Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Jack Hunter

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 367

Numero Uno by Carthusia

This opens up soft with a slight medicinal mossy powdery aroma. And then you can smell violet and vetiver adding to the mix. Adding to this is herbs and musk.

It smells strange and uneven to my nose and the violet with that medicinal accord stand out like a sore thumb. Good ingredients but this scent really rubs me the wrong way. Smells like cosmetic hand-cream with it's powdery violet medicinal accord.
12th August, 2017

Carthusia Uomo by Carthusia

This fragrance reminds me of a old Insignia deodorant (light blue can) from the Eighties. It also bears a resemblance to Ice Men by Mugler.

It has a fresh musky mossy geranium scent mixed in with woods. It smells nice but very one dimensional, it does not hold my interest.
12th August, 2017

Mediterraneo by Carthusia

A very intense blast of lemon and other citrus notes. This is coupled with a lovely tea note on a bed of flowers and green herbal notes.

The ingredients are breathtaking in their quality. It's like you have squeezed citrus juice into a bowl and added the essence of flowers and green herbs and then dabbed yourself.

Very nice but a little too realistic and intense.
11th August, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

1681 by Carthusia

This smells like a fresher and lighter version of Dior Homme. The ingredients are top notch and it smells great but too opulent and perfumery for me to wear casually. A good scent for dressing up and going out.
11th August, 2017

Loewe para Hombre by Loewe

Review Of Vintage Formulation

This opens up with citrus and lavender and smells like Azzaro Pour Homme but with added spices. Eventually it goes in another direction and leads to a strong smell of Rosemary combining with other herbs. You get that minty piney fragrance which seems to be the heart of the fragrance. Underpinning this is a musky oakmoss and vetiver with some woods.

It's one of the most sensual fragrances I have smelled and it's really good and unequal.The great thing about these old school fragrances with lots of Oakmoss is that the basenotes just linger on your skin all day long. The musky oakmoss and vetiver with the fresh rosemary accord is just lovely indeed.
09th August, 2017 (last edited: 10th August, 2017)

Homme de Grès by Grès

Now this fragrance harks back to another time in structure and is nothing like what you would find on the shelves today. No sugary sweetness here!

After a few sprays upon the skin the scent smells quite harsh with bitter herbal lemony citrus notes. But the beauty of this fragrance is how in opens up and takes you on a olfactory journey. Wait twenty minutes and the scent starts to unfurl and soften with the introduction of lavender and jasmine floral notes. This starts to make the scent more aromatic as slowly the bitter herbal citrus melds with the lavender and floral notes on a underlying bed of leather.

Eventually the herbal mossy lemony citrus starts to fade and the floral jasmine notes start to come through more and the scent starts to become more woody. So you can smell a lovely herbal floral woody scent on a leathery base. Quite beautiful (reminds me a bit of Carons third man scent).

The scent is beautifully crafted in how the different notes are introduced and then meld together quite beautiful. Every-time you sniff the scent you are picking up a new different aspect. I am impressed how all these different notes all come together to create a alluring beautiful scent.

I get several hours of longevity and the basenotes seem to linger on the skin for ages where modern fragrances they just seem to disappear.
07th August, 2017

The Fragrance Journals : 1962 by Floris

On the opening I can smell a light haze of orange and lime with the lime been more prominent. Soon after the cypress makes itself known and it is very nice indeed. It reminds me of a lighter and fresher version of Italian Cypress, the cypress note is gorgeous and to die for here.

After a while I can detect light wisps of jasmine and floral's but the cypress is the star of the show.The other notes act around this note to make it lighter, fresher and just god damn gorgeous. Eventually the cypress accord becomes more warmer and mossy and musky as we move into the basenotes.

The fragrance has a understated elegance too it. I know the scent was is inspired by London's Soho district in the Summer of 1962 but it definitely smells Mediterranean and Italian to my nose.

