Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 61 to 90 of 389.
    rating


    Polo Black by Ralph Lauren

    Just like Joel_Cairo I´m revising my initial dismissal of Polo Black. By no means is this a very original or daring frgrance. But it´s biggest problem is indeed the marketing concept. The ads and name creates an expectation of something smoulderingly spicy and oriental. Which it clearly isn´t. It is, however, a competent day-time/office fragrance with with just slightly more character than other recent launches. Mango, cardamom and subtle spices create an overall pleasant experience. I get way better longevity from it than other seem to, 5-6 hours minimum. The jet black bottle looks great but should have been coloured light green or brown instead, better representing it´s content.

    15 March, 2006 (Last Edited: 09 May, 2007)

    rating


    Gaultier² by Jean Paul Gaultier

    Tricky one. Not on par with Classique or Le Male for sure, but interesting nevertheless, especially in the fatigued fragrance - climate of today. If there was a bubblegum with amber flavour, then this is what it would smell like. Very sweet, and ultimately too cloying for myself, with hints of cardamom. Probably somewhat more suited for the ladies, G2 is still definitely sampleworthy.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    Corduroy by Zirh

    This is really not a bad scent, but unfortunately very similar to previous things on the market. It shares a lot with for instance Jean-Luc Amsler's Pive. Soft, woodsy, slightly peppery and suedish. Well balanced but with pretty low staying power.The bottle is nicely made, thick brownish glass. I'd describe it as a Diet-Cuiron tailor made for office enviroment.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    Z by Ermenegildo Zegna

    As much as I like the classic, well made italian clothes from this house, as much do I despise their cheap moneymaking attempts of scents. Essenza and Z has really signaled what to expect fragrancewise here. Boring, no development, light, synthetic fruitiness without depth. Please do not make this one stay on the shelves longer than needed.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    True Star Men by Tommy Hilfiger

    Actually a decent rendition of saffron lurking inside this one, with pretty boy Iglesias gracing the cheapo packaging. Overall synthetic and messy and hardly worth a purchase (although it's really inexpensive) but the saffron in the opening is really nice, better than for instance the one found in Armani Mania.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    Obsession Night for Men by Calvin Klein

    Really nothing in common with the mighty original, this light figsy/coconutty juice is pretty boring. It would actually be good enough to buy if it wasn't for the terrible longevity that is now the trademark of this sadly sinking ship of a house. Release a concentree version and I'll reconsider. The classic Dinand flacon was updated nicely though.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    Arpège pour Homme by Lanvin

    Insanely similar to Burberry Touch. And that one is great so Arpege is as well. A little less pepper and violet here + more tonka and overall sweetness. If you don't have the Burberry buy this one, if it is in your posession already - then pass. The longevity is equal also, very good in other words.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    Chic for Men by Carolina Herrera

    I do agree there are some similarities with Creed's Millesime Imperial, it should also be pointed out that Herrera, just like Creed has a metallic house-note in many of their juices. I also definitely smell the cola-thing that some have metioned. Unfortunately there is also a significant amount of red pepper in the mix, that spoils the overall impression for me, making it somewhat similar to boring stuff like Gant Soho or
    Tommy Hilfiger Freedom.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    John Varvatos by John Varvatos

    Reminds me strongly of Armani Black Code. one that is just okay. Unfortunately JV doesn't improve on that concept the least. Instead I perceive it as quite synthetic and slightly cloying. Apart from a GREAT flacon, this was a letdown.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    Lanvin L'Homme by Lanvin

    This one is a little overhyped according to me. Sure it is fesh, carefree and superior to tons of more recent launches in the same category, but I think it does lack personality and depth. Of course it may just be that it doesn't perform as it should on my skin. Worth trying anyhow.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    Dolce & Gabbana Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

    Hard to describe this as something else than a modern classic. Complex, strong and uncompromisingly masculine. Very mediterranean feel to it, just like Versace's Dreamer, and the two have more in common. Intense tobacco and cinnamon take center stage here, complimented by the citrus opening and woods/tonka drydown. Just like most countries, very popular here in Sweden.

    Original, and somewhat surprisingly part of a very strong fragrace catalog from these two designers that one could think would be selling out big time in the fragrance section (like they have clothes-wise) . No such signs yet - sweet.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    D&G Masculine by Dolce & Gabbana

    Have to disagree with my two highly respected colleagues Ipaid and Scenteur. It is indeed a simple citrus, but hardly bland. Quite contrary, it is very recognizeable on it's wearers due to a strong mint and herbal midsection which also makes it much more manly than many others in this genre. A summer staple, especially considering it's low price.

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    212 Men by Carolina Herrera

    Another 180 on my behalf. For many years I dismissed this as a run of the mill aquatic crap-scent. How I was mistaken. 212 is a perfect musky blend with some floral elements and that cool Herrera metallic house-note. The green pepper gives it some edge and the incense delivers a smooth and balanced drydown. It sticks around forever to, especially considering it's light and carefree aura. 10/10 - Good Stuff!

    15 March, 2006

    rating


    Platinum Égoïste by Chanel

    Superb blend, although it has absolutely NOTHING in common with the oiginal Egoïste. Woody, dry and fresh at the same time. There is a smokey, burnt cedar vibe going on that makes it very original as well. A masculine, modern, clean scent - perfect for urban enviroments. The only thing resembling it is Decleor's Un Air de Java.

    11th January, 2006

    rating


    Pasha Fraîcheur Menthe by Cartier

    Unfortunately not improving on the original at all. This is a hollow, stale & simple scent that isn't worthy of the Cartier name. Yves Saint Laurent's Live Jazz does the mint and citrus thing way better.

