Perfume Reviews

Reviews by dw1243

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 17
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

RSVP by Kenneth Cole

RSVP is by no means original but this interesting mix of Gucci Envy and Burberry London is very good. For starters it is much less expensive than either of its parents, and lasts longer than london. It starts off with citrus and light florals with topnotes of grapefruit, iris, and lavender. From then on it morphs into a sweet creamy woods with notes of sandalwood and cedar. Contrary to the poster before me I believe this could work for any age group, and is best suited for winter. The longevity on me is about 6-8 hours and the basenotes last quite awhile. For some reason I think this smells exactly like the cologne counter at Dillards.... weird because I'm positive they don't sell it there.
26th June, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Old Spice by Procter & Gamble

I first came upon the scent of Old Spice in a deodorant, I loved it from the first sniff clean masculine and quite refined sitting there amongst the various axes and tags. I then decided to purchase the cologne. I was very disappointed, it seems as though the subtle slightly powdery deodorant was a reflection of the drydown. I was stuck wearing a very loud obnoxious old man scent for quite some time before it came into its own. I adore that nice subtle, sweet, and powdery mix that the drydown is but I cannot stand the first 2 hours.
25th June, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Aqua pour Homme Marine by Bulgari

I tested this out at the store expecting it to be your run of the mill aquatic, that is exactly what I got but with only a slight hint to tell the difference between other aquatics. Also the scent faded pretty fast on my skin. My personal aquatic is Dunhill Desire Blue lasts all day, gets tons of compliments, and is fairly cheap
19th June, 2009
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Axe Essence by Axe / Lynx

This Axe bodyspray/deodorant smells like a very generic sport deodorant smell. The only things that I really pick up from the mix is a very prominent icy hot/tiger balm note and a weird 10 year-old herb scent.... If you must use Axe at least use the halfway passable Phoenix
16th June, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Halston 1-12 by Halston

This particular cologne is very strongly green, and not in a good "rainy day" moss kind of smell, or even fresh green along the lines of Cool Water and the such. No, 1-12 smells of musty old moss ala Grey Flannel. I happen to be one of the people that thinks Flannel can only be worn by 90 year olds and and could be more aptly named " Essential Oil of Oakmoss". At least 1-12 has a little more to it then Flannel, that said I still find this to be an utterly repulsive frag. I had high expectations for this fragrance considering I adore its counterpart Z-14. The only good thing about this is that now that its discontinued it can be found on the racks of Marshalls for 10 bucks.
14th June, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Fierce by Abercrombie & Fitch

The stores reek of it and the bottle is one reason your girlfriend might suspect you're gay, not a bad smell just put out into the market rather poorly.Hopefully Hollister and all the like stores will learn that cologne is not made to douse the racks with
12th June, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Zen (original / black) by Shiseido

Well my crush wears this and I hugged her fairly recently.... I didn't smell it at all, I can't give it a thumbs down since I haven't tried it but no longevity or sillage thats for sure.
04th June, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Claiborne for Men by Liz Claiborne

This is a great cologne, I was looking for a fresh-green cologne to add to my collection and I ended up sampling it at TJ Maxx. Instead of a generic citrus top it starts off with grapefruit which is definitely nice considering most colognes you can't detect any specific fruit when it comes to citrus. One of my favorite notes in a fragrance is juniper and Claiborne doesn't disappoint, it also comes off with a pine needle note that is just fantastic. The crowning achievement is the fact that it only cost me $12. Overall this is a great cologne that starts out with a melon/grapefruit top, a juniper/pine middle and a warm ambery/sandalwood bottom.
03rd June, 2009 (last edited: 05th June, 2009)
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Brut by Fabergé

I know your not supposed to do this but I mixed Brut in with a few other colognes to make a really good one. I used the cheap plastic brut as the base frag because I like brut but I think its too powerful, I then added some Grey Flannel(another cologne I think is disgusting alone) to give it a natural smell, and then some drugstore aquatic to give it a fresh citrus top. I then added some PS(way too vannilly and musky alone) to give it some sweetness, and some Drakkar Noir for the Juniper. All these very powerful colognes together make a nice blend of spicy woods, sweet musk, juniper, oak moss, citrus, and metallic notes. It is perfect for fall and winter and opens up fresh and crisp with lots of foresty citrus for the top notes, it then dries down to a slightly sweet sexy woods smell. P.S. I just played it by ear so if anyone actually decides to make this comment on my profile for the basic measurements
31st May, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Casual for Men by Paul Sebastian

I just bought Casual earlier today-- I was strapped for cash and could only spend $10(by the way I'm thirteen) This was a blind buy because I wasn't able to open the packaging, because it was the cheapest cologne at tg maxx I bought it. This is a great day scent during the colder months and is a great evening fragrance year-round. It starts out fresh and dries down to a great outdoorsy, manly, and flowery smell. This is one of the only Paul Sebastian colognes that I feel isn't just for old people. This is also a nice subtle date scent although I prefer more oriental fragrances when on a date. ps it says its discontinued but I found a whole bunch of it at the store.
25th May, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Desire Blue by Dunhill

a great blue scent that starts out very citrusy and drys down to a very oceanic soapy scent with nice fruit and light musk notes found it at tj maxx $26
22nd May, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Mambo for Men by Liz Claiborne

the summer edition-mambo mix is a great spicy fruity scent great longevity too a must have
22nd May, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Brut Revolution by Fabergé

a very good drugstore fragrance its very inoffensive and lasts reasonably long for an aquatic the neutral rating is for the price and that for the same price you could grab a bottle of Halston's Unbound which is a better option for an aquatic scent
17th May, 2009
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Halston Z-14 by Halston

very good fragrance for people who want to wear a casual scent with a little more presence to it than an aquatic. the lemon makes it a very good scent for any season though is especially suited for the fall. longevity is awesome
17th May, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Grey Flannel by Geoffrey Beene

When I first smelled grey flannel i was a little shocked, an immediate burst of oakmoss was all I smelled. I put it on and with one spray I officially smelled like a tree. Once it dries down it is an ok scent but when the girls smell it they cringe. If you want a green fragrance that doesn't make you smell like a tree that doused itself in essential oils of moss then get Hugo--the "green" in it isn't nearly as strong and it is a very well blended fragrance. Now I know what they use in nursing homes that makes the old people stink.
17th May, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche

a very nice oakmossy fragrance. the juniper is probably one of my favorite things about it . it gets a bad rapp because way to many people put way to much n
17th May, 2009
dw1243 Show all reviews
United States

Adidas Moves by Adidas

Moves in my opinion smells very good for the first few hours the citrus and ginger really makes it a very sporty fresh scent, the longevity isnt that great and what was really disappointing was that upon the drydown it started smelling pretty gross and it was like the whole fragrance just turned on itself, there are better options out there for a sporty scent but the top notes on this are good enough to give it a neutral
17th May, 2009