Reviews by opalsdad

    Showing 1 to 30 of 95.
    rating


    Tabu by Dana

    The only reason that people call Tabu cheap is because it is inexpensive. It is definitely from another time and place and is a Classic. If it weren't for Tabu there wouldn't be any Youth Dew or Opium. Like Narcisse Noir, it reeks of sex and mystery and I can see the prudish finding it quite unsettling. While the cologne is still good, the perfume of many moons ago was superb and certainly one of the most powerful scents I have ever experienced.

    24 January, 2007

    rating


    Farnesiana by Caron

    What a beauty! This powdery mimosa-based scent is so comforting and elegant and feminine. By far, the best mimosa scent on the market. Superior to Mimosa Pour Moi and light years from Jean-Paul Guerlain's debacle Champs-Elysees, the scent dries down to the typical (superb)Caron base. This is how I imagine heaven would smell.

    12 January, 2007

    rating


    Alpona by Caron

    This is one Caron parfum that a guy - at least this guy - would wear with no problem. It is slightly reminiscent of Bernard Chant's chypre duo: Aramis and Gres' Cabochard. This scent is more refined than either and develops into a smooth and delicious melange with lots of sillage. Very androgynous - as are Caron's Poivre and Tabac Blond

    12 January, 2007

    rating


    Fleurs de Rocaille by Caron

    So vivacious, so refined and so delicate, this magnificent fragrance has been a favourite of mine for fifty years. Made bright by the aldehydes, none of the complex mixtures of ingredients predominates. In my mind, this is THE perfect floral bouquet.

    12 January, 2007

    rating


    Bellodgia by Caron

    This is a very refined and rich floral composition with carnation at the heart. Although the additional ingredients are subtle, they tone-down the strong carnation odour and alleviate the harshness that is so prominent in Villoresi's Garofano. The drydown is pure bliss - typically Caron.

    12 January, 2007

    rating


    Collection Homme Thé Brun by Jean-Charles Brosseau

    This beauty - created by Pierre Bourdon - is part of the Collection Homme, the other two fragrances being Atlas Cedar and Fruit de Bois. True to its name, it recreates the scent of a pot of Russian tea, one with more than a dash of lapsang souchong. The smokiness is quite apparent but does not totally dominate the scent as it does in Tea for Two. It is more submerged and gives a very well rounded, very well composed fragrance. Very nice, indeed!

    15 December, 2006

    rating


    Collection Homme Atlas Cedar by Jean-Charles Brosseau

    This fragrance - part of the Homme Collection by Jean Charles Brosseau -is surprisingly the strangest scent of the group. I was expecting a true cedar scent something like Comme des Garcons would produce or a cedar dominated beauty like Feminite du Bois. However, while the cedar is evident in the composition, there is an equally strong fruity component which renders the scent much less dry than one would imagine. It is a very well composed and versatile scent, just not what I was expecting.

    15 December, 2006

    rating


    Collection Homme Fruit de Bois by Jean-Charles Brosseau

    Fruit de Bois is the softest and sweetest of the Homme Collection. This superb composition is not entirely unique: it shares many of the characteristics of Brosseau's Ombre Bleue. The fruits and woods and spices are very carefully mixed and none dominates. I can see many women finding this to be an ideal scent for the office or for casual moments. Another winner for M.Brosseau! While I doubt that the Collection Homme will be a commercial success, aesthetically it is spot-on.

    15 December, 2006

    rating


    Arpège pour Homme by Lanvin

    Not my cup of tea - or should I say very sweet latte. Like Dior Homme this has a nice beginning - especially the iris note - but then plunges into a syrupy mess. I tested it on my wrist and also took a card that was sprayed. Two days later I noticed a sickeningly sweet odor emanating from my desk. You guessed it: a sweet, sweet combination of amber, chocolate, vanilla and caramel. The card and the sample both went into the garbage. What annoys me most is not that the scent is that bad, it is just that it is a copy of something that is supposedly "on trend." What a shame that Lanvin didn't choose to re-release its three great scents from the Sixties: Lavande, Vetyver and Figaro.

    15 December, 2006

    rating


    Narcisse Noir by Caron

    This is eroticism in a bottle: definitely the most aggressively sexual scent I have had the pleasure of knowing. It is dark and mysterious and tinged with danger, about the sensuality of the Orient as imagined by a European, like the best of the paintings of the Pre-Raphaelites. On the right woman this aphrodisiac is well-nigh irresistible

    14 December, 2006

    rating


    Le Parfum de Thérèse by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    This is one magnificent fragrance! It is somewhat similar to Diorella but has its own flavour. The scent of plums and leather gives it an unusual edge and it could be worn by either men or women - in my opinion. All of M. Malle's are made with the best ingredients available and it really shows in the quality of this and the other scents in the line. Roudnitska was a great perfumer and it is wonderful to see a new creation.

