Reviews

Reviews by jayjupes

Advertisement

Citizen Queen by Juliette Has a Gun

I love this but it does remind me of Bvlgari blu and something else I'm not remembering right off the bat. I wouldn't buy a bottle because there is something cheap smelling about it and it's over a hundred dollars a bottle so that makes no sense for me.
14th November, 2011

Carnegie Pink by Hattie Carnegie

I would term this a soft chypre. It begins with a blast of lemon/bergomat, then softens into a floral, never moving towards the sweet. It keeps it's bracing citrus note, but this becomes a backdrop to something powdery and cheerful.
04th August, 2011 (last edited: 23rd September, 2011)

Shania by Stetson

Basically a body spray. Very light and pretty. Extremely cheap and worth the price. One of the only perfumes I've ever been complimented on, the others being Shalimar, Knowing, Habanita and Coty Wild Musk...

not that you asked...
03rd August, 2011
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Y by Yves Saint Laurent

This may be my favorite "green" fragrance. This may be my favorite fragrance I've ever smelled. I will have to try it against Anne Klein II to be sure, but this stuff is so lovely and clean but not shrill or piercing. The kind of scent that makes things happen.

Can't pick apart the notes but I do get aldehydes and the oakmoss is not so "grubby" as what I'm accustomed to.

Genius. I wish there were more scents in its class, or, if there are, I hope to smell and own all of them.
25th July, 2011

Daring by Isabella Rossellini

to the thumbs up end
very very sweet but not cloying
one of two examples i own of this principle

seems by turns woodsy with a hint of spice/incense
very nice every day type scent
06th April, 2011

Anne Klein II by Anne Klein

i feel like, for what i enjoy, this is a masterpiece.
i feel the same about fendi and magie noire and wonder what unites them.
the plushyness that makes the sweetness inoffensive.
is this an oriental?
the sweetness is so dry, maybe that's it.
truly lovely and not overpowering even in large doses.
the opposite of a headache in a bottle esp compared to other perfumes of the same era.
23rd March, 2011

Night Magic Evening Musk by Avon

i really like this stuff and i know it's wrong.
not sure how else to express it.
it smells cheap and soft and has nothing to say.
it's very comforting in that love's baby soft way.
23rd March, 2011

Design by Paul Sebastian

it is like bug spray. not sharp but that scent is definitely there. it's something that i know i shouldn't like, but i do.

just clean in a dull way. inoffensive. comforting in its wink of cleanliness. there is civet there but not in a raucous way. an almost peppery public bathroom cleanser.

none of this sounds like a reason to buy it, and i probably won't again, i was just bored in walmart and grabbed the mini.
27th December, 2010

Rare Gold by Avon

this smells like civet
i have the real stuff and am BLOWN AWAY

and I get the emphatic
love it/hate it
thing happening here
it's so rich and opulent it's hard to think of as a floral

very smart marketing and bottle design
and not mentioning it as a "note"
all in all, a coup
and i bet men love it
26th August, 2010 (last edited: 29th April, 2011)

Timeless by Avon

This is my favorite scent since Knowing.
Topping Tabu and Obsession Night and Mitsouko.
~ weird ~
26th August, 2010

Odyssey by Avon

ivory soap.
this is getting freecycled.
i can't think of anything more banal.
don't pay money for this.
i got it for less than $6 and feel gypped.
21st August, 2010

Night Musk by Avon

i actually love this
very strong
but doesn't call out sneezes
never goes away
so if you don't like musk...

this is a sweet and plushy
one trick pony musk
works great with men's cologne on me

and a man could easily rock this
and it's not raunchy or bracing
06th August, 2010

Obsession Night by Calvin Klein

first perfume i've ever bought a second bottle of
before finishing the first
the only way it can be mistaken for a
*lesser*
fragrance
is by someone who
doesn't like to
smell

heheheh

no, tastes differ
but this and mitsouko
habanita
tubu

...i'll buy again
and again
til the "they" run out
30th July, 2010
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Mitsouko by Guerlain

I actually CAN wear this every day.
And my tastes generally go from cheap to VERY cheap.
It is indeed symphonic
moody
refined but not snobbish

I will buy the extrait
and it is definitely edging out tabu
and avon "tomorrow"

