Reviews by Jack Hunter

    Jack Hunter's avatar
    Jack Hunter
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Showing 1 to 30 of 310.
    rating


    Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

    I have the EdT and get a light cream and bergamot opening followed by cinnamon and nutmeg, as time goes by I notice the cardamom. After a while I can detect some light floral's within the light talcum powder scent, everything is balanced just right. As I said very nice indeed.

    The scent is light and soft and spicy and a little powdery in a light talcum powder way. Now the amazing thing about this fragrance is when it changes from the midnotes to the drydown the scent goes from very nice to totally MAGNIFICENT.

    And this is all down to the wonderful captivating vanilla scent that smells quite regal. That change from a soft spicy scent to the amazing vanilla is quite dramatic. And the reason is it almost makes it smell like a different scent, almost.

    A big thumbs up from me and I am going to have to get the Edp as well.

    20th January, 2015

    rating


    Patrick by Fragrances of Ireland

    This fragrance opens clean, green and fresh with a lemon zest. It reminds me of a lot of different scents having a hint of each. It has the green feel of Paco Rabanne Pour Homme, the slight soapiness of Irish Spring Soap, a dash of citrus from Original Vetiver and the lemon zest of Original Lacoste scent.

    It does evoke the green countryside in the Spring after a light shower. As time goes by a earthy Patchouli can be smelled mixed in with the green freshness. This is followed by a lot of woods making the scent smell earthy and woody. The feeling at this stage moves from the green pastures to the green earthy woodland.

    To sum up a very clean and fresh green and earthy woody scent that is a bargain. It is a very good quality fragrance that is one of the most affordable you can buy.

    01st December, 2014

    rating


    Paco Rabanne Pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

    I have the vintage aftershave from the early Eighties and a edt spray from 1993.

    A very honeyed green mossy and slightly soapy scent that gives you that fresh out of the shower feeling. The quality is very good with a deep clean smell. The projection is soft and just below average with three or so hours with the aftershave and several with the edt.

    Unfortunately after the year 2000 this scent was severely reformulated. The oakmoss that made this scent the classic it is became restricted in the amount they could use. With this scent it's best to find a older bottle to enjoy the clean sexy smell.

    A big thumbs up on a scent that imo is as contemporary now as it was in 1973 when it was released. I mean when has smelling clean and fresh ever been dated.

    27th November, 2014

    rating


    New York Intense by Nicolaï

    This fragrance smells very plush and classy with a nice creamy lemon and orange ambery soft spice opening. Throughout it's long life you can pick up cloves, cinnamon and vetiver all mixing in with the lovely ambery soft spice.

    This fragrance is so smooth it fit's to your body chemistry like a hand going into a velvet glove. I get twelve hours longevity with the projection been in the Goldilocks range of been just right.

    A very pleasant and inoffensive scent that suit's any situation and anyplace. A big thumbs up!

    11th November, 2014

    rating


    Cuir Cuba Intense by Nicolaï

    On first application I get a soft haze of a aromatic smell of licorice and lemon with slight hints of mint. After a short while the tobacco can be smelled mixed in with other notes.

    The opening does not last long and the Magnolia soon takes over and it dominates the composition from here on out. As you smell the Magnolia there are a lot of other notes that are dancing and interweaving through this main accord.

    We have a light smell of tobacco on top of the magnolia almost like it has been sprinkled on top. There are hints of Ylang Ylang and other notes but the fragrance is so complex I just cannot pick them out to Id them.

    Underneath the magnolia I can smell a warm emerging leather note and sometimes a hint of civet. This is what I believe is given the scent it's warmth under the magnolia accord.

    As we move into the basenotes when the Magnolia has faded you are left with leather, hay and a hint of civet on your skin. Though the scent has pretty much lost it's power at this stage and is pretty muted on the skin.

    I have to say the quality and complexity is top notch and very impressive. The scent is definitely unisex as the contrast of the floral and warm tobacco and other notes make it ideal for men or women.

    The only thing that I'm not totally taken with and it's just a taste thing is the dominance of the Magnolia note. It's nice but a bit too much, I think I would rather the tobacco to be dominant. What I'm liking is the complexity and how the other notes interplay with the floral note, I like how the leathery warmth seems to be at the base of the Magnolia note.

    All in all a very good complex fragrance that is very well crafted, I'm impressed!

    09th November, 2014 (Last Edited: 08th November, 2014)

    rating


    Or Masculin by Bourjois

    This smells just like vintage Bel Ami which I also have. I would say about 90% identical to it, maybe just slightly spicier. Same top quality, in fact I could see people liking this slightly more than vintage Bel Ami. It has more of the soft spice over the leather than Bel Ami.

