Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Jack Hunter

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 376

Woody Intense by Arabian Oud

It starts off with just a hint of Oudy cheesy funk that disappears quickly into a beautiful very fresh pink rose accord. The oud smells like some exotic cream from a bakery and it melds really smoothly with the fresh pink rose smell.

This scent projects a lovely cloud of uplifting oudy creamy pink rose which surrounds you in a halo of loveliness. Within this cloud is saffron and soft spices with musk and it is very beguiling. I just love it's freshness and the way it projects off you.

The crying shame though is after three hours of the scent smelling and performing gloriously on your skin it drops off dramatically. The scent turns into a thin white musk scent that just stays close to you. Though it was great while it lasted.
14th May, 2018

Spanish Leather by Geo F Trumper

It's nice and clean in a soapy way with a hint of leather saddle soap which does smell like Imperial Leather that people talk about. Though this aspect is low key.

At the start there is some rose and geranium which soon disappears leaving a clean soapy smell. It's very nice in a barbershop way and clean but a bit underwhelming. It could have been more distinct with that Imperial Leather smell that I like been a bit more louder on the skin.

All in all I like it and it's my third favourite choice from the house behind Eucris Edp (truly wonderful scent) and their Sandalwood fragrance.
31st March, 2018

YSL pour Homme Haute Concentration by Yves Saint Laurent

This is a review of the first reformulated version in the black cap and glass bottle before it was discontinued. Same as the photo above.

At the start you can smell soft sour lemon mixed in with rosemary. Soon petagrain can be smelled within this fresh herbal mix. The scent is very unique and smells so natural. It's like the creators left the lab and decided to create the scent at the local botanical gardens. lol

The lemon soon disappears and is overtaken with the rosemary and woods with soft spices. It is very nice, fresh green and as time goes by it becomes drier and musky in the basenotes. Now here is where things get interesting although it's not listed in the note breakdown, I can smell castoreum. This is a animalic note that smells leathery, smoky and musky. Mixed in with rosemary and light woods and spices makes the scent very sensual at this final stage.

The scent projects well for the first few hours and then stays closer to you. Longevity is four or so hours but it does linger on your shirt/clothes a lot longer and can still be smelled.

All in all a very lovely natural smelling fragrance with top notch ingredients.

One thing to note is there are two versions, the original from 1983 in a black bottle which is very rare. It also smells a bit different as well as longevity and projection been a lot stronger. And then there is this one with the black cap and clear bottle which I believe was a post 2005 reformulation. So this explains the disparity in the reviews.
09th March, 2018 (last edited: 12th March, 2018)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

YSL pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

This is a review of the current La Collection formulation which is available now to purchase.

On first application I get a searing piercing lemon citrus accord that is underpinned by mint. And oh boy I was not ready for it's power, it could sear the hairs of your chest. lol You know that bracing effect when you splash freezing cold water over your face or add aftershave to your skin. Well this really awakens the senses like you have been slapped around the chops. This is followed by neroli and petagrain which tries to soften the blow but fails.

The mint adds a menthol effect to the concentrated lemon citrus which you can feel on your skin and around you. Now usually most modern scents the top notes last for about ten minutes or so but this keeps going for about forty minutes before you get to the midnotes. This opening certainly separates the men from the boys, I do like it as I've never experienced it's like. Quite brutal if your not ready for it, I almost thought 3 sprays was too much.

Now in the midnotes everything mellows and it's smells like pure barbershop. I got a flashback memory of when my Grandfather took me to a old barbershop in the late seventies for a haircut, that was the smell. You get a lemon herbal neroli shaving cream with woods which is underpinned by that cool mint effect. I've smelled this accord before in a lot of scents from Givenchy to Chanel but here it has a lot of depth which is what impresses me. When you analyze what you are smelling there is a lot going on. I can pick up Patchouli, woods, thyme and other notes.

I don't really get the dirty notes, well maybe a hint here and there. Maybe YSL have cleaned it up in this formulation or it needs your body chemistry to heat up to come out, I don't know.

All in all I like it and where as the shaving cream accord in Rive Gauche is dark and broody, here it's bright and cool. Thumbs up, what a ride.
22nd February, 2018

Eau Noble by Le Galion

I have the new modern version which is quite beautiful. On first application to your skin you get a blast of slightly sour lemon citrus mixed in with lots of warm moss. Out of this I can smell hints of bitter green and a slight woody sweetness. Soon after the lavender becomes apparent and mixes in very nicely with the other notes.

As time goes by you can smell wafts of jasmine which is very subtle and soon replaced by a musky leathery amber sweetness.

The first thing that strikes you when you first apply the scent is the sheer quality. It smells very chic and classy.

