Reviews by pansylady

    pansylady's avatar
    pansylady
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 30 of 69.
    rating


    Kim Kardashian by Kim Kardashian

    I would probably have never tried this fragrance had it not been for the helpful SA- since I'm not attracted to celebrity labels- but I was very pleasantly surprised by this one- beautiful composition, great longevity, and a cool-looking bottle to boot1

    What I especially love about this fragrance is how it allows three of my favorite white flower notes to individually shine- first, gardenia- then tuberose, and finally, orange blossom-

    This is unusual for me, because usually orange blossom drowns out the other white flowers- or I just get an overall white flower accord-


    Nice job!

    17 June, 2012

    rating


    Tubereuse 2 La Virginale by Histoires de Parfums

    I am in love with this fragrance! Tuberose laced with black cherry pipe tobacco- a good unisex fragrance, in my opinion-

    18 August, 2011

    rating


    Orange Star by Tauer

    This fragrance is intriguing- I smell honeyed incense, rather than any of the notes listed-the longevity is fantastic!

    Seems to belong to the same family as Miel de Bois and Alien Liqeuer- deep, throaty, very sensual-

    29 July, 2011

    rating


    Eau d'Orange Verte by Hermès

    I love citrus notes, and so expected to love this one, but it definitely gave me the impression of a shaving cream scent...

    25 July, 2011

    rating


    Fleurs d'Oranger by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    I sampled this fragrance on a sunny February morning in Stockholm, as I was just beginning to recover from a case of winter bronchitis that had me home-bound and unable to smell anything for a few weeks-

    Wow, I felt as if I had been given an injection of some kind of feel-good mega-vitamin! The sheer exuberance of this orange blossom powerhouse was definitely what the doctor ordered!

    As the cumin notes began to make their presence known, though, I got a bit of a locker-room vibe- incredibly animalic, almost embarassingly so- I was glad that I wasn't in a roomful of strangers or on a crowded Metro...

    Having recently tried other orange blossom fragrances by Prada and L'Artisan, Fleurs d'Oranger definitely stood head and shoulders above the other two for power and originality- but this fragrance seems built for seduction rather than for everyday use-

    25 July, 2011

    rating


    Violetta de Bosco by I Profumi di Firenze

    It seems like many violet dominant scents veer into the directions of cloyingly candy-sweet, woody/dusty/powdery, or synthetic- Fortunately, this is not the case with Violetta di Bosco!

    This scent strikes the perfect balance between sweet, green and woody- I love it!

    26 January, 2011

    rating


    Fracas by Robert Piguet

    White flower heaven- sweet miracle of love, at last I've found you...!

    Don't mind me- I'm excited! This is the first fragrance that is older than me that makes me wax rhapsodically!

    It is a floral paradox- despite being incredibly potent and longlasting, and a sillage-meister to boot, it is as sweet and traditionally feminine as a valentine heart with a doily behind it, but is sophisticated as well-

    I don't get the femme fatale of the nighttime vibe from this one, as many others do- I think Fracas has a clean and soapy quality, making it just fine for the day light hours- there's a spearmint vibe in the top notes, and then a floral soapiness that reminds me so much of Oscar-

    I can not get over just how potent this is- I have a 1 cc vial, and have used less than a fifth of it so far, and have gotten two full days of pleasure from this-

    08 October, 2010

    rating


    After My Own Heart by Ineke

    This scent makes me think of those sunny fall days following a rainy period when the spring flowers are tricked into thinking that it;'s time to bloom again-

    After My Own Heart skips the top notes on me, as sun-warmed lilac immediately grabs the steering wheel- then the ambery base notes start to take over, and it's a tug of war between the spring heart notes and the autumnal base notes, until fall finally takes hold...

    25 September, 2010 (Last Edited: 03 October, 2010)

    rating


    Olène by Diptyque

    This scent immediately made me feel nostalgic- and after an hour or so, I determined which olfactory memory from childhood was being triggered- Camay soap!

    As a child, I was so fascinated by the pretty pastel soap with the cameo image of a lady's head in profile- and I thought that it smelled heavenly, too- still do...

    This scent is incredibly long-lasting!

    19 September, 2010

    rating


    Poême by Lancôme

    This is a very powerful orange blossom scent- it reminds me quite a bit of Serge Lutens's Fleurs d'Oranger-

    It is so potent that I smelled it 24 hours later, after having showered and applied a different fragrance- wow!

    29 August, 2010

    rating


    Eaudemoiselle by Givenchy

    This fragrance definitely has an interesting rose-y vintage vibe in the early and mid phases- but strangely enough, it morphed into something citrus/green and modern a la Chanel Chance eau Fraiche in the bottom notes- I prefered the early and mid phases of this one.

    27 July, 2010 (Last Edited: 04 September, 2010)

    rating


    Osmanthus by Keiko Mecheri

    This scent left me with the impression of a sun warmed plum blossom, rather than osmanthus. It was pleasant enough, but I agree that the true osmanthus scent was not captured here.

