Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 361 to 389 of 389.
    rating


    Brit by Burberry

    Beautiful vanilla scent, very well balanced. My girlfriend´s favourite.

    14th August, 2004

    rating


    Ungaro III by Ungaro

    To add a few words: Ungaro III still holds it's position as the best fall fragrance. It 's like bottled autumn really. Dark and manly but earthy and with pronounced rose as well. This should be worn under layers of tweed walking in a foggy english park with yellow leaves surrounding you on the ground.
    A very fine blend that deserves to be discovered by many.

    04th August, 2004 (Last Edited: 25th September, 2005)

    rating


    Dunhill Edition by Dunhill

    Excellent formal fragrance-very mature and extremely classy! In the vein of Van Cleef & Arpels and early Diors and Chanels. Let´s really hope they don´t discontinue this one as colognes of this kind haven´t been made the last two decades. A classic

    04th December, 2003

    rating


    Azzaro pour Homme by Azzaro

    Lovely-could swear it has some mint in the top notes though
    /matt

    03rd December, 2003

    rating


    Obsession for Men by Calvin Klein

    Actually only recently discovered this classic... This is stunning stuff, absolutely marvelously masculine and pleasant to wear. Though the juice is strong, to me it has no nauseating or headache-provoking qualities. Obsession is yet another tragic reminder of that things just were better before!

    20th November, 2003

    rating


    Visit by Azzaro

    Very Nice, definitely a huge surprise, especially since the bottle i similar to the ultra-boring Chrome. this reminds pf Gucci Rush, but is stronger, more complex and just generally more interesting. IMO the best fragrance this year.

    11th November, 2003

    rating


    Helmut Lang Eau de Cologne by Helmut Lang

    Tried this on for the first time the other day and it completely blew me away. Very surprised to see all the bad reviews it has gotten, cause to me this smells absolutely marvellous. Never been a big fan of musk, but the way they´ve managed to incorporate it in this juice is really appealing. The scent carries (also to my nose) a powdery quality and is incredibly subtle, almost provocingly discrete, yet always noticeable and present. The lightness makes it more of a formal scent, daytime, office and casual wear for this gem of a fragrance

    24th July, 2003

    rating


    Cool Water by Davidoff

    2007 05 04 Davidoff Cool Water (long)

    Recently I´ve become increasingly relativistic in judging and reevaluating older fragrances. Like many members on the board I very strongly dislike where the mainstream fragrance industry is heading and has developed the last couple of years. Way too much effort is put into packaging, limited editions, summer versions, ridiculous pyramid copywriting and such. Genuine creativity and originality has dissappeared in favour of hype and politically correct and synthetic scents that aim to please as many consumers as possible.

    Further there is a growing trend of "dual" markets for the big brands. Dior have their 3 upscale colognes (and to a certain extent Homme), Guerlain their L'Art et la Matiere series, Chanel their Rue Cambon, Hermès their Hermenessences - the list goes on. Practically this means we now have to pay about 3 times more for the same quality that was standard issue during the 80`s while the conglomerates squeeze every penny
    out of each aquired franchise with their "special editions" and summer versions, products that seldomly even make it to next year. It´s simple mathematics - increased frequency to spark short term purchase and boosting the sale figures for the share holders. Unfortunately all kinds of new sub-par "niche" houses have popped up as well recently capitalizing on peoples quest for the genuine. Fancy packaging and claims (hardly controllable) of all natural ingredients hardly justifies the prices asked by for instance Profumum. IMHO you earn your respect, by decades of quality output. Sadly many lose it much faster in the race for quick bucks today.

    So how does this rant relate to my reveevaluation and growing fondness for Cool Water? A few years ago I dissmissed this fragrance in this very same review section. But recently I started sampling it again and it grew on me with each try. I started to think of it with a strong sense of nostalgia and even appreciated it´s simple old school bottle. The Green Irish Tweed reference is unavoidable, especially since that Creed (in this rare case)is the original. And sure, GIT has more bite and complexity, but CW is close, much closer than the price tag would indicate.

    Cool Water is a simple fresh fougere that works perfectly on a mild spring day. Less marine than the concept indicates, I´d say its a herbal, slightly peppery scent with a strong base of oakmoss, musk and pleasant cedar. The overall impression is, pardon the cliche, a modern masculine classic. I eventually bought a bottle and it has served me very well in the office the last couple of weeks.

    Cool Water, together with Acqua di Gió and Eternity may very well be the initiators of todays downward spiral of forced freshness.
    But compared to all the mediocre new stuff released, especially by Davidoff themselves, Cool Water will always remain a nice alternative. Good Stuff.

    17th July, 2003 (Last Edited: 04th May, 2007)

    rating


    Lacoste pour Homme by Lacoste

    A huge disappointment, especially since the both the first Lacoste fragrance, and also Booster had very interesting characteristics. I find this one very typically "modern" with too many feminine notes. A good example of how the blend sounds better in theory than in reality....

    14th July, 2003

    rating


    Good Life by Davidoff

    Incredible fragrance... Utterly complex composition with a very "green" spicyness. Good life remains in my opinion one of the top formal scents. The distinct dryness is extremely suitable for office or daytime use.

