Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 301 to 330 of 389.
    rating


    Cristobal pour Homme by Balenciaga

    Subtle yet powerful and competent male fragrance. In the same territory as Joop! and Mont Blanc Individuel but more tastefully composed. Heavy vanilla base though, so nothing for anyone not liking that note. It's spicy and warm, with a distinct coffe note making it stand out a bit. Something for a romantic dinner or the office if applied very moderately.

    05 August, 2005

    rating


    Pontaccio 21 by Gianfranco Ferré

    Not a fragrance review, as I can hardly remember the juice itself. It was along the lines of Aramis, but even stronger if I'm not mistaken. Very italian and extremely herbally dry. What I love about P 21 is the incredible packaging! Oozes, power sophistication (much more than many of Ferré's actual garments) and is almost like a piece of architecture or fine furniture. It's a real pity that the fragrance doesn't deliever after the ultra high expectations I'm guessing this great rectangle evokes in many people. From a commercial perspective I can't understand the decision to launch such a heavy thing in 1999 btw?! So a big thumbs up to the flacon, neutral on the juice.

    04 August, 2005

    rating


    Nature Millénaire pour Homme by Yves Rocher

    Actually a great fragrance, just like their recent launch Hoggar, and like many others from this underrated brand.
    Yves Rocher scents seem to "borrow" from other famous ones (Eryo - similar to Eternity, Hoggar -Boss Soul) but they do it with finesse and are absolutely no total copycats by any means. Having said this though, I must say my impression is that Millenaire was mad glancing at Creed's Bois de Portugal. Obviously inferior qualitywise it still shares a lot of the woody, dry and extremely herbal qualities of BdP. A great scent for a small price.

    04 August, 2005

    rating


    Tendenza by Van Gils

    Total Devotion rip-off! That Gabriela Sabatini scent isn't so great in the first place, so I find it rather ridiculous to copy it like Van Gils did. I made a side by side comparison and the're virtually impossible to tell apart. A decent vanilla/red fruits blend similar to tons of other stuff. Buy Devotion instead for 1/3 of the prize.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Romance Silver Men by Ralph Lauren

    Together with Safari, Extreme Polo Sport and the original green bottle, Silver goes to show that RL cranks out very good scents once in a while.
    Not original by any means but a pleasant wear nevertheless. Modern daytime fragrance playing on the contrasts between manly suede and a grapebased -fruitsalad. A nice combo explored many times before like for instance with the plum/leather in Cuiron. Silver is much more tame compared to the Helmut Lang but something worth at least wearing for a full day sampling. Stylish smoked glass bottle as well.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Infusion by Bombay Sapphire

    Always been intrigued by the fresh, crisp smell of Gin. That juniper zestiness is great, and with Infusion they've captured that very well without making you smell like an alcoholic. A pretty straightforward, one-dimensional scent, just a clean pick-me-up feeling. Tried ordering it from the Bombay Sapphire home page after sampling it at an airport before, but it seems to have been discontnued...

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Tam Dao by Diptyque

    Like others have poited out, creamy is a key-word here. Warm, spicy, creamy, luscious sandalwood with a hint of smoke to sharpen the edges a bit. Extremely suited for clubbing actually as it blended superbly with cigarette smoke (before the ban here in Sweden in my own case). I get the same vibe as with YSL's M7 for some reason. I don't think women should wear this, it's just too ruggedly masculine in all it's woody glory.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Alessandro Dell'Acqua Man by Alessandro Dell'Acqua

    Not a pleasant wear... Overtly floral after a very mediocre citrus opening. Maybe not a bad scent per se, but extremely dissapointing for a modern men's launch. There are just too many superior scents out there to ever justify a purchase of this.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Scent Intense by Costume National

    Flawless. One of the most original scents in years. Perhaps the strongest sillage in the world, you are actually surrounded by a dark, mysterious and extremely chic aura when wearing this. It's basically a resinous, smoky amber sprinkled with red fruits (raspberry?) and a clearly present black tea note. The combination of these elements create something mindblowing, although it might be too feminine for some guys. Doesn't have much in common with the other versions that seem very pale compared to this. I love most of Ennio Capasa's work and I'm sure he had a large part in the creative process leading to this fantastic fragrance. Just remember to go very gentle on that black trigger...