Well the fragrance did not impress right out of the gate but when it opens up it does become a stunner. The Cypress note here is just beautiful, very fresh and seductive. In fact I think I prefer this to Italian Cypress as its more elegant and refined with hidden nuances. Italian Cypress is very potent where as 1962 is just easier to wear. In fact this scent could have been released under the Acqua Di Parma line.lol

So all in all if you like fresh aromatic cypress and the Mediterranean vibe then this is a winner. Would be great for Spring and especially Summer.
06th February, 2017

L'Homme Idéal Eau de Parfum by Guerlain

A very light and subdued vanilla and almond scent with a hint of cherry. The problem with this fragrance is the main notes need to be more amplified as the scent sits very quiet on the skin.

The fragrance smells out of focus and unfinished, when you smell it you want it to be more bold and have that extra something but it just fades away without leaving a good impression.
20th October, 2016

Les Déserts d'Orient - Songe d'un Bois d'Été by Guerlain

Well who would have thought that Guerlain would come out in this day and age with a dirty leathery spicy fragrance done for a gentleman. On first application I get the cumin body odor fragrance mixed in with a leathery woody oud and saffron. The jasmine is used wonderfully to tame the beast so it puurrss and does not growl on your skin.lol

I get the associations with Dior Leather Oud, but this has been created in a more classy way. The scent is very sensual and intimate, the balance between the dark notes is offset well with the floral jasmine.

As time goes by and the spicy cumin note settles down and this scent just gets better and better. It goes into full seduction mode, the oud, leather and floral touched myrrh does smell like you could don suit and become a Lothario for the night.

I would say this fragrance is for the gentleman who wants to attract the ladies. Very well done!
26th September, 2016

Les Déserts d'Orient - Encens Mythique d'Orient by Guerlain

This feels very fresh when first sprayed on, it's like you have soaked rose petals in water left it for a while and then sprayed it on. It's not overwhelming as the incense quickly follows which smells like white musk and then I can pick up the ambergris. The ambergris smells slightly
sweet and salty.

The scent is very ethereal and feels watery on the skin as you have a light shimmering effect of light rose, incense and ambergris. It smells very plush and is so well balanced, no note feels bold or overwhelming. Everything is light and airy, imagine a breeze coming your way with a sweet, salty rose just caressing your senses.

After a while you can pick up other notes within the mystical like breeze of a scent like saffron and Patchouli. All this is tightly weaved in a ethereal fashion smelling very classy and plush, you could imagine a Arabian princess wearing this.

A very beautiful fragrance and worthy of praise.
25th September, 2016

Ombré Leather 16 by Tom Ford

A light and softer version of Tuscan leather with the raspberry note been replaced with a floral sweetness. Very nice.
24th September, 2016

A Midsummer Dream by Roja Dove

On the opening I get a refreshing blast of bergamot and grapefruit and then a lot of elmi resin. This resin smells like light honey, lemon and pine and the scent has a light candy like sweetness but not too much. After a while I can pick up on some light floral's that weave in and out of the scent as well as some woods. Now this fragrance is nothing spectacular or wow I have to have this but it is quite nice.

The quality of the ingredients is top notch as you come to expect from Roja Dove and this scent does have a dreamy quality to it's nature. So all in all I find this scent to be pleasant.
23rd September, 2016

Ambre Éternel by Guerlain

At the start I get a fresh ambergris and incense that quickly becomes spicy. At this stage the scent smells medicinal like you are in a hospital waiting for the doctor. Underneath this there is something foody trying to peak out under the medicinal spicy ambergris.

After a while I can smell the leather and woods but over that there is this warm sweetness mixing in with the ambergris. It smells like some sweet desert that is cooking and just slightly becoming burnt. So if you can imagine a sweet leathery salty ambergris that is spicy and medicinal, and imagine that concoction been heated then that is this fragrance.

I have to say it's quite exotic but just not my cup of tea.
10th September, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Néroli Outrenoir by Guerlain

Off the top I get a lot of petitgrain with a surge of bergamot which is followed by a smoky mix of tea and myrhh. After a while when the scent takes to the air it suddenly opens up and I can smell the neroli within the mix. At this stage it does smell very nice and enchanting, imagine smoky tea notes mixing in with neroli and earthy myrhh. I can see what Thierry Wasser was trying to do offsetting the neroli note with smoky tea and myrhh notes.

