Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 91 to 120 of 389.
    rating


    Raw Vanilla by Coty

    The Biagiotti Roma reference is spot on. I´d also add Paloma Picasso´s Minotaur as it shares the sweet, sticky vanilla base. Of the 3 Raw Vanilla is unfortunately the worst. Too linear and boring and ultimately cloying as well with it´s thick, sugary take on vanilla. Might attract the Pi-crowd though.

    28th September, 2005 (Last Edited: 08th April, 2007)

    rating


    Aspen for Men by Coty

    Coty is virtually unknown in Northern Europe, so when I got around to sample Aspen (many, many years ago) at a friends dads house I didn't have any cheapo-associations linked to the house at all. First of all the dark green bottle is well made and gives it a quality look. Secondly, Aspen is a really decent juice. Piney and mossy, very comforting in a classic way. It reminds me slightly of Tuscany, but much greener and minty. I think that this is a great choice considering the low price.

    28th September, 2005

    rating


    Paul Smith London for Men by Paul Smith

    Neat "swinging sixties" flacon, but only decent content. London could have been excellent if it wasn't so artificial in it's general ambiance. It's figgy, rummy, coconutty and cosily woody. There seems to be large- scale trends in the mainstream designer houses every year now, multiple launches under a given period smell very similar. And this is definitely the case with London, Armani's Black Code and CK's Obsession night. Out of these 3, the Paul Smith is the given winner, especially longevity-wise. An acceptable cologne, and a huge improvement over the two first very dissapointing offerings.

    27th September, 2005

    rating


    Glacier by Oriflame

    Oriflame is a swedish based cosmetics company that has become very successfull especially in Russia. Their concept is employing thousands of representatives globally, that sell the products during "tupperware"-parties in the homes of private persons. The quality is generally low, but it is a cheap brand as well. Their fragrances are unfortunately no exception, they're actually even inferior to the mainline, very poor standard. Glacier is a run of the mill spices and woods concoction, nothing new. If you're still interested in this brand check out http://www.oriflame.se/prod/catalog/MainCategory.jhtml?CATID=fragnance for their list of fragrances.

    27th September, 2005

    rating


    Ultraviolet Man by Paco Rabanne

    Unfortunately UV turns very synthetic on the drydown, which is a pity since it's quite a cool EdT. It's sweet and almost gourmand in nature, has a milkiness also found in Diesel ++ and Allure. Additionally It manages to capture the colour purple/violet well in the overall impression. BUT the longevity is bad and the base definitely too artificial to warrant a purchase.

    27th September, 2005

    rating


    Ténéré by Paco Rabanne

    Just recently sampled a very old bottle of this and I'm almost sure it had gone off, cause it was very urine-like... Can't imagine this was the purpose, especially with the 2 positive reviews. It did smell rather mossy though, which seems to be a Rabanne house note. Hope I can smell an okay version of this sometime, the bottle is very alluring somehow in all of it's simplicity.

    27th September, 2005

    rating


    Signature pour Homme by S.T. Dupont

    Bought this blind and was delighted at first. It is however very heavy on the incense, and easily becomes cloying. Strictly for winter use therefore, where the ambery, piquant sweetness and woods will surely please it's wearer. Is very similar to Cacharel's Nemo by the way, minus the caramel and with significantly stronger incense.
    As snowman pointed out the flacon is made to resemble an ink-well, which is of course a reference to the companys rich history of making high quality fountain-pens.

    27th September, 2005

    rating


    Minotaure by Paloma Picasso

    Very 90's in the overall feel, for me along with Eternity this was one of the signature scents of that decade. Minotaure achieved huge sales in Europe, especially considering the small Picasso brand. A strong juice, heavy on vanilla, orange blossom and jasmine. Instantly recognizeable and somewhat sexually ambigous courtesy of the florals. Smooth leathery base with a mellow sweetness that keeps delievering throughout the day. The closest scent is without a doubt Roma by Biagiotti, but Minotaure is the better of the two, at least for me.

