Reviews by volley2

    volley2's avatar
    volley2
    China China

    Showing 1 to 17 of 17.
    rating


    Musc Ravageur by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    As we all know, perfumery is a form of art. Sometimes, it takes time to understand and appreciate art. Musc Ravageur is one of those scents that needs patience to fully grasp the full essence of this fragrance. However, for some people, it is a love at first sniff.

    The idea of Musc Ravageur is that no floral notes have touched this 'art in a bottle'. On the initial spray, you will get a thick, deep, dark aroma with the bergamot and lavander being the prominent characters. As you move towards the heart/middle note, which is the "theme" of the perfume, you just get this delicious, sensual, highly addicting scent of gorgeousness. It is so intoxicating that if one catches a whiff of your scent trail, I wouldn't be surprised if he or she would be captivated. By the time you get to the dry down, having gone through all the phase from top to basenotes, you might be thinking what is this that you are smelling....worry no more for that is just the 'art on your skin'.

    This is definitely a cold weather scent. There must be a reason why this is one of the more popular scents from the house of Malle and if you would like to know why, then you will have to try for yourself. Just a warning, if you hate art, then be careful with this one for you can be a changed man or a woman after sniffing this.

    Highly recommended!

    23 February, 2011

    rating


    West Side by Bond No. 9

    I definitely agree with the review below, especially with Francop! One of the more interesting frags from the house of Bond no. 9. This one lasts very long. It might seem to be soft and quiet but you will be surprised, projection is actually very good. I could classify this as an elegant-unisex-not in your face rose- fragrance. Highly recommended. Thumbs up!

    15 February, 2011

    rating


    Washington Square by Bond No. 9

    There is a certain coldness to this scent. It is actually quite pleasant from start to finish. I agree with the other review here that this could pass for a unisex fragrance. One of the more interesting fragrance from this house. The purple rose, amber, leather and musk are the main players here. The honey gives it the sweetness. But it's not cloying. Thumbs up!

    11th February, 2011

    rating


    Heliotrope by Etro

    This opens up with a high dose of aromatic almond extract. Like one of those alomnd oil extracts you use for baking. Then it smoothes down to a powdery, almondy, slight floral vibe. It smells like the aroma of when you are baking almond cookies. This smells delicious. My only concern is that it doesn't project very much. It would have been nice to wear this during winter. However, it will just die down from the cold weather. Perhaps in the less colder days of autumn and spring. Highly recommend.

    07 February, 2011

    rating


    Dior Homme by Christian Dior

    Dior Homme is an utterly gorgeous scent. For the man who is confident about himself. This is a definitely a bold and daring scent. One of the best from the house of Dior. This I believe is considered a modern-classic. Definitely not a casual scent. More of like an important occasion fragrance. Highly recommend.

    07 February, 2011

    rating


    Lady Vengeance by Juliette Has a Gun

    This is a rich, dark, sweet, caramelly, smoky rose. For the younger audience looking to step it up a notch, Lady Vengeance would be a good start. Just take it easy with the sprayer because this Lady gets louder the longer it is on your skin. Highly recommended.

    07 February, 2011

    rating


    Pour Un Homme by Caron

    This scent is one of those that requires patience from the wearer. Don't be turned off by the initial spray. For the best part is yet to come. As it dries down, everything smoothes down to an irresistible aroma of soft, delicate vanilla and lavender. Though this was released in the 30's it doesn't feel dated. One of the best classics.

    07 February, 2011

    rating


    Lumière Noire pour Homme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    This smells like a bright-rich-creamy rose. It doesn't smell like literally a red rose but kind of like a 'green' rose. The patchouli in here does not give you that "dirty" feel like the dirt from the earth. It's smooth and well blended with the rose. With that said, for the rose and patchouli haters, don't worry for this one takes on a different direction. This smells elegant. Definitely not for a casual setting. Highly recommended.

    07 February, 2011

    rating


    Epic Man by Amouage

    The initial spray gives you a kaleidoscopic aroma of different exotic notes, woods, spices and incense. It is well blended that it doesn't appear like it is a messed up collage of some sort. As it cooks on your skin, all these big pile of aroma merges together into a smooth, sensual, elegant, woody, creamy aroma with a touch of incense. Very classy! Would definitely recommend this.

