Reviews by MonkeyManMatt

    Showing 241 to 270 of 389.
    rating


    Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier

    It's very simple: Just don't overdo Le Male and it will be perfect. Every who has once encountered this Gaultier knows its uncanny potency. Therefore 2-3 spritzes should please even the most hardcore wearers. Much of this fragrance's bad rep stems from the fact that many guys just go bananas on the trigger, creating a thick, nauseating cloud for anyone close by. It is however a brilliant blend and I feel it's also very contradictory. In the sense that the overall impression feels extremely modern while the composition and notes definitely are inspired by and pay hommage to classic french perfumery. I mean how many modern best sellers have a lavender note this prominent? Also the seductive, heavy vanilla in the base reminds me of the old Guerlains like Shalimar.
    As most of us know, Le Male has been a mega-bestseller in Europe since it's creation, and this goes to show that being creative and original does pay off in the long run. Le Male should be a lesson to all the companies trying to make a quick buck on all these seasonal launches, re:editions and hollow new gimmicky releases. -Put some real effort in and you will be rewarded!
    With that being said I think Le Male should be a part in every mans wardrobe, unless you can't stand orientals that is =).

    31st August, 2005

    rating


    Arabie by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Incredibly complex no doubt, but unfortunately equally incredibly nauseating to me. This is just to much for me to handle, Arabie triggers a sensory overload for me, like walking around in giant spice market all day when wearing this. Like the most overtly spicy offerings from Diptyque, Villoresi and CdG this is just too foody for me. If i get the craving for a christmas fruit cake I eat one, don't wear one!
    Jokes aside it is a masterfull blend, but to me an aqquired taste that definitely should be sampled first. Go for Ambre Sultan instead if you need to order any SL online with no testing opportunity.

    31st August, 2005

    rating


    Ambre Sultan by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    I really like it, however I can't detect so many other notes beside the amber. It 's just basically a quite dark amber scent that sweetens up with time. Compared to L'artisans Ambre Extreme (which is THEE amber for me) I'd say AS is a little more mature, dark, less sweet and with better staying power. A Lutens classic!

    31st August, 2005

    rating


    Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

    An aquired taste and perhaps not for the mainstream. Jaïpur is very original and playful. Strong powdery notes, mainly because of the vanilla, but also a sweet, almondy heliotrope that gets a lot of space. The drydown goes on to become quite spicy and this Boucheron, just like it's predecessor, feels very formal and perfectly suited (pun intended)for business occassions. It's a try before you buy fragrance though, as I suspect that the powdery feel might be to much for some.

    15 August, 2005

    rating


    Indigo by Gant USA

    As dull and uninspired as everything else the Gant-people have laid their preppy little fingers on. A watered down grapefruit/neroli mix that seems to have been designed for an anemic, politically correct government office. Or something like that... I guess you get the picture - BORING! Save your money and buy Creed's Erolfa instead.

    15 August, 2005

    rating


    G2 by Gant USA

    Like the colour of the juice suggests this is very peachy indeed. Quite frankly I'm not sure why Gant even bothers to continue launching fragrances since everything they do is so horribly ordinary that it gets discontinued within a year or two. As you might suspect G2 isn't even worth a quick sniff and it shall be as waguely remembered as the embarassing Soho that came 3 years later. Let's hope that the latest aquatic monstrosity, Gant Adventure, meets the same fate soon...

    15 August, 2005

    rating


    Boucheron pour Homme by Boucheron

    Very classy, and the lemon explosion of topnotes belong to the best in the fragrance world. It's a shame that these vaporize so quickly though, because the heart and base aren't as great. Still a very steady, rich and classic fragrance that I guess will be around for ages. Original jewelry-inspired packaging like all Boucherons.

    15 August, 2005

    rating


    Andy Warhol for Men by Andy Warhol

    Mossy ambiance with emphasis on cardamom. Somewhat synthetic overall impression, but ok staying power and like previously pointed out, almost always available for a very low price. For something similar but much better, check out another artist's fragrance - Le Roy Soleil. Although that one isn't a favourite of mine, it should appeal to any fans of Andy Warhol for Men.