    Imagine the smell of a old worn leather sofa with a lot of soft spices on top and you have this fragrance. Wonderful scent which unfortunately is now discontinued though it does pop up on Ebay occasionally.

    07th November, 2014

    rating


    Memoirs of a Trespasser by Imaginary Authors

    Wow this is gorgeous and complex!

    On first application to my skin I'm getting a wonderful smoky woods and dried vanilla. And I have to say it smells absolutely great.

    Shortly after a melody of different resins, amber, spices interact with the main smoky vanilla and woods. This slightly changes the smell so every-time you take a sniff your picking up something new.

    As it dries down you can smell a resinous Mryhh note mixing in with the dried vanilla. And even at this stage you will be picking up different nuances to the scent.

    I have to say I'm so impressed with this wonderful fragrance that I will be buying a full bottle.

    Nine out of Ten.

    17th June, 2014

    rating


    Oud Fleur by Tom Ford

    This opens with a strong sweetened rose with a lot of patchouli coming through. The oud note is a bit subdued within this blend and does not really stand out.

    Eventually the scent becomes woody and tames the sweetened rose.

    This is a very nice fragrance but there are so many like this which this is not the best.

    15th June, 2014

    rating


    Tobacco Oud by Tom Ford

    Well this opens with tobacco and oud and is soon joined by a lovely whiskey note. Spices and a dash of honey soon join the fray and I have to say it's very nice.

    Underneath the main notes is a woody backdrop which is more noticeable if you smell yourself up close. The whiskey note is very good within this composition and adds to the character of the scent.

    They could have called this fragrance Tobacco Whiskey as the oud disappears not long after the opening and the wonderful whiskey note lingers on throughout the life of the scent.

    Overall a excellent spicy tobacco fragrance. A big two thumb ups.!

    15th June, 2014

    rating


    Patchouli Impérial by Christian Dior

    This opens with a really loud in your face Patchouli mixed in with coriander and woods. There is also a hint of citrus and florals making the patchouli smell creamy.

    As the scent dries down it becomes more woody with a slight amber sweetness. Though the patchouli stays linear throughout.

    14th June, 2014

    rating


    Ambre Nuit Cologne by Christian Dior

    This opens with a airy soft spicy pink rose with slight citrus undertones. After the opening the amber starts to blend with the rose but it's not a overly sweet amber. This is also coupled with pepper.

    The pink rose dominants this composition with the amber giving the rose smell more depth. But in a very subtle way in that the pink rose is just slightly sweet.

    To sum up a beautiful rose fragrance slightly sweetened by amber with hints of pepper and citrus shining within the blend.

    14th June, 2014

    rating


    Fetish pour Homme by Roja Dove

    A explosion of spicy leather with lime is what I'm getting on first application. Oakmoss with floral hints as well as cinnamon also start to bloom from within the main spicy leather and lime accord.

    This scent is a lot like Puredistance M, it has the same spicy DNA but with a big dose of lime in the mix.

    A very good spicy leather with a twist of lime.

    14th June, 2014

    rating


    Gucci pour Homme by Gucci

    On the opening I'm getting spicy woody incense that is smoky and peppery.

    The woods do become more like pencil shavings in the drydown. The scent also starts to smell like Indian food mixed with woody incense.

    The projection is close to the skin and the scent can only really be smelled if smelled up close. Also the longevity was only a couple of hours.

    13th June, 2014

    rating


    Oud Ispahan by Christian Dior

    This starts with a jammy rose and oud which is soon joined by patchouli making the scent more earthy. As time passes the scent gets more woody from a dose of sandalwood.

    This smells nice and is well done but just does nothing to distinguish itself from a dozen or so similar scent on the market.

    13th June, 2014

    rating


    Shooting Stars: Modoc by Xerjoff

    On the opening I'm getting a very astringent iris and violet on a bed of dry vetiver.

    As time passes a orange note appears within the blend with a little bit of sweetness making the scent more aromatic.

    Eventually the dry vetiver and sweetness combine as we move into the basenotes.

    I find this scent a bit unpleasant with notes that are not totally in harmony with each other.

    13th June, 2014

    rating


    Sand Aoud by Mancera

    On first application I can pick up on a blend of Oud, blackcurrant and patchouli with a slight medicinal undercurrent.

    The scent is fruity and spicy and eventually gets more sweeter as it eventually drys down.

    A nice scent though not my cup of tea.

    13th June, 2014

    rating


    Cuir Beluga by Guerlain

    This opens with a gorgeous creamy vanilla coupled with a leather suede note. Within this are hints of the citrus mandarin note and I must say this is lovely.

    As time passes a amber note gives the vanilla that extra full body sweetness but never overwhelms. Also within this beautiful composition floral notes can be detected. Giving the fragrance a extra layer of complexity.

