Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Jack Hunter


Sunshine Man by Amouage

This fragrance opens very sweet upon the skin and smells like marzipan. It does project quite strongly for the first ninety minutes and is possibly cloying if you spray too much.

As time goes by the the scent becomes more subdued and woody on the skin. If you like very sweet fragrances then you may love this one. If not then be warned, this fragrance could give you toothache it's so sweet.
16th September, 2015

Genghis Khan by Marc de la Morandiere

A fresh spicy opening that is a little bit soapy starts this fragrance off. Soon enough a herbal sour note makes a appearance and melds with the above.

In the basenotes and once the fresh spiciness diminishes the scent becomes dry and arid from the vetiver that now dominates.

This fragrance has character and is unusual in the way the notes come together. I can smell lots of pine and cloves that is offset by lots of other notes. Thumbs up!
06th September, 2015

L'Occitan by L'Occitane

This fragrance is a simple peppery lavender with woody notes. The lavender used is of a high quality and smells good but the scent overall I found boring.

The longevity and projection are average, I get about five hours.

To sum up a simple good quality fragrance that could do with more notes just to make it more interesting.
05th September, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

1899 Ernest Hemingway by Histoires de Parfums

On the opening you can smell bergamot and lots of cinnamon which is soon joined by vanilla and juniper.

It's a very soft spicy scent which does not really change from the dominating cinnamon and vanilla. Here and there you can smell the juniper and a soft floral note.

1899 is very pleasant with average longevity but it's not very exciting and it is let down by poor projection.

To sum up a pleasant subdued soft spicy cinnamon and vanilla fragrance that just needs that ooommphh to make it more exciting.
04th September, 2015

Royal Mayfair by Creed

The eucalyptus in the opening is mild which is soon joined by pine, gin and cedar making this smell very nice.

The scent smells herbal and astringent which is made more agreeable with the added lime and orange giving the scent that citrus sparkle.

Eventually a rose note blooms from the heart of the fragrance making me think of Rose 31. It has that same rose accord but instead of cumin which is in Rose 31 here it is a bitter/sour note.

As time moves forward the rose note disappears and you are left with a bitter woody orange note wrapped up with eucalyptus and gin.

A good solid release from Creed and a fragrance that is different from a lot of other scents. Thumbs up!
03rd September, 2015

Balafre by Lancôme

A very soapy opening with bergamot which gives way to pine, moss and lavender. Eventually you can smell leather, it's herbal and oldschool remniscent of Derby by Guerlain.

It smells nice and is complex with many notes coming and going within the herbal mix. The only downside is that it only lasts a few hours and then it's gone.
28th August, 2015

Blackbird by House of Matriarch

Well this opens with a very green smoky pine aroma which is followed by leather, oud and a cannabis note all mixed in together.

If you can imagine a woodsman camping in a forest who is tending a fire and smoking a joint then you will close to what this smells like. It is very smoky in a green coniferous way.

I have to say the ingredients are top quality and it does smell good. Though it would be challenging to wear this to work as you would be turning heads, though not in a good way.

A good casual fragrance best worn outdoors.
28th August, 2015

Sauvage by Christian Dior

First impressions, a fresh bergamot accord with a sweet powdery smell. It reminds me of Fierce and a little of Platinum Egoiste, it's a total teenager type of scent. Something that Justin Bieber may wear.

I have to say I'm amazed that Dior would give this fragrance the hallowed Sauvage name as it does imo smell like a generic teenager designer scent. They should have called it something else and aimed it towards the teenage market.

Jonny Depp is actually the guy who they are using to advertise this, this scent is not something you would imagine him wearing. I think Dior have dropped the ball on this one. Totally unworthy to be called Sauvage.
26th August, 2015

X for Men by Clive Christian

Off the top I get sweet lemony citrus blast with wood and what smells like pineapple with cinnamon.

As time moves forward the wood notes become stronger though surrounded in a haze of cinnamon and that pineapple like note. Jasmine also rears it's head briefly before the wood aspect takes over.

I have to this scent smells exactly like Costume National Homme which is the fraction of what this costs.

24th August, 2015

Journey Man by Amouage

A very nice peppery spicy scent with juniper and tobacco. Eventually the incense comes to the fore with some citrus making this scent the most mainstream fragrance I have smelled from Amouage.
24th August, 2015

Vetiver Geranium by Creed

My gosh straight off the bat this smells really good. Lemon citrus with vetiver and geranium makes this smell like the perfect masculine fragrance.

