Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 31 to 60 of 389.
    rating


    Nightflight by Joop!

    Decadent and original. A pleasure to wear this fresh but powerful blend that is full with the confidence of the early nineties. See it as a predecessor to Chanel's Allure pour homme - both with strong tonka-bases, but with plenty merit of it's own. Since it's from Joop! you KNOW it lasts and lasts and lasts... Great bottle that really corresponds with the feeling of the juice. Get nightflight istead of the original, same innovative, extroverted and excentric vibe, but without the cloying bits.

    28th April, 2006

    rating


    Vent Vert (new) by Pierre Balmain

    Lovely powdery chypre in a beautiful flacon and packaging. Haven't had the chance to try the original so I can't tell how big the difference is in the new edition. The old one however is considered one of the great feminine classics of the past century.

    28th April, 2006

    rating


    Blu Mediterraneo Sicilian Almond / Mandorlo di Sicilia by Acqua di Parma

    Very fine gourmandicious take on almonds. Sweet, strong and definitely different from for instance Etro's Heliotrope and L'Artisan Parfumeur's Bois Farine. Good staying power and beautiful presentation. Another hit in this understated & high quality series from AdP.

    27th April, 2006

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Profumo by Acqua di Parma

    A good example of the fact that stronger & more often just wrecks a good thing. Instead of the zesty, fresh & beautiful combo of citrus, rose and light herbs in the EDC and mint in the Assoluta-rendition the perfume version OD's on everything. The result is an overly dry, stuffy and unrefined chypre. Strong? - Sure. Elegant, pleasant & worthwhile - Not even close. Ironically I even find the bottle inferior to the ones of the lighter formulations.

    27th April, 2006

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Iris Nobile by Acqua di Parma

    Tried this recently and expected something along the lines of or at least slightly similar to Dior Homme because of the Iris in both. No such shared features though as Iris Nobile smells much more of star anise than anything else. A pleasant wear no doubt, but still dissapointing in the context of brand and price.

    27th April, 2006

    rating


    L'Eau Bleue D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

    This one truly is as weird as the previous reviews indicate. It's very hard to describe L'Eau Bleue but there's definitely a vegetable thing going on, the opening is sligthly reminiscent of the cilantro/coriander in the top notes of Rochas Aquaman, but the overall impression is more complex and better. I think the blue concept of this fragrance is a little deceptive, a medium green bottle would better represent the contents. Top sillage and longevity as always with Issey but do sample this oddling before buying cause it is very original and an aquired taste.

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    Castile by Penhaligon's

    A very straightforward neroli/rose combo that is perfectly unisex IMO. A bit linear and one-dimensional but nevertheless great for refreshing summer usage. Great flacon like always from this house.

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    LP No.9 for Men by Penhaligon's

    Very surprised that no one has mentioned the utter similarity between LP No.9 and Yves Saint Laurent's Opium Pour Homme... This is clearly a blatant rip off, neither improving or belittleing the french original. Unfortunately many of Penhaligon's recent launches follow the "Creed-trend" of plagiarism. Too bad since the mighty boquets Blenheim and Hammam & the brilliant English Fern surely stand on their own with plenty of history as well.
    Go for Opium PH instead, which ironically is cheaper as well.

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    Hammam Bouquet by Penhaligon's

    I never thought of rose as a particularly feminine smell. If you smell the actual flower in a dewy garden it smells very genderless to my nose, just a nice, mild and fresh aroma. I think it's the extremely synthetic rose in the tacky mass market fragrances of the last decade that has tarnished the reputation (and woman-ized it)of this beatiful floral component. The rose found in Geo F Trumpers ancient Rose Shaving Cream for instance smells very gentle and natural, not girlie in any way. The same can be said for Comme de Garcons Red Series Rose. So with this in mind I was never afraid or worried about the strong rose element when I finally got around to sample Hammam Boquet. After all this one was released over a century ago. Unfortunately the overall impression of the fragrance left me somewhat underwhelmed, I guess I expected a little more - afterall Penhaligon's Blenheim Boquet is one of my favourites and a monumental statement of everything brittish. Since, I've warmed up to it slightly but there is a dryness in HB which just doesn't sit well on my skin. The quality is stellar though, literally smells expensive (and it is!) and for the right person I think this could give the perfect ambiance of understated elegance. Good stuff, just not for me.

