Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 121 to 150 of 389.
    rating


    Heliotrope by Etro

    Very nice subtle cologne from the Italian masters of paisley. Etro's Heliotrope is the aroma of bitter-sweet almonds on a bed of white flowers sprayed with caramel-milk. Quite weak, but this is not an issue here as I suspect a strength-increase would just make it overtly sweet and cloying. Also I'm surprised that this was released in 89, comes across as much more contemporary and soft compared to what stuff generally smelled like then.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Mat; Male by Masakï Matsushïma

    I think this is a potentially great one, unfortunately the rose accord ruins it for me, making it to girlie. Mat; Male is the one fragrance best capturing the real aroma of both watermelon and parsley - 2 very cool notes that unfortunately haven't been used well before. What a pity that they added those florals to...

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Sentiment for Men by Escada

    This one is Escada's worst release hands down. Nothing in common with great juices like Magnetism, PH or Casual Friday. Sentiment is just a synthetic mess, very Calvin Klein-ish. Poorly mixed red fruits with a dash of lime and rose pepper.Decent packaging doesn't save this work of haste. Discontinue, pleaaaase.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Mediterráneo by Antonio Banderas

    All the Banderas scents are made by Puig and feature very cheesy and cliché -latin lover ads with the great thespian himself. I don't have to tell you the scents are average at best and I honestly never understood this type of marketing. Wouldn't these slick guys be better to use in selling stuff to women? Maybe the wives and girlfriends are the target here? Whatever, to summarize - these suck. Bad.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Mémoire d'Homme by Nina Ricci

    Unjustly forgotten scent that is always discounted here. I agree with Scenteur 7 100% that the overall impression of Memoire is similar to L'Artisans great Tea for Two. A little strange since they don't share any notes. I think it is the saltiness of the licorice in the Ricci that reminds of the smokey lapsang in TfT somehow... Anyway this is in no respect a simple clone, it has a lot going for it, a very nice leather drydown for example. Seek out Memoire, you'll be happy you did.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Présence by Montblanc

    This company makes some of the finest pens available and their wristwatches are excellent to. The fragrance department seems to suffer from a serious lack of good ideas though. Présence is decent at best, an ambery melange with mint and anise. Nothing new and the bottle is unpractical and above all not very good looking.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Pour Un Homme by Caron

    Caron's Pour un Homme is one of my most beloved classics. It feels so modern you can't understand it was created more than half a century ago! I guess this was the first fragrance to combine the sharp astringent qualities of lavender with smooth and powdery bourbon vanilla. The combination is of course brilliant and the sales of for instance Gaultier's Le Male is great proof of this. PuH is sweet, masculine, confidence-inducing, comforting and uplifting all at once. One for gentlemen around the globe. A subtle classic, will be available forever (I guess and hope).

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Photo by Lagerfeld

    Although launched in 1990, Photo feels very much like a child of the eighties. It's strong, woody, masculine and has a very nice peach note. Very similar to Romeo Gigli's Sud Est. That one is superior of the two though. The packaging and name is of course a reference to Karl Lagerfelds second passion after fashion - photography.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Armani Mania by Giorgio Armani

    Smells great on my friend but vile on me. Perhaps cause I've been dissing its siblings for so long, hehe. This fact anyway prevents me from giving it a unanymous thumbs down, since it seems to be dependant on skin-chemistry to a higher extent than most other stuff. The fragrance itself is a subtle blend of saffron, woods and musk and the bottle is unarguably great looking recalling the twisted -spherical design of the Armani make-up products.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Douro Eau de Portugal / Lords by Penhaligon's

    Recently received a very generous sample of this and quite frankly I don't get extatic reviews. This is a very basic scent, just like Hennepin says it, consist of lemon (not even different types of citrus), musk and wood. That is all there is to it, hardly very regal in my opinion, on the contrary quite "poor" and definitely simple. The staying power is indeed good but that hardly makes it purchase-worthy. Very weak effort compared to Blenheim Boquet or even Castile.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Lagerfeld Man by Lagerfeld