I can also smell patchouli making this smell earthy but lively as well due to the citrus. Thumbs up!
24th August, 2015

Richard James by Richard James

On first application you can smell a combination of tuberose, rosemary and lavender and it smells very classy.

After the lovely opening the scent gets very complex with facets of suede, green tea and a lot of other notes. It smells like Dia Man from Amouage though not as lush but certainly more interesting down to it's complexity.

The projection is below average though the longevity is very good as I get several hours.

This fragrance smells very chic and way more expensive than it actually is. Also the scent is quite unequal and enchanting. A real gem!
23rd August, 2015

Black Gold by Ormonde Jayne

It starts with some nice lemon citrus and juniper mixed in with some soft spice. The way the juniper mixed in with the citrus and soft spice is very well done and very nice.

After a while the soft Sandalwood appears and makes itself known, I like this phase as the Sandalwood is top quality and very good. Also what makes it smell better is the light amber which seems to underpin the Sandalwood. All in all at this stage it's a very smooth very soft and light citrus and sandalwood scent.

After a good while the scent very slow seems to gain floral aspects out of the juniper like citrus. Now it's nothing distinct like a straight up jasmine or rose fragrance but more like amalgamation of different floral notes that weave a subtle tapestry within the juniper like citrus. In fact I'm sure I can smell the orchid or it may be a lily note as it's adding a slight watery aspect to the scent. Though it's all very subtle as you would expect from a very ethereal ghost like scent.

Now this fragrance is imo very subtle and tightly weaved with a lot of nuances that can very easily be overlooked unless you are like me over analyzing each stage and aspect. I do like very much the way the floral aspects slowly unfurl out of the juniper citrus. I must say it is very lovely and unexpected and something that can be very easily overlooked as everything is so subtle.

Again after a while the scent slowly shifts and I can smell musk and patchouli but it's not dominating but just rearing it's head from within the sent as the floral aspect weakens. Though eventually it does become stronger and starts to meld with amber note. Now these notes are not a straight transition but like before they appear slowly within other notes before becoming a bit more stronger.

After six sprays from my 10ml decant which only sprays out a little amount I get about six hours in longevity.

In an all it's a very ethereal and light bodied scent hampered with projection issues.
18th July, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Shalimar by Guerlain

Shalimar EdP opens with a astringent citrus accord of bergamot and lemon and then moves into a lovely vanilla scent.

When the incense arrives and melds with the vanilla the scent does become quite alluring.

Though as it evolves you begin to smell leather and civet which also mix's in with the incense in a unpleasant way. At this stage it starts to smell acrid like mothballs or bug spray.

The scent is complex and has many facets of development with floral notes adding to the above notes.

I like some elements of the fragrance like the vanilla and incense. But what kills my interest is the dated mothball/bugspray like accord coming from the civet and incense.
07th May, 2015

Chypre Palatin by MDCI

This scent is a wonderful luxurious hybrid chypre oriental fragrance that smells classy and opulent. Only the finest ingredients have been used and it shows.

On the opening we have a bitter green floral accord from the Galbanum coupled with a sparkling fuzzy champagne scent coming from the aldehydes. A tinge of citrus and the symphony is now in full swing.

Underneath this opening is a gorgeous slightly sweet vanilla toffee like balsam adding a contrast to the bitter green accord.

After a while the Hycinth takes over which is a green and slightly rooty floral note, like the stem of a potted plant. At this stage the gorgeous musky vanilla toffee balsam note becomes stronger. And we have a lovely balance of the green floral and sweet notes.

Many hours later the floral notes of jasmine and rose and can be smelled all blended in harmony like a symphony.

This scent is so complex and every time I wear it I can pick different notes, it almost shimmers on the skin showing you different aspects. Sometimes a fruity note appears and other times a slight animalic accord rears it's head.

The fragrance lasts five hours before it reigns itself in but I can still detect it on my skin and clothes for many hours after. The projection is average but the scent is soft and very refined making it versatile to be sprayed on your neck without choking you out.

A perfect ten out of ten fragrance in my book and a scent I would class as a masterpiece in the art of perfumery
22nd April, 2015

Oud Shamash by The Different Company

On first application this scent comes at you all at once with different notes swirling around you.

I get boozy oud with woods as well a saffron and patchouli which comes on strong. The scent is sweet with a fruity aroma peeking out from the boatload of notes.

The scent is spicy and a little medicinal, talk about having the fragrance equivalent of everything and the kitchen sink coming at you all at once.