Also I think he has captured the tea note quite beautifully, you can smell the bitter and smoky aspect. And when this mixes in with the neroli it's quite lovely. I think how much you love the tea accord is going to determine how much you like this one. For me I love it.

For me on my skin the tea and smoky earthy notes are more dominant than the neroli. And that's why to my nose I perceive it more on the masculine side, definitely unisex though. Talking about the neroli note I find it more subdued and that it takes a backseat to the smoky earthy tea accord. Though when it makes itself known it is quite lovely.

Though the neroli comes through more when the smoky earthy tea notes calm down a bit. But this is not a full bodied dominant neroli scent, it's more subtlety weaved providing a contrast to the other notes. Very nice fragrance.
01st September, 2016

Shaving Shop by Taylor of Old Bond Street

This fragrance does have a nice light whisky smell on the opening which gives way to the smell of limes. From here I can smell lots of lime, green moss and shaving cream. As time moves forward I can smell a hint of floral's and herbs. Eventually it gets woodier in the drydown and starts to remind me a bit of Carven Homme.

This scent is quite delightful and smells quite original, have not smelled its like before. As it's a barbershop fragrance you can use it as a body spray and never be afraid you have overdone it.

To sum up a wonderful barbershop fragrance that smells of light whisky, limes and green moss with a hint of shaving cream and it gets woodier in the far drydown.. Very nice indeed!
26th July, 2016

Blu Mediterraneo Fico di Amalfi by Acqua di Parma

A very nice fresh scent with the sweet smell of fig. Whats also nice is the light green accord like your smelling the stem of a plant. It goes very nicely with the fresh sweet smell.
14th July, 2016

Eton College Collection by Taylor of Old Bond Street

On first application with this fragrance you get the smell of lemon and oranges with the glorious smell of neroli. You can tell they are using real oils in this scent as it smells fantastic.

These citrus notes then become more masculine with a hint of Patchouli in the mix. Which is soon joined by light woods and musk.

I have to say it's a simple fragrance but quite addictive. I'm quite smitten with this scent. It's a very barbershop scent as it was intended to be but quite good as well.

Simplicity done very well!
09th July, 2016 (last edited: 16th July, 2016)

Cologne Intense by Houbigant

Off the top I can smell lemon citrus with lavender mixed in with a strong earthy spice/herb. This herbal element really does ground the scent from becoming too citrusy. It's a little astringent in a earthy leafy way and contrasts well with the citrus and lavender. I think this note must be the Tarragon.

Behind these notes I can pick up a soft floral note which just shows itself every so often behind the dominating herbal accord. It does get stronger and I'm sure it's neroli or Jasmine maybe both.

The scent is very well blended and crafted and quite complex. If you like green citrus herbal earthy fragrances that is gently softened by a floral & neroli accords then you will like this. Thumbs up from me, I like it.
16th May, 2016

East India / Vi Et Armis by Beaufort London

It smells like wood lacquer mixed in with peat from a compost heap, really horrid fragrance. One of the worst smelling scents I have ever smelled. They have also had to change the name of this one to "Vi et Armis".
26th April, 2016

T. Habanero by Rania J

The opening to this scent is a little challenging with what smells like sweet Cambodian oud and dark tobacco. After a while it starts to smell quite nice with the sweet Cambodian oud mixing in with the fermented like dark tobacco. I used to have a bottle of real sweet Cambodian oud and recognised the smell almost immediately whilst smelling this fragrance.

After a while the incense can be smelled and the scent becomes soft and spicy and quite pleasant. Cannot help think that this scent would make a great aftershave than a Edp.
22nd April, 2016

Rose Ishtar by Rania J

On first application you get a sweet watery red rose fragrance with a patchouli emerging not long after. This makes the rose smell like a old Victorian rose fragrance where the added patchouli gives it a earthy austere like smell. Though the sweetness does eventually soften this aspect.

