Perfume Reviews

Reviews by dreese

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 85
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Halston 1-12 by Halston

There are light, sublime touches of lemon, basil, juniper, carnation, and jasmine that show through the cedarwood and mossy base. This smells like laying beneath a large oak while each note appears like sunlight shining through the leaves above you. Distinctly masculine, green, and powerful. One of the very few 80s masterpieces that still smells the same now as it did back then.
05th November, 2017
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Cuba Wild Heart by Cuba Paris

This is pleasant, but unremarkable. It has a common citrus-floral-wood shape and smells similar to about 26 other fragrances on the market right now. Very nice blended and linear, but longevity and sillage are only marginal. This is quite nice, but I doubt it will turn any heads.
05th November, 2017
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Life by Nautica

Finally, after having worn 8 other sub-par fragrances from Nautica, I find one that is truly maginificent. The canvas/sailcloth undertone present in most Nautica scents is thankfully absent. The light and beautiful shape of the aquatic tones on a finely honed woody bass give this fragrance an undeniable seafaring spirit. This gives an impression of taking in the sun, the wind, and the seaspray at the helm of a sailboat. Every element is here.
05th November, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

dreese Show all reviews
United States

Curve Chill for Men by Liz Claiborne

Much respect to this sophisticated niche scent. I expected the citrus to dominate the scent, since the citrus features so prominently in so many fragrances these days, but there is a beautiful interplay going on here where the citrus combines with the bergamot and violet and lays just underneath them. The aldehydes, white pepper, and a tiny drop of green tea are like a binder that holds together the top and bottom layers. So achingly wonderful. I'm unsure what season Chill was meant for, but it is Spring now and I adore hearing and seeing Vivaldi's "La Primavera" during each whiff of this throughout the day.
05th May, 2017
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Old Spice Bearglove by Procter & Gamble

Apparently bears keep lots of melon in their gloves. I mean, a lot of melon. All kinds. These woods are covered in melon. Not bad if you like that sort of scent.
17th March, 2017
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Oscar de la Renta pour Lui by Oscar de la Renta

This is the modern version. Nothing positive to say. Far too syrupy sweet, moderately synthetic, low-rent floral.
29th December, 2016
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Perry Ellis Night by Perry Ellis

The first few times I wore this, it seemed to me to be another generic citrus scent, and that the "night" moniker was amiss. During a contemplative moment on a gloomy day when I was wearing it, I took a deep breath and a realization dawned upon me like a lightning bolt; it was a pure moment where a work of art hits home, like getting lost in a Van Gogh painting. During the middle of Night, the citrus retreats beneath a rich, dark, repining cedar and amber blanket laid out under a sensual canopy of bergamot stars in a cloudlit Night sky.
Yes, it is a Night fragrance, and these moments in the middle are sublime.
21st August, 2016 (last edited: 28th August, 2016)
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Reserve for Men by Perry Ellis

This is Eternity For Men. How has nobody noticed this?
27th May, 2016
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Christian Audigier For Him by Ed Hardy [Christian Audigier]

Do I have the right fragrance? I don't get any leather from this, but the scent overall is remarkably similar to Givenchy's Xeryous Rouge. The base seems constructed of the rum, vetiver, and pomello in place of XR's kumquat body. The berry does not go away for me, but lurks beneath the top layers of rum and vetiver and touches of saffron and moss. Stays close to the skin and lovely if you like the weirdness of XR, you'll like this also.
17th February, 2016
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Mediterráneo by Antonio Banderas

This starts out as a pleasant citrus, albeit with an ambiguous tartness inside. This heart is peppery and slightly reminiscent of fig, turning the blend with the citrus into an odd, green-olive-tinged summer scent.
Perhaps this was intended, but I'm not a fan of it.
30th July, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Avant Garde by Lanvin

This is a honey-tobacco symphony, elegant and refined. The shape is bold, but low-to-middle projection makes it a close-up secret. The notes are well-balanced and it feels that each ingredient appears in equal measure. Some here say that they don't detect the wax/honey, but I can detect it underneath the tobacco; for me they are intertwined.
20th June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

4711 Ice Green by 4711

This is lime and musk drenched in menthol and alcohol so intense that it burns the skin. This makes you smell like you are soused on gin. Thankfully it does not last.....
20th June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