After a while everything seems to fall a little flat with the projection suddenly reining itself in to below average. The Oud is gone and you are just left with a woody boozy pink pepper accord on your skin which is disappointing. The scent turns into a skin scent within a few hours and then it's gone on my skin.

I have to say it does remind me of Jubilation by Amouage as I picking up the same vibe from the notes. The oud is there but not promient as it's overtaken by the woodsy notes and then disappears completely.

All in all a rich exotic smelling fragrance which comes out of the gate all at once quite strong and then just disappears leaving you with the feeling that you have just been jilted by your fragrance. I would pick Jubilation over this as this feels like a B version of that with poor performance.
20th April, 2015

Diaghilev by Roja Dove

Diaghilev opens with a brief blast of concentrated citrus notes and moves into a very animalic heavy civet and oakmoss accord. It stays like this for a long time, then it's slightly brightened by Ylang Ylang with some cloves joining the skanky party. The main star of the show is the civet and oakmoss and this never goes away.

I get average projection but good longevity of several hours before it's a skin scent.

This scent is like a piece of art from over a hundred years ago in a museum which you can appreciate but would not think of taking it home and hanging it in your living room. Though those who love Leather Oud, Vintage Korous, Mouchoir de Monsieur and other heavy civet and oakmoss fragrance will find much to love here.
19th April, 2015

Amber Aoud by Roja Dove

It starts off with a lovely high quality sensual oud aroma which is soon joined by a rose note. These opening notes are coupled with some citrus to give the scent a uplifting feel. At this stage it does smell very nice.

Underneath the plush and sensual fresh Oud accord I can detect some jasmine adding to the lovely overall effect but more in a supporting roll.

After a good while it becomes more complex with floral and other notes.

All in all a classy fresh posh and sensual oud fragrance supported by a host of notes making you feel like a billionaire. Good stuff!
18th April, 2015

parfums*PARFUMS Series 4 Cologne: Vettiveru by Comme des Garçons

A very nice dry and arid vetiver contrasted with a freshness from neroli and bergamot. As time moves forward a little pepper and woods come into the fray.

A worthy vetiver fragrance!
02nd April, 2015

Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

I have the EdT and get a light cream and bergamot opening followed by cinnamon and nutmeg, as time goes by I notice the cardamom. After a while I can detect some light floral's within the light talcum powder scent, everything is balanced just right. As I said very nice indeed.

The scent is light and soft and spicy and a little powdery in a light talcum powder way. Now the amazing thing about this fragrance is when it changes from the midnotes to the drydown the scent goes from very nice to totally MAGNIFICENT.

And this is all down to the wonderful captivating vanilla scent that smells quite regal. That change from a soft spicy scent to the amazing vanilla is quite dramatic. And the reason is it almost makes it smell like a different scent, almost.

A big thumbs up from me and I am going to have to get the Edp as well.
20th January, 2015

Patrick by Fragrances of Ireland

This fragrance opens clean, green and fresh with a lemon zest. It reminds me of a lot of different scents having a hint of each. It has the green feel of Paco Rabanne Pour Homme, the slight soapiness of Irish Spring Soap, a dash of citrus from Original Vetiver and the lemon zest of Original Lacoste scent.

It does evoke the green countryside in the Spring after a light shower. As time goes by a earthy Patchouli can be smelled mixed in with the green freshness. This is followed by a lot of woods making the scent smell earthy and woody. The feeling at this stage moves from the green pastures to the green earthy woodland.

To sum up a very clean and fresh green and earthy woody scent that is a bargain. It is a very good quality fragrance that is one of the most affordable you can buy.
01st December, 2014

Paco Rabanne Pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

I have the vintage aftershave from the early Eighties and a edt spray from 1993.

A very honeyed green mossy and slightly soapy scent that gives you that fresh out of the shower feeling. The quality is very good with a deep clean smell. The projection is soft and just below average with three or so hours with the aftershave and several with the edt.

Unfortunately after the year 2000 this scent was severely reformulated. The oakmoss that made this scent the classic it is became restricted in the amount they could use. With this scent it's best to find a older bottle to enjoy the clean sexy smell.

A big thumbs up on a scent that imo is as contemporary now as it was in 1973 when it was released. I mean when has smelling clean and fresh ever been dated.
27th November, 2014

New York Intense by Nicolaï

This fragrance smells very plush and classy with a nice creamy lemon and orange ambery soft spice opening. Throughout it's long life you can pick up cloves, cinnamon and vetiver all mixing in with the lovely ambery soft spice.