    29 November, 2010 (Last Edited: 29 January, 2011)

    rating


    Bulgari Black by Bulgari

    This is truly a unique scent! Everytime I smell this, it reminds me of Christmas....hmmm I don't know why. Maybe because it was Christmas time years ago when I first got my bottle of Bvlgari Black. Anyway, this scent is really gorgeous. Lately, I'm in the smokey, powdery, sweet, aromatic, vanillic, leathery kind of craze with perfumes. This one is definitely a top choice.

    13 May, 2010

    rating


    Shalimar by Guerlain

    I feel sad for people who say that this smells like an old lady. It just goes to show that they don't know how to appreciate the true art of perfumery. It is appalling that the new generation is just used to the modern perfumes where in they use synthetic ingredients as a result, it smells synthetic. Modern perfumes has lost the luster of the art of perfumery. They let the masses dictate what should be created. I am happy that Shalimar is in the world and was created years and years ago by the house of Guerlain who obviously knows the art very well and still is in the market today. This will stand as a testament/guide/memoir to the new generations to come of what the art of perfumery truly is. From the first sniff to the heart note down to the base note is stunning. This is clearly defined in Shalimar!

    11th May, 2010

    rating


    Habit Rouge by Guerlain

    I just bought the EDC version, which I adore! The first spray gives you a blast of sweet, lemony, powdery kind of smell. Later on, you get this vanillic, floral still with a touch of powder feel. Then moves to soft, vanillic, leathery feel. The development from note to note (top, heart, base) is so prominent in this cologne. Again, true art of perfumery in a bottle. This definitely does not smell any of the newer perfumes in the market. This is unique, elegant and best of all, it smells divine! I don't usually repeat any perfume in my collection. However, this one will definitely stay with me for a long time! Well done Guerlain!

    27 April, 2010

    rating


    Mitsouko by Guerlain

    Luca and Tania I now know what you mean! Mitsouko definitely smells so divine! If Hermes could market their Un Jardin collections as Unisex, this one could easily pass for both sexes. You will definitely enjoy every note (top, heart, base) of this elegance in a bottle. I bought this one without testing it, only from the great testaments that I have read. Needless to explain why this perfume still exist up to now after almost a century from its creation, you have to try for yourseld and you will know why. Forget about the "old lady" feeling of this creation. People who say this are those who only know the "common" perfumes marketed for the masses. If it smells good on you, wear it! If people don't like it and you like it, wear it! It's about time to teach new generation the real art of perfumery.

    27 April, 2010

    rating


    Bel Ami by Hermès

    This is really something different! This is not for everyone. I would say this is best used for special occassions. Take it easy on the sprayer. Wait for the dry down and that's where you'll know this perfume is really great!!!! Lasts very long!

    06 February, 2010 (Last Edited: 16 March, 2010)

    rating


    L'Ombre dans L'Eau by Diptyque

    For me, this is one of my favorite perfumes ever other than Royal Water by Creed, Colonia Intensa by Acqua di Parma, Mandragore Pourpre by Annick Goutal. I wore this one time in a company event, and a lot of my colleagues (both men and women) turned their heads to me and just had to ask me what perfume I was wearing because "it just smells gorgeous!". I call it an "aphrodisiac in a bottle." Would highly recommend this if you are going to bars, you want to know why? Well, just try this perfume and see for yourself what happens. =)

    27 January, 2010

    rating


    Royal Water by Creed

    I am not saying this just because this perfume is created in honor of Princess Diana but this perfume is just elegant! There are a lot of perfumes out there that when you spray too much on yourself, it can get annoyingly strong. However, with Royal Water, even if you spray a lot on your body, it just smells pleasant. Perfect for any occassion.

    27 January, 2010

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Intensa by Acqua di Parma

    I could simply put that scent is elegant and rich! A fragrance for a man who is sophisticated.

    14 June, 2009 (Last Edited: 29 July, 2009)

    Showing 1 to 17 of 17.