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    English Fern by Penhaligon's

    Totally outstanding fougere. In my honest opinion this juice represents the essence of this category of fragrances. And what a fantastic job at that! Manly, soapy, mossy but fresh and with just a tad of sweetness - as classic as they come. Basically gives you the most pleasant, clean barbershop vibe imagineable - like an upscale luxurious shaving cream. Incredible longevity as well, keeps you confident all day. Only downside I guess is it's extreme simplicity which probably could prevent many from making English Fern their signature scent. It would perhaps get a little boring using it every day. But despite it's somewhat austere and linear character I sincerely think this should be everyones first choice in the search for the ultimate basic fougere. Truly Excellent.

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    Cool Water Game by Davidoff

    The only reason I even chose to comment upon this atrocity is the chance that it might prevent someone from buying it. Another great example of the short-term thinking that is so typical of many mainstream houses today, this will probably not make it through even to next year. Total disaster - STAY AWAY.

    19th April, 2006

    rating


    David Beckham Instinct by Beckham

    Indeed similar to the horrible Adventure from Gant, but also shares the opening with D&G's Masculine, mainly due to the strong bergamot. And while the topnotes are somewhat pleasant, Instinct quickly dries down to the synthetic mess one would expect. This soccer players persona is just as tacky as the overall impression of his standard issue vulgar cologne.

    19th April, 2006

    rating


    YSL pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Definitely not a bad fragrance, but in this category there is thousands of better options. If you want a super-classic citrus on a solid, masculine herbal base, go for Eau Sauvage or Chanel PM Concentree instead, both more complex and interesting. The YSL sports better staying power than the Dior though.

    The brilliant ad with a naked androgynous Yves that stirred up quite some controversy in the 70's doesn't represent the fragrance well - this is a classic masculine juice on the border of stuffiness. Could definitely appeal to lovers of extreme simplicty.

    18th April, 2006

    rating


    Concentré D'Orange Verte by Hermès

    A bit more blunt than the original. The differences are actually very similar to the ones between the first Acqua di Parma and Colonia Assoluta. This means more green in the stronger versions, mainly added mint. Stronger for sure, but since this by no means means GREAT staying power, I'd still choose the classic one, just more zest and playfulness in that one. If you can only afford one of the two and staying power is your main criteria - Concentree D'Orange Verte is still better than the majority of fresh colognes out there. Same bottle as before but in frosted glass instead.

    10th April, 2006

    rating


    Dia Man by Amouage

    Many people claim to experience a celery-note in Caron's Yatagan, well Dia has a very clear one in the opening. A little weird & the cardamom further accentuates the foodlike first impression. This quickly fades though, leaving way for a soft, woody aura with a strong incense character. The drydown has a pleasant masculine sweetness to it but I think the price is hardly worth what you get. A decent juice at a perverse cost.

    10th April, 2006

    rating


    Gold Man by Amouage

    Wow, where to begin. Received a sample of this recently and had high hopes, after all this is supposed to be "The most valuable fragrance in the world"... Well, what can I say, let's put it like this - often less is more, something the good people in Dubai obviously do not grasp. This is a terribly messy, super powdery, aldehydic disaster. We often discuss cultural differences in olfactory perception on the boards, and this one may be the best example of such a clash. The floral and distinct middle-eastern vibe found in Gold just smells extremely feminine to my nose. It's actually very reminiscent of Chanel #5 with a pungent aldehydic, leather-like ooze sprinkled with like, well, most known flowers to man. Grandmother was the very first impression when smelling it. And although the vanilla in the base mellows it out somewhat, the overall feeling here
    is that of a mature women's perfume. Not what I look for & there's is just so much going on here -zero balance between the ingredients. It feels like the Amouage people just blended all kinds of exclusive raw materials together without any concept or feeling. Simply appauling. Check out the better (but still dissapointing) Dia if you must have something from this house. Haven't tried all of their stuff yet but this supposed "flagship"-juice indicates yet another manufacturer relying on gimmick and fancy bottles to sell their sub-par products. Powderbox-boquet-overload-meltdown - YUCK.

