Perfume Reviews

Reviews by leto


Black Orchid by Tom Ford

This is a bomb. Definitely has the wow factor with its sweet flowery concoction but the mystery intrigues me. How can men wear this fragrance at all? It reeks of femminile appeal.

Once was a good selection for femme fatale types but now due to its uber popularity, i do not suppose women would like to smell like everybody.
03rd April, 2015

Havana by Aramis

I do not have any idea hoe the vintage smelled like, but i had a new bottle recently. Actually i think it does what it claims to be, an exact answer to the question, what if Aramis tries to make a sweet-tobacco cologne.

It is a gourmand for +40, try it for yourself, very interesting fragrance.
03rd April, 2015

D&G Le Bateleur 1 by Dolce & Gabbana

classic, makes-no-sense-aquatic. D&G had a big marketing launch with this series but all of them were failures.
03rd April, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

DKNY Be Delicious by Donna Karan

Though it was incredibly popular in its days, i see that the fame has waned. So i think nowadays it is a good opportunity for retro lover ladies. I always liked Roucel's work with this one.

The classic and refreshing green apple smell of DKNY makes me smile.
03rd April, 2015

Chrome Sport by Azzaro

hmpf. smells like aluminium foil, if it had a smell. pass, it is not hard to see this in discount bins.
03rd April, 2015

Bleu de Chanel by Chanel

I have to give this a neutral, it is a nice fragrance but this is exactly what i'd have expected from davidoff or calvin klein. Smellwise, it has a light cedary-woody grapefruit focus.

I am sure it can continue to be a crowd pleaser since it is quiet non-offensive and fresh. Besides, Chanel still has a very big brand name among the %99
03rd April, 2015

Terre d'Hermès Parfum by Hermès

If you prefer the great smell of Terre a tad bit milder on your skin, with less projection but huge longevity, this is the one for you.
03rd April, 2015

Fahrenheit Parfum by Christian Dior

Well this is a nice fragrance but definitely a great letdown for the iconic Fahrenheit. Though it slightly reminds of its hommage, but it is just a sweet likeable fragrance at all.
23rd February, 2015

Eight & Bob by Eight & Bob

I was such in a rush to try this one while I was abroad, such good old days, and i expected a lot from marketing. What I smelled is a generic, shy-woodsy generic fragrance. Just meh.
23rd February, 2015

Antico Caruso by Profumum

It is quite interesting to see that after ten whole years, a niche brand goes and makes an exact Le Male clone with that price range. Way to go.
23rd February, 2015

I Love New York for Earth Day by Bond No. 9


Very good green floral, but it is for women imo.

03rd June, 2013

Lipizzan by Parfums de Marly

Not for this price

A nice, smooth, vetivery aromatic fougere quite in the same vein with Loewe Esencia. While it smells slightly better and softer than Esencia, its performance is disappointing.  Apply generously, this is weak. I mean l'artisan weak.

Pros: Masculine, smooth
Cons: weak

22nd May, 2013

Eros by Versace

A 1 Millionized fragrance with reminders of Guichard's previous works such as mint from le Male Terrible, but this one is a mess. I'd never wear it but I see that it was designed as a money maker, I think it will sell more then ok especially to teenage males.
25th April, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Blu Mediterraneo Fico di Amalfi by Acqua di Parma

A very neat citrus/fig/light wood combination. Not milky&sweet like Marc Jacobs, it is a go for admirers of Dune and Phylosikos.

Infact i like all the Blu Mediterraneo series, they are more than OK with a reasonable price. This one is one of the best in the series and perfect for spring/summer and office.
04th April, 2013

Invasion Barbare / SB by MDCI

This one is a masterfully created and excellent fragrance. I am not that into fougery type of fragrances but this and HdP 1725 made my day. They resemble each other imo and because of the price and availability, I will continue buying HdP line but i am also very happy with my decant of Invasion Barbare.

I do not know any other works of Stephanie Bakouche, but considering this one, it is a must that more fragrances be released with her collaboration.