True Blue Samba Man by Perfumer's Workshop

Vanilla, jasmine, apple, and fir balsam. This is a simple, linear, and uncomplicated scent. It is not reminiscent of the "blue" fragrances, but does follow Samba's pattern of blending florals, fruit, and woods into each mixture. It is not bad, but it is also unremarkable.
13th June, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

dreese Show all reviews
United States

Samba for Men by Perfumer's Workshop

I enjoy the Samba fragrances; this is my 6th. Oddly enough, this is the one that I fell in love with in 1991 when my wife and I first met. I purchased it hoping to recapture that deep, exotic jasmine-laced air that permeated my nights then. Sadly, you can't go back again. This has been reformulated and is a brash combination of flowers and soap which does not last. It's not bad, just not as good as the other Samba fragrances, and it's not what I wanted.
03rd June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Beckham Signature for Him by Beckham

This is beautifully balanced and lovely. The melon is muted, wrapped inside the juniper berry, cypress, and aquatic tones. It is as fresh as a light northern breeze on a Spring night and the white amber finish is long-lasting and head-turning. This will get you compliments.
01st June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Chrome Legend by Azzaro

Buysblind has this scent nailed down exactly. The synthetic portion for me comes right after application and leaves during the middle. This has a reordered construction to prevent it from smelling like so many other blue or citric scents.
20th April, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Samba Natural Man by Perfumer's Workshop

What a delightful take on the summery citrus frags! The mixed citrus, the light vetiver, and amber are shaped and held together by clear green tea tones that make up the body of the scent. Lasts well into the day and stays cheerful the entire time.
24th February, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Preferred Stock by Coty

The descriptions here are accurate, but to my nose this comes across as bitter and synthetic.
06th February, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Adidas Dynamic / Dynamic Pulse by Adidas

This type of spicy musk is at the opposite end of the spectrum from fresh, clean fragrances. It is sweet and dirty and musky and it made me smell like a guy who wears suspenders with his t-shirt while working at his flea market booth. In summary, wearing this made me ashamed.
26th December, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

AB Spirit Millionaire by Lomani

This is another of those fragrances, like 1 Million, that attempt to portray a scent of "gold". It is overly sweet on top and has a coppery bitterness inside. For those who like this type of scent, this will please you. It IS very similar to 1 Million, but with a dose of powder in the makeup that I have found in all of the AB's I have tried.
24th December, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Thallium Sport by Jacques Evard

The top is made up of bergamot, pineapple, and "oxygen accord", but just underneath this is a pronounced torso of equal parts orange, lime, and cedar. I have to say that this is a very sweet citrus bomb. Thallium Sport smells very similar to Happy by Clinique. The drydown is lovely as the musky and citrus hips begin to sway, making the whole body of the scent move in sync, the projection of a dancer in motion. This is a happy summer daytime fragrance, but with a seductive gleam in its eye as the evening comes on.

13th December, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

AB Spirit by Lomani

This is an unusual fragrance blend. The manner in which the rose, lemon, iris, and woods combine creates two strong impressions; violets and powder. The lemon stays below the floral-wood combinations. I detect traces of pepper, eucalyptus, and a licorice tone in the base and these boost the darkness of the scent.
It is definitely an evening scent and I agree with Amos Jolthead that it is too sophisticated for a younger person to pull off. The longevity and sillage are both very good, since AB Spirit is long-lived and moves around you well without being too strong.
28th June, 2014 (last edited: 07th July, 2014)
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Curve Wave for Men by Liz Claiborne

Surprised that this fragrance is so poorly received. Right out of the bottle there were two impressions; lime and fresh soap.
It is the lightest and cleanest lime I have experienced in any lime-scented frags. All other lime-based fragrances I have used pair the lime with musk; Wave doesn't. Wave combines a very bright and robust lime with a soft aquatic breeze accord made up very soft touches of juniper, mint, and anise. The shape of the scent is linear, staying the same throughout the life of the scent. It is not long-lasting, but it is casual, pleasing, and unassuming. There is some passing similarity to L'Eau de Issey in the breezy construction, but Issey's lemon and yuzu make it too sharp for me.
26th June, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Adidas Dare by Adidas

Surprised at the contemptuous reviews of this fragrance. Once again, it seems that the low price leaves a fragrance open to unwarranted derision. Being part of the Adidas line may also contribute to the poor reputation, since, in my own experience, those scents are not usually very good.