    A dry and very formal cedar juice. Very peppery and woody to the extreme. Nice but hardly suitable for anything else than professional wear. The yuzu in the pyramid must be wrong, not a sign of anything but wood and spice here, especially not citrus.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Lagerfeld Classic by Lagerfeld

    Aaaah - the great Lagerfeld Classic - I want to hate it and throughout the years I have, but, the older I get I can sense a weird connection between "us" and I know he' s calling in the horizon and knows I soon will surrender to the mighty mix of amber and spice... Won't be happening for quite a few years though - THIS IS HARDCORE!

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

    Probably the biggest source of controversy on the male fragrance discussion board up to date. EVERYONE has an opinion of Kouros, this one just doesn't allow neutrality... Okay, I'm on the positive camp, a great classic in my perspective, but as so often with those - keep the application moderate. That way you'll have a honey/incense/clove/amber combo signaling cosmopolitan masculinity all day, AND night - bizarre longevity, again like the majority of YSL's. If you can't take the Great White Devil, as Indie Guy calls Kourous, by the horns immediately, there are plenty of summer and sport versions working as a great introduction. Once you're ready to face the beast - he'll reward you big time. =)

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Jako by Lagerfeld

    A weird one, not particularly masculine and with some very "clashing" notes. All fragrances where rosewood is involved seem to be terrible on my skin.
    Jako was anything but a pleasant olfactory experience, at least on me.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Happy for Men by Clinique

    Can't stand it myself, but Happy probably is among the best ones in this genre. Should be the premier choice of teenagers worldwide. Inoffensive, linear orange and yuzu scent, crammed with that acidic/aquatic AdG quality that seems to attract so many people today. If your main goal with fragrances are to blend in and become as mainstream as possible, then Happy should be front row in your bathroom cabinet. The bottle does look good though.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Habit Rouge by Guerlain

    The only fragrance I can remember that has made me throw up. I literally vomited after spraying HR on my skin. There is something very wrong with this one, the sickly sweet vanilla base clashes with the rosewood in a bizarre way, and on top of that this smells extremely feminine to me. I guess the enduring global support for this one will always remain a mystery to me...

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Escada Homme by Escada

    The cognac-note is no gimmick, Escada PH definitely has a vintage brandy vibe to it. This is a really cosy and warm juice, would only wear it in winter.
    Powdery and spicy, reminiscent of Aramis old JHL. Could definitely have been released a decade before it's actual launch. A modern classic.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Emporio Armani He by Giorgio Armani

    Clearly the best one of the "tubes", He is almost original. A decent wood/musk combo that does stay with you all of the day, not very common in Armani-country. It has some suede-ish spice, and the whole mix is mellow and very enjoyable to wear. Not half as popular now as it used to be, which is good since the whole european continent (slightly exxagerated =)) reeked of it in the late nineties.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Égoïste / L'Égoïste by Chanel

    Just like Fahrenheit you'll recognize Egoïste immediately in your proximity. Very original spicy and warm oriental with an almost medicinal, semi-bitter opening. That quickly fades though, leaving room for a sweet, woody base with vanilla and roses that keeps you enchanted (and enchanting!) for many, many hours. One of Chanel's best and a rich example of the fact that their male collection is on par with the legendary female one.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Eau Sauvage Extrême by Christian Dior

    This doesn't have much in common with the flawless original. Instead it suffers from the extreme thickness and herbal overload so typical for the time of it's release. People should only consider this as a replacement for Drakkar Noir or YSL PH Concentree, not Roudnitska's 1966 masterpiece.
    Very curious about the 100% Glaçon version though...

