Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Jack Hunter

Advertisement

Afrika Olifant by Nishane

A surprisingly fresh smoky incense fragrance with a hint of musky sweetness. Looking at the note breakdown you would be forgiven to think this scent is going to be beastly. But nothing could be farther from the truth.

The animalistic notes of civet and leather are well blended and well behaved behind the smoky incense.

All in all a very nice enigmatic smelling fragrance.
30th January, 2016

Kalemat by Arabian Oud

Amber honey sweetness dominates this fragrance that it smells like a sweet pastry from a bakery. It does remind me a lot of 24 Gold from scent story.

If you like very sweet fragrances then this one is very nice and enticing.
29th January, 2016

Habit Rouge Dress Code by Guerlain

Lots of citrus straight out of the gate with a sweet chocolate praline and vanilla notes. Its a very gourmand take on Habit Rouge with lots of tonka and sweet notes.

Much later on the sweet spicy woodsy notes come to the forefront.

All in all a nice fragrance but just not to my taste.
28th January, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Salome by Papillon Artisan Perfumes

Wow a civet floral sexy beast of a fragrance that reminds me a bit of Serge Lutens Musc Koubli Khan but better. The floral aspect gives the dirty civet aspect space to breath, it does not suffocate you out.

This smells great and very old school, you don't get many of these anamalic scents on the shelves these days. This is real perfume here.

Roja Dove has a very exclusive fragrance out called Diaghilev at Harrods that's costs about £750. Basically it's a very civet and mossy scent with a few florals and that does not come close to this one.

Those who have a adventurous spirit and are a little bit daring will love this one. It's not for everyone but my god this fragrance is magnificent.

10 out of 10. Wow!
30th November, 2015

Angélique by Papillon Artisan Perfumes

After application I'm enveloped in a buttery cloud of Iris coupled with a apricot like sugary sweetness coming from the mimosa petals. This is all on a woody backdrop which underpins the scent at this time.

The scent is floral and a bit powdery though unmistakably feminine. I could appreciate smelling this on a lady but could not wear this one myself.

All in all a nice fragrance.

29th November, 2015

Tobacco Rose by Papillon Artisan Perfumes

On the opening I can smell a big lush red rose though I get no tobacco whatsoever within the scent.

Now the rose is front and centre to this composition though facets of the smell have been changed with other notes that subtlety alter the smell. And this makes the scent very interesting especially if you love roses.

The hay and moss notes give the rose a subtle earthy dryness whilst the ambergris adds a slight salty sweetness. And I believe the beeswax just rounds out the sweetness of the overall smell.

So when you inhale this scent the rose almost smells mystical as you get a lush red rose which seems to be different from the usual rose scent that you are used to smelling.

It is a very well crafted rose scent as it makes you stop and think that this is different but you cannot put your finger on it without much thought.

For me as a man this rose fragrance though imo very good I just feel I could not pull this one off. And this is down to the rose been too lush and intense for my taste. I have the same problem with Lyric Man from Amouage.

For rose lovers this is a great mystical lush red rose with different facets that makes sampling this one a pleasure.
29th November, 2015

Anubis by Papillon Artisan Perfumes

Dark smoky oily leather is what I get on first application, reminds me of Knize ten at this stage. Soon a light warm sweet treacle note appears behind the darky oily leather coming from the immortelle.

Then you can start to smell a light jasmine floral note appearing within the smoky leather scent. This soon becomes stronger mixing in with incense and saffron which has now merged with the leather.

Eventually you have a very smoky sweet floral leather scent wrapped up in lots of incense. You could imagine a temple in ancient Egypt where sweet incense is burning mixing with the animal skins that are on the floor and walls of the temple in a ceremonial fashion.

It's a heavy fragrance and you can tell that a lot of quality oils have been used. Just do not over spray or this scent could choke you out.

I have to say I am impressed it smells very good and is very evocative. I like how the smoky florals and incense mix with the leather.

Thumbs up, very good fragrance or should I say art.
28th November, 2015

Indonesian Oud by Ermenegildo Zegna

On first spray I get a beautiful wet red rose with a very nice plush well behaved Oud. It's very smooth and a little medicinal in places but it does smell very posh.

The patchouli is there behind the rose giving it a slight earthiness and a the amber just lends a tad sweetness to the affair.

All in all one of the better Oud/Rose combo's I have smelled.

Very nice indeed!
27th November, 2015

Mediterranean Neroli by Ermenegildo Zegna

This is a gorgeous fragrance with the divine pairing of bergamot and neroli. And it's the sheer quality of the ingredients that is impressive. The bergamot smells like it has been freshly squeezed into the bottle coupled with the beautiful neroli.

