Reviews by leto

    leto's avatar
    leto
    Turkey Turkey

    Showing 1 to 30 of 84.
    rating


    I Love New York for Earth Day by Bond No. 9

    feminine

    Very good green floral, but it is for women imo.

    03 June, 2013

    rating


    Lipizzan by Parfums de Marly

    Not for this price

    A nice, smooth, vetivery aromatic fougere quite in the same vein with Loewe Esencia. While it smells slightly better and softer than Esencia, its performance is disappointing.  Apply generously, this is weak. I mean l'artisan weak.

    Pros: Masculine, smooth
    Cons: weak

    22 May, 2013

    rating


    Eros by Versace

    A 1 Millionized fragrance with reminders of Guichard's previous works such as mint from le Male Terrible, but this one is a mess. I'd never wear it but I see that it was designed as a money maker, I think it will sell more then ok especially to teenage males.

    25 April, 2013

    rating


    Blu Mediterraneo Fico di Amalfi by Acqua di Parma

    A very neat citrus/fig/light wood combination. Not milky&sweet like Marc Jacobs, it is a go for admirers of Dune and Phylosikos.

    Infact i like all the Blu Mediterraneo series, they are more than OK with a reasonable price. This one is one of the best in the series and perfect for spring/summer and office.

    04 April, 2013

    rating


    Invasion Barbare / SB by MDCI

    This one is a masterfully created and excellent fragrance. I am not that into fougery type of fragrances but this and HdP 1725 made my day. They resemble each other imo and because of the price and availability, I will continue buying HdP line but i am also very happy with my decant of Invasion Barbare.

    I do not know any other works of Stephanie Bakouche, but considering this one, it is a must that more fragrances be released with her collaboration.

    Longevity is excellent while in a 3-4 hours, it becomes a skin scent in my case. But really, what a fragrance! Like mentioned before, it is dangerous to get a sample or decant, you may crave for it.

    04 April, 2013

    rating


    Armani Eau de Nuit by Giorgio Armani

    Well this one seems like Armani's jump on the iris/suede touch but it is a little bit late after Dior Homme/Intense's suceess. Not a bad fragrance per se, but especially on the top notes, it is impossible to miss that this is a Dior Homme wannabe. Neutral.

    31st March, 2013

    rating


    Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

    Very strong and bitter. I can't stand that much leather and find pointless anyway. For the admirers of the genre, it can be OK with its potency and sillage but I think the leather lovers already know some other fine leather fragrances much more cheaper than this one.

    27 March, 2013 (Last Edited: 16 April, 2013)

    rating


    Narciso Rodriguez for Her by Narciso Rodriguez

    Shouts it is a Kurkdjian work, has signature of him overall. It reminds me a mix of Lumiere Noire pour Homme&pour Femme, but of course leaning to the feminine side. Very classy and women who discover and wear this is very lucky (NR being not very popular brand here in my land)

    27 March, 2013

    rating


    Juniper Sling by Penhaligon's

    I like this one's spring cool refreshing effect with the greatly adapted gin-fizz juniper note but the enjoying is quite short. Very, very short lived one to call even a fragrance. Would never buy but happily finish up if gifted.

    25 March, 2013

    rating


    Mark Birley For Men Charles Street by Mark Birley

    What a note list that i do not agree upon. Charles Street is a leather fragrance that starts very harsh imo. Slight whiffs of saffron and raspberry do not help the smell to be soft.

    When you think that it will smooth down in an hour and become a musk-leather skin scent, whoop it is totally gone.

    One of the greatest regrets of blind buying.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    APOM pour Homme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    Orange+amber. That's it. Nice to smell and wear but very boring because of the linearity.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 2 Red: Sequoia by Comme des Garçons

    I am surprised that nobody mentioned that this is very reminiscent of Jubilation XXV. A good one but not original at all. Great performance for the price.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    Rose 31 by Le Labo

    Light rose and cedar combo. Very subtle and elegant. Totally justifies the price imo and one of the staples of my wardrobe.

