Perfume Reviews

Reviews by promqueen


Misia by Chanel

A somewhat overly sweet violet is the first impression in an in-your-face- insect repellent kind of way. BUT WAIT!....after a few minutes it mellows out into the most lovely violet imaginable, and develops over hours into a bright fresh floral without being too cloying. My only wish is that the longevity was better on me.
28th February, 2015 (last edited: 01st March, 2015)

Red Door 25 by Elizabeth Arden

Top notes are very fruity, but not so fruity as say, Calyx or Eternity. There is an equal note of lily which takes the sharpness off the fruit and makes a nice blend. Notes of other florals are not too heavy. Lasts about 6 hours. Bright and nice, but I am not feeling the need to rush out and buy a bottle.
07th October, 2014

My Burberry by Burberry

Pleasant florals and just a touch of amber over a synthetic watery note...(that ubiquitous water note that seems to be everywhere). Meh. Cute bottle, but I won't be buying it
19th September, 2014
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Untold by Elizabeth Arden

Soft, warm & woody. Quite nice. A good daytime scent
09th September, 2014

Nirvana White by Elizabeth and James

Am wearing this in Florida in the summer. Very nice in the heat..not too much, but definitely there. Nicely blended...there are no "watery" notes..which I personally hate. A little muskiness comes out later. Well Done
04th August, 2014

Fleurs de Rocaille by Caron

I don't know where people are getting aldehydes in this...this is a straight up floral blend,
appropriate at all times and nice in warm, even hot, weather. Never too cloying
03rd July, 2014

Champs-Elysées by Guerlain

This perfume reminds me of the smell of Halo shampoo..remember? That blue shampoo from the 60's?? However, that is not a bad thing, because I absolutely LOVED that smell and was thrilled when I found it in Champs-Elysee. In short: clean and floral with a mysterious note that is hard to define. Appropriate at all times
19th June, 2014

Jardin de Soleil by Escada

I agree with the above rating except that there is a woody note in this, perhaps a bit of sandalwood that is not too strong and makes this the perfectly balanced scent. This is suitable for wear anytime because it is not too sweet or fruity
13th June, 2014

Gucci Flora : Generous Violet by Gucci

A more floral violet than other violet frags thus losing the "old lady" quality of some violet scents. Not strictly violet, but smells better than the other fragrances in Gucci's Flora line
24th May, 2014

Baiser Volé by Cartier

Smells wonderful, but not much lasting power...and this is for the EDP
28th January, 2014

Coromandel by Chanel

Like a combination of Angel and Shalimar, only lighter and less jarring. Very nice drydown...a patchouli note that is not too heavy. Good longevity. The EDT lasts 8 hours on me
08th November, 2013

Ambre Sultan by Serge Lutens

Just got a sample of this and am very pleasantly surprised..I am female and don't usually like "unisex" scents but this is somehow different. A fine amber and woods in good proportion with an incense note. USE SPARINGLY however.
03rd November, 2013

Vince Camuto by Vince Camuto

Very Nice

A fresh floral with just a touch of sweetness from the rum top note. The osmanthus lightens it up and keeps it from being too candy sweet or powdery. Nice bottle too. Price reasonable. I would wear this all the time

Pros: Good all-around Fragrance
Cons: Wish it lasted longer"

09th October, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Mémoire Chérie by Long Lost Perfume

This review is for the original Elizabeth Arden version, not the Long Lost version. The bottle is frosted glass with carvings of a lady in a long skirt all around it.
This is a cool weather scent; indescribably pretty. A little goes a long way.

NOTES: Sicilian bergamot, Mexican neroli, fresh apricot, Romanian chamomile, tarragon, soft honey rose , violet, opoponax, Moroccan oakmoss, amber, musk, Haitian vetiver.

This original version was awarded the grand Coupe D'or in 1960 as "the finest fragrance ever created and acclaimed in France."

