Reviews by GRIM

    GRIM's avatar
    GRIM
    Canada Canada

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.
    rating


    Versace Man Eau Fraîche by Versace

    A shy version of the original.
    Tobacco is replaced with cedar & woods and sitted next to some mild fruits (basically only a mix of lemon and star fruit). I was sincerely hoping for the carambola to be more punchy. Maybe I`ll appreciate it more when I`ll use it during the next heat wave.
    This should easily please fans of aquatics.

    15 January, 2011

    rating


    Zirh Ikon by Zirh

    Replace the predominant barbershop note of Rive Gauche with incense and infuse a little ginger and you get Zirh Ikon. Warm, masculine and strong but not too intrusive, it's a good option for any occasion during the colder seasons.
    Lasts longer than a typical work day. In other words, a great bargain!

    15 January, 2011

    rating


    TL pour Lui by Ted Lapidus

    I wasn't impressed with this one at first but after wearing it a few times I must admit that it's quite nice.
    Take Rochas Man and strip it of its marshmallow smell (amber/mocha/vanilla base) which leaves you with a sweet, warm and smooth scent which texture is quite like Jacques Fath L'Homme but more oriented on the Cedarwood than on the vanilla.
    It's intensity and lifespan is quite comparable to the 2 frags referenced above.
    Gotta like them sweet!

    14 January, 2011

    rating


    Michael for Men by Michael Kors

    At the antipode of unisex colognes for sure, the tag-team combinations of pipe tobacco/suede & dried fruits/dark plum make it a boozy leather scent that screams masculinity.Cloying by nature, this makes it perfect for use during the colder seasons.
    I see this one as the daddy of Dirty English.

    25 December, 2010

    rating


    Polo Explorer by Ralph Lauren

    You're not sure if you would like vetiver scents or think that you may be too young to wear that kind of scent? You're tired of the typical aquatic or fruity frags and may be interested in trying out something slightly dirtier?
    Polo Explorer is at the crossroad of all these genres. I guess the name Explorer is just like the scent: an invitation to try something different. At the same time, aren't real Explorers supposed to be more daring? Not screaming love because of its ambiguous nature which makes it a little generic by trying not to offend anyone (or please too much?), I can on the other hand agree that it's is easily likeable.

    20th December, 2010 (Last Edited: 21st December, 2010)

    rating


    Carven Homme by Carven

    THUMBS WAY UP!
    I LOVE THIS ONE!
    As everybody else as mentioned, it bares some resemblance to Gucci Envy or even to Ted by Ted Lapidus for that matter. After sniffing it for a while you really start to discover it and appreciate it for its own true self. Picture a base of Corduroy (Zirh) mixed in with Envy.
    If you ever find some, please don't buy it!

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Animale Animale for Men by Animale Parfums

    How could someone bash the daddy of gourmand frags?!
    The cedar/nutmeg/tobacco/patchouli mixture makes it quite spicy and masculine.
    A very affortable chocolate scent that lasts an impressive amount of time.
    It's time to upgrade your bottle of Axe Dark Temptation with a real scent!

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Apparition Homme Intense by Ungaro

    I cannot compare this to the original since I haven't tried it but to me this one is a cross between Ungaro III and Chic by Carolina Herrera which I both love. A dark and fruity scent that exudes character.

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Fath Pour l'Homme by Jacques Fath

    Fath PH is a slightly puffy vanilla amber fragrance with a touch of cinnamon powder.
    It is quite sweet but rounds up to something more flowery that makes it quite elegant in deed.

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Nicole Miller for Men by Nicole Miller

    It opens up with with the scent of apples alright but the bourbon takes over very quickly, making the leather notes hard to perceive and it dominates until you shower the next morning. It's boozy but unlike Michael Kors, I don't find this interesting at all.

    06 October, 2009 (Last Edited: 11th December, 2010)

    rating


    360 Degrees Red for Men by Perry Ellis

    One of the Perry Ellis copycat fragrances. This is a great alternative to ADG but smells a little more peppery. Can be found at a decent price online. I only get compliments when I layer this with Halston Unbound so I'll give it a neutral since it doesn't seem to shine on its own.

    06 October, 2009 (Last Edited: 11th December, 2010)

    rating


    Unbound for Men by Halston

    I do get the ADG similarities (aren't most of the aquatic frags compared to ADG anyways?) and the tomato leaves give it a interesting twist. It has the advantage of being a real cheapy but may seem not to last very long as it will get closer to the skin on the drydown (without being a skinhugger) and that, no matter how much you apply. I've found good use for it as a layering frag.

    06 October, 2009 (Last Edited: 11th December, 2010)

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.