The scent is very aromatic and really blooms on your skin and starts to open up and weave a symphony of different notes even though it's tightly blended. The scent stays within arms length and lasts for about four hours before becoming a light sweet musky shell of it's former self. But for the sheer quality it's worth the ride!

This scent is a true homage to the old citrus aromatic chypre fragrance but spun in a modern way. Thumbs up!
09th February, 2018

Monsieur de Givenchy by Givenchy

A nice lemon soapy citrus to start which is followed by lavender and pepper. As time goes by you get a subtle hint of civet which adds character to the scent. I can also pick up woods and subtle floral's.

A lovely discreet gentlemen's cologne that has class and character!
03rd February, 2018

Chanel Pour Monsieur by Chanel

This opens with a lovely lemon citrus/neroli and soon transitions to soft spices. It's very classy and discreet. The projection is below average but it does hang around for most of the day though the first couple of hours is where it is strongest.

A very beautiful understated scent and the perfect scent for a gentlemen!
21st January, 2018

Viking by Creed

On first application I get a fiery spice like that bite from that old cologne old spice. Peppermint then comes into play which is very nice. Shortly after I can pick up aquatic watery notes. After a good while rose enters the fray to calm down the fiery spice which is very nice in the drydown.

This fragrance smells reminds me of the fiery spice from that old cologne old spice mixed with a aquatic fragrance from the Nineties.

All in all I like the fiery spicy opening through to the aquatic heart to the rosy drydown. Thumbs up!
23rd September, 2017

Club de Nuit Intense for Men by Armaf

I was ready to dislike this for been a cheap rip off of Aventus. But having worn it and having recently used Aventus I got to give the scent credit as it does smell good. As soon as that drydown comes it is a lot like Aventus and it has pretty good longevity as well.
16th September, 2017

Numero Uno by Carthusia

This opens up soft with a slight medicinal mossy powdery aroma. And then you can smell violet and vetiver adding to the mix. Adding to this is herbs and musk.

It smells strange and uneven to my nose and the violet with that medicinal accord stand out like a sore thumb. Good ingredients but this scent really rubs me the wrong way. Smells like cosmetic hand-cream with it's powdery violet medicinal accord.
12th August, 2017

Carthusia Uomo by Carthusia

This fragrance reminds me of a old Insignia deodorant (light blue can) from the Eighties. It also bears a resemblance to Ice Men by Mugler.

It has a fresh musky mossy geranium scent mixed in with woods. It smells nice but very one dimensional, it does not hold my interest.
12th August, 2017

Mediterraneo by Carthusia

A very intense blast of lemon and other citrus notes. This is coupled with a lovely tea note on a bed of flowers and green herbal notes.

The ingredients are breathtaking in their quality. It's like you have squeezed citrus juice into a bowl and added the essence of flowers and green herbs and then dabbed yourself.

Very nice but a little too realistic and intense.
11th August, 2017

1681 by Carthusia

This smells like a fresher and lighter version of Dior Homme. The ingredients are top notch and it smells great but too opulent and perfumery for me to wear casually. A good scent for dressing up and going out.
11th August, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Loewe para Hombre by Loewe

Review Of Vintage Formulation

This opens up with citrus and lavender and smells like Azzaro Pour Homme but with added spices. Eventually it goes in another direction and leads to a strong smell of Rosemary combining with other herbs. You get that minty piney fragrance which seems to be the heart of the fragrance. Underpinning this is a musky oakmoss and vetiver with some woods.

It's one of the most sensual fragrances I have smelled and it's really good and unequal.The great thing about these old school fragrances with lots of Oakmoss is that the basenotes just linger on your skin all day long. The musky oakmoss and vetiver with the fresh rosemary accord is just lovely indeed.
09th August, 2017 (last edited: 10th August, 2017)

Homme de Grès by Grès

Now this fragrance harks back to another time in structure and is nothing like what you would find on the shelves today. No sugary sweetness here!

After a few sprays upon the skin the scent smells quite harsh with bitter herbal lemony citrus notes. But the beauty of this fragrance is how in opens up and takes you on a olfactory journey. Wait twenty minutes and the scent starts to unfurl and soften with the introduction of lavender and jasmine floral notes. This starts to make the scent more aromatic as slowly the bitter herbal citrus melds with the lavender and floral notes on a underlying bed of leather.

Eventually the herbal mossy lemony citrus starts to fade and the floral jasmine notes start to come through more and the scent starts to become more woody. So you can smell a lovely herbal floral woody scent on a leathery base. Quite beautiful (reminds me a bit of Carons third man scent).

