Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 211 to 240 of 389.
    rating


    Higher by Christian Dior

    Superb "post-modern" bottle, boring "modern" fragrance. I have a personal grudge with pear as a note and Burberry London is the only blend (I can think of now) that makes it tolerable. Cerruti Image, Perry Ellis Portfolio and yes, Dior's Higher are all ruined by this strange, edgy fruit-note. The overall is impression is a sharp one, not very balanced. Higher smells almost acidic, very sour at least. Good sillage for a post 2000 release, but it doesn't help unfortunately as the juice leaves so much to be desired.

    15 September, 2005

    rating


    Eau d'Hadrien by Annick Goutal

    A zesty fresh citrus classic that would could/should be mentioned together with the heavyweights like Eau Sauvage, Signoricci, Orange Verte and Monsieur Balmain. But just Like the aforementioned Hermès, EdH unfortunately struggles with severe longeviy issues. Strenghtwise it's definitely more a cologne than EdT. Too bad on such a natural-smelling lovely fragrance. Check out the Absolu version which is stronger, or the Les Nuits edition which is alltogether a different scent, both great alternatives.

    15 September, 2005

    rating


    cK be by Calvin Klein

    Flawless skin musk. The quintessential "anti-fragrance", blending with skin in minutes creating a faint but very pleasant juniper/white musk aura. Sure it's light, but this is the main idea. A scent that can be worn at ALL times, even if you're in a temporary fragrance burnout period or had a sensory overload due to Diptyque's vicious L'Autre =) . Great bottle as well, even more appealing than the original "One" version. A classic in all of it's simplicity.

    15 September, 2005

    rating


    Allure Homme by Chanel

    In many ways a great end to the 90's. A decade that unforunately, and this is my private and subjective opinion, signaled the begining of a large-scale demise of the perfumery world. Of course created by master nose Polge, Allure stands as evidence that new ideas and concepts can be explored without losing the quality and feeling of consistency within a house. I'd say Allure was very original upon it's launch. Although not a gourmand per se, it is very strong and the tonka beans give it a sweet, powerful aura. There is also a persistent pepper accord that enhances an incredibly masculine feeling midst all the sweetness. I dismissed it's little brother, the sport version, when that came out. But I've reconsidered since the, even buying a bottle. The Sport edition tones down some of the original strength, but also adds a lovely milky note (similar to the one found in Diesel's ++) that sets it apart enough to own both.

    15 September, 2005

    rating


    Rectoverso Mandarin Musk by Ulric de Varens

    Despite the horrible orange plastic bottle this is a great scent that deserved a much better fate. When I first sampled it, the house of Bulgari instantly came to mind. RMM has that same playful, light vibe that is so typical of many Bulgari creations. I'm sure there is some tea in here as well. The scent goes from a pleasant neroli and mandarin top to a slightly sweet and musky drydown that lingers for a very long time. Shortly, if you see this scent somewhere, be sure to try it. A very unknown gem.

    15 September, 2005

    rating


    Miss Dior Originale (previously Miss Dior) by Christian Dior

    My mother's signature fragrance since decades. And what a fine "oldie" she has chosen. Traditional chypre composition that I guess has defined the genre to a certain extent. It smells classy, green and floral and lasts forever. I think a man could pull this off, if applied extremely sparingly, afterall the drydown is very woody. The frosted bottle with the "dogtooth" pattern is a classic as well.

    15 September, 2005

    rating


    Alyssa Ashley Vanilla by Alyssa Ashley

    A bitter and sugary vanilla absolutely perfect for enhancing and layering with other scents. Very mono-note, so not so exciting on it's own, but that feature makes its so suitable to mix with other fragrances. Try for example layering it with Cacharel's Nemo, Lush's Prince or Helmut Lang. Accentuates other notes such as musk and different woods very nicely by adding a bitter-sweet vanilla dimension to them. Nothing feminine about it all btw.

    15 September, 2005

    rating


    Eau de Santal by Floris

    Marvelous fragrance with the highest quality possible. Santal is such a smooth, natural blend, very masculine and romantic. It is indeed very similar to Gucci's Envy, but not as loud and even richer. It has a bitter edge to the sandalwood that makes it very old school, but never in a bad or cloying fashion. Much more complex than your average sandalwood, so if you want a "one-noter" go for Tam Dao, Santal Noble or Santal Imperial instead. This Floris is much more, IMHO one of the finest men's fragrances ever made.

    14 September, 2005

    rating


    Elite by Floris

    A strong men's floral along the lines of the original Van Cleef & Arpels and Oscar de la Renta. There is something nasty in Elite though, somehow the florals come across as very dissonant and overtly powdery to my nose. Shortly, this smells really dated in the same way as Aramis and Paco Rabannne PH, NEXT!