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Philosykos by Diptyque

    Diptyque's finest and definitely one of the best figs on the market. I'd say it's only competitor is L'Artisans Premier Figuier. Whilst the later is drier, a little almondy and a tad more feminine, Philosykos plays heavily on the added
    buttery sweetness of coconut and a terrific cedar anchoring the composition. Great scent with great graphic packaging like all launches from this interesting french house.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Gucci pour Homme by Gucci

    I find that too much cedar can be very cloying, but some cedar based scents like the earlier Gucci Rush manage to avoid that by balancing the "pencil shaving" note with for instance soft, sweetish incense. In this Gucci however, the smoky bit just enhances the cedar in a negative way, making it cloying and simple smelling somehow. I agree with others about very poor longevity as well. In my opinion Gucci has released 3 great scents before: Nobile, Envy and Rush. And as the two latter ones are very woody as well there is no reason for acquiring PH at all.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Cologne Bigarade by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    My comments are also on the concentrated version:
    A very promising start with bitter zesty orange peels unfortunately dries down to a base that is both fleeting and containing way too much cardamom. I find that the cardamom note just like cumin should be used very moderately as it easily destroys otherwise perfectly nice scents. Examples of this is Alexander McQueens Kingdom, Biagiotti Acqua di Roma and IMO Malle's Bigarade. If there was a way to prolong great topnotes, so many scents could be even better. Lacoste claims to have done just this with the new Essential - let's wait and see. I should also add that not much from Malle has impressed me except The Winter Water and Musc Ravageur, so take that into account considering this dismissal of BC.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Touch for Men by Burberry

    It's somewhat surprising that a brand like Burberry have released so many high class scents. London, Touch and Brit are all excellent in terms of quality, originality and overall appeal.
    Touch is quite deceptive, first comes across like a light musk, but turns out to be a very potent violet blend with a peppery heart. It's one of those scents that are instantly recognizeable like Fahrenheit or Le Male. For me it 's already a modern classic.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    T for Him by Tommy Hilfiger

    In contrast to my general hatred toward this genre I find T to be a great launch. The people at Firmenich have created something quite unique with this. A designer scent that is abstract and very avant garde. It takes the ozonic accords to new extremes creating something that could easily be a part of Comme des Garcon's synthetic series. If you just get over the initial surprise of the uncanny frehness, this truly works great as a YUP-super scent with extreme sillage and longevity.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Kiton Men by Kiton

    Similar to Moschino's Uomo and even Cacharel Pour Homme in an updated way. Nutmeggy freshness and a sophisticated contemporary feel. I see this as a professional scent, best worn with a crisp white shirt and perhaps a meticulously tailored suit from it's Napolitanian parents;) .Lasts well too.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Jazz by Yves Saint Laurent

    Already a classic in the books of many. An eighties update of the great leathers like Equipage from Hermès. Less stuffy, but stills packs a decent punch as many of it's decade/decadent peers. Somewhat herbal, very manly and with a sweet edge from the cinnamon. Similar to Tsar from Van Cleef & Arpels which I would say is just slightly drier.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Hilfiger Athletics by Tommy Hilfiger

    I'm in total minority on the boards as I like this a lot. Sure it's a tad synthetic in the long run, but the primary citrus burst is just perfect for hot days. Actually the topnotes have a lot in common with Creed's Zeste Mandarine Pamplemousse as they are all about zesty grapefruit. The drydown is completely artificial though compared to ZMP, but if you can get it cheap you shouldn't hesitate. Also it's superior to Biagotti's Aqua di Roma that is the latest mainstream fragrance heavy on grapefruit.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Aramis by Aramis

    Mossy, herbal, leather overload. Being a big fan of the great gentlemen's classics such as Azzaro PH and Oscar de la Renta Lui just to name a few, I must honestly say this old juice is horrendous. Overly dry and with no contrasting citrus notes or mellowing factors (like in it's cousin Tuscany for instance). This just reeks of old man basically... Not a positive experience in any way. Try Rive Gauche pour homme instead or even Brut that has a tad sweetness taming those overtly masculine spices!