    24 July, 2010 (Last Edited: 03 October, 2010)

    rating


    SummerbyKenzo by Kenzo

    After an initial blast of alcohol, white flower sweetness underscored by smoky musk-

    28 June, 2010

    rating


    Miracle by Lancôme

    Amber, amber, amber, from top to bottom- and reminds me a great deal of one of the most popular shampoos of the 70s- "Gee, Your Hair Smells Terrific!" Somehow, it doesn't match the pink color of the fluid at all, to me- it's much more of a golden scent-
    If you love amber or the smell of GYHST you will definitely like this-

    Staying power is good- but these notes don't agree with me-

    28 June, 2010

    rating


    Eau du Ciel by Annick Goutal

    On me, Eau de Ciel manifests as an orange blossom scent with green, slightly pungent top notes that quickly give way to a soapy sweetness-

    This is, by far, one of the more potent Annick Goutal scents- I put on less than half of a ml yesterday afternoon, smelled it all evening, and even picked up hints of it this morning!

    Pleasant and appealing, like a walk through a sunny field full of clover and wildflowers!

    28 June, 2010

    rating


    Miel de Bois by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    This fragrance is seductive and innocent at the same time- the combination of honey, wood, and animalic notes makes me imagine a sexy milkmaid in a Thomas Hardy setting who smells of bee hives, meadows, and a roll in the hay!

    15 June, 2010

    rating


    Après L'ondée by Guerlain

    This fragrance certainly brings a high level of expectation, with so many rhapsodic reviews... I have just begun to explore it's depths, so these are first impressions:

    I'm initially put off by the sharp top notes- but there's something oddly appealing about the slightly medicinal (calamine lotion) yet somehow warm vanilla/violet mid and basenotes-

    It's funny, but I have picked up this calamine lotion vibe from a few other scents- La Chasse aux Papillons by L'Artisan, Today by Avon, and L'Heure Bleue- I wish I could identify the source...

    19 May, 2010

    rating


    Absynthe by Christian Lacroix

    Absynthe is an intriguing fragrance... a paradox of warm and shimmery cool notes.

    The top notes are decided unisex in nature- sharp, green, and citrusy- but it develops into a very warm and woody floral- and I agree with Nebraska, the longevity is quite good.

    09 May, 2010

    rating


    Rouge by Christian Lacroix

    Very nice fragrance- I love the warm citrus opening, as well as its floral development- and I thought I didn't like peony fragrances! This one proves me wrong...

    09 May, 2010

    rating


    Versace by Versace

    I just smelled this for the first time a few weeks ago and my first thought was "mmmm...grapes!" On checking the notes, I was amused at seeing that wisteria is listed as one of the top notes- I had always thought that wisteria smelled like grapes, but wondered if it was attributed to visually associating grapes with the purple dangling clusters on the wisteria bush- now I'm thinking there is more to it than that!

    This is a very enjoyable fragrance that I can imagine wearing for any occasion, in any season...

    09 May, 2010

    rating


    Today by Avon

    A very appealing orange blossom fragrance, in my book- suitable for day or evening, any kind of weather- a real winner for Avon!

    09 May, 2010

    rating


    Julia by Téo Cabanel

    As soon as I opened the bottle, I knew this was going to be trouble... sure enough- the fruit notes in this fragrance somehow managed to smell sour and fermented at the same time- really disappointing

    11th February, 2010

    rating


    La Chasse Aux Papillons by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    I got an odd reaction with this scent on my skin- about an hour or two after application, it smelled like calamine lotion to me! I get a similar experience with L'Heure Bleue- must be a chemistry thing. It's not appalling, but it is strange-

    11th February, 2010

    rating


    Eau de Givenchy by Givenchy

    Spearmint, muguet, jasmine, moss- the notes sounded so fresh to me- but what I got instead was stale and uninspiring, unfortunately- the overwhelming scent impression that I got was "wet hay".

    11th February, 2010

    rating


    Aimez-Moi by Caron

    The first few times I smelled Aimez-Moi, my nose recoiled a bit at the harsh anise notes, which seemed medicinal to me- I was intrigued, though, and ordered a sample- and each time I wore it, I fell deeper and deeper in love with it's velvety violet heart. Some of the notes are cool, but there is a warm blanket component to it as well- utterly beguiling!

    11th February, 2010

    rating


    Infusion de Fleur d'Oranger by Prada

    oops- my review of fleur d'oranger belongs here instead-
    the infusion is somewhat bland, not much staying power- disappointing

    04 December, 2009

    rating


    Waikiki Pikake by Pacifica

    The scent of the soap was absolutely glorious, and I think it had tiny bits of rose petals in it, too- haven't tried the spray cologne

    04 December, 2009

    rating


    Malibu Lemon Blossom by Pacifica

    i only had the body butter and soap- but can speak highly of this scent- it has earthy but subtle dimensions beyond citrus which raises it above the level of lemon drops, in my opinion- I would definitely buy it again

    04 December, 2009

    rating


    Lovely by Sarah Jessica Parker

    Lots of sharp points here, but alluringly feminine all the same- I really enjoyed this one and would buy it again- and the bottle is nice to have around, too- piquant and energizing, yet not "in your face" about it-

    04 December, 2009

    rating


    4 Fleurs d'Oranger by Prada

    seemed a little bland to me- I am surprised to see so many ingredients in it- very little staying power

    04 December, 2009

    Showing 1 to 30 of 69.