    14 September, 2005

    rating


    Incensi by Lorenzo Villoresi

    This is the cinnamon I've been searching for all my life (well at least a few years ;) ). A search that has taken me from Obsession through to Cartier's Must via Baie de Genièvre, CdG White and so forth.
    Of all these lovely cinnamon interpretations, Incensi has appealed the most to me. It is brutally manly and extremely spicy like the majority of LV`s. But do not let the name fool you, although there is sinificant incense to be found here, this Villoresi is first and foremost a hommage to cinnamon - the note of kings!

    12 September, 2005

    rating


    Musk by Lorenzo Villoresi

    Completely different take on this perhaps the most classic note of them all. In Lorenzo's rendition we get a sweet, slightly powdery musk with a lovely, mellow rose heart. Like many Villoresis it is quite creamy and the woody base makes it very safe for masculine wear, although there is nothing overtly feminine about the fragrance at all. Musk is in my honest opinion one of LV`s finest and a great example (just like his colonia) of the way he flawlessly has updated many of the darlings of the perfumery-world.

    12 September, 2005

    rating


    Geir by Geir Ness

    Highly original floral composition that really doesn't remind of anything else. Picture a snowcovered mountainside with crisp air, the breeze sweeping through the surrounding woods and the most delicate white flowers growing in the white landscape, this is the image Geir creates. I'm really not exagerating this is how powerful of a scent Geir really is. And the fact that an ordinary norwegian guy like Geir Ness has achieved worldwide success with this and Laila, the womens fragrance, says everything about the quality and work contained in the simple, stylish bottle. The fact that this is one of very few masculine florals that work + superb longevity doesn't exactly weaken it's glory!

    12 September, 2005

    rating


    Xeryus Rouge by Givenchy

    Nothing to do with it's big brother, the black bottle. Rouge is like the name implies very red, smells ike red fruit punch with a distinct cactus note. Extremely sweet and with significant power, extremely strong actually, at Joop!ish levels. The drydown is a conventional woody one, but doesn't appear until many hours after application as the fruity sweetness lingers forever. All in all a pretty cool and original release but to cloying at times.

    12 September, 2005

    rating


    Very Valentino pour Homme by Valentino

    Reading the awesome list of notes, anyone who has sampled Very Valentino would surely become VERY Confused. The pyramid shows a spicy tobacco fragrance with woods and musk, but in reality this is just a medium musky, semi-sweet plain scent. Very pleasant no doubt, but not half as original or masculine like it's predecessor, Vendetta - the leather king. I would say that Very Valentino is extremely suited for office wear though. Just the right strength and output for that enviroment.

    12 September, 2005

    rating


    Brit for Men by Burberry

    Was sceptical about Brit at first, mainly due to what I perceived as lousy staying power. After a few revisits I now find it very nice and actually sporting decent longevity. It's a very subtle scent, modern musk with floral elements, mainly rose. The drydown reveals a spicier side though, and after an hour or so your skin will smell of delicious dry and spicy gingerbread. A nice "grower"-scent. Another hit from this brittish house.

    05 September, 2005

    rating


    Zino Davidoff by Davidoff

    There is some cloying element in Zino that never made me embrace it. It also comes across as quite feminine, perhaps the strong rosewood? However it is very recognizeable and original, so I guess it could easily become the signature for anyone who isn't bothered by the aforementioned factors. Imagine Gaultier's Le Male with added florals and a sweet tonka base. It's definitely a quality scent, just not my cup of tea.

    05 September, 2005

    rating


    Samba Nova Homme by Perfumer's Workshop

    This male Samba comes in the same the weird shape as the other earlier ones, but the bottle is terra cota with a nice dry finish. The fragrance is ok, opens with strong mint and herbs. The drydown is like a mix of Biagiotti's Roma and Diesel Zero Plus, very woody and with vanilla + strong cinnamon.

    05 September, 2005

    rating


    Samba for Men by Perfumer's Workshop

    Think Calvin Klein's Escape, but significantly more competent execution. A fruity, masculine musk that I must say still smells very contemporary. The best of the Samba line that does contain quite a few hidden gems.

    05 September, 2005

    rating


    Land by Lacoste

    Dissapointing early nineties launch that didn't stay in production that long. Reminds of Hugo Boss Elements, both in concept and actual smell. Grab the terrific Booster from the same company instead!

    05 September, 2005

    rating


    Horizon by Guy Laroche

    A pleasant surprise from the people behind the horrid Drakkar Noir =).Although this one shares the contour-lines of that 80's beast, that is fortunately their only similarity. Horizon is like a hybrid between Kenzo PH and Extreme Polo Sport - a marine with strong peppery elements. Sticks around forever as well, like many pre Acqua di Gio launches.

    05 September, 2005

    rating


    Herrera for Men by Carolina Herrera

    This concept has been done so much better so many times since 1991 that there really is no reason for buying this one. For superior woody tobacco spring for Dolce & Gabbana Ph or Burberry London intead. Outdated.

