Reviews by paranoidandroid

    Showing 1 to 7 of 7.
    rating


    Arabie by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Very very gourmand. I got a lot of dates and other dried fruits with spices with this one. I used to make a date and walnut cake - and one of the things to do in the recipe was to chop dates and soak them in a tablespoon of warm water and then mix them with walnuts before adding them to the cake batter. Arabie reminds me of that mixture - nutty, dry-fruity and just really sweet and gourmand. This is a very intense perfume that should be tested before you buy it. Thankfully - it works wonders on me.

    29 January, 2006

    rating


    L'Eau du Navigateur by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    This one is a dream and a half - though it starts off really smoky and quite unlike I would want to smell like - it settles into lovely spices and woods(sandal ?). The coffee lasts forever - and as someone pointed out - it settles down into what could easily be the best cafe au lait smell in the world. And it stays on me for more than 12 hours. What a masterpiece!

    13 January, 2006

    rating


    Bulgari Black by Bulgari

    Bulgari does it again. Divine. Very close to being a signature smell - this combination of dark smokey black tea, fresh citrus, mild flowers and a rosewood/sandalwood/vanilla/leather drydown is a magnificent fragrance. What might sound like a fragrance for the winter months actually smells just fine in the hotter months too.

    13 January, 2006

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Lavanda Tonica by Acqua di Parma

    A very lovely and clean, if short lived lavender. I never use it as a perfume or as an EdT but more as a splash - which it resembles in concentration. A non-fragrant soap followed by a few generous splashes of this as you are done towelling makes it last atleast 6 hours. Being very light I would not advise wearing anything else over it. Perfect for a sunny day when you are spending some time home.

    13 January, 2006

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia by Acqua di Parma

    Class. Class. Class. A refined and clean citrus that lasts more than 6 hours if used on clean skin...well, not the citrus part of it, but a dusty rose that feels dipped in a crate of lemons. Lovely.

    13 January, 2006

    rating


    Jicky by Guerlain

    icky, very often, does not tend to be a love at first smell fragrance (unless you are smelling pure perfume). Keep it with you...some day you will wonder what "that smell" was - the smell of sun warmed skin and lavender - of feral quiet, animal strength and velvet smoothness. Believe me, one such day, you will pick up your bottle of Jicky and worship it. Just hang on. This happened to me. I cannot live without it now even though initially, I thought it wasn't much.
    Comes close...very very close...to being a signature scent

    10th July, 2005

    rating


    Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

    This is a review of the EdP. A rich and sumptuous fragrance. A fresh citrus that dries down through spices and a warm amber. The end is purely resinous amber, vanilla and heliotrope. Smells rich and divine. I want to keep smelling the heliotrope as it dries down. A perfect oriental.

    18 June, 2005 (Last Edited: 13 January, 2006)

    Showing 1 to 7 of 7.