It's a light fragrance but not too light with about average projection. I've been out and about wearing this and have been surrounded in a beautiful haze of bergamot and neroli, very beautiful.

After about ninety minutes the bergamot dissipates and the neroli becomes more sensual. It's so well blended that I cannot until the drydown detect any other notes from the neroli that now dominates.

After another hour I can start to smell woods, moss and musk though the lovely neroli still dominates. The scent though does reign itself in after this on the projection front but I can still smell it.

All in all a very beautiful light fragrance that perfectly suits the Spring/Summer months. The neroli does have extra depth but is so well blended with other notes to pin point exactly how. I'm thinking it's the jasmine that is giving it that sensual aspect but this is subjective.

The presentation is great as well with the box and bottle, this is my first fragrance with a magnetic cap. All in all a thumbs up from me. Lovely!
12th November, 2015

Sunshine Man by Amouage

This fragrance opens very sweet upon the skin and smells like marzipan. It does project quite strongly for the first ninety minutes and is possibly cloying if you spray too much.

As time goes by the the scent becomes more subdued and woody on the skin. If you like very sweet fragrances then you may love this one. If not then be warned, this fragrance could give you toothache it's so sweet.
16th September, 2015

Genghis Khan by Marc de la Morandiere

A fresh spicy opening that is a little bit soapy starts this fragrance off. Soon enough a herbal sour note makes a appearance and melds with the above.

In the basenotes and once the fresh spiciness diminishes the scent becomes dry and arid from the vetiver that now dominates.

This fragrance has character and is unusual in the way the notes come together. I can smell lots of pine and cloves that is offset by lots of other notes. Thumbs up!
06th September, 2015

L'Occitan by L'Occitane

This fragrance is a simple peppery lavender with woody notes. The lavender used is of a high quality and smells good but the scent overall I found boring.

The longevity and projection are average, I get about five hours.

To sum up a simple good quality fragrance that could do with more notes just to make it more interesting.
05th September, 2015

1899 Ernest Hemingway by Histoires de Parfums

On the opening you can smell bergamot and lots of cinnamon which is soon joined by vanilla and juniper.

It's a very soft spicy scent which does not really change from the dominating cinnamon and vanilla. Here and there you can smell the juniper and a soft floral note.

1899 is very pleasant with average longevity but it's not very exciting and it is let down by poor projection.

To sum up a pleasant subdued soft spicy cinnamon and vanilla fragrance that just needs that ooommphh to make it more exciting.
04th September, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Royal Mayfair by Creed

The eucalyptus in the opening is mild which is soon joined by pine, gin and cedar making this smell very nice.

The scent smells herbal and astringent which is made more agreeable with the added lime and orange giving the scent that citrus sparkle.

Eventually a rose note blooms from the heart of the fragrance making me think of Rose 31. It has that same rose accord but instead of cumin which is in Rose 31 here it is a bitter/sour note.

As time moves forward the rose note disappears and you are left with a bitter woody orange note wrapped up with eucalyptus and gin.

A good solid release from Creed and a fragrance that is different from a lot of other scents. Thumbs up!
03rd September, 2015

Balafre by Lancôme

A very soapy opening with bergamot which gives way to pine, moss and lavender. Eventually you can smell leather, it's herbal and oldschool remniscent of Derby by Guerlain.

It smells nice and is complex with many notes coming and going within the herbal mix. The only downside is that it only lasts a few hours and then it's gone.
28th August, 2015

Blackbird by House of Matriarch

Well this opens with a very green smoky pine aroma which is followed by leather, oud and a cannabis note all mixed in together.

If you can imagine a woodsman camping in a forest who is tending a fire and smoking a joint then you will close to what this smells like. It is very smoky in a green coniferous way.

I have to say the ingredients are top quality and it does smell good. Though it would be challenging to wear this to work as you would be turning heads, though not in a good way.

A good casual fragrance best worn outdoors.
28th August, 2015

Sauvage by Christian Dior

First impressions, a fresh bergamot accord with a sweet powdery smell. It reminds me of Fierce and a little of Platinum Egoiste, it's a total teenager type of scent. Something that Justin Bieber may wear.

I have to say I'm amazed that Dior would give this fragrance the hallowed Sauvage name as it does imo smell like a generic teenager designer scent. They should have called it something else and aimed it towards the teenage market.