    10th April, 2006

    rating


    Oscar for Men by Oscar de la Renta

    A typical case of "the bottle says it all". If you find this bottle exciting and original looking then perhaps this juice is for you. For the rest of us standard issue citrus/wood blends don't quite measure up considering all other cool things out there. Boring AdG/Eternity hybrid with a mossy base, mediocre longevity in addition pass on this one fellas.

    10th April, 2006

    rating


    Oscar de la Renta pour Lui by Oscar de la Renta

    An eighties floral classic for men. In the same category as Van Cleef & Arpels and Floris Elite. This one is vastly superior though, especially compared to the latter. It never takes the floral part too far and settles down to a nice powdery musk base. This is very far from the fresh scents of today though, so definitely do sample before buying. In small doses Oscar de la Renta pour Lui is the perfect, subtle compliment to a nice dark suit. Formal, traditional and very masculine.

    10th April, 2006

    rating


    Équipage by Hermès

    After a great bergamot burst in the beginning Équipage quickly morphs into a mossy, piney carnation based classically smelling blend. It actually is pretty close to Tabac, but more uncompromising and rugged. It's not a personal favorite, I don't really like this category (with a few exceptions - Penhaligon's English Fern for instance) but there is a nice soapy side to it + the sheer masculinity of fragrances released in the 70's is always appealing. Classy, but not on par with say Eau Sauvage or Chanel pour monsieur.

    10th April, 2006

    rating


    Eau d'Orange Verte by Hermès

    Often stated as the best example of extremely poor longevity, you simply cannot hate this zesty tonic. As long as you treat it as a cologne and have the opportunity to reapply lots of times during the day, you will be rewarded with the sparkling freshness of squeezed lemon and mandarin - truly uplifting. Eau d'Orange Verte is better blended than most Eau's, and has a recognizeable edge to it. The concentrated version lasts a little longer, mostly because of added mint, but the gain in staying power comes with the loss of the sparkling, refreshing quality of the original. Both are essential for summer though. Perfect for nice play in Nice a sizzling july day ;) .

    10th April, 2006

    rating


    Oscar by Oscar de la Renta

    Heady, aldehydic, highly powdery juice that probably is this house's attempt to create their own Chanel #5. A big failure unfortunately. Could be worthwhile if you're into L'Air du temps though, since I HATE that one Oscar gets a big thumbs down from me.

    10th April, 2006

    rating


    Eau Parfumée au Thé Rouge by Bulgari

    Extremely refreshing summer-cologne type of launch from the jewelcrazy italians. As extreme and over the top as their watches and jewelry may be (nicknamed Vulgari by some...) as subtle and refined are most of their fragrances. And this one is no exception. Smells very much of the african red tea Rooibos, an accord hard to describe, but I`d say it's somewhat dry and with a irony touch. The same vibe can be found in some of Comme de Garcons reds, and Eau Parfumee au The Rouge could easily be a part of that series. Some vanilla in the base makes it linger longer than most offerings in this concentration. Completely agree with Marlen's whine comaprison as well. Could become a summer staple.

    27th March, 2006

    rating


    Blenheim Bouquet by Penhaligon's

    Aristocratic hostility at it's finest. I can honestly say this is the only fragrance with a true adversarial character, you really feel superior when wearing it, and almost despise the simpletons around you. Of course I'm exagerating here, but in fact 2 of my friends have commented upon Blenheim saying it almost frightens them in a way. There's something about the zesty citrus in the opening that fools you into thinking this is just another Eau Sauvage copy, but BB is infinitely more complex. The lemon, which btw is masterfull in this fizzy & slightly bitter rendition, hangs around much longer than in ordinary colognes and melts into the smokey, antagonistic base of deep pine. A little spice (cardamom or cumin?)adds even more dimension, but it is that very english pine that makes this Penhaligon really stand out - giving it it's chilling edge. I really don't want to scare anyone off with this review, BB is a fantastic fragrance, but use it wisely - perhaps during a hostile corporate takeover, heated debates about the tragic demise of the great commonwealth or after winning your local cricket-championship (^o^).