Described as " a cool floral with green undertones."
14th May, 2013

Boyfriend by Boyfriend

This is deceptive-smells almost too strong at first, then within about 20 minutes it turns into something lovely and warm, with a nice clean drydown. Very lasting, so one or 2 sprays will do it. Love the bottle and packaging. This reminds me of Le Baiser de Dragon by Cartier, and probably has some of the same notes
21st March, 2013

Fig by Aftelier

This smells like incense. Fine worn by itself but is a cool weather scent
18th March, 2013

Bottega Veneta Eau Légère by Bottega Veneta

Got a sample of this at Nordstrom after smelling a fragrance strip in a magazine and saying to myself-WOW. Well, I was not disappointed. This is clean and distinct with sort of a patchouli note from the oak moss. I do not detect the gardenia, but the whole thing blends nicely. Good sillage, but not too strong. Some might consider this unisex, but I don't-and I lke it better than the original Bottega Veneta fragrance. Elegant and well done.
14th March, 2013 (last edited: 03rd July, 2014)

Happy Diamonds by Chopard

This starts out like Tabu, but lightens quickly into something more elegant, with a burst of freshness at the end of the drydown. Too bad it was discontinued. Unknown to me what the notes are.
28th January, 2013

Truth or Dare Naked by Madonna

This starts out floral...It seemed like a gardenia note, ( not as in-your-face gardenia as the original Truth or Dare), but it is actually honeysuckle, and not too overwhelming.
This evolves into an incensy drydown, but a clean incense; not a "dirty" incense like Opium. In fact it reminds me a bit of Opium, but lighter and more feminine. I would wear this even during the daytime. Love the bottle too. Well done.
20th December, 2012

Valentino (original) by Valentino

Hard to find, but I think it is better than his more recent fragrances. Elegant without being old-ladyish.
09th December, 2012

Dolce & Gabbana Pour Femme (new) by Dolce & Gabbana

Am wearing this now, at work. I work as a hotel front desk agent, so I can't wear anything too overbearing. This fits the bill nicely-soft, citrusy, woody and sweet without being too sweet. Someone just peeled an orange in the back office and the scent of the peel seems to meld with the perfume...lovely.
07th December, 2012

Live in Love by Oscar de la Renta

Very nice...smells of fresh flowers with a touch of sweetness. (This is the EDP). Has that "water lily" note, but dries down to sort of a woody base. Good sillage, but I had to reapply this about 5 hours after the first spray.
16th November, 2012

Ô d'Azur by Lancôme

Light and pleasant, but not impressive. Nice bottle, though. I tested this in the store and kind of like it but don't want to rush back and buy a bottle.
06th November, 2012

Tsar by Van Cleef & Arpels

As a female, I will tell you guys out there that this is the best juice I have ever smelled on a guy (with Dior's Fahrenheit a close second). If you are wearing this, I will follow you anywhere, as long as...with most don't use too much.
Two thumbs way up
13th October, 2012

Violette by Tocca

This is surprising-the violet note has a sugary (rather than powdery) drydown, which keeps it from being "old-ladyish". Very well done
13th October, 2012

Infusion d'Iris Eau de Parfum Absolue by Prada

A powdery floral, with more floral than powder...but the floral smells real, not synthetic.
Even though this is the "Absolue" it is not overpowering. Really lovely.
The best part is the drydown.
12th October, 2012 (last edited: 13th March, 2013)

Câline by Jean Patou

This is a light chypre-classy and distinctive;
BRIGHT is a good description. One of my favorites, and hard to find. Elegant
08th October, 2012 (last edited: 03rd September, 2014)

Cocktail by Jean Patou

This is unique..perfect for a dinner party; and whatever comes after!!! Vintage Vogue has it exactly right.
08th October, 2012

La Vie Est Belle by Lancôme

Vibrant...basically, a party in a bottle.
25th September, 2012

Gucci Première by Gucci

Tried this in the store today. Smells much like Gucci Flora, only lighter with a woodier dry down. This is OK. Bottle is beautiful, at least
25th September, 2012