Jonny Depp is actually the guy who they are using to advertise this, this scent is not something you would imagine him wearing. I think Dior have dropped the ball on this one. Totally unworthy to be called Sauvage.
26th August, 2015

X for Men by Clive Christian

Off the top I get sweet lemony citrus blast with wood and what smells like pineapple with cinnamon.

As time moves forward the wood notes become stronger though surrounded in a haze of cinnamon and that pineapple like note. Jasmine also rears it's head briefly before the wood aspect takes over.

I have to this scent smells exactly like Costume National Homme which is the fraction of what this costs.

24th August, 2015

Journey Man by Amouage

A very nice peppery spicy scent with juniper and tobacco. Eventually the incense comes to the fore with some citrus making this scent the most mainstream fragrance I have smelled from Amouage.
24th August, 2015

Vetiver Geranium by Creed

My gosh straight off the bat this smells really good. Lemon citrus with vetiver and geranium makes this smell like the perfect masculine fragrance.

I can also smell patchouli making this smell earthy but lively as well due to the citrus. Thumbs up!
24th August, 2015

Richard James by Richard James

On first application you can smell a combination of tuberose, rosemary and lavender and it smells very classy.

After the lovely opening the scent gets very complex with facets of suede, green tea and a lot of other notes. It smells like Dia Man from Amouage though not as lush but certainly more interesting down to it's complexity.

The projection is below average though the longevity is very good as I get several hours.

This fragrance smells very chic and way more expensive than it actually is. Also the scent is quite unequal and enchanting. A real gem!
23rd August, 2015

Black Gold by Ormonde Jayne

It starts with some nice lemon citrus and juniper mixed in with some soft spice. The way the juniper mixed in with the citrus and soft spice is very well done and very nice.

After a while the soft Sandalwood appears and makes itself known, I like this phase as the Sandalwood is top quality and very good. Also what makes it smell better is the light amber which seems to underpin the Sandalwood. All in all at this stage it's a very smooth very soft and light citrus and sandalwood scent.

After a good while the scent very slow seems to gain floral aspects out of the juniper like citrus. Now it's nothing distinct like a straight up jasmine or rose fragrance but more like amalgamation of different floral notes that weave a subtle tapestry within the juniper like citrus. In fact I'm sure I can smell the orchid or it may be a lily note as it's adding a slight watery aspect to the scent. Though it's all very subtle as you would expect from a very ethereal ghost like scent.

Now this fragrance is imo very subtle and tightly weaved with a lot of nuances that can very easily be overlooked unless you are like me over analyzing each stage and aspect. I do like very much the way the floral aspects slowly unfurl out of the juniper citrus. I must say it is very lovely and unexpected and something that can be very easily overlooked as everything is so subtle.

Again after a while the scent slowly shifts and I can smell musk and patchouli but it's not dominating but just rearing it's head from within the sent as the floral aspect weakens. Though eventually it does become stronger and starts to meld with amber note. Now these notes are not a straight transition but like before they appear slowly within other notes before becoming a bit more stronger.

After six sprays from my 10ml decant which only sprays out a little amount I get about six hours in longevity.

In an all it's a very ethereal and light bodied scent hampered with projection issues.
18th July, 2015

Shalimar by Guerlain

Shalimar EdP opens with a astringent citrus accord of bergamot and lemon and then moves into a lovely vanilla scent.

When the incense arrives and melds with the vanilla the scent does become quite alluring.

Though as it evolves you begin to smell leather and civet which also mix's in with the incense in a unpleasant way. At this stage it starts to smell acrid like mothballs or bug spray.

The scent is complex and has many facets of development with floral notes adding to the above notes.

I like some elements of the fragrance like the vanilla and incense. But what kills my interest is the dated mothball/bugspray like accord coming from the civet and incense.
07th May, 2015

Chypre Palatin by MDCI

This scent is a wonderful luxurious hybrid chypre oriental fragrance that smells classy and opulent. Only the finest ingredients have been used and it shows.

On the opening we have a bitter green floral accord from the Galbanum coupled with a sparkling fuzzy champagne scent coming from the aldehydes. A tinge of citrus and the symphony is now in full swing.

Underneath this opening is a gorgeous slightly sweet vanilla toffee like balsam adding a contrast to the bitter green accord.

After a while the Hycinth takes over which is a green and slightly rooty floral note, like the stem of a potted plant. At this stage the gorgeous musky vanilla toffee balsam note becomes stronger. And we have a lovely balance of the green floral and sweet notes.

Many hours later the floral notes of jasmine and rose and can be smelled all blended in harmony like a symphony.

