Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 271 to 300 of 389.
    rating


    Light Blue by Dolce & Gabbana

    One of the nicer day time fragrances for women. I immediately bought it for my girlfriend upon release. Little did I know how popular it would become. I'd say it is probably the most worn female fragrance in my country right now. It's understandable though as it's an extremely pleasant blend of orange blossom, white musk and some other sweet and fresh notes. Also Light Blue doesn't feel artificial or cloying at all like many others (Issey Miyake, Polo Sport for women etc.) and this fact has surely contributed to it's massive sucess. Same bottle as the original but with frosted glass and blue lid.

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    Boss Soul by Hugo Boss

    Overall a very dissapointing experience.
    The only fact saving Soul from total disaster in this case is that they're at least moving in the right direction, away from horrible aquatics like Del Mar.

    Soul is as basic an amber as anyone with just a little understanding of perfumery could have created. A generic citrus opening, followed by a spicy heart and then a woody/sweet drydown. There are a billion of these already and we really didn't need yet one more.

    Check out Hoggar by Yves Rocher instead, better and cheaper.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Tabac Sport by Mäurer & Wirtz

    Pour some Eternity and Lagerfeld Man into one bottle - voíla-Tabac Sport. Smells 100% like a hybrid between these two, especially on the drydown with heavy cedar. Not bad but very uninteresting.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Culture by Tabac: Arena di Roma by Mäurer & Wirtz

    Arena di Roma is a pretty straightforward copy of two other famous fragrances: Biagiotti's Roma and Paloma Picasso's Minotaure. Therefore it isn't a big surprise that the packaging and juice are orange, just as the bottles/liquid of the other two. It is however a competent ripoff and personally I like it more than Roma, since there is an added licorice dimension here. Like many Tabacs, a steal for the price.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Baldessarini by Baldessarini

    The original Baldessarini is excellent albeit very fleeting. A mature blend of tobacco and sugared bitter orange peels. The citrus has a very pronounced bitterness that works great with the subtle mint notes and prevents the sweet base from becoming too much. A very elegant formal fragrance that you can´t really go wrong with. But do try to score the concentrated version since the ordinary escapes your skin all too soon.

    07 August, 2005 (Last Edited: 08 April, 2007)

    rating


    Boss in Motion by Hugo Boss

    Yuck. Horrible. Vanillic, powdery, orange pez-mess. Stay clear. The ridiculous container isn't smart or good looking by the way, just ugly and unfunctional.

    Weirdly this seems to sell shitloads, which just goes to show how much marketing does, cause I can never be wrong can I? ;)

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Paul Smith for Men by Paul Smith

    Enormous dissapointment. Love most of Smith's clothes and especially his beautifully tailored shirts with the trademark coloured stripes. This fragrance however feels like a rush-job to get something out on the market. Uninspired brew of sharp, green notes that just leave an artificial mess. Very weak effort. Good to see that the recent London is at least going in the right direction.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Live Jazz by Yves Saint Laurent

    Doesn't share anything with the original except the bottle. Both are great colognes, as is everything from YSL in my honest opinion. Wouldn't wear LJ during summer myself, as many seem to do. I think it's better suited for autumn where it's minty, woody character is comforting and warm.
    It's also another very good example of nicely used grapefruit-notes, a tad bitter.
    Just like all others from this house it lasts for ages.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Hugo Dark Blue by Hugo Boss

    Very synthetic and the worst one from Boss together with that nasty little metal sphere - In Motion.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Hugo by Hugo Boss

    Some fragrances seem to be caught in the time they were releaseed in. Hugo together with Eternity and Joop! are good examples of this. Sure, they were all the rage and nice upon release, but it IS time to let go now. So many interesting things were made after and before that there is no need for these anymore. They've lost to the zeitgeist. And that goes for Drakkar and Van Gils original too.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Elements Aqua by Hugo Boss

    Hugo Boss has released some nice fragrances over the years, and I think that much of the bashing they receive on the boards is undeserved. Elements Aqua for instance is a very potent blend, that funnily enough isn't very aquatic at all. It's more of a sweet, smooth and very warm mix with a clear juniper freshness. One that is always commented on and appreciated by others, and as experience has shown me, excellent for clubbing.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Elements by Hugo Boss

    Decent but lacking depth. A little to close to many others in the end. XS by Paco Rabanne has been mentioned, but I don't think that is fair, as that one widely surpasses Elements in terms of complexity. This would only become a part of my collection if I received it as a gift.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Culture by Tabac by Mäurer & Wirtz

    Quite unusual mix that smelled very warm and nice. Can't remember much about Culture's compostion other than that I liked my bottle (finished since several years) a lot. Dirt cheap as well.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Boss Sport by Hugo Boss

    Superb eighties juice, virtually impossible to find anywhere. It had that herbal dryness like many of it's peers, but also a sporty freshness and some tonka to warm it up. Always enjoyed the botle too, its something Gordon Gecko from Wall Street must have slapped on after a long racquetball game with one of his disciples.

    If you against all odds find it somewhere, do not hesitate to grab it immediately.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Boss Spirit by Hugo Boss

    Good one. Bought it in Poland on a trip and haven't seen it anywhere else, almost like a ghost cologne. Remember it being very heavy and ridiculously masculine, playing in the same ball league as Gucci Nobile and Azzaro. Just look at the bottom of that pyramid and you get the picture.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    A*Men / Angel Men by Thierry Mugler

    A*Men could very well be the most complex fragrance available to ordinary people in the world. With this in mind, the result is nothing short of flawless. There are so many facets to this classic that you can hardly count them. I haven't experienced a single one of it's drydowns to be quite the same yet. There is always some new nuance stepping up, be it another shade of the earthy patchouli, spicy lavender, burnt sugar, dark and bitter coffe or that weird but lovely tar-note. It is as brilliant as messy the pyramid may look. Whoever composed this is a genius, and the worldwide success and several awards (including the Basenotes ones) is the aknowledgement to this. The female version, with an even stronger emphasis on the patchouli, is equally great and instantly recognized on the women wearing it.