    11th January, 2006

    rating


    Pasha by Cartier

    Pasha is an overdose of green notes. I don't find it balanced enough + it's extremely close to something else, can't remember what. It does smell kind of exclusive, as often is the case with this brand. But there is something off putting with the strong herbal dryness. Check out Jazz or Tsar instead, both in the same genre and superior IMHO.

    11th January, 2006

    rating


    Chanel Pour Monsieur Concentrée by Chanel

    A somewhat different take on the classic PM. It is indeed stronger as the name suggests, but not with great longevity unfortunately. It feels more modern, but not edgy in anyway. Main difference is a clear added note of nutmeg & something smelling slightly like coconut. More interesting than the original and with the badly needed extra strength (Pour Monsieur lasts approximately 15 minutes on me).

    11th January, 2006

    rating


    Chanel Pour Monsieur by Chanel

    Classic indeed, and the opening citrus zest is to die for. But as always, this fades ridiculously fast and the whole scent is very weak. There's also some slightly "stuffy" notes in the mix, which are sure to scare of many young guys on the hunt for their signature fragrance.

    11th January, 2006

    rating


    Body Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

    Bk is a safe scent, haven't come across anyone who's not attracted to it's sweet and incensey aroma. It's very similar to Lolita Lempicka minus the licorice. Eucalyptus, wood and a smokey sweetness creates a recognizeable and pleasant aura. One of my gay friends told me that it is huge within their community and I can easily understand why. Another hit from this distinguished house.

    11th January, 2006

    rating


    Antaeus by Chanel

    As someone pointed out earlier, conservative is the word here. A herbal, highly manly concoction with strong notes of patchouli, leather and red fruit. Dry and strong. Not one for the timid, then again - what released in 1981 is?

    11th January, 2006

    rating


    Aramis Bermuda Tonic by Aramis

    Very light and breezy, not something for a cold climate or mindset. Bermuda Tonic is very Piña Colada-ish and features a pleasant blend of bitter rhum and sweet coconut. It is a tonic however and probably intentionally designed to be sprayed very liberally since it´s quite weak. Inviting packaging, and a nice release after numerous Lauder dissapointments.

    09 January, 2006

    rating


    Beyond Paradise for Men by Estée Lauder

    Opens up with an insane cucumber, like a bathtub full of the sliced vegetable, a bit nauseating actually. But it dries down to something completely else, somewhat Fahrenheit-ish actually. Not bad, and sporting a very good longevity. This has also received Luca Turins "blessing" if I'm not mistaken.

    09 January, 2006

    rating


    Fracas by Robert Piguet

    Fracas actually reminds me of Caron's Yatagan. It has that same ferocious bite and bad attitude, herbal, green and woody. As this was intended for women upon release, I strongly suspect the fairer sex was no joke in the 40's... Great, but wear with extreme moderation.

    08 November, 2005

    rating


    Bandit by Robert Piguet

    Simply brilliant. One of the great classics in female fragrance. A soft, powdery and slightly dirty floral with amazing staying power. One for the ages!

    08 November, 2005

    rating


    Céline pour Homme by Céline

    The art nouveau-ish bottle by design-guru Thierry de Baschmakoff is unfortunately wasted on quite trivial contents. The juice is close to DKNY Men (the skyscraper bottle) and woodily boring. Annick Mennardo has been the nose of many fine blends in the past, like Lolita Lempicka and Bulgari Black. Apparently she was either out of inspiration or on strict orders from the Celine people when creating this one. Just the usual citrus/woods + a dash of spice mix here. Save your money.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Sienna by Crabtree & Evelyn

    Sienna is a herbal, leathery melange that leaves a calorific trail. It sports much more character than it's sibling Sienna. Beautiful presentation like always with Crabtree. The new design can be viewed here: http://store.crabtree-evelyn.com/sie218000.html .
    Spicy, warm juice, but strict as well, ideal under a white shirt and bespoke suit.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Nomad by Crabtree & Evelyn

    C&E's shaving products are some of the finest on the market. I believe it is an american company(?) but the whole range is a high quality one in the steps of the traditional english barbershop represented by houses like Trumper, D.R. Harris and Truefitt & Hill. The Nomad fragrance is a very orthodox sandalwood, with supporting notes of teak and bamboo. Naturally the blend comes across as very woody, and is best worn for formal occassions. Layering it with the excellent shower gel significantly increases the otherwise moderate longevity.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Canoé by Dana

    Musky, powdery oldie which is a nice "everyday" wear. A little citrus in the opening, but quickly goes into a honeyed talcum mode, much thanks to the heliotrope in the base I guess. I don't find it very woody like the others, it reminds me more of the subtle bitter-sweetness of the original Tabac. This due to a good deal of carnation in both.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Sun Men by Jil Sander

    The male version regrettably doesn't have anything in common with it's female counterpart. The original Sun (for women) was an extremely innovative scent, designed to smell like concentrated sun-tan lotion. Probably the best coconut based fragrance ever made. And highly wearable for men - no problem. This one is a very weak, generic summer cologne (definitely cologne strength as well...) full of calone, a synthetic widely used in the aquatic/marines of today. So it's anemic, artificial and common compared to the womens one, need I say which one you should choose?

    28 September, 2005

    rating


    Sander for Men by Jil Sander

    To me this doesn't seem quite as original as the others think. Sander for men is a sympathetic fusion of coriander, cedar and Chanel's Allure. It really resembles that fragrance but it's lighter, less cloying and without the tonka-bonanza. It does last well, and gives the wearer a distinctively urban feeling. An enjoyable modern eau de toilette.

    28 September, 2005

    Showing 61 to 90 of 389.