Reviews by mikey_p

    Showing 1 to 30 of 137.
    rating


    28 La Pausa by Chanel

    Maybe its just me, but this does nothing for me whatsoever. I've never been particularly of iris on its own as, well, I find it rather boring and its just too grey and flat. However, when added to a composition, it can add a powdery lushness like putting a chinchilla fur coat over a twinset and pearls. This however is as thin and boring as iris gets. This is iris for the sake of it and it has a depressingly flat cardboard like note which I cannot get my head round. If you like iris, Serge Lutens's marvellous balls to the wall Iris Silver Mist is probably the best example. This is a wan and expensive excuse for a fragrance, like an unfinished idea that was bottled in a hope that nobody would notice. It is also ridiculously timid and fleeting especially considering how much this stuff costs. "Emperor's New Clothes" springs to mind.........

    20th April, 2011

    rating


    Samsara by Guerlain

    Smelling Samsara gives you the same feeling as trying to eat a whole wedding cake in one sitting. It is a thunderously loud and sickly sweet confection that signalled the beginning of the end for Guerlain with its layer upon layer of shapeless and suffocating syrup and flat florals. It was totally unpredentable on its release and that may go some way to explain why I haven't smelled this on anyone for quite a while now. Hideous.

    09 April, 2011

    rating


    Green Irish Tweed by Creed

    This is basically Cool Water with a bit more cash spent on it. However, whilst it smells a bit plusher than the aforementioned, it doesn't really improve on it and at the price it is hard to see the point. It is still excellent.

    09 February, 2011

    rating


    Eau d'Hermès by Hermès

    This is rather an unusual one. Jean Cleaude Ellena's marvellous Declaration and to some extent Voyage share the same sweaty cumin and borderline unwashed note as in this Routnitska classic. This exudes quality from start to finish and gives the slightly alarming impression of soiled male underpants sprayed with eau de cologne. That sounds like a criticism but it isnt as this gives it a rather touching and somewhat human feel. When i wear this alone in bed, I cant help but feel as though I have company. Beautiful.

    08 February, 2011

    rating


    Tom of Finland by Etat Libre d'Orange

    Leather, rubber and tar counterbalanced by a slug of sparkling aldehydes. I keep getting visions of Marilyn Monroe singing Happy Birthday Mr. President in a gay leather bar. Absolutely delicious.

    07 February, 2011

    rating


    Champaca Absolute by Tom Ford

    I have no idea what champaca smells like, but what I can tell is that this smells chemical and thin from the get go. Total shite.

    07 February, 2011

    rating


    White Diamonds by Elizabeth Taylor

    Yes, it does smell rather cheap but this perky little number isn't weighted down with anything more than is strictly necessary to make it fly. Aldehydes combined with tropical white flowers and soft powdery musks all add up to good cheap fun. If you find this stuff, its likely to be discounted but don't let that put you off. Recommended.

    07 February, 2011

    rating


    Paris by Yves Saint Laurent

    I must admit that I have a slight problem with Sophia Grojsman's work. Whilst her compositions ofter work rather well, they all seem to share a rather chemical and strident nature. Paris is no exception starting off with a blast of violets and a rose that is so sweet and cloying that i feel like i need to step out for air. Even when she is allowed a much larger budget than usual, as she probably had for frederic Malle, she produced Outrageous!, as chemical and cheap as any of her previous offerings. Sorry, no can do.

    25 January, 2011

    rating


    Cool Water by Davidoff

    The epitome of slick efficient design, this missile is locked on from the get go and takes off with a mighty whoosh. It is vulgar, slightly rude but absolutely delicious.A masterpiece of cheap and effective perfumery that smells as good as it ever did and costs next to nothing. What's not to like?

    19 January, 2011

    rating


    Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

    Ok, now it doesnt smell much like leather to me, but it does smell alot like cocaine. In fact, when I tested this, I blushed and looked in shock to see if anyone had noticed. It even induces paranoia.

    03 January, 2011

    rating


    Tom Ford for Men by Tom Ford

    So, what does Tom Ford bring to the world of fragrance? In this case, suprisingly little. Maybe its just me, maybe I was expecting more but this is just so boring. It smells like a generic masculine deodorant and there is no way I'm going to pay over £30 for the priviledge.

    03 January, 2011

    rating


    Love in Black by Creed

    There are very few fragrances which make me recoil in horror. Love in Black is one of them. It is a confused and cocaphonous mix of bizarre notes which have no place in a fine fragrance whatsoever, linseed oil and methylated spirit being two of them. This olfactory hallucination is both alarming and disturbing. Not much else I need to say here. An absolute disaster.