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Mugler Cologne by Thierry Mugler

    Although I prefer Creed's Original Vetiver, which is very similar, Cologne obviously came first. It was a very refreshingly different take on the whole fresh & clean genre, one with Character. It's soapy, clean, grassy and full of citrus. Though it contains very standard notes, the overall impression is original and not much, except OV, resembles it. If you're on a budget get the Thierry, if not go Creed.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Armani Eau Pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    I have zero respect for the house of Armani nowadays. Too many blatant sell-outs, especially in the fragrance department, has made the name very hollow for me. This "eau" was launched long before the demise though and trust me it is as far away from Acqua di Gió as is possible. This is a heavy, mossy masculine EdT that opens with a great, bitter lemon peel. High quality, good sillage and to this date more expensive than the other run of the mill crap bearing Giorgio's name. The discontinuation of Armani Eau Pour Homme
    (which wouldn't surprise me BTW) would definitey mark the end of one of the most famous designers worldwide, at least for me.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Aquaman by Rochas

    VERY VERY heavy on the cilantro/coriander which gives it a sour and perfumey (in a negative way) aura. I don't think Aquaman is a very good blend, just too disharmonic and sharp. It does however seem to have many fans, so maybe this is just my dislike for the entire genre shining trough... The Jacques Cousteau-ish bottle is brilliant though!

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Aqua Allegoria Pamplelune by Guerlain

    Just as Luca Turin wrote somewhere, Pamplelune is a very sulphuric juice. It slightly resemples that sharp smell when you light wooden matches. This supposedly is some strange quality unique to grapefruit, and since the pyramid lists it as " Acidulous Grapefruit" this certainly seems to be the case. It quickly fades into a semi-bitter citrus with a nice Guerlain-vanilla base and the scent sticks around for a long time, especially for being a part of the AA-series. A good wear for humid summernights I would say.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Lily of the Valley by Woods of Windsor

    Probably the truest rendition available of this lovely flower. It's not a one noter though, some supporting citrus and roses in there to. Not for guys obviously, but there is a huge supporting line with fine soaps etc. that can be used by everyone.
    Check out: http://www.woodsofwindsor.co.uk/fragrnce.php?fragID=2
    for the entire range.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    L'Air du Temps by Nina Ricci

    Apparently the good Baron de Charlus finds L'Air du Temps angelic. Well if this is the aroma of angels, then please send me to hell right away! If anyone wants to describe that nasty smell of old ladies OD-ing on their perfume - just remember the name of this atrocity. This is really terrible and should be forbidden ASAP. Powder overload with ghastly florals, get it away from me!

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Teint de Neige by Lorenzo Villoresi

    The colour of snow is white, as is the colour of powder. And surely Teinte de Neige is the most powdery fragrance ever created, the description even reads: "The essence of perfumed powders". This of course makes it a bit odd, not very manly for example. I still appreciate this one in an abstract way and wouldn't mind having a scented candle of it. Too "MUCH" for personal wear though.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Green Tea by Elizabeth Arden

    Works fine as a uni-sex refreshing mist for the summer holidays. Forget the fancy pyramid, this is green tea and citrus, very effervescent. No staying power here, use it like a splash or tonic.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Chaos by Donna Karan

    Unadulterated brilliance. Don't have the energy to go on a rant about the virtues of Chaos now, but let's just say its one of the most smooth, slick, mellow, creamy and spicy leather based scents out there. Like a big piece of suede sprinkled with saffron and cinnamon. Heavenly.

    26 September, 2005

    rating


    Vetiver by Guerlain

    Never been a vetiver fan and this rendition is no exception. Still I really appreciate this classic blend, just not on my own skin. Green, grassy and lemony opening, maybe a hint of coconut as well? It progresses through the typical vetiver, slightly bitter and soilish - this is the part I can't stand. But the tobacco/tonka base significantly mellows it out leaving a very nice finish. Not for me but I won't diss it either, it's just too darn classic. Would put it next to Eau Sauvage in terms of timeless appeal.

    25 September, 2005

    Showing 121 to 150 of 389.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000