Reviews by xiikzodz

    Showing 1 to 8 of 8.
    rating


    Yerbamate by Lorenzo Villoresi

    Green from the top to the bottom.

    It makes its mark in the very beginning. Most other green fragrances turn grey in direct comparison.

    Then it moves towards the study of a mown hay. At first it is fresh with herbal meadow-like qualities. Then it slowly advances towards sweeter, warmer as the mown hay does when it starts to release coumarin.

    Finally, all that subsides to reveal what was there from the very beginning waiting patiently for its turn. Woody and warm, yet still quite green, character rounded up with vetiver and soothing heliotrop(ine).

    02 July, 2010

    rating


    Aoud Velvet by Montale

    Appart from fruity-gourmand notes at the opening there is an intriguing phenolic/plastic and a very dark indeed accent in it. Then the fragrance becomes a thorough study of sandalwood/oud combination. This is done by means of resonance. The vanila amplifies the milky notes and the white flowers serve the same for the floral character of the oud. Very cleverly made.

    26 June, 2010

    rating


    Molecule 02 by Escentric Molecules

    If you hang your washing out in some, to me indefinite, tree grove, on a hot day and wait till the evening it will eventually smell the way M02 smells to me. Now imagine that the scent lingers for days on everything it had contact with. If you are unfortunate enough to dislike the scent you will hate it because it just wouldn't go. To me it's a delight.

    07 April, 2010

    rating


    She Wood by Dsquared2

    Using violets to reconstruct the scent of pencil scrapings. Agreeable cedar ambery drydown.

    15 October, 2009

    rating


    He Wood by Dsquared2

    It smells like the fellow who used to renovate my place some years ago. Violets Iso E Super and musks, the edgy combination smoothened up by Vetiver.

    15 October, 2009

    rating


    Molecule 01 by Escentric Molecules

    The most synthetic, to my apparently incompetent nose, scent I know comes from one of my passion flower hybrids. Though I suppose the composition is rather intricate. It seems to be a penetrating odor of some primitive and volatile component presumably insect repellent. I came to like the scent a lot but it took some time as it is obviously an acquainted taste. The chemical supposedly responsible for the Molecule 01 scent is quite opposite to it. It, in my opinion, is smooth elegant and has a soothing effect. By no means is it a primitive olfactory experience. Apparently the trick occurs in the process of the translation of the olfactory input into the sensual experience. Just as if it were a simple key to some complex mechanism. Perhaps what I falsely read as a olfactory intricacy is simply the way my brain copes with the lack of reference. In any case the experience of M 01 is to me interesting (thumbs up for revealing how tricky scents may be) and quite pleasant. No matter the cost of the product and the components.

    11th October, 2009

    rating


    La Base for Him by Magic Helvetia

    Opens with a fine blend of spices out of which gentiana (first thing came across my mind), black elder, sage and gin are clearly palpable. If there's any citrus in it then rather in the form of the aromatic oils that some citrusy spices like coriander, basil or geranium contain. I suppose judging it in the same way as one would an office scent is a mistake. Apparently, it has no obvious pheromonic qualities - people take it rather for a hair tonic or spicy shower gel. Yet it is a intricate construction and fine art of perfumery (sadly might not last long) taking us offroads.

    02 October, 2009

    rating


    Vetiver by Guerlain

    Starts with citrusy opening than harmonizes through the lemon with the vetiver notes. The vertical smoky, incense-like line always present is introduced to the citrus by neroli. It starts with nutmeg towards cedar, sage, myrrh slowly augments the tobacco notes which, transfer the fragrance from bitter and spicy vetiver to bittersweet one.

    It seems the way to enjoy the fragrance is not to expect some vigorous follow up after the crispy opening. It is calmness that defines the smell. Green leaf, soil and sweetness of decay. Lemon-vetiver combination adds a soapy edge to this countryside experience.

    The only con, in my opinion, Guerlain's Vetiver might not appeal to nostrils made of fiberglass mounted on some heuristically analytic component dismissing the scent for its geriatric quality.

    Strongly recommended to people not afraid of occasional dirt under their finger nails.

    08 June, 2009

    Showing 1 to 8 of 8.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000