The top notes are bergamot, apple, and lime. The middle notes are rum and lavender. The base notes are vanilla, sandalwood, and leather. There is a light presence of the rum and leather during all three distinct stages of the fragrance.

The opening is identical to Givenchy Play Intense as the citrus and bergamot bloom and is every bit as pleasant. This stage is short-lived as the scent quickly transitions into a middle stage where the leather, lavender, apple, and rum rise above the citric beginning to portray a lovely, restrained, and elegant body. Longevity and projection are decent, but neither is spectacular. Overall, this fragrance is surprisingly dignified and simple.
26th June, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Bijan for Men by Bijan

This has been a tremendous disappointment for me. After all of the positive reviews, I'm left wondering if I have a bad bottle, batch, or even the right fragrance. The notes combine to make a scent so sharp that it resembles ammonia or cat pee or perhaps both. Really awful.
19th June, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Thallium by Jacques Evard

Brilliant. Opens for me with amber, cocoa, and bergamot. Quickly transitions to a middle balanced between these heady notes and a beautifully blended melange of apple, lavender, jasmine, and pineapple. There is the tiniest touch if cedar playing under these layers and together the scent is a seductive and velvet-toned song on your skin. It is strong and it is feminine, but seems to paradoxically possess a heightened masculinity nonetheless. Absolutely makes my wife salivate, and this is good.
22nd May, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Bijan VIP for Men by Bijan

I agree with both SirSlarty's first line and vawallpa's last line. The top notes are described as; lemon, sage, and sea water. The middle notes are geranium, pink pepper, suede, and paprika. The base is made up of musk, orris root, and three woods; virginia cedar, sandalwood, and guaiac wood. The spices and wood make up the heart of the scent with the lemon/citrus laying across the top. Together these make an interesting mixture, but not spectacular. Longevity is short; I could ply this stuff on with a trowel and still not get more than two hours from it.
15th May, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Cold by Benetton

This is pleasing, light, and won't offend anybody. The dominant notes upon applying are bergamot, white musk, thyme, orange, and a well-done vanilla. It seems that the red pepper, neroli, and coriander are used beneath the dominant notes and serve to boost the sweetness and remove any sharpness of the notes, making the shape of the scent softer and more rounded. If I had not seen the list of notes, I would have guessed that white tea was used in this fragrance for the way it lightens and sweetens scents, but the spicy elements in Cold surprisingly and gracefully are kept below the citrus and herbs.
It is true that is has some resemblance to CK One but the difference lies in the blending; Cold uses less citrus and is much softer on the nose and the skin. It is also true that there is a resemblance to British Sterling Silver, with the difference lying in Cold's use of a white musk and fresher overall tones compared with Sterling Silver's manly musk and stronger spices.

The longevity is good, lasting most of the day for me, but it does not project strongly. I can smell it on myself and only people that get VERY close will pick up on it. This probably won't become a signature scent for anyone, but it seems to be a nicer and lighter brother to CK One.

UPDATE: After wearing this for several months, I have discovered that the base and drydown phase of COLD is very similar to Lagerfeld. I'm now imagining that it could be considered a Lagerfeld Summer version.
16th April, 2014 (last edited: 13th July, 2014)
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Oxygène Homme by Lanvin

I think MrMookie captures this best. These notes combine for a fresh, cold, green, and ozone-filled breeze. While it is an unusual and satisfying fragrance, it is not dynamic enough to make it really special. It also does not last very long, as has been mentioned here. To get some longevity, I have to apply to skin and shirt. It has been recently discontinued, so you should act quickly if you are interested.
13th April, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

125 Years Your Companion for Life by Victorinox

I disagree that this is boring. It is amazing and it is unique. Since it has been already discontinued, you should act quickly before it is gone.
The scent does pass through 3 distinct stages; the cardamom and grapefruit blast out front and combine with the Tonka. The short-lived middle stage seems to bring the cacao and larch forward into the sweetness of the fragrance, making it spicy and creamy like peaches dipped in caramel.
The final stage is a return to the green citrus and spicy floral beginning as the hay and Tonka create a woody heart inside the grapefruit and cardamom.
Projection is good for me, but total longevity is about three hours.
12th April, 2014 (last edited: 08th May, 2014)