    03 January, 2011

    rating


    1881 by Cerruti

    Cerruti 1881 opens with a blast of juniper, pine and citrus and initially veers a little close to what could be yet another trite "fresh" masculine. From then on, the angular chypre nature of this delightful fragrance begins to emerge, growing stronger and slightly more animalic. This animalic edge never leaves extending to the beautiful radiant and powdery drydown which lasts and lasts. If like me, you find Chanel Pour Monsier a little too sweet and timid, this is basically the aforementioned without the sweetness stripped slightly barer but more legible. This has been described as vulgar by many, and to some extent it is, but that is in no way a bad thing as it sets it apart from the anonymous, washed "sport" fragrances that have plagued the last 20 years. It is also suprisingly inexpensive. Wonderful.

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    Sunflowers by Elizabeth Arden

    Once innovative and inspiring, now tired and overdone. The Calone/Helional overdose was very much of its time and made this memorable. However, this can me smelled miles away and is totally unpresentable. I'm totally over the 90's.

    18 September, 2009

    rating


    Vera Wang by Vera Wang

    Thoroughly cheap, nasty and hideous from every angle. I felt insulted whilst smelling this.Total garbage.

    19 July, 2009

    rating


    Clean Provence by Clean

    If soap smelled like this I would dispense with bathing altogether. Harsh, cheap and barely fit for a room spray.

    04 July, 2009

    rating


    J'Adore by Christian Dior

    This is an acceptable quality fresh floral but nothing particularly interesting. The Absolu version boosts the florals so much more beautifully, that this version seems oddly redundant.

    11th June, 2009

    rating


    Infusion de Fleur d'Oranger by Prada

    Yes, I smell the expected neroli but the dominant tuberose in this fragrance forces it to veer uncomfortably close to the dismal Amarige. After that unfortunate association, it was all downhill and I abandoned any hope of liking this.

    08 June, 2009

    rating


    Amarige by Givenchy

    Tuberose's reputation has been damaged almost irrepairably by this most horrid affair. If I were her I would sue.

    01st June, 2009

    rating


    Nina (new) by Nina Ricci

    Fruity, fun and fizzy, this sparkling carefree sugar-pop should have been a load of crap. But it isn't. This is cutesy perfumery at its best and is a million times better than it had to be. The mixture of vanilla and fruit conjures up ice cream, tangy sorbets and Soda Stream. Achingly delicious from every angle.

    17 May, 2009

    rating


    Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

    Something is missing from this. What I smelled today is at first, quite like the original I remember from my youth. However, the reformulation of this once great fragrance has robbed it of its originality and has aged it a decade, placing its banal, woody drydown firmly in the late 70's with a million other forgettable fougeres.

    17 May, 2009

    rating


    L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme by Guerlain

    Whilst this is unquestionably made of quality ingredients, this Guerlain release leaves me feeling somewhat unfulfilled. I smell the rose, the bergamot and the anise, but the overall effect seems dated and stuffy. If you like Habit Rouge and want something flatter and less impressive, this one is for you.

    12 May, 2009

    rating


    Safari for Men by Ralph Lauren

    An uninteresting and somewhat cheap smelling composition which does little to hold my attention.

    11th May, 2009

    rating


    Eau du Coq by Guerlain

    True to its name and one of the best genuine colognes that money can but. Orange blossom, bergamot and petitgrain. Elegant and uncomplicated, simplicity at its best.

    11th May, 2009

    rating


    Aramis by Aramis

    This still smells just as good as it ever did. Aramis is one of the finest leather chypres around and is shockingly inexpensive. It is bold and lush without the almost borderline vulgarity of Azzaro PH. Delicious.

    11th May, 2009

    rating


    Guess Men (original) by Guess

    The shokingly repulsive smell of hot vinyl and overheated electronics. Now, let's bottle it and sell it! Nice work!

    03 May, 2009

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Intensa by Acqua di Parma

    A beautifully constructed fragrance but less so than the original and also lacks its luxurious feel. It is an elegant woody floral of decent quality but is somewhat non descript and lacking in originality. You could do alot worse.

    24 April, 2009

    rating


    Sa Majesté la Rose by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    A drop dead gorgeous soapy lemony rose of fuschia and red, young, pretty and sexy. The Lolita of roses.

    24 April, 2009

    rating


    Le Baiser by Lalique

    Sweet, cheap, nasty and flat as a fart. This wouldn't even be acceptable as a room fragrance, as it actually stinks.

    24 April, 2009

    rating


    Reflection Man by Amouage

    A total disaster from the house of Amouage. This is the only fragrance in the men's lineup which seems totally lacking in quality. It is as if the budget was blown on all the others and there was only a pittance left. It also seems particularly shapeless, much like the hideous Gucci II. In a word, horrific.

    22 April, 2009

    Showing 1 to 30 of 137.