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    MV3 by M.A.C

    An almost completely unknown fragrance gem. MV3 is along the lines of Bulgari Omnia and has a very noticeable white chocolate theme with some dashes of creamy mocha. Can be had for a very decent price at almost all M.A.C. counters and is completely unisex in my honest opinion. Dry cedar base that sticks around forever.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Black Cashmere by Donna Karan

    Great fragrance and unisex to the max.
    Shares many similarities with it's DK predecessors Chaos and Fuel. Same dark aura filled with resinous amber and slightly sweet spices and incense. I know many men who wear it regularly and I still question the decision to launch it as a feminine scent. Another one that is close to it is Costume National Scent Intense which hass better longevity and some added fruit notes. The sleek, beautiful BC bottle was designed by Donna Karans late architect husband Stephan Weiss.

    03 August, 2005

    rating


    Joop! Jump by Joop!

    Nice new launch, although a little to similar to Allure and other sweet modern scents. Strong like all Joops and quite distinct, easily identified tonka base and trendy notes like iced vodka (does that smell much in the first place?). Still a decent effort compared to many of the other Gío - clones flooding the markets nowadays. Also nice that they've decided to continue with the recognizeable shape/design from the original and Nightflight.

    02 August, 2005

    rating


    L'Eau d'Ambre Extrême / Ambre Extrême by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Brilliant amber rendition. Creamy, resinous and very warm, spiced amber. This extreme version is much deeper than the original and lasts for hours. Like a soothing companion, would fit perfectly under a nice cashmere sweater in front of a large fireplace wit the dark and cold winter surrounding you. Class Act.

    02 August, 2005

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Assoluta by Acqua di Parma

    Excellent modern take on classic cologne. Zesty fresh and with a sparkling herbal base and great longevity. Neat bottle and silver stopper as well.

    02 August, 2005

    rating


    Les Nuits d'Hadrien by Annick Goutal

    Quite unknown and unfortunately terribly underrated. This nightime version of the original Hadrien has some brilliantly executed semi-dirty musk notes accompanying the regular lemon blasts. It all ends in a pleasantly spicy drydown and my only conplaint would be it's somewhat short duration.

    02 August, 2005

    rating


    Un Jardin en Méditerranée by Hermès

    Lovely unisex fragrance with fresh figgy topnotes.
    Significantly different from other fig based scents such as Philosykos and Premier Figuier, and more to the fizzy white musk side. Best suited for summer wear.

    02 August, 2005

    rating


    Dunhill by Dunhill

    Synthetic D&G PH wannabe. Very dissapointing launch, especially from a brand responsible for great classics like Edition and the more recent Desire.
    The whole pyramid is sharp and almost sulphurish and sour, feels like a work of haste. Too bad on a great flacon.

    02 August, 2005

    rating


    Marc Jacobs for Men by Marc Jacobs

    The first men's offering from MJ unfortunately suffers from a very common problem of the fragrance world today: Great topnotes and then - well - not so much more... Starts off with the quite common combo of figs and coconut, and does it very well. But the base that comes out fairly quick is just a dissapointing mess of synthetic musk and uindentifiable spicy and floral notes.
    Pass on this and go for either Diptyque's Philosykos and L'Artisan Parfumeur's Premier Figuier in the niche segment or Davidoff's Good Life or Lancôme's Miracle Aquatonic from the designer section.

    02 August, 2005

    rating


    Nobile by Gucci

    Pure class. Green to the extreme and not for anyone under, say 22... Sophisticated, mossy, extremely classic smelling fragrance with sillage and longevity that needs to be experienced to be believed. Lets put it like this, Envy is a badboy - but Nobile has it for breakfast anyday. Powerhouse!!! Good stuff
    /mmm

    17 March, 2005

    rating


    Envy for Men by Gucci

    Everyone loves it, including me. Nothing to add than just that it smells really good. Great longevity as well. Buy!
    MMM

    17 March, 2005

    rating


    Aqua pour Homme by Bulgari

    If you positively need another Aqua-scent in your warddrobe, then I guess this is one of the best choices. Extremely nice bottle but the scent does leave some to be desired, maybe cause I'm not a big fan of this genre and because of my strong feelings for other offerings from this house. Nevertheless it is much better than 90%of its peers. The drydown is actually very reminiscent of Fahrenheit.
    Matt/Sweden

    16 March, 2005

    Showing 301 to 330 of 389.