men, but don't be fooled - the important element, the fragrance itself, is nothing remarkable. It has an unpleasant, sickly sweetness that dries down after an hour or so to a less offensive base. I couldn't describe it as grown-up or particularly classy: If you're looking for a fragrance that really separates the men from the boys, try Vetiver by Guerlain.

    12 May, 2003

    rating


    Monsieur de Givenchy by Givenchy

    Your correspondent might be interested to know that rather than delete MdeG Givenchy has re-released it, at least in France, in an updated bottle and slightly different packaging. Actually hasn't changed much - the lines are sleeker, it looks more modern, and the fragrance doesn't seem to have changed at all. Givenchy Gentleman has had the same makeover. It's good to see the company keeping these old favourites going - Monsieur de Givenchy is a classic, in my opinion. It has much more depth and individuality than some products from certain supposedly 'exclusive' French perfume houses...

    12 May, 2003

    rating


    Essenza di Zegna by Ermenegildo Zegna

    Another one of those fragrances for mature men. Essenza di Zegna seems to be aiming for the market previously occupied by fragrances like the original Armani. Sure enough, it is strongly reminiscent of the Armani classic, even down to the pointless base on the bottle. A little lighter than Armani, though - imagine a blend of Armani and Aqua di Gio and you're about there. Sadly its middle note smelt unpleasantly marine on me - get this one if you fancy a twist on a classic, but be sure to test it first.

    12 May, 2003

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.