Reviews

Reviews by BradW

Advertisement
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Memoirs of a Trespasser by Imaginary Authors

I got a sample of this one from the Imaginary Authors website. This one is a smokey, woody vanilla fragrance. It kinda reminds me of cocoa, since it is very dry and has a bittersweet smell to it. This is unisex, but I see it as more masculine. It is quite strong, and I learned the hard way that maybe 1 or 2 sprays is plenty. I can see Tobacco Vanille fans liking this one. It is semi-gourmand, but instead of tobacco, uses guiacwood and myrrh to give it the smoke smell. I want to like this one, but it just seems kinda dusty to me. Perhaps a bit daring for my taste, but it certainly is worth checking out if you like daring vanilla scents.
14th May, 2013
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Great Jones by Bond No. 9

I got a sample from a friend, and am wearing this fragrance as I write this. I haven't tried Paco Rabanne, but I have a bottle of Patrick from Fragrances of Ireland. This one is a bit brighter than Patrick, but I can't really justify the price with this one. I actually get a Pledge-like furniture polish vibe when I wear this. Kinda kills the fun for me.
30th July, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Rochas Man by Rochas

Wow! Finally a chocolate scented fragrance that isn't a real turnoff. A must have for your winter rotation IMO.
08th July, 2010
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

BradW Show all reviews
United States

Pi by Givenchy

Wow! Is this stuff for real? I smell a very strong cotton candy like accord here. I chucked my mini of this stuff. I guess I should have asked my teenaged daughter to test it out on here skin first, though.
08th July, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Zegna Colonia by Ermenegildo Zegna

I've been a fan of Zegna frags for awhile now, so I certainly had to give this one a try. It's a sweet smelling woodsy scent that is fresh and easy to wear. It smells a lot like Hugo Boss Selection to my nose, but as long as you don't own both, it's a worthy frag to include in your rotation.
14th May, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Grey Vetiver by Tom Ford

I recently got a bottle of this stuff. It really is quite good! It's a very clean, inoffensive, vetiver frag that will smell great in spring and summer. The vetiver is well balanced here and doesn't have that really earthy smell to it that is common in some of the other vetiver frags.
12th May, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Cool Water Frozen by Davidoff

After my mini of Cool Water went dry, I went ahead and bought Cool Water Frozen. I think this one is pretty similar to the original. Too bad I can't do a side-by-side comparison.
Anyway, I like this one a lot. Some may say it's too common, but in my neck of the woods, it's still a rare treat!
12th May, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Rococo Homme by Joop!

I got a spray vial sample of this stuff awhile back. I actually got quite a few wearings out of it. I guess Joop! is good for creating powerful frags. I probably won't buy a bottle, but I'll miss this unique ambery wood concoction.
12th May, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Altitude by Swiss Army

Another fine fragrance by Swiss Army. I really like the bottle for this one as well. Quite different from the original Swiss Army frag, so this is great to have if you already own Swiss Army. To my nose, it smells quite like Kenneth Cole Black. A nice outdoorsy type frag that smells quite good!
12th May, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Eau des 4 Voleurs by L'Occitane

This cologne is next to impossible to buy now, even on ebay. I was fortunate to get mine before the well went dry. If you can still find a bottle, I would snag it. It is a unique scent that reminds me of a piney forest. It smells nothing like Polo or Aspen, so if you like foresty smell, this is a great one to own.
12th May, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Canali Men by Canali

I love the way leather is blended in this fragrance with citrus. Great leather choice for guys that don't want to smell like a biker.
20th March, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Fuel For Life pour Homme by Diesel

Another youthful frag that I've worn several times. As with
Paris Hilton for Men, I feel a bit uncomfortable wearing this
one.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Corduroy by Zirh

A Great choice, especially for those on a tight budget.
You would be hard pressed to do much better for
a wintertime cologne than Corduroy!
14th February, 2010
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

BradW Show all reviews
United States

Paris Hilton for Men by Paris Hilton

I believe this one may be aimed towards a younger crowd.
As a man in my 40s, I feel a bit wierd when I wear this one.
Not a bad smell really, just a bit teeny bopper.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Givenchy pour Homme Blue Label by Givenchy

Another fantastic aquatic cologne. Pleasant and
inoffensive, it's certainly bottle worthy IMO.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Purple Label by Ralph Lauren

It's hard to justify a purchase of this fragrance when it
seems to be so similar to their Romance Silver.
The tobacco flower seems to dominate both. I spent
close to $100 on this one, but I should have looked
elsewhere. Maybe a refined nose could detect the difference.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Puma Man by Puma

My wife asked me to get this after catching a whiff one day.
Personally, I think it's a bit musky and more suited to
the locker room and teenagers, but I occasionally wear
this one around the house or when I go out, but not
to work.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Michael for Men by Michael Kors

Another favorite of mine in the colder months. I love
the combination suede/tobacco notes.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Handsome pour Homme by Tova Borgnine Beverly Hills

Now that I own Hugo Boss in Motion and Paul Smith
Extreme, it's seems a bit foolish to seek something
like this one out.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Mugler Cologne by Thierry Mugler

Irish Spring in a bottle anyone? Probably wouldn't wear
it everyday, but hey, who doesn't love to take a deep
wiff on a brand new bar of Irish Spring?
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Chrome by Azzaro

This is a favorite office wear frag of mine, especially in
warm weather. It smells kinda soapy to my nose.
When you just want to smell super clean, you really
can't do much better than this one.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Banana Republic Classic by Banana Republic

Both my wife and I love this one. A great hot summer
day fragrance perfect for either sex.
14th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Roadster by Cartier

I've been rotating this Cartier fragrance throughout
the winter season. I think that the mint is
really refreshing this time of year. I also
have a sample of Pasha, which is minty,
but to me, this is the best use of mint in
a cologne that I've had the pleasure of wearing.
Give it a try!
13th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

H2 by Hummer

Even though I have many high-end fragrances in my collection,
this budget cologne still gets a fair shake. I think that this
is a good year-round office frag that doesn't make me feel
like I'm going to offend anyone. A coworker once noted that
I smelled like dryer sheets!
13th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Z by Ermenegildo Zegna

This is one of my favorite aquatic scents.
I own many of the Zegna scents, and this
one will remain a favorite of mine from that
house. A great alternative to fans of
Cool Water and Aqua di Gio.
13th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Boss in Motion by Hugo Boss

I love the way the oranges and the musk blend together
in this one!
13th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Paul Smith Extreme Men by Paul Smith

I picked up some samples from e-bay for
this one. I've been wearing it quite a bit this
winter, but can see this one as an all
year-long fragrance. It seems to be heavy
enough for winter, but I can also see this
one working quite well in hotter weather.
13th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Swiss Army by Swiss Army

Another great winter frag from the unlikely people from
Swiss Army. I think this is a better scent then their
Attitude, which I also own. If you could give the winter
season a smell, this would work about as well as anything.
13th February, 2010
BradW Show all reviews
United States

Endurance by Ted Baker

I bought this one blind off e-bay based on
other positive posts. I'm glad I took the chance!
The ginger note is great in the one. This
will probably stay in my top ten winter
fragrance rotation for quite some time!
13th February, 2010