Eventually the sweet jammy like rose note does start to get a bit powdery in the dry-down.
21st April, 2016

Oud Assam by Rania J

Lol.... A fresh cheesy citrus like barnyard smell assaults you on the opening. The oud does smell real and not synthetic even though it is hard to like. Smelling this in a western fragrance is kind of strange and you cannot help been repelled a bit by the smell.

After a while the cheesy barnyard aspect dies down and a cedar and vetiver note appears helping take the edge off the unpleasant aspect of the oud.

Eventually the scent transforms into a fresh woody and incense dominated oud fragrance making the scent more bearable.

If you like challenging oud fragrances then you will love the opening though for the rest of us just wait until the drydown.
21st April, 2016

Jasmin Kâma by Rania J

On application you get a quick burst of fresh sweet like bergamot followed by a animalic dirtiness from the in-doles which quickly unfurls the blooming jasmine in all its glory.

The jasmine smells very natural and is soon joined by patchouli which seems to tone down the jasmine making the scent more earthy in its scent.

Eventually more notes come into play which tends to change the nature of the jasmine. I can smell musk, woods and a little sweetness. Sometimes the jasmine smells earthy and other times sweet and candy like.

A very good kaleidoscopic jasmine fragrance where other notes are cleverly used to change the nature of the jasmine. Its a pleasure to see how the jasmine changes when other notes subtlety come into play. Thumbs up from me for a clever play on the jasmine note!
21st April, 2016

Lavande 44 by Rania J

At first spray you get a wonderful warm sensual lavender making a good impression straight out of the gate. The patchouli lends a earthy spiciness to the scent which is soon joined by woods and everything is blended just right with the lavender.I have to say this smells good and barbershop like.

If you like lavender scents then this is a must try as its quite special.
21st April, 2016

Ambre Loup by Rania J

Well I found this to be quite the wild fragrance with a lot going on scent wise. I get amber and vanilla with spices and a strong cedar and woodsy notes. The fragrance is very resinous and spicy, the oud seems to play hide and seek but when it reveals itself its like a ray of sunshine peeking out from the clouds. It adds a fresh and almost mystical like scent within the sweet spicy balsamic fragrance and then its gone to hide within the other notes.

Now when I say this scent is wild its my way in trying to describe all the notes coming at you all at once. You get a constant shifting impressions from the amber vanilla to the spicy woods. I have to say its a very interesting multi-layered fragrance and one that will keep you smelling yourself to see what you will smell next.

A big thumbs up from me on this scent. A very resinous spicy woody vanilla amber with hidden facets of oud. I like it.
21st April, 2016

Spice Bazaar by Nishane

Cumin, cedar with yuzu and a bit of saffron. This smells very one dimensional and quite dull. Nothing to get excited over with this one. Meh!
03rd February, 2016

Pachuli Kozha by Nishane

A sweet honey laced patchouli accord with undercurrents of incense and leather. Not to my taste but I can see how people would like this one.
02nd February, 2016

Mūsīqá Oud by Nishane

I have to say I am impressed with this scent as it does actually smell like real Cambodian oud. You have lots of saffron, woods with a slight sweetness. There is a oudy leather and rubber in the background.

All in all a very nice fragrance that is reminiscent of real oud
01st February, 2016

Afrika-Olifant by Nishane

A surprisingly fresh smoky incense fragrance with a hint of musky sweetness. Looking at the note breakdown you would be forgiven to think this scent is going to be beastly. But nothing could be farther from the truth.

The animalistic notes of civet and leather are well blended and well behaved behind the smoky incense.

All in all a very nice enigmatic smelling fragrance.
30th January, 2016

Kalemat by Arabian Oud

Amber honey sweetness dominates this fragrance that it smells like a sweet pastry from a bakery. It does remind me a lot of 24 Gold from scent story.

If you like very sweet fragrances then this one is very nice and enticing.
29th January, 2016