This fragrance is so smooth it fit's to your body chemistry like a hand going into a velvet glove. I get twelve hours longevity with the projection been in the Goldilocks range of been just right.

A very pleasant and inoffensive scent that suit's any situation and anyplace. A big thumbs up!
11th November, 2014

Cuir Cuba Intense by Nicolaï

On first application I get a soft haze of a aromatic smell of licorice and lemon with slight hints of mint. After a short while the tobacco can be smelled mixed in with other notes.

The opening does not last long and the Magnolia soon takes over and it dominates the composition from here on out. As you smell the Magnolia there are a lot of other notes that are dancing and interweaving through this main accord.

We have a light smell of tobacco on top of the magnolia almost like it has been sprinkled on top. There are hints of Ylang Ylang and other notes but the fragrance is so complex I just cannot pick them out to Id them.

Underneath the magnolia I can smell a warm emerging leather note and sometimes a hint of civet. This is what I believe is given the scent it's warmth under the magnolia accord.

As we move into the basenotes when the Magnolia has faded you are left with leather, hay and a hint of civet on your skin. Though the scent has pretty much lost it's power at this stage and is pretty muted on the skin.

I have to say the quality and complexity is top notch and very impressive. The scent is definitely unisex as the contrast of the floral and warm tobacco and other notes make it ideal for men or women.

The only thing that I'm not totally taken with and it's just a taste thing is the dominance of the Magnolia note. It's nice but a bit too much, I think I would rather the tobacco to be dominant. What I'm liking is the complexity and how the other notes interplay with the floral note, I like how the leathery warmth seems to be at the base of the Magnolia note.

All in all a very good complex fragrance that is very well crafted, I'm impressed!
09th November, 2014 (last edited: 08th November, 2014)

Or Masculin by Bourjois

This smells just like vintage Bel Ami which I also have. I would say about 90% identical to it, maybe just slightly spicier. Same top quality, in fact I could see people liking this slightly more than vintage Bel Ami. It has more of the soft spice over the leather than Bel Ami.

Imagine the smell of a old worn leather sofa with a lot of soft spices on top and you have this fragrance. Wonderful scent which unfortunately is now discontinued though it does pop up on Ebay occasionally.
07th November, 2014

Memoirs of a Trespasser by Imaginary Authors

Wow this is gorgeous and complex!

On first application to my skin I'm getting a wonderful smoky woods and dried vanilla. And I have to say it smells absolutely great.

Shortly after a melody of different resins, amber, spices interact with the main smoky vanilla and woods. This slightly changes the smell so every-time you take a sniff your picking up something new.

As it dries down you can smell a resinous Mryhh note mixing in with the dried vanilla. And even at this stage you will be picking up different nuances to the scent.

I have to say I'm so impressed with this wonderful fragrance that I will be buying a full bottle.

Nine out of Ten.
17th June, 2014

Oud Fleur by Tom Ford

This opens with a strong sweetened rose with a lot of patchouli coming through. The oud note is a bit subdued within this blend and does not really stand out.

Eventually the scent becomes woody and tames the sweetened rose.

This is a very nice fragrance but there are so many like this which this is not the best.
15th June, 2014

Tobacco Oud by Tom Ford

Well this opens with tobacco and oud and is soon joined by a lovely whiskey note. Spices and a dash of honey soon join the fray and I have to say it's very nice.

Underneath the main notes is a woody backdrop which is more noticeable if you smell yourself up close. The whiskey note is very good within this composition and adds to the character of the scent.

They could have called this fragrance Tobacco Whiskey as the oud disappears not long after the opening and the wonderful whiskey note lingers on throughout the life of the scent.

Overall a excellent spicy tobacco fragrance. A big two thumb ups.!
15th June, 2014

Patchouli Impérial by Christian Dior

This opens with a really loud in your face Patchouli mixed in with coriander and woods. There is also a hint of citrus and florals making the patchouli smell creamy.

As the scent dries down it becomes more woody with a slight amber sweetness. Though the patchouli stays linear throughout.
14th June, 2014

Ambre Nuit by Christian Dior

This opens with a airy soft spicy pink rose with slight citrus undertones. After the opening the amber starts to blend with the rose but it's not a overly sweet amber. This is also coupled with pepper.

The pink rose dominants this composition with the amber giving the rose smell more depth. But in a very subtle way in that the pink rose is just slightly sweet.

To sum up a beautiful rose fragrance slightly sweetened by amber with hints of pepper and citrus shining within the blend.
14th June, 2014