    15 August, 2005

    rating


    Un Jardin sur le Nil by Hermès

    Definitely a sibling to the previous mediterranean garden. This time without figs but with a fresh mango accent instead. The similarity is huge though, so need to get both.

    Like all Elena's scents this is a competent olfatory experience, very zesty and nice. And unfortunately, like all Hermès's scents somewhat poor in the longevity department. Summerwear exclusively for this one.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Eternity Summer for Men 2005 by Calvin Klein

    Not bad at all, less cloying than the original and overall a more appealing fragrance. Actually not very similar to Eternity, much sweeter and and a lot more subtle. As tiresome as these seasonal releases may be, I think CK has a summer winner with this one.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    212 Men On Ice 2004 by Carolina Herrera

    Huge improvement over the original. Less floral, more manly but still containing that unique metallic Herrera note. A good example that re-editions sometimes are warranted. Cool (pun intended) ice cube conceptual packaging.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Jeans Couture Man by Versace

    Nice daytime frag, practically identical to Emporio Armani He White. Looking at the pyramid I'm a little perplexed over the huge amount of notes as it's more or less a basic white musk with some nice citrus top notes. Typical Versace Glamour 'n Glitz packaging.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Eau de Paco Rabanne pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

    Don't think it has so much in common with the original, which I loathe by the way. To me this is a pretty one-dimensional lavender fragrance. Extremely modern in it's approach though, and this is not bad at all in this case. Breezy, light and lasting all day.
    Strong lavender is after all a very unusal note in newer launches and it's great that there is a more modern alternative to the classic representatives of this ingredient like Caron Pour un Homme and Yardley.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    V/S for Men by Versace

    Apart from the very cool modernist bottle this isn't very exciting. Nice enough minty citrus opening but VS is weak and fleeting, and above all waaaaay to floral for my liking. The original Versus in the Marlon Brando-style carton was much better.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Rocabar by Hermès

    Winter comfort scent. Extremely peppery and warm woods steadily anchored by a not too sweet vanilla. Rocabar feels very outdoorsy due to the clear pine and Hermès' reoccuring equstrian theme is strong as ever with this one.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Paco Rabanne Pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

    Excellent bottle no doubt. Calandre by Rabanne is another great bottle with neat metal details. However this is one of the few powerhouse fragrances that I absolutely cannot stand. It reminds me of Aramis in it's thick herbal quality. If there was only some more sweetness added to the dense soapiness it could become great, but it's just to dry and cloying. Like an inpenetrable garden of sickly dry kitchen herbs.

    For a nice one in this very same, mossy category, go for Gucci Nobile instead.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Paco by Paco Rabanne

    The only original thing about Paco is it's recycleable packaging. Just like Ruslan pointed out, a total CK One rip off, launched to capitalize on that success. Haven't seen it for years btw, probably discontinued, let's hope so.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Green Jeans by Versace

    Odd one. Competing with Polo, Pino Silvestre and Creed's Epicea for the heavyweight Pine belt. The fizzy citrus-top fools you that it's a summer scent, but when that forestnote kicks in, warm weather is not what you want. Can't make up my mind on this one, very good sillage and power but the pine-extravaganza renders it somewhat cloying and not very versatile.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Blue Jeans by Versace

    Reminiscent of Gaultier's Le Male, but possibly even stronger. I really liked Blue Jeans at first with it's potent blend of violet, lavender and a very creamy sandalwood finish. However I started perceiving it as quite cloying (maybe my bottle went bad) and ultimately gave mine away. Held on to the lovely decadent, camp cowboy motif tin can though. A true work of sleazy genius.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    White Jeans by Versace

    A pity that this one was discontinued. A lovely powdery, feminine vanilla presented in the great Jean-series packaging. Got my girlfriend 2 bottles and we both enjoyed it a lot. Somewhat similar to the first female Emporio Armani, the one in the golden cylinder.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Calandre by Paco Rabanne

    Actually haven't tried the fragrance itself, but that bottle is a piece of modern art. To come out with something this minimalistic 1969 is just pure genius. It's apparently inspired by the Roll's Royce radiator grill, which is called Calandre in french. I suspect that the Bauhaus movement also was a source of inspiration for the now classic design.