    27th September, 2005

    rating


    Bleu Marine by Pierre Cardin

    I agree with Dave, a terribly weak marine release. Not better in any way than Axe/Lynx aftershaves. Uninspired aquatic mess, simple and bad. The original Cardin, Pour Monsieur was a much better juice along the lines of the first Polo by Ralph Lauren. Piney, fresh and masculine.
    By all means stay away from Bleu Marine though.

    27th September, 2005

    rating


    America for Men by Perry Ellis

    This was a blatant rip off of the original Tommy Hilfiger cologne. They even copied it conceptually with the regional american components/notes. I have to say that the end result is slightly better though, mainly to the nice and juicy pineapple in the opening. Overall a generic release which was discontinued, not exactly surprisingly.

    27th September, 2005

    rating


    Emporio Armani City Glam for Him by Giorgio Armani

    My initial response (from the board) upon sampling this P o S:

    Tried it this weekend, what a pathetic excuse of a fragrance. It is 100% the weakest release from Armani up to date, and that does say something. It smells like water+hairspray+faint musk. This is a joke. Cannot in my wildest fantasy imagine that City Glam becomes successfull, it's so bad that no one, NO ONE can buy even the fanciest gimmicks, copywriting etc. A Disgrace!

    This was a few weeks ago, since then my hatred for this garbage has only intensified. This represents everything that is wrong with the extreme consumerism of today - to much shallow surface - no Goddamned substance. Aaaaaaargh!

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme Light by Yves Saint Laurent

    This one was just unnecessary really. I suspect they only launched it to play around with the colour scheme of the oooh so classic tin cannister. Go for the real deal instead, you won't be dissapointed!

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Liquid Karl by Lagerfeld

    Was supposed to be called Hunger at first, mainly cause it smells a lot like bread. But the name was judged too controversial and this EdT was launched together with Lagerfelds clothes collection for Hennes & Mauritz, and was only available for a short time in those stores. It is pretty avant-garde, especially compared to earlier KL fragrances. Starts out just like a spiced loaf of bread (and I mean EXACTLY like bread - unique) but fades into a much more ordinary warm, ambery mix quite rapidly. Traded mine away, thought it was to feminine for me.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    DKNY Be Delicious Men by Donna Karan

    Absolutely vile. Synthetic crap with some bizarre apple and coffee thing going on, anyone liking this surely must be on crack or very low on comparative experience. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from this garbage. And the bare thought that this comes from the same house that gave us the timeless Fuel, Black Cashmere and the pure genius of Chaos says a lot about todays market climate. Saddening.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    M7 Fresh by Yves Saint Laurent

    A remake that actually does deserve some attention. This one is quite different from it's big brother, the smokey, oudh-ish, Dr Peppery brown bottle. Fresh has some pronounced citrus, grapefruit mainly, and less of that darkness (that can come across as quite feminine sometimes) so characteristic of the original. Obviously better suited for the summer season.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Anice by Etro

    Too linear and "boozy". Apart from the beautiful flacon Anice has little to offer, just sambuca-smelling cologne, PASS.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Carthusia Uomo by Carthusia

    Quite original offering. It is somewhat aquatic and with a very natural raspberry accord, smells like the real fruits, no synthetic crap. Like all Carthusia's it is a simple blend, but pleasant nevertheless. It reminds me of the early, austere Creeds like Bois de Cedrat and Bigarrade.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Aria di Capri by Carthusia

    This shouldn't be marketed as uni-sex because it's 100% feminine. No guy could get away with this, unless you are wearing D&G's Sicily on a daily basis that is. It is very lovely though, peaches and lillies in a powdery, soft and sweet blend. Best longevity among the Carthusias.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Mediterraneo by Carthusia

    Mediterraneo opens up with a superb lemon zest, the best there is alongside the original Boucheron according to my personal preference. It smells natural, fresh and is good reminder why citrus is so widely used in perfumery. It then dries down to a quite simple green tea base, delicate and dry. This is not a complex fragrance, but a very nice one in all of it's simplicity. Perfect for hot summer days.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Magnetism for Men by Escada

    Soft, subtle, saffron-scent that should be worn for romantic wear in my honest opinion. This one is very original for coming out in 2004, a warm caress of a fragrance, slightly woody and almost metallic. A big favourite of Basenoters globally, and I can certainly see why. Magnetism is a great blend of the aforementioned notes + leather and white musk - a class act!