    Mugler should forever be respected for launching something this daring and original this side of Acqua di Gio.

    No collection is complete without this fragrance. Amen.

    07 August, 2005

    rating


    Eau Noire Cologne by Christian Dior

    Actually just as dark and hardcore as the name and packaging hints. Was almost shocked by it's old world manliness. Along the lines of Bois the Portugal and Caron's Third man. Lavender spice bomb with unbelievable longevity. Neat!

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 6 Synthetic: Soda by Comme des Garçons

    Cool artificial experiment in the vein of Tommy T. Nice but cloying in the long run. Excellent packaging though.

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    Higher Energy by Christian Dior

    Very easy to dismiss this one as riding the recent fresh/revamped/young trend but I've found that Energy belongs to the category of fragrance that is so dependent on skin chemistry that it is hardly recognizeable from person to person. Armani's Mania is the same. Both smell horrible on me, fantastic on one friend and just okay on a third. So I guess you must sample this to begin with, if you're lucky then you're in for a mellow, pleasant citrus with hints of juniper. Like an Eau Sauvage for the 21st century. Then again if you're not, the dissapointment will be huge...

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    Aramis Life by Aramis

    Rubbish. Total sell out frag in the new school of the fruity, boring, aquatic and politicaly correct.
    A waste on a nice, art deco-ish bottle. It's also a pity they destroy the Aramis name which has been a guarantee for power house action historically.

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 2 Red: Palisander by Comme des Garçons

    Must confess I like very few of CdG's offerings, but this one is an exception. Many times their fragrances are more avantgarde and original than wearable, but Palisander is a cool, woody scent with a spicy chili note that is completely unique. The saffron rounds of the blend perfectly. A keeper.

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    L'Essence de Must de Cartier by Cartier

    Think CK Obsession, just a lot better. Cinnamon-heavy oriental that still manages to be extremely sophisticated and subtle. Stays close to the skin, but thankfully forever. Total powerlunch YUP scent from the classic french house. Solid, beautiful bottle.

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    Karma by Gorilla Perfume [Lush]

    Comes on strong like hell, and most probably wash it off as fast as they can. But let it warm up for half an hour and you'll have a decent pine/patchouli combo that is very special.

    Lush btw makes one of the most true nerolis on the market with their Prince edc, unfortunately lasting power is about 10 minutes...

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

    Probably the most easily recognized cologne in the world. Only Gaultier's Le Male is as simple to pinpoint. So that says a lot about Fahrenheit's originality. The problem is, at least here in Sweden, that it got heavily associated with young troublemaking hoodrats in the early nineties and it still bears this stigma here. If you look past strange associations and people wearing way too much of it, Fahrenheit really is an amazing fragrance and one of the given modern male classics.

    It combines a very masculine mix of leather, petrol and woods with an ambiguos strong honeysuckle note, creating it's distinct trademark sillage. Very corresponding bottle to the scent, looks warm and spicy and as always with Dior, amazing supporting line with soaps, shaving products etc.

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    Dune pour Homme by Christian Dior

    Nice, dry, classic scent like made for a white shirt, just like it's ad displays. Not groundbreaking or fantastic, just very reliable like many french classics. Delievers good power throughout the day and the deo-stick is great. Also check out the female version for an awesome oriental highly reccomended for masculine wear - much better than the Pour Homme actually.

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    Déclaration by Cartier

    I Just cannot handle the cumin. BO-ville - population you! Haven't tried the 2 other versions, but they're probably less cumin-heavy. It's a pity cause Declaration is a very well made like all Cartiers, just cannot handle that sweaty note. Same thing with McQueens Kingdom for me, and of course the wretched L'Autre from the house of Diptyque. Will stay with the classic Santos and the Obsession-de luxe from this brand- L'Essence de Must de Cartier.

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    Hypnotic Poison by Christian Dior

    The best female vanilla ever made. Nuff said.

    06 August, 2005

    rating


    Indentite pour Homme by René Lezard

    Sampled this at the Munich Airport and I still regret not buying it. What a pleasant surprise. Like Toni said, definitely a modern scent. Very sweet but with a cool bitter coofee thing going on, balancing the sugary accord perfectly. Awesome sillage and staying power, at least on me. Don't know anything about this Lezard guy, but he's released one fine fragrance.

    05 August, 2005

    rating


    Muschio Bianco / White Moss by Acca Kappa

    Very nice unisex fragrance. Reminiscent of Helmut Lang, CK Be and other light, musky, skin scents. This one is even cleaner though (if that is possible). My only complaint is the strength, very weak, it's more a cologne than regular edt. Hit it 10-15 times and you'll have a fresh, soapy, mossy, white musk embracing your skin and making the day brighter.

    05 August, 2005

    rating


    XS pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

    As some have pointed out already the similarity to Creed's Himalaya is striking and I wouldn't say XS is inferior either. You can approach them as two slightly different takes on the same theme. The Paco surely is more woody than Himalaya, and less peppery. Both open with citrus/bergamot but there is some coriander and florals here that are not present in the Creed. Despite the floral elements, I'd say XS is more masculine and rugged, and therefore also less sophisticated. Still a very good fragrance.

    05 August, 2005

    Showing 271 to 300 of 389.