    This flacon perfectly shows how cyclical our aesthetic perception is, as it wouldn't look retro in anyway if launched today.
    Check out a pic at:
    http://www.mydesignerperfume.com/img/Calandre.jpg
    Beautiful.

    10th August, 2005

    rating


    Polo Blue by Ralph Lauren

    Topping my list of most pointless launches this decade together with the 2 recent Zegnas, Morgan de Toi and a handfull others. Sharp, sour, run of the mill garbage. The cucumber note is especially bad, and what a shame that they failed to use such a cool note in a good way.

    The only positive thing about Polo Blue is that it lasts for approximately 1 hour.

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    Zirh by Zirh

    Well made summer/spring citrus. Heavy on the ginger and with a quite strong mossy base and a bitter lime-peel note making it substantially more masculine than most of the other fragrances in this genre. A neat brushed steel cylinder protects the juice from light.

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    Safari for Men by Ralph Lauren

    Besides sporting a flawless Hemingway-ish bottle and packaging, Safari is an excellent fragrance. Herbal like Polo (green bottle) and Crest but with a fresh dimension as well, which is definitely welcome. It is very recognizeable, due to that soapy, leather and woods base. Sweet and masculine, - good stuff.

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    Polo Sport by Ralph Lauren

    The first "real" fragrance I ever bought and I remember being amazed how anything could smell this complex. 12 years and some 50 different bottles of fragrance later that thought seems somewhat remote...

    Sentimental associations aside Polo Sport is a decent release which is indeed very sporty. Somewhat similar to Kenzo PH, but inferior in quality. It is a citrussy, aquatic fragrance with a peppery bite and clear seaweed notes.

    Not bad at all, but so many more exciting things have come out since then. Will always hold nostalgic value for me though ;).

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    Ô de Lancôme by Lancôme

    is a slightly forgotten unisex classic. Standard formula eau cologne, this time in the hands of Lancôme. No surprises here, the blend we know so well, tons of citrus set against green herbs, mostly basil in this case. Basically another well done Eau to chose from the hundreds.

    Remember mom and dad sharing the bottle when I was a kid, I off course "borrowed" some from time to time.

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    Legendary Harley-Davidson by Harley-Davidson

    No offense, but these all suck big time. The bottles are so tacky they belong in a John Waters film. Actually the whole concept is so camp I might buy some just for fun. Bleeeh! If I'm not mistaken btw, the blue one is a bad copy of Cool Water as well...

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    Escape for Men by Calvin Klein

    Escape is to blame for a lot. Actually probably not, but it was indeed the first fragrance in this fruity fresh synthetic genre that eventually dominated the market for over a decade and only now is starting to stagnate. This development was unfortunately inevitable, mainly due to the great backlash against the eighties. A decade of decadence, consumerism and above all the incredibly strong powerhouse fragrances. With the nineties came grunge, beige clothes and extreme political correctness. People became very afraid to offend anyone in any way, which also became noticeable in the fragrance world, ultimately leading up to the total dominance of another CK - One.

    But first came Escape, miles away from the spicy, ultra masculine juices like the first Armani, Jacomo de Jacomo etc. Very fruity, fleeting and presented in a bottle that clearly looks uni-sex, even leaning to the feminine side.

    Enough with history, the juice itself is just plain boring. Synthetic, zero harmony and as mentioned before, zero longevity.

    If you must have something in this genre, try Kenzo's L'eau Par or even Lacoste Red.
    Next!

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    By Man by Dolce & Gabbana

    Dirty and sexy animalic musc with super potency. Not one for the office, clubbing and romantic wear only for this beast. By can easily be very overpowering and needs to be handled with caution, 3 sprays works great for me. I'd classify it as a peppery, woody oriental. However it seems to have added pheromones or something, cause the drydown smells like sex (in a good way!). Definitely recommend sampling before getting By, because the animalic heaviness might be too much for some.

    08 August, 2005

    rating


    Sicily by Dolce & Gabbana

    Great heavy fragrance reminiscent of the old french classics. The EDP version smells sweet, floral and loaded with apricots and honey. Strong floral elements as well (lily of the valley & gardenia?). 2 spritzes will keep your dame lovely for the whole day. The Monica Bellucci ad is amazing too. 5/5 Matt/Sweden

    08 August, 2005

    Showing 241 to 270 of 389.