    27th March, 2006

    rating


    Original Santal by Creed

    Original Santal comes across as a hybrid between Chanel's Allure for men and Joop!, and thereby continuing the unfortunate recent trend of unoriginality. As much as I like Original Vetiver, the similarity to Mugler's cologne is even harder to get over in the light of this release. The fragrance itself is really well done and boosts exceptional longevity for this house. A sweet blend with woods, vanilla and red berries, but just like with OV the name-note is hardly present. If you're into sugary scents with massive staying power and a youthful overall vibe this might be for you.

    BUT the subtle warnings of plagiarism are increasingly disturbing. Wouldn't suprise me if the next launch will be called Original Patchouli and smell like mix of Monsier de Givenchy and A*Men. Shape up guys.

    16th March, 2006

    rating


    Hamptons by Bond No. 9

    Although I think the Creed-plagiarism that Bond is often accused of is somewhat exxagerated, this one really confirms some of the conspiratoric thoughts. Hamptons is simply a blatant ripoff of Silver Mountain Water. It does have some own merits, BUT overall inferior and most of all I must question the pyramid since it doesn't even mention tea and blackcurrant which are obviously very present in the juice. Get the original instead, afterall the price difference isn't that big.

    16th March, 2006

    rating


    Pink Grapefruit by Floris

    Brilliant in it's naive simplicity. A super-clean, fizzy cologne based on the lovely aroma of freshly squeezed pink grapefruits. I also think the longevity isn't half as bad as many say, easily lasts 6 hours, which is a lot considering it's carefree citrus anatomy. One of the most feelgood juices out there, sparkling and playful ingenuity. I don't think anyone could dislike this.

    16th March, 2006

    rating


    Wall Street by Bond No. 9

    Very dissapointed in this one. It really feels more like a Drakkar Noir for the new millenium, than a great and original niche offering. Mossy, green, some citrus and a generic marine accord unfortunately don't add up to something worthy of this price range. Get the excellent sweet, green and pleasantly floral Central Park instead.

    16th March, 2006

    rating


    Sandalwood by Floris

    I don't like my sandalwoods harsh at all, so Santal Noble really doesn't do the trick for me. Others like Tam Dao - where cedar compliments very well, and Santal from this house - where spices and sweetness balance the blend, are much more appealing. And this sandalwood is perhaps the best on the market for the pure ones, perfectly mellow and soft. Wears close to the skin all day and is definitely more to the masculine side. Also smells very timeless and I was surprised to see how late it was lauched.

    16th March, 2006

    rating


    New Haarlem by Bond No. 9

    Like Scenteur7, this was my new years scent 2005-06. And it performed well, although I was somewhat dissapointed in the sillage department - where I expected wonders I received decent at best. Rochas Man is the most similar thing on the market IMO, and they both mainly feel like warm ground coffee/vanilla mixes. I wouldn't say New Harleem is a complex scent, but rather a well balanced one. The base-patchouli anchors the composition with a well needed semi-bitter earthiness so essential in the middle of all the sweetness. Overall I'd say it might not be worth hard retail cash, but e-bay deals etc should facilitate the plunge for interested people.

    16th March, 2006

    rating


    Héritage by Guerlain

    CEO-ish powerhouse from this ancient french house. Similar in character to Bois du Portugal & Azzaro Ph but smelling very different from these. Heritage is a dark, mature, masculine juice with the classic Guerlinade-mix clearly pronounced. This can make the initial perception somewhat "sour", but this quicly fades in favour of cinnamon, vanilla and a massive amount of dry woods. Like many Guerlains, Heritage is available in many different concentrations. I prefer the Eau de Toilette.

    16th March, 2006

    Showing 31 to 60 of 389.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000