This scent is so complex and every time I wear it I can pick different notes, it almost shimmers on the skin showing you different aspects. Sometimes a fruity note appears and other times a slight animalic accord rears it's head.

The fragrance lasts five hours before it reigns itself in but I can still detect it on my skin and clothes for many hours after. The projection is average but the scent is soft and very refined making it versatile to be sprayed on your neck without choking you out.

A perfect ten out of ten fragrance in my book and a scent I would class as a masterpiece in the art of perfumery
22nd April, 2015

Oud Shamash by The Different Company

On first application this scent comes at you all at once with different notes swirling around you.

I get boozy oud with woods as well a saffron and patchouli which comes on strong. The scent is sweet with a fruity aroma peeking out from the boatload of notes.

The scent is spicy and a little medicinal, talk about having the fragrance equivalent of everything and the kitchen sink coming at you all at once.

After a while everything seems to fall a little flat with the projection suddenly reining itself in to below average. The Oud is gone and you are just left with a woody boozy pink pepper accord on your skin which is disappointing. The scent turns into a skin scent within a few hours and then it's gone on my skin.

I have to say it does remind me of Jubilation by Amouage as I picking up the same vibe from the notes. The oud is there but not promient as it's overtaken by the woodsy notes and then disappears completely.

All in all a rich exotic smelling fragrance which comes out of the gate all at once quite strong and then just disappears leaving you with the feeling that you have just been jilted by your fragrance. I would pick Jubilation over this as this feels like a B version of that with poor performance.
20th April, 2015

Diaghilev by Roja Dove

Diaghilev opens with a brief blast of concentrated citrus notes and moves into a very animalic heavy civet and oakmoss accord. It stays like this for a long time, then it's slightly brightened by Ylang Ylang with some cloves joining the skanky party. The main star of the show is the civet and oakmoss and this never goes away.

I get average projection but good longevity of several hours before it's a skin scent.

This scent is like a piece of art from over a hundred years ago in a museum which you can appreciate but would not think of taking it home and hanging it in your living room. Though those who love Leather Oud, Vintage Korous, Mouchoir de Monsieur and other heavy civet and oakmoss fragrance will find much to love here.
19th April, 2015

Amber Aoud by Roja Dove

It starts off with a lovely high quality sensual oud aroma which is soon joined by a rose note. These opening notes are coupled with some citrus to give the scent a uplifting feel. At this stage it does smell very nice.

Underneath the plush and sensual fresh Oud accord I can detect some jasmine adding to the lovely overall effect but more in a supporting roll.

After a good while it becomes more complex with floral and other notes.

All in all a classy fresh posh and sensual oud fragrance supported by a host of notes making you feel like a billionaire. Good stuff!
18th April, 2015

parfums*PARFUMS Series 4 Cologne: Vettiveru by Comme des Garçons

A very nice dry and arid vetiver contrasted with a freshness from neroli and bergamot. As time moves forward a little pepper and woods come into the fray.

A worthy vetiver fragrance!
02nd April, 2015

Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

I have the EdT and get a light cream and bergamot opening followed by cinnamon and nutmeg, as time goes by I notice the cardamom. After a while I can detect some light floral's within the light talcum powder scent, everything is balanced just right. As I said very nice indeed.

The scent is light and soft and spicy and a little powdery in a light talcum powder way. Now the amazing thing about this fragrance is when it changes from the midnotes to the drydown the scent goes from very nice to totally MAGNIFICENT.

And this is all down to the wonderful captivating vanilla scent that smells quite regal. That change from a soft spicy scent to the amazing vanilla is quite dramatic. And the reason is it almost makes it smell like a different scent, almost.

A big thumbs up from me and I am going to have to get the Edp as well.
20th January, 2015

Patrick by Fragrances of Ireland

This fragrance opens clean, green and fresh with a lemon zest. It reminds me of a lot of different scents having a hint of each. It has the green feel of Paco Rabanne Pour Homme, the slight soapiness of Irish Spring Soap, a dash of citrus from Original Vetiver and the lemon zest of Original Lacoste scent.

It does evoke the green countryside in the Spring after a light shower. As time goes by a earthy Patchouli can be smelled mixed in with the green freshness. This is followed by a lot of woods making the scent smell earthy and woody. The feeling at this stage moves from the green pastures to the green earthy woodland.

To sum up a very clean and fresh green and earthy woody scent that is a bargain. It is a very good quality fragrance that is one of the most affordable you can buy.
01st December, 2014