    05 September, 2005 (Last Edited: 15 March, 2006)

    rating


    Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche

    Oakmoss has always been one of my least favoured notes along with vetiver, and Drakkar Noir truly reeks of spices and dry oakmoss. I find it bland, one-dimensional and overtly macho in a very negative way. This is outdated stuff that shouldn't be worn by anyone except maybe bearded bikers (and they probably aren't too keen on fragrance anyway...). Stuffy, inasanely strong and often ridiculously over -applied. YUCK!

    05 September, 2005

    rating


    1881 by Cerruti

    I don't know if there is any other fragrance brand except Cerruti, where I really dislike ALL launches up to date. Just like CerrutiSí and Image, 1881 is an unfinished blend IMO that doesn't know where to go. It never settles down to something harmonious or balanced, just a bunch of soapy, woody notes plus a completely unnecessary rose accord that bounce around each other leaving the wearer uncomfortable. Try Bulgari PH for a brilliant take on a similar idea.

    05 September, 2005

    rating


    Eau de Campagne by Sisley

    Oddly this one doesn't have any reviews yet, sells a lot worldwide to my knowledge. EdC is a very mossy green unisex scent with a super distinct tomato leaf note in the top. Perhaps leaning slightly to the feminine side, EdC is still herbal and dry enough for any guy to pull off. It lasts forever which is good considering the hefty price tag. Reportedly a favourite of the Swedish Queen Silvia.
    Must say it definitely smells more modern than something launched in the early 70's. A classic from a original and somewhat excentric french company.

    01st September, 2005

    rating


    Tel Quel by Yves Rocher

    Semi-sweet, semi-oriental, it's hard to pin down Tel-Quel. Definitely an original blend that is easy to recognize once you've smellt it. However there is some weird note in there, possibly coriander, that is kind of disturbing to me. Good lasting power and very cheap like all Rochers. If you want something reminiscent of YSL's Live Jazz but much sweeter, then Tel-Quel might be a good option.

    01st September, 2005

    rating


    Aztek (original) by Yves Rocher

    This one is very much like Diesel's Zero Plus Masculine. Heavy on cinnamon and woody notes but very little depth or complexity. Actually both the bottle and the scent itself feels kind of tacky and it's a good example of the fact that many cheap fragrances really are plain bad. Any other of the male Rocher launches is a better choice than Aztec.

    01st September, 2005

    rating


    Eau des Merveilles by Hermès

    A very unfortunate case of "smelling-much-better-on the-paper-strip-than-on-my-skin" for me wit EdM. This is a perfectly crafted clean amber scent with some spicy citrus. EdM just smells clean in a way I've never encountered before, it blends into the skin in brilliant way. Unfortunately it takes a feminine turn on my skin that was not present on my sample strip. Every man should try it though, cause I think it is extremely uni-sex. Another winner from Hermès!

    31st August, 2005

    rating


    Un Bois Vanille by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Insanely sweet but equally excentric and cool! Absolutely not something I´d wear myself. But it´s very hard not to appreciate the fun and joy that is so evident to have been part in the making of Un Bois Vanille.

    I get a carefree "resort" vibe from it if that makes any sense, probably due to the coconut. Something to pull out before going to a leisure dinnerparty with your equally well off friends at Ralph Laurens villa in Jamaica. Hedonistic, cocky and FUN!

    The vanilla is special on it´s own, kind of "toasted" and with some bitterness like the real pods. But together with the licorice, sandalwood and sugar it transcends classic vanilla interpretations into something completely different - the quintessence of opulence.

    If you´re an obsessive vanilla fan and can handle this extreme gourmand on your skin - then you might find a party friend for life.

    31st August, 2005 (Last Edited: 26 December, 2007)

    rating


    109 by Bjorn Borg

    The world famous tennisplayer from my home country Sweden now makes a living by selling high quality underwear and medium quality fragrances. 109, which is a statistical reference to how many consecutive weeks Mr Borg was ranked the worlds no 1 tennis player, is a decent citrus offering on the dry side. Lots of bergamot going trough dry herbs and eventually landing on a standard wooden base. Not very exciting, but for the low price it usually can be found for it's quite good. Would work fine for office use for example.

    31st August, 2005

    rating


    Lolita Lempicka Au Masculin by Lolita Lempicka

    Lolita is very similar to Body Kouros by YSL, but without the incense and eucalyptus in that one. Instead LL has a very strong licorice aroma that was quite unique when it came out. Since then we've had Mat;Very Male, KenzoAir and several other launches based on licorice/anise, but to this day I feel that LL does this the best. It's projection isn't the greatest on me, but it lingers around the skin for quite some time. I think that Lolita together with A*men and Rochas Man will stay at the top of the gourmand genre for years to come.

    31st August, 2005

    Showing 211 to 240 of 389.