    To sum up a exquisite enigmatic amber vanilla fragrance that has hidden facets of leather and florals just waiting to be explored.

    12th June, 2014

    rating


    Arsène Lupin Dandy by Guerlain

    On the opening I'm getting strong notes of cardamom and citrus with pink peppers and powdery violets. This is surrounded by a soft ever-present sandalwood.

    The opening is a little overbearing but it soon settles down to a powdery violets and woods accord with a dash of incense.

    A rough opening that settles down to a very pleasant fragrance.

    12th June, 2014

    rating


    Aqua pour Homme by Bulgari

    A weak bland citrus marine fragrance that lasts no more than a hour on my skin. Not impressed!

    12th June, 2014

    rating


    Enigma Pour Homme by Roja Dove

    This opens with a very refined slightly boozy vanilla note that is soon joined by a tobacco accord.

    This is reminiscent of Tobacco Vanilla but more smooth and dialed down in it's projection. More high quality and the slight boozyness is a nice touch.

    A very nice fragrance but way overpriced imo.

    12th June, 2014

    rating


    Sycomore (new) by Chanel

    It opens with a very dry and smoky vetiver with tobacco. After a while a lovely soft sandalwood takes over mixed in with cypress. The sour like vetiver note though still shines within the blend.

    A very good quality vetiver scent!

    12th June, 2014

    rating


    Amber Oud by By Kilian

    Amber and vanilla with cedar getting between these notes so it never reaches that satisfying olfactory climax. Also in the blend is balsam note which is like a very toned down Tiger balm. But alas no Oud whatsoever.

    This smells nice but it is not very well blended at all. There are many ambery vanilla fragrances that are better and way more affordable. Also the pretentious name of this fragrance is misleading as there is no Oud to speak of.

    To sum up a poorly blended amber and vanilla fragrance with a name that is a misnomer.

    11th June, 2014

    rating


    Iris Silver Mist by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    A cold misty iris root that is as everyone says like the smell of carrots. It's powdery and woody with a earthy note.

    Different and strange smelling to my nose.

    11th June, 2014

    rating


    La Fumée by Miller Harris

    Smoky incense with woods and birch make this smell very masculine and smoky. Some spices and a citrus like aromas add to the smoky masculine character of this fragrance.

    The incense gives the scent a slight sweet sour sweat like note. Add this to the smoky spicy woods and you have a scent for a man's man.

    Very good scent for a man to wear. Thumbs up from me!

    11th June, 2014

    rating


    24 Gold by ScentStory FZE

    A beautiful vanilla and amber mixed in with jasmine and ylang ylang is what I'm getting from the opening. It smells very soft and like white chocolate.

    As time passes I can detect a hint of oud with the jasmine becoming more prominent. Added to this are soft woods that hold it altogether in the background.

    To sum up a beautiful soft white chocolate gourmand fragrance that is beautiful though a bit feminine.

    11th June, 2014

    rating


    Santal Majuscule by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Wow was my first impression of this gorgeous fragrance from Serge Lutens. It opens with a totally captivating beautiful rose note blended in with soft sandalwood. Throughout you can pickup hints of powdery cocoa though the rose dominants.

    What I love about the rose here is that it's very bright and a little sweet and almost fruity smelling. Very addictive I must say.

    The longevity and projection are very good with this one. This is a very beautiful romantic fragrance that smells absolutely great.

    10th June, 2014

    rating


    Sel de Vetiver by The Different Company

    This opens with a salty vetiver and grapefruit accord and is nice and refreshing. After a while that celery note appears which everyone mentions.

    This scent very well balanced with other notes so the vetiver note is not too dominant.

    A very good fresh vetiver scent and one perfect for the Summer.

    10th June, 2014

    rating


    Back to Black by By Kilian

    A gorgeous blend of honey cherry like tobacco with vanilla and soft spices.

    If you love gourmand sweet scents then this is just wonderful.

    09th June, 2014

    rating


    L'Humaniste by Frapin

    The opening of this fragrance is wonderful with it's cocktail of gin, lemon and juniper which smells very nice indeed. It quickly becomes more peppery and then starts to smell like Cartier's Declaration to my nose.

    After a hour it's a skin scent and more and less gone by the second hour.

    The problem with this scent for me is that it's wonderful for twenty minutes or so then it starts to smell like another fragrance. And the longevity is awful.

    I would recommend Cartier's Declaration over this as you get several hours or more.

    09th June, 2014

    rating


    Versace pour Homme Oud Noir by Versace

    Fresh Oud and spices with a dash of leather makes this smell really good. The Oud in this scent has been integrated really well and smells absolutely great.

    A chic sexy smelling fragrance that would be great for a night out especially if you want to attract the ladies.

    08th June, 2014

    Showing 1 to 30 of 310.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000