    14th July, 2003

    rating


    Booster by Lacoste

    Strikingly different, only one that slightly resembles this one is Pascha by Cartier. Booster has a very prominent menthol/mint/eucalyptus character that I can imagine not everyone liking. However I find this property very captivating and interesting. Shortly, smell before you buy!

    14th July, 2003

    rating


    Acqua di Giò pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    Ok here goes... surprised that I'm the first negative voice on this one. Undoubtedly a complex fragrance, in my opinion Acqua di Giò has a far too sharp sour note I just cant stand. This especially becomes apparent (surprisingly) on the drydown, where this acidity becomes unbearable! Furthermore there is a floral quality to it which makes my stomach turn, since it is still ranked very high , I suppose I´m one of few with this viewpoint.

    14th July, 2003

    rating


    The Dreamer by Versace

    As I am a sucker for tobacco notes this really qualifies as an evening favourite. The fragrance is really powerful and IMO almost sinful, very mediterranean.

    10th July, 2003

    rating


    Black Jeans by Versace

    The fact that this one got discontinued really makes me sad. Black Jeans had a very interesting composition, and a lovely musky dry smell. Splendid för daytime use as it was vey discrete.

    10th July, 2003

    rating


    Kouros Cologne Sport by Yves Saint Laurent

    I very strongly disagree with Tero´s point of view. I find this update flawlessly executed. Furthermore in todays climate of thousands of unoriginal citrus scent, in the vein of Acqua di Gio, something this spicy and masculine is in my opinion highly welcome!

    09th July, 2003

    rating


    M7 by Yves Saint Laurent

    Thank You! This old school fashion house reliably delievers yet another wellcrafted winner! IMO Yves Saint Laurent has not yet put out anything dubious on the market and M7 certainly is no exception. For me, and I know a lot of other people, the kind of traditional spiciness that M7 carries is very important for a mens fragrance. Yet in this particular product they´ve managed to brilliantly update this heritage (dunhill edition, opium, safari,obsession,goodlife etc )with a modern twist. The potency also is terrific, lasting almost all day. Doesn't hurt the bottle is beatiful as well!

    09th July, 2003

    rating


    Essenza di Zegna by Ermenegildo Zegna

    Already at the sight of the transparent colourless liquid I had my doubts... And was I right -yet another of these "modern" uninspired, boring, carelessly made mass market products! It's obvious the fragrance industry is in a deep crisis when these (Crave, Echo, Polo Blue etc)unoriginal citrus offerings is all they put out. Save your money and buy Eau de Sauvage istead , or Issey Miyake if you MUST have a modern citrus scent!

    09th July, 2003

    rating


    Aqua Fitness by Biotherm

    Feminine bottle, but highly masculine juice. Extremely pleasant scent which everyone I´ve met adores.Yet another top of the line product from this amazing company!

    05th May, 2003

    rating


    Soho by Gant USA

    Smells exactly like everything else coming out now. Fresh-absolutely. Boring to death-likewise.

    15th April, 2003

    rating


    Rush for Men by Gucci

    Don't at all understand all criticism towards this fragrance. Ok if you look for a scent that's gonna reek all day, this shouldn't be your first choice. However if you appreciate a discrete warm, woody ambience, go for Rush!

    15th April, 2003

    rating


    L'Eau par Kenzo pour Homme by Kenzo

    I've done a 180 on this since my initial impression. It's Perfect. Yuzu done right. This is what Happy, Tommy and countless other recent launches aim for but fail miserably to deliever. Light, fresh and original just like Kenzo's signature ph. Good stuff. The old samourai-katana bottle is so superior to the new rectangular though...
    MMM

    15th April, 2003 (Last Edited: 16th March, 2005)

    rating


    Joop! Homme by Joop!

    Undoubtedly one of the most original fragrances around. However this juice is just too much. Can´t really handle the overpowering sweetness. If you like it though, this must be a scent to die for.

    15th April, 2003

    rating


    Cerruti Image by Cerruti

    Strange bottle and even stranger scent. Too many contrasting ingredients which leaves the user puzzled rather than satisfied...

    15th April, 2003

    rating


    Chrome by Azzaro

    Shocked by the positivity regarding this utterly unoriginal and boring smell!!!

    15th April, 2003

    rating


    Cacharel Pour L'Homme by Cacharel

    Very masculine enjoyable daytime scent. Original composition, and always great with the evermore unusual musk notes...

    15th April, 2003

    rating


    Boss Bottled by Hugo Boss

    Fantastic stuff... Perhaps one of the best daytime scents ever, very fresh and hard to get bored with. Definitely not one for fancy evening dinners, but absolutely perfect for the office and casual occasions.

    15th April, 2003

    rating


    Jean Luc Amsler Privé Homme by Jean Luc Amsler

    A very nice clean scent, a bit similar to Emporio Armani's He.

    20th March, 2003

    rating


    Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

    The true original, after wearing this fragrance once you WILL submit to it's ultra-classic citrus appeal!

    20th March, 2003

    Showing 361 to 389 of 389.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000