Reviews by byblos808

    byblos808's avatar
    byblos808
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.
    rating


    Chanel Pour Monsieur by Chanel

    it's a lovely, friendly though assured and confident scent that does not shout its masculinity with the harsh soapy, barbershop or urinous notes that show up in some of its peers. in fact there are no sharp notes at all, and there is even a distant floral chord. very much ahead of its time, and really good.

    20th August, 2009

    rating


    Javari by Body Shop

    a lovely warm spicy oriental that doesn't shout. sadly it's now out of production.

    24 July, 2009

    rating


    Paul Smith for Men by Paul Smith

    i love the greenness of this scent, there's a suggestion of newly mown grass to begin with and the idea of green continues as it develops. fresh and appealing. i don't get the fahrenheit reference, probably because i just can't get beyond the fuel oil note in fahrenheit. i also don't get "soapy" which is one of my least favourite characters.

    24 July, 2009

    rating


    Romance Silver Men by Ralph Lauren

    i love this scent. it's light, fresh and simple, yet it also has an understated spicy, sensual warmth. it also has no trace of the notes i dislike in a scent, such as powdery, soapy or edible. just gorgeous.

    23 July, 2009

    rating


    Platinum Égoïste by Chanel

    fresh and floral, with a cold metallic tang which i guess gives it masculinity but also renders it somewhat unemotional and uninvolving. feels like being given the cold shoulder.

    23 July, 2009

    rating


    Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

    it's an extraordinary scent; powerful, durable and quite unmistakable. i find it compellingly repellant and could never wear it. makes me think of brightly lit marble toilets in a five star hotel.

    23 July, 2009

    rating


    La Nuit de L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    the similarity between this and armani's code is uncanny, so much so that the same review more or less fits both. warmth, subtle sweetness, sensuality and a hint of freshness are all combined into a very pleasant concoction that is unlikely to offend anyone. very nice, though possibly undistinguished if not exactly bland. that's the surprise here, given that YSL's offerings usually have bags of highly distinctive character.

    22 July, 2009

    rating


    Ice*Men by Thierry Mugler

    nice aquatic freshness with a hint of green, but rather cold, unemotional and not particularly distinctive

    22 July, 2009

    rating


    Dunhill Pursuit by Dunhill

    this belongs to a family of scents that i dislike. it has an astringency and an assertively masculine quality that seems dated and reminds me of tweed suits in 60's sports cars.

    22 July, 2009

    rating


    Armani Code / Black Code by Giorgio Armani

    the similarity between this and YSL's la nuit de l'homme is uncanny, so much so that the same review more or less fits both. warmth, subtle sweetness, sensuality and a hint of freshness are all combined into a very pleasant concoction that is unlikely to offend anyone. very nice, though possibly undistinguished if not exactly bland.

    22 July, 2009

    rating


    M7 by Yves Saint Laurent

    a gorgeous, sweet and powerful smell with lots of intrigue and mystery. hardly fresh though, more night-clubby. i can't wear it myself, it veers too close to confectionery. i'm sure it would taste yummy though....

    22 July, 2009

    rating


    Armani Eau Pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    the citrus opening is so strong you might wonder if there is anything else to it, and happily there is. the citrus remains present but developing behind it are all kinds of subtle and tantalising notes. i really like it, it was the first serious scent i bought. it can't be easy to make citrus seem somehow mysterious, yet that's the effect.

    22 July, 2009

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.