    04 August, 2004

    rating


    Opôné by Diptyque

    The drawing on the bottle shows palm trees and number of sailing ships that look Arabic. The scent is a strong rose fragrance with a mixture of spices. Saffron is in there as well but it is not overwhelming. An unusual and intriguing scent for the adventurous guy. I think it would be ideal for evening wear. Or a hot date.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Oyédo by Diptyque

    Oyedo was the original name for Tokyo. It is strong citrus scent with a main note of yuzu. A number of herbs are in the background and the scent is extremely long lasting for a citrus fragrance.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Virgilio by Diptyque

    A typical Diptyque herbal scent with a very strong green topnote. Ideal for weekend wear and perfect for a walk in the country.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Eau d'Elide by Diptyque

    The combination of orange and lavender on a base is herbs is unusual - to say the least. This is not my favourite in the Diptyque line but it is well made and has longevity. The bottle is classic and all the Diptyque have a interesting drawing - in this case a centaur.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Tactics by Shiseido

    I purchased this beauty when it was available in Canada for a short time. The scent is green in the extreme and quite long lasting. Not sharp, though, as is Aliage, it has a smooth powedery quality. It is very difficult to obtain - at least in North America. The bottle is wonderful: smooth white glass in a rounded square and squat shape.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Sergio Tacchini by Sergio Tacchini

    I bought this fragrance when it was launched and it has been one of favourites ever since. It is MY ideal of what a cool, crisp and fresh scent should be. Moss and woods are in abundance but the major thrust of this scent is an icey, minty construction. Perfect for a hot, hot Summer day. The cold silver and grey bottle is ideally suited to this fragrance.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Arden Men - Sandalwood by Elizabeth Arden

    I first purchased this in the late sixties and had not seen it for many, many years. I recently found it on-line and bought a fairly large bottle. It's like meeting an old friend again. It is a smooth, heavy mixture of lavender and sandalwood and would be ideal - in my mind - for a guy in a tweed jacket. Although discontinued, it can still be obtained at a number of on-line merchants.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Sandalo by Etro

    Etro's sandalwood scent is made from the finest ingredients. The true Mysore sandalwood is supported by musk and amber. It is very soft and clings close to the skin. I have heard people say that this scent has no longevity. This is not true - at least for me. It is very subtle and whispers rather than screams (as is typical in many modern fragrances).

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Pure Vetiver by Azzaro

    Nothing could be further from the truth. Pure Vetiver indeed! I have yet to smell a vetiver perfume that had as little vetiver in it as does this. An undistinguished mis-match of scents with no discernable character. Both Pure Vetiver and Pure Lavender have been huge disappointments.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Pure Lavande by Azzaro

    Like Pure Vetiver, this scent is another loser. Who are they targeting in this line? Young guys are not going to go with a lavender scent and older ones like me are put off because this fragrance has little to do with lavender. I was hoping for something like Pour Un Homme by Caron or Annick Goutal's Eau de Lavande. No such luck. The lavender notes do appear and fade within minutes - probably seconds. What is left is a typical boring and undistinguished blend.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Pipe Tobacco by Demeter Fragrance Library

    Exactly as you expect - just like putting your nose is a pouch of pipe tobacco. Warm but with a very slight synthetic edge. Fairly long lasting - for a Demeter.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Pino Silvestre by Silvestre

    This classic is very similar to other pine fragrance such as Epicea by Creed and Aqua Brava. Very refreshing and cooling it makes a great scent for the warmer weather. The bottle is - again -a classic. Often this fragrance can be obtained in big sizes - like 8 oz. and up. I often see this at really good prices in Italian shops.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Leather by Demeter Fragrance Library

    Demeter's scents are very true to the notes they are supposed to represent. Leather is putting your nose in a suede coat. It lasts a fairly long time and is very inexpensive.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Kanøn by Kanon

    Kanon has been around for decades and still seems to be going strong. I don't see it being used as much as it used to but it is still relatively obtainable. The main notes are woody - cedar in particular. The squat bottle has a beautiful wooden cap. Although today it is usually found in drug-stores, when it was launched this was prestige merchandise. I don't know if this is still the case, but there were a lot of associated products with this one: shaving cream, deodorants, splashes, coolers, etc.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Grass by Demeter Fragrance Library

    Yes, this does smell like green grass, freshly cut. And it probably smells that way for a least a minute. That is the longevity of this scent. I don't expect a fresh and light fragrance to last all day, but this is ridiculous.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Fendi Uomo by Fendi

    A powerful leather fragrance, dry and animalic. A large and wonderful bottle encases this liquid. I prefer some other leather scents to this, but it is very nice and very masculine.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche

    I do not like Drakkar Noir nor have I liked it since it came out in the early eighties. I thought it was crude and the juniper-pine elements loud and obnoxious. I much prefered the original Drakkar which was a very green and classy fragrance. However, since Drakkar Noir has been around for over twenty years and is still popular, I am definitely in the minority.

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Cacharel Pour L'Homme by Cacharel

    I ordered this from France around 1990. It is a good fragrance but a little too feminine for my taste. There is a heavy floral sweetness that I do not find appealing, although the main note is definitely nutmeg. One the right guy, though, this might be smashing. It is still in production although it never made it to Canada. (I don't know about the U.S.A.)

    26 November, 2002

    rating


    Eau Parfumée au Thé Vert by Bulgari

    One of the first scents formulated with tea. It is a combination of the astringent and light notes of green tea balance against the heavier notes of rose with a base of lightly smoked woods. Yes, it is a little feminine - maybe androgenous - but it makes a really interesting scent for a guy - particularly for the Summer. All the Bvlgari products are made with the finest ingredients - quality all the way.

    26 November, 2002

    Showing 1 to 30 of 95.