The scent is beautifully crafted in how the different notes are introduced and then meld together quite beautiful. Every-time you sniff the scent you are picking up a new different aspect. I am impressed how all these different notes all come together to create a alluring beautiful scent.

I get several hours of longevity and the basenotes seem to linger on the skin for ages where modern fragrances they just seem to disappear.
07th August, 2017

The Fragrance Journals : 1962 by Floris

On the opening I can smell a light haze of orange and lime with the lime been more prominent. Soon after the cypress makes itself known and it is very nice indeed. It reminds me of a lighter and fresher version of Italian Cypress, the cypress note is gorgeous and to die for here.

After a while I can detect light wisps of jasmine and floral's but the cypress is the star of the show.The other notes act around this note to make it lighter, fresher and just god damn gorgeous. Eventually the cypress accord becomes more warmer and mossy and musky as we move into the basenotes.

The fragrance has a understated elegance too it. I know the scent was is inspired by London's Soho district in the Summer of 1962 but it definitely smells Mediterranean and Italian to my nose.

Well the fragrance did not impress right out of the gate but when it opens up it does become a stunner. The Cypress note here is just beautiful, very fresh and seductive. In fact I think I prefer this to Italian Cypress as its more elegant and refined with hidden nuances. Italian Cypress is very potent where as 1962 is just easier to wear. In fact this scent could have been released under the Acqua Di Parma line.lol

So all in all if you like fresh aromatic cypress and the Mediterranean vibe then this is a winner. Would be great for Spring and especially Summer.
06th February, 2017

L'Homme Idéal Eau de Parfum by Guerlain

A very light and subdued vanilla and almond scent with a hint of cherry. The problem with this fragrance is the main notes need to be more amplified as the scent sits very quiet on the skin.

The fragrance smells out of focus and unfinished, when you smell it you want it to be more bold and have that extra something but it just fades away without leaving a good impression.
20th October, 2016

Les Déserts d'Orient - Songe d'un Bois d'Été by Guerlain

Well who would have thought that Guerlain would come out in this day and age with a dirty leathery spicy fragrance done for a gentleman. On first application I get the cumin body odor fragrance mixed in with a leathery woody oud and saffron. The jasmine is used wonderfully to tame the beast so it puurrss and does not growl on your skin.lol

I get the associations with Dior Leather Oud, but this has been created in a more classy way. The scent is very sensual and intimate, the balance between the dark notes is offset well with the floral jasmine.

As time goes by and the spicy cumin note settles down and this scent just gets better and better. It goes into full seduction mode, the oud, leather and floral touched myrrh does smell like you could don suit and become a Lothario for the night.

I would say this fragrance is for the gentleman who wants to attract the ladies. Very well done!
26th September, 2016

Les Déserts d'Orient - Encens Mythique d'Orient by Guerlain

This feels very fresh when first sprayed on, it's like you have soaked rose petals in water left it for a while and then sprayed it on. It's not overwhelming as the incense quickly follows which smells like white musk and then I can pick up the ambergris. The ambergris smells slightly
sweet and salty.

The scent is very ethereal and feels watery on the skin as you have a light shimmering effect of light rose, incense and ambergris. It smells very plush and is so well balanced, no note feels bold or overwhelming. Everything is light and airy, imagine a breeze coming your way with a sweet, salty rose just caressing your senses.

After a while you can pick up other notes within the mystical like breeze of a scent like saffron and Patchouli. All this is tightly weaved in a ethereal fashion smelling very classy and plush, you could imagine a Arabian princess wearing this.

A very beautiful fragrance and worthy of praise.
25th September, 2016

Ombré Leather 16 by Tom Ford

A light and softer version of Tuscan leather with the raspberry note been replaced with a floral sweetness. Very nice.
24th September, 2016

A Midsummer Dream by Roja Dove

On the opening I get a refreshing blast of bergamot and grapefruit and then a lot of elmi resin. This resin smells like light honey, lemon and pine and the scent has a light candy like sweetness but not too much. After a while I can pick up on some light floral's that weave in and out of the scent as well as some woods. Now this fragrance is nothing spectacular or wow I have to have this but it is quite nice.

The quality of the ingredients is top notch as you come to expect from Roja Dove and this scent does have a dreamy quality to it's nature. So all in all I find this scent to be pleasant.
23rd September, 2016

Ambre Éternel by Guerlain

At the start I get a fresh ambergris and incense that quickly becomes spicy. At this stage the scent smells medicinal like you are in a hospital waiting for the doctor. Underneath this there is something foody trying to peak out under the medicinal spicy ambergris.