Longevity is excellent while in a 3-4 hours, it becomes a skin scent in my case. But really, what a fragrance! Like mentioned before, it is dangerous to get a sample or decant, you may crave for it.
04th April, 2013

Armani Eau de Nuit by Giorgio Armani

Well this one seems like Armani's jump on the iris/suede touch but it is a little bit late after Dior Homme/Intense's suceess. Not a bad fragrance per se, but especially on the top notes, it is impossible to miss that this is a Dior Homme wannabe. Neutral.
31st March, 2013

Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

Very strong and bitter. I can't stand that much leather and find pointless anyway. For the admirers of the genre, it can be OK with its potency and sillage but I think the leather lovers already know some other fine leather fragrances much more cheaper than this one.
27th March, 2013 (last edited: 16th April, 2013)

Narciso Rodriguez for Her by Narciso Rodriguez

Shouts it is a Kurkdjian work, has signature of him overall. It reminds me a mix of Lumiere Noire pour Homme&pour Femme, but of course leaning to the feminine side. Very classy and women who discover and wear this is very lucky (NR being not very popular brand here in my land)
27th March, 2013

Juniper Sling by Penhaligon's

I like this one's spring cool refreshing effect with the greatly adapted gin-fizz juniper note but the enjoying is quite short. Very, very short lived one to call even a fragrance. Would never buy but happily finish up if gifted.
25th March, 2013

Mark Birley For Men Charles Street by Mark Birley

What a note list that i do not agree upon. Charles Street is a leather fragrance that starts very harsh imo. Slight whiffs of saffron and raspberry do not help the smell to be soft.

When you think that it will smooth down in an hour and become a musk-leather skin scent, whoop it is totally gone.

One of the greatest regrets of blind buying.
13th March, 2013

APOM pour Homme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

Orange+amber. That's it. Nice to smell and wear but very boring because of the linearity.
13th March, 2013

parfums*PARFUMS Series 2 Red: Sequoia by Comme des Garçons

I am surprised that nobody mentioned that this is very reminiscent of Jubilation XXV. A good one but not original at all. Great performance for the price.
13th March, 2013

Rose 31 by Le Labo

Light rose and cedar combo. Very subtle and elegant. Totally justifies the price imo and one of the staples of my wardrobe.

The rose here is not of like the Amouage's or Montale's, no need to be afraid of a heavy sillage or feminine-rose affections, since this is so elegant, you can easily wear it daily in offices or enclosed spaces. A real joy to wear that one.
13th March, 2013

Gardénia by Chanel

A simple white floral-milky fragrance. Not bad per se, but there are tons of cheaper alternatives, nothing interesting. Pass.
13th March, 2013

Black Musk by Montale

A very interesting take on leather-musk and it has the wow factor really. It has the classic Montale start but the rose is very backstage and ceases to exist in some minutes.

What stays is a very dark and challenging leather note. This is quite a difficult fragrance to wear, but much much better and different from the rest of the vast numbers of Montales.
13th March, 2013

Very Irrésistible for Men Fresh Attitude by Givenchy

Quite synthetic and headache inducing. Never hated a fragrance more recently, I simply ran to wash it off. Disgusting one.
10th March, 2013

Aqua Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

To me, this smells like the cucumber-based Fahrenheit that I remember from my teenages plus very zesty and zingy citrus notes on top. A good designer choice for spring days, sillage & longevity is quite good for that genre.
25th February, 2013

Bahiana by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

I like Bahiana. It is a basic fragrance indeed that mainly smells of freshly squeezed orange juice. Its airy and sweet tones makes it a grat refresher for hot summer days. Basenotes are slightly woody-musky and some other fruits like mango show up. Completely unisex. Mental picture is Brazilian beaches with this one.
25th February, 2013

Les Nombres d'Or : Vanille by Mona di Orio

One of the greatest vanille based fragrances I've ever encountered. Salutes the note from earthy-rooty beginning to a flowering of smooth and warm flavor. Totally justifies the price since it smells great and quite strong. You can have the whole day in your aura with just 2 sprays, it stays and stays, what a performance.
25th February, 2013

Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

I own the edp. This one is a great sweet oriental fragrance, and if you are a little bit interested in perfumers and their works, it is impossible to miss that this is from Menardo in a few sniffs.

Get easy on the trigger since this is quite strong.

25th February, 2013