Reviews by 4eversummer

    4eversummer's avatar
    4eversummer
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.
    rating


    Kimono Rose by Thymes

    Sweet berry kissed floral with a soft hint of vanilla. Very subtle rose tones. Lighthearted, feminine and pretty.

    14 September, 2009

    rating


    Goldleaf / Goldleaf & Hydrangea by Thymes

    Refined, feminine and gracious. Suggests rich warmth and luxury. Unusual balance of mellow floral sweetness, clean soapy freshness and slightly mysterious forest-y depth. Powdery floral with slight undertone of herbaceous greens and dry down of soft woods and moss. Beautiful, distinctive, subtly sensual and not the least bit cloying or overpowering.
    An altogether memorable fragrance. Enchanting!

    14 September, 2009

    rating


    Pink Bouquet by Bronnley

    Nostalgic, feminine perfection. Pretty without being cloying, classic without being cliche. Has that effervescent quality violet adds to roses, as in YSL Paris only softer and more subdued. A dreamy, powdery floral surrounds a true rose petal heart. Timeless and romantic, I wore this on my wedding day.

    14 September, 2009

    rating


    Dream Angels Halo by Victoria's Secret

    The best by far of the trio and sadly missed (sniff) Kind of a contradiction... spicy and fresh, sweet and sophisticated, and strangely enough somehow fashionable even trendy (at the time) and yet classically feminine. A sentimental personal fave, reminds me of my first real job and first real love. The latter ended painfully but, like the fragrance, was sweet while it lasted.

    14 September, 2009

    rating


    Shalimar by Guerlain

    Suffocating, sharp, nauseating, sickly sweet...reminds me of stale sweat heavily caked with the sort of dime store bath powder popular in rest homes. Discordant wood tones reminiscent of dusty antique chests rotting in some stifling airless attic. The stuff of violent dizzy retching headaches ... alongside Youth Dew, Royal Secret, Galore, Hope, Interlude, Ciara and that ilk. Yet something unique about Shalimar that makes it more offensive to me than just a scent which simply disagrees with my personal chemistry... I can't stand it on anyone else, either. Seriously, I can pick it out at twenty paces.

    14 September, 2009

    rating


    Red Door by Elizabeth Arden

    MUST be layered with the bath line and applied with a very light touch to truly develop the exquisitely feminine character. Not a fragrance for the faint of heart or everyday wear. Holds it's own with a designer suit, real jewelry and a fur. Kid gloves, veiled hat and vintage train case are appropriate, but optional. Outrageously glamorous and overtly sexy, can be vulgar instead of voluptuous in the wrong hands... you've been warned!

    14 September, 2009

    rating


    Sexy Little Things by Victoria's Secret

    Fruity-floral blend of apple, exotic jasmine and sensual cashmere woods
    Top notes: apple, waterlily, osmanthus
    Middle notes: jasmine, honeysuckle, lotus
    Base notes: cashmere woods, musk, iris

    Kind of a retro 80's aggressively heady floriental meets the sugar crystallized uber fruity 2000's...
    like new wave night at the Shark Club.

    13 September, 2009

    rating


    Extraordinary by Avon

    Blackberry musk, candied pink grapefruit peel, white chocolate, bittersweet chocolate, champagne, orange liqueur, vanilla bourbon, sandalwood

    13 September, 2009

    rating


    Head Over Heels by Eden Classics

    Cutest kitschy litttle bottle ever! Pretty but forgettable floriental. Wish I'd kept an empty bottle for my dressing table

    13 September, 2009

    rating


    Le Jardin by Eden Classics

    My first fragrance... purchased with babysitting money. Dreamy, light fresh green top note, white petals, soft powder with a very subtle incense dry down. Reminds me of pink lipstick, angora sweaters, designer jeans and my mother's pearl earrings. After school dances in the jr. high school boy's gym, swaying to Spandau Ballet in the arms of a football hero. Heady stuff the memories that nostalgic first fragrance conjures.

    13 September, 2009

    rating


    Madame Carven by Carven

    Top notes: coconut, green leaves, galbanum, peach and bergamot
    Middle notes: carnation, tuberose, iris, orchid, jasmine and hiacynth
    Base notes: amber, musk, benzoin, coconut, oakmoss and vetiver

    13 September, 2009

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.