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    B*Men by Thierry Mugler

    Just like Paul McCartney's solo work always will be compared to The Beatles, every new Mugler release automatically gets measured alongside of the masterpieces Angel and A*men. That has to be the flipside to such a massive success, how can you possibly match it? Well, simply put, you can't. B*men is a great woody scent, with rhubarb and all kinds of cool notes - still the final impression is a "Diet-A*Men". Now that in itself probaly justifies a purchase for many, and I believe the 2 can co-exist. Just think of B*Men as a new edition more suitable for office and professional enviroment. 4/5 stars.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Island Kiss by Escada

    I think Escadas female fragrance developers are the number one experts on fantastic top notes. All these seasonal launches smell unbelievably great when you first try them, I know cause I bought this one for my lady immediately. Once that blast of fresh strawberry and delicious fruit punch settles, the rest isn't as good unfortunately. Still this works great as a "refresher" during the warm months of the year.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Flawless update of old classics like Tuscany and Azzaro PH. Modernized spicebomb a lá 1970's. Rive Gauche PH manages to sport a very contemporary appeal alongside of the rugged, masculine rawness. I can honestly say nothing else elicits so many positive reactions in the clubs and dancefloors as this one. It just signals that 70's decadence so incredibly well, without smelling one bit stuffy or dated. Tom Ford should be a very respected man for pushing stuff like this and M7 in an era where the the best seller lists include Polo Blue and Davidoff Echoe... One of my top 5 forever.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Armani Code / Black Code by Giorgio Armani

    Definitely ok compared to much of the junk released by GA. Decent oriental heavy on woods and tonka, not unlike Le Male impressionwise. Lousy longevity though, and definitely too cheap-smeling in the end to accompany a sweet tux.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Spezie by Lorenzo Villoresi

    Spezie reminds me of the first Comme des Garcons and is way too crammed with "kitchen-spices" for my acceptance. I mean no offense, but surely Coriander, Cardamom, Laurel,Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Cumin, Tomato Leaves, Rosemary and Sage especially all together, rather should belong in a nice tuscan beef stew then on anyone's skin. Sorry Mr. Villoresi but you overdid it this time!

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Rochas Lui by Rochas

    The fragrance people at Rochas really thought outside the box when creating Lui, and for that they should get some cred. Cause this one could have easily come out in the 70's or even 60's, it is VERY classic smelling. The juice itself isn't exactly super original, an orange blossom/vanilla cocktail with a dash of patchouli. But the overall impression is a sympathetic and masculine one. Can't imagine it's selling very well though.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Individuel by Montblanc

    The compariso to Joop! is unavoidable. These two really are very similar, Individuel being a sligthly muted version. Same monster sillage and longevity though. The question is just WHY? With so many people hating the original, did we really need a copycat? I don't think so, and if you want something this flashy and strong just go for the "scarlet bad-boy" in the first place.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Emporio Armani Night He by Giorgio Armani

    For some reason this one vaguely reminds me of Fahrenheit, but of course with that added syntheticness of later Armanis. I perceive Night as being very sharp and unpleasant, even cloying. Didn't do particularly well here, maybe because of the aforementioned?

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Nostalgia by Santa Maria Novella

    Fantastic scent and quite original as well. It definitely resembles the old leathers like Knize ten and Cuir de Russie, but it's closest relative has to be Bulgari Black. Nostalgia is even more avant-garde though, using notes like petrol and motor-grease to create a very unique aura. Very untypical for being a Santa Maria Novella fragrance, especially since it's so modern. After all we're talking about a house with several centuries of heritage. In no way does Nostalgia put that leagacy to shame, quite on the contrary- this is probably their best launch up to date! The genuine, vanillic, leather drydown is to die for.

    26th September, 2005

    rating


    Patchouli by Lorenzo Villoresi

    Incredibly natural on the plus side, a little too earthy on the minus. I'm also amazed by the testimonies of great longevity, this Patchouli faded within an hour or so on me. Perhaps my sample was bad? I miss something sweet in here, maybe a dash of vanilla or amber. It comes across as a little rough, but maybe that's the point.

    26th September, 2005

    Showing 91 to 120 of 389.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000