Reviews

Reviews by Trauerkraut

Advertisement

Gentlemen Only Intense by Givenchy

Extra strong mediocrity...how many can one get in a dozen...?
07th January, 2015

L'Orpheline by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

...very nice soft sweet woody and incensy opening...nothing sharp to my nose! After a couple of hours patchouli takes over smoothly and the dry down makes me think of Oud Immortel (without the limoncello)...!
Since I am a sucker for patchouli this one cannot go wrong for me...by far the nicest release of the last lustrum for this brand...!

Rating: 8/10
01st November, 2014

Lightscape by Ulrich Lang

Lightscape is a beautiful, classy and distinguished fragrance: light, airy, elegant and versatile, with decent sillage and longevity. Although differently composed the opening makes me think of 1725 Casanova by Histoires de Parfums. For now Lightscape is my favorite feelgood scent. Highly recommended!!
06th May, 2013 (last edited: 10th May, 2013)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Mistral Patchouli by Atelier Cologne

...somewhere somebody writes in a review: 'I don’t think anybody would smell Mistral Patchouli and say', "ah, a patchouli fragrance, nice!"... well, that's exactly what did happen to me. The beautiful and hospitable lady at Skins Cosmetics (Laren - The Netherlands) is my witness. Although to me more a Föhn than a Mistral I bought it ... for now the 30ml version. Love it!

20th April, 2013

Verdon by L'Occitane

Nice minty aquatic like a soft, sweet fresh summer breeze: I like it...!
15th April, 2013

Costume National Homme by Costume National

Costume National Homme reminds me of one of my bad fragrance experiences: Apparition Homme Intense by Emanuel Ungaro. A bitter beast in which I cannot discover anything appealing: unfortunately this one hits the same spot...!
23rd November, 2012

Baldessarini Strictly Private by Baldessarini

...Hugo Boss goes Fahrenheit 32...!
Nothing new or shocking, but very nice!
01st September, 2012 (last edited: 25th February, 2013)

Infusion d'Homme by Prada

Rubbery Iris and Bubble Gum...no thanks!
12th May, 2012

Solo Loewe by Loewe

Pfff...nr. 478 out of a dozen...! This one has really nothing original. One could smell this already in the seventies and probably the sixties. Why are boring fragrances like these invented over and over again?
12th May, 2012

L'Eau Froide by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

Yesterday I received a sample L'Eau Froide...exciting!
Unfortunately I have to conclude that Mr. Lutens seems to have lost track: the Vitriol d'Oeulliet of last year was kind of adventurous but unwearable, and this Eau Froide is nothing more than a mainstream 13-in-a-dozen kind of Xeryus Rouge/Bleu de Chanel copy of a copy of a copy. It really is time for rigorous changes 'aux Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido'! Time for the return of the daring and unique experiments with which the brand became known. It is too long ago that Serge presented his last masterpiece!
07th March, 2012 (last edited: 26th May, 2012)

Iskander by Parfum d'Empire

Not unpleasant, but nothing special either!
09th December, 2011 (last edited: 26th May, 2012)

Osmanthus Interdite by Parfum d'Empire

Not bad but rather pale tea-floral. Watery, weak and really nothing special.
09th December, 2011

Vetiver by Lorenzo Villoresi

Camphor in hemp rope...or something like that!
Strange but not dirty.
20th November, 2011
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Sel de Vetiver by The Different Company

Somewhere between Eau de Lalique(daddy Jean Claude!) and Eau de Cartier; light, transparant and delicious! Unfortunately slightly too female for my likes!
10th November, 2011 (last edited: 20th November, 2011)

Beyond Paradise for Men by Estée Lauder

I love Beyond Paradise for Men! A soft, gentle and inoffensive, slightly androgyne delicacy! It has the same kind of 'feel good' atmosphere as Fahrenheit 32, which I really do like as well. Very nice!
05th November, 2011

Cèdre by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

Cedar is mostly the smell(with leather on a steady second place) that makes me turn down a fragrance. Most of the time I think it makes a fragrance cloying, boring and smell like an awful lot in a dozen. This one is not as bad as I expected it to be, but still unwearable for me. I simply don't like the smell of cedar.
10th October, 2011

Rousse by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

Very close to Dior Homme...and with that reason nothing to get really excited about...unfortunately!
09th October, 2011

Dzing! by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Indeed a softer, floating kind of Bvlgari Black; less penetrating, more cardboard than rubber...I prefer this one!
07th October, 2011

Safran Troublant by L'Artisan Parfumeur

To me this one smells like oldfashioned rosewater...cheap, thin, quiet and inoffensive, but nothing to wear nowadays.
05th October, 2011

Arabie by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

...strange wrenching combination of sweet candied fruits in the front and Bel Ami leather in the background. A yellow no.
05th October, 2011

Acqua di Parma Colonia Assoluta by Acqua di Parma

Friendly...but a little too soapy for my likes.
05th October, 2011

Sables by Annick Goutal

...smells like 'stopverf', as the Dutch say: google translates that as 'putty', the stuff to hold the glass window in its frame. Not really something to smell like as far as I am concerned.
05th October, 2011

Fahrenheit 32 by Christian Dior

I like Fahrenheit 32! A soft, gentle and inoffensive, slightly androgyne delicacy!
It has the same kind of 'feel good' atmosphere as Beyond Paradise for Men which I really do like as well. Very nice.
10th September, 2011 (last edited: 11th September, 2011)

Pure Morning Man by Marc O'Polo

Citrus/cedar - nothing special - 15 in a dozen - why does it exist?
06th September, 2011

Apparition Homme Intense by Ungaro

I bought this one blind...stupid me! This is by far the worst smelling-experience in my life: there is really nothing to like in this bitter beast...simply horrible!
13th August, 2011

Kenzoair by Kenzo

To me Kenzo Air smells a lot like Eau de Rochas pour Homme: they both share the same myrrh-licquorice-like atmosphere. Very nice!
13th August, 2011

Oscar de la Renta pour Lui by Oscar de la Renta

Pour Lui smells like somewhere between Tsar and Versace L'Homme; a little more accessible and a little less agressive...really nice!
05th August, 2011

L'Essence de Must de Cartier by Cartier

This is a beautifully refined non-macho scent, marvelously smelling close to the skin, to keep it as a delicious surprise for those who have the privilege to enter its presence.
If you find it, buy two bottles...it's great!
30th July, 2011 (last edited: 29th September, 2012)

Boss Orange Man by Hugo Boss

Fresh start: orange, short and nothing new...and then this thousand in a dozen, cedar dominated, überboring drydown! Only for uncurable Boss addicts!
04th July, 2011 (last edited: 31st July, 2011)

About Men by Bruno Banani

As mediocre as the name of the house already suggested.
23rd March, 2011