It doesn't just have the
go-to
*plushness*
of a luxury fragrance
she has a story to tell
she is a woman who can
and has
been worn by a man
and will again

not in the
wink wink
sense

more like
sigh
sigh
ramble
drink gin
sigh
write *good* poems
glimmer
at
whoever

again

this lady lives to tell
29th July, 2010

Samsara by Guerlain

gorgeous. but with nothing that cuts.
beautiful but not aching.
19th July, 2010

Black Orchid by Tom Ford

Something plushly understated in this unappealing mess.
Gave it away.
14th May, 2010 (last edited: 23rd August, 2010)

Knowing by Estée Lauder

this is the first perfume i ever owned
gifted to me by a woman whose son i sat for in Connecticut
she said it was for a much older woman
but she thought of me when she smelled it

i was fifteen

it's very authoritative and stoic and still veiled in a sensuality i can't define
it's illogical and airtight in its coherence

i still love this perfume
14th May, 2010

Armani Code for Women by Giorgio Armani

this one gets good once it gets going
behind the knees and under the bress
too much for me on wrists
there's a creamsicle thing on my skin that takes about 20min-an hour to fade

but for what's left it's worth it
and it's not quite a cheapie
but it won't break the bank

has the plushness and billowyness of a "fine" fragrance
and the sense of fun of a drugstore perfume
the attitude itself is a blonde smiling in the sun
then lounging on a hammock
still game for jokes or a game of pool
22nd April, 2010

Monsieur Musk by Dana

this is a great one to have on the shelf for anything too sweet.
too many white flowers?
too much vanilla?
overly innocent bland fruitiness?
a little of this ground into anything makes it spicy in the herb garden/zesty way
great for creating something beautiful from what might have gone in the trash

dirt cheap and good to have around
even and especially for ladies
22nd April, 2010

Habanita by Molinard

this is everything i love from tabu without the sweetness.
it's the "we both know what i'm thinking" of perfumes i've experienced
this is very lovely for men too

sweat and happiness
singe myself scarlet and charcoal with the joy of it

it's almost like a
home truth
of a smell
whether or not you like it
it makes a statement
and the statement, like a *liberated woman*
is simply

" i am."
20th April, 2010 (last edited: 04th October, 2012)

Curve Connect for Men by Liz Claiborne

i love this. it has no "statement" and just suits my nose and is comfortable and still "wakey wakey".
good stuff.
as i plow through cheapies trying to read and identify and categorize and define and learn what i like, this one is a total winner, outstripping many, but not boucheron or knowing.
27th February, 2010

Arden Men - Sandalwood by Elizabeth Arden

this fragrance is aromatherapy more than perfume/cologne

i've kept three essential oils in my home pretty much all the time for the last 6 years
lavender, sandalwood, and tea tree

this smells like lavender, which i only use for acne and do not enjoy especially
this is not sandalwood so much

there's a hint of it in there, but it's heavy on lavender
luckily, it's not the piercing medicinal kind i would associate with a type A elderly nurse
but it's not sandalwood

still, it's grown on me and i'm glad i have it as it layers well with musk
it's simple enough to temper sickly sweet things and soft in its herbish ways and means

most people would find it pleasing, as do i
24th February, 2010

Vintage Soul by Curve by Liz Claiborne

very "masculine", whatever that means, and it does mean something.
i get the del monte fruit cocktail reference but i think it's nice. i get the bergamot, probably because i drink a lot of tea, and my nose is starting to be able to pick out the itch of patchouli, which i enjoy...

it was cheap, it smells nice.
oddly strong for something that sort of abruptly falls away...

definitely not a nondescript fresh and fruity teen scene of a scent.
25th January, 2010

Stetson by Stetson

delicious on a man
or woman

don't know if it's musks or resins but there's something "hot" about it that doesn't sit well with this chypre lover
but i love to smell it on others
18th January, 2010 (last edited: 29th April, 2011)

Paris Hilton by Paris Hilton

doing a dog rescue hand off from brooklyn to upstate, a 5 week old husky pup had just pissed and crapped all over my small, carpeted apartment.
enter the shepherd rescue woman...
i cannot describe the way she smelled except to say what i said to her
"you smell like you just took 9 million showers"
she reluctantly told me what it was and that her mother had bought it for her.

it's not something i could wear.
but "clean" does not begin to describe it.
for this pin straight blonde with perfect clothes and husband and daughter and car -- this is the smell she should always lilt along in.
15th December, 2009