After a while I can smell the leather and woods but over that there is this warm sweetness mixing in with the ambergris. It smells like some sweet desert that is cooking and just slightly becoming burnt. So if you can imagine a sweet leathery salty ambergris that is spicy and medicinal, and imagine that concoction been heated then that is this fragrance.

I have to say it's quite exotic but just not my cup of tea.
10th September, 2016

Néroli Outrenoir by Guerlain

Off the top I get a lot of petitgrain with a surge of bergamot which is followed by a smoky mix of tea and myrhh. After a while when the scent takes to the air it suddenly opens up and I can smell the neroli within the mix. At this stage it does smell very nice and enchanting, imagine smoky tea notes mixing in with neroli and earthy myrhh. I can see what Thierry Wasser was trying to do offsetting the neroli note with smoky tea and myrhh notes.

Also I think he has captured the tea note quite beautifully, you can smell the bitter and smoky aspect. And when this mixes in with the neroli it's quite lovely. I think how much you love the tea accord is going to determine how much you like this one. For me I love it.

For me on my skin the tea and smoky earthy notes are more dominant than the neroli. And that's why to my nose I perceive it more on the masculine side, definitely unisex though. Talking about the neroli note I find it more subdued and that it takes a backseat to the smoky earthy tea accord. Though when it makes itself known it is quite lovely.

Though the neroli comes through more when the smoky earthy tea notes calm down a bit. But this is not a full bodied dominant neroli scent, it's more subtlety weaved providing a contrast to the other notes. Very nice fragrance.
01st September, 2016

Shaving Shop by Taylor of Old Bond Street

This fragrance does have a nice light whisky smell on the opening which gives way to the smell of limes. From here I can smell lots of lime, green moss and shaving cream. As time moves forward I can smell a hint of floral's and herbs. Eventually it gets woodier in the drydown and starts to remind me a bit of Carven Homme.

This scent is quite delightful and smells quite original, have not smelled its like before. As it's a barbershop fragrance you can use it as a body spray and never be afraid you have overdone it.

To sum up a wonderful barbershop fragrance that smells of light whisky, limes and green moss with a hint of shaving cream and it gets woodier in the far drydown.. Very nice indeed!
26th July, 2016

Blu Mediterraneo Fico di Amalfi by Acqua di Parma

A very nice fresh scent with the sweet smell of fig. Whats also nice is the light green accord like your smelling the stem of a plant. It goes very nicely with the fresh sweet smell.
14th July, 2016

Eton College Collection by Taylor of Old Bond Street

On first application with this fragrance you get the smell of lemon and oranges with the glorious smell of neroli. You can tell they are using real oils in this scent as it smells fantastic.

These citrus notes then become more masculine with a hint of Patchouli in the mix. Which is soon joined by light woods and musk.

I have to say it's a simple fragrance but quite addictive. I'm quite smitten with this scent. It's a very barbershop scent as it was intended to be but quite good as well.

Simplicity done very well!
09th July, 2016 (last edited: 16th July, 2016)

Cologne Intense by Houbigant

Off the top I can smell lemon citrus with lavender mixed in with a strong earthy spice/herb. This herbal element really does ground the scent from becoming too citrusy. It's a little astringent in a earthy leafy way and contrasts well with the citrus and lavender. I think this note must be the Tarragon.

Behind these notes I can pick up a soft floral note which just shows itself every so often behind the dominating herbal accord. It does get stronger and I'm sure it's neroli or Jasmine maybe both.

The scent is very well blended and crafted and quite complex. If you like green citrus herbal earthy fragrances that is gently softened by a floral & neroli accords then you will like this. Thumbs up from me, I like it.
16th May, 2016

East India / Vi Et Armis by Beaufort London

It smells like wood lacquer mixed in with peat from a compost heap, really horrid fragrance. One of the worst smelling scents I have ever smelled. They have also had to change the name of this one to "Vi et Armis".
26th April, 2016

T. Habanero by Rania J

The opening to this scent is a little challenging with what smells like sweet Cambodian oud and dark tobacco. After a while it starts to smell quite nice with the sweet Cambodian oud mixing in with the fermented like dark tobacco. I used to have a bottle of real sweet Cambodian oud and recognised the smell almost immediately whilst smelling this fragrance.

After a while the incense can be smelled and the scent becomes soft and spicy and quite pleasant. Cannot help think that this scent would make a great aftershave than a Edp.
22nd April, 2016

Rose Ishtar by Rania J

On first application you get a sweet watery red rose fragrance with a patchouli emerging not long after. This makes the rose smell like a old Victorian rose fragrance where the added patchouli gives it a earthy austere like smell. Though the sweetness does eventually soften this aspect.

Eventually the sweet jammy like rose note does start to get a bit powdery in the dry-down.
21st April, 2016