    The rose here is not of like the Amouage's or Montale's, no need to be afraid of a heavy sillage or feminine-rose affections, since this is so elegant, you can easily wear it daily in offices or enclosed spaces. A real joy to wear that one.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    Gardénia by Chanel

    A simple white floral-milky fragrance. Not bad per se, but there are tons of cheaper alternatives, nothing interesting. Pass.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    Black Musk by Montale

    A very interesting take on leather-musk and it has the wow factor really. It has the classic Montale start but the rose is very backstage and ceases to exist in some minutes.

    What stays is a very dark and challenging leather note. This is quite a difficult fragrance to wear, but much much better and different from the rest of the vast numbers of Montales.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    Very Irresistible for Men Fresh Attitude by Givenchy

    Quite synthetic and headache inducing. Never hated a fragrance more recently, I simply ran to wash it off. Disgusting one.

    10th March, 2013

    rating


    Aqua Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

    To me, this smells like the cucumber-based Fahrenheit that I remember from my teenages plus very zesty and zingy citrus notes on top. A good designer choice for spring days, sillage & longevity is quite good for that genre.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    Bahiana by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

    I like Bahiana. It is a basic fragrance indeed that mainly smells of freshly squeezed orange juice. Its airy and sweet tones makes it a grat refresher for hot summer days. Basenotes are slightly woody-musky and some other fruits like mango show up. Completely unisex. Mental picture is Brazilian beaches with this one.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    Les Nombres d'Or - Vanille by Mona di Orio

    One of the greatest vanille based fragrances I've ever encountered. Salutes the note from earthy-rooty beginning to a flowering of smooth and warm flavor. Totally justifies the price since it smells great and quite strong. You can have the whole day in your aura with just 2 sprays, it stays and stays, what a performance.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

    I own the edp. This one is a great sweet oriental fragrance, and if you are a little bit interested in perfumers and their works, it is impossible to miss that this is from Menardo in a few sniffs.

    Get easy on the trigger since this is quite strong.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    L'Eau de L'Eau by Diptyque

    I really like this spicy eau de cologne. The cinnamon and clove twist adds a great depth to the classical lemon cologne vibe. It is impossible to overspray and creates a delightful aura around. It is a little bit weak in performance but it is OK. I think I'm buying myself a bottle.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    Fracas by Robert Piguet

    Not much to add. This can be the reference, holy grail tuberose. What a bomb.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    Interlude Man by Amouage

    I couldn't get past the oregano & incense phase. No matter how hard I tried to like it (been waiting for the release for a time), this one is not for me, it's not attractive for starters, and I wouldn't want this on a perfume that I wear. It keeps going on and on like burning oregano and green spices incense sticks.

    Terribly great sillage & longevity though.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    Gucci Guilty pour Homme by Gucci

    This one lacks character and I couldn't quite get what the perfumer tried to do here. Citrusy-woody head ache? Pass. I miss the great days of Gucci perfumes.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    Grey Vetiver by Tom Ford

    A fine example of bright-citrus vetivers. Suits great with a shirt-khakis, a good semi-formal choice for spring & summer, recommended.

    25 February, 2013

    rating


    Armani Privé Vétiver Babylone by Giorgio Armani

    Its vetiver smells like Paul Smith Story. Sadly discontinued, Story is much better than this one. Vetiver Babylon is nice but boring, ended up selling my bottle after using up about 10 ml.

    22 February, 2013

    rating


    So Nude by Costume National

    A very good floral fragrance, mostly focuses on tuberose, then roses. Strong like most Costume National fragrances.

    11th January, 2013

    rating


    Felanilla 21 by Parfumerie Generale

    A good spell of animalic leather followed by a quality vanille note. BUT these all happen in 45 minutes. Hey, why didn't anybody note that this is a VERY short lived fragrance? Nice to try but doesn't justify a full bottle for that price, sorry.

    08 January, 2013

    rating


    Bois Noir by Robert Piguet

    Slightly and balanced sweetness, a good masculine. Jubilation wannabe on drydown? Anyway this is good.

    24 December, 2012

    rating


    L'Humaniste by Frapin

    This is a very good crispy citrus fragrance that successfully avoids classic eau de cologne vibe, with the underlying spice aromas. Moderate projection and sillage since it is a citrus fragrance default, but still very good in the genre. Recommended for spring/summer/office wear.

    